Great Central Road

Submitted: Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 15:07
ThreadID: 85075 Views:3046 Replies:20 FollowUps:19
G'day All,

We are new members to Exploroz and we are based at Tjukayirla Roadhouse on the Great central Road, we are fairly new managers here, having taken over a couple of months ago.
Please feel free to contact us anytime for current road conditions.
If anyone is heading through this way, drop in and say G'day to Al and Serena, tell us you're from Exploroz and get a free Coffee or Tea and have a chat.
Serenas home made Burgers are already famous along the road and definately worth a try.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 16:12

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 16:12
Welcome to the mad house!!! Michael
AnswerID: 448574

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 17:06

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 17:06
g'day micael, thanks mate :-)
FollowupID: 720829

Reply By: Member - Ross G (NT) - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 18:22

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 18:22
Welcome Al and Serena,
Look forward to saying hello one day on our way to Perth. Is the animal rock garden still there?
Ross
AnswerID: 448581

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 18:27

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 18:27
g'day Ross, thanks for the welcome..
Do you mean the Zoo across the road? :-)
or was there a garden of sorts?
welcome to call in and say g'day anytime mate, look forward to meeting plenty of you on your travels.
FollowupID: 720832

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 19:22

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 19:22
Glad to receive confirmation that the burgers are just as good as I remember them. Hope to try another one soon.

Welcome aboard,

Mick

AnswerID: 448586

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 20:16

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 20:16
Mate, someone else has to get into them, before i turn into a whale :-)
FollowupID: 720841

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 19:42

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 19:42
Hi Al and Serena,
Have stayed there twice on the way thru, last time in July '10. Loved the cabin, the ameneties and dining blocks, and the sat TV and internet (amazing, internet out there!). All lovely and clean - a breath of fresh air out in the wilderness.
Will definitely stay on the next trip thru.
Gerry

AnswerID: 448588

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 20:16

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 20:16
Good one Gerry, will be good to see you come through next time.
We also hope to get over your way at some stage.

FollowupID: 720840

Reply By: skmaint (WA) - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 21:59

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 21:59
Welcome Al and Serena,
Hope to catch up one day when I travel that way.

Simon.
AnswerID: 448601

Reply By: Member - pilbara60 (WA) - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 22:02

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 22:02
will be heading your way mid july so will definatly call in for a burger, cheers wayne
AnswerID: 448602

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 22:07

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 22:07
Great little oasis there in the desert. I'll be passing again in October 2012 - will pop in to say hi. Love the hot dogs too!!!

AnswerID: 448603

Reply By: GrumpyOldFart - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 22:24

Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 22:24
Hey Al & Serena

Welcome.

does the free coffee work for locals?

We will get down your way sometime for a look

Hope you get a truck soon, we got one from Alice this week

Dru & Michelle
Blackstone Store
Papulankutja
Remember
Life is short, Break the rules, Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly, Love truly,
Laugh uncontrollably, And never regret anything that made you smile

AnswerID: 448606

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 13:19

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 13:19
G'day Dru & Michelle, the coffee will certainly be on the cards :-)
Glad you got a truck up there, we still haven't got one here, hopefully soon, really running low on fresh supplies now. A fuel truck wouldn't hurt either :-)
The road between here and the shire boundary has just closed again, a few cars got bogged yesterday.
Looking forward to meeting you when you come through.
FollowupID: 720884

Follow Up By: Col WA - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:14

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:14
Hi Al & Serena,
When do the graders go through to clean up the road? Will be calling through next month, looking forward to it.
Col
FollowupID: 720917

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:51

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:51
G'day Col,
The maintenance graders are on the road all the time and they keep it in preety good nick.
saying that though, they have a big job ahead of them now and all the rain keeps setting them back.
I just had steak with one of our grder drivers out here,and he is heading west from the roadhouse.
look forwad to meeting you mate :-)

Al
FollowupID: 720933

Reply By: Millsy - The Uteshed(WA) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 01:50

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 01:50
Welcome aboard Al & Serena.
Look forward to calling in and saying Hi and having a feed in 4 weeks time on my way through with the kids on the way to Uluru.

Millsy
AnswerID: 448620

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 13:20

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 13:20
Thank you all for the welcome, and it's good to see there'll be plenty of you heading this way, we look forward to meeting you all.

AnswerID: 448645

Reply By: S Paul - VIC - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:35

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:35
We will be coming through in September and will stay a night or two !!

Steve and Nadia
AnswerID: 448667

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:53

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:53
No worries, we'll see you then.
make sure to get a mudmap and do some exploring around the place
FollowupID: 720934

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:43

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 20:43
Great to have you here and there Al and Serena. A friend in the middle of nowhere is great! Hope to drop by soon

AnswerID: 448670

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:54

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:54
Goodonya Bonz, hope to see you here :-)
FollowupID: 720935

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 08:13

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 08:13
Welcome to the greatest , I have passed through there twice, 2005 and 2006. up here in the Top End we have Croc Burgers....I wonder how a Goanna Burger would sell.

AnswerID: 448695

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 22:54

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 22:54
G'day Doug, We've tried both Croc and Goanna before, and i reckon we can safely keep Goanna Burgers OFF the menu .. LOL
FollowupID: 721038

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 00:41

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 00:41
Hey Doug,

bring me a crocodile burger, and make it snappy.

hahahahahahaa

oldie but a goody.

FollowupID: 721188

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 00:50

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 00:50
Gone Bush
We have the tour buses from Connections come in here, sometimes the driver leaves some left overs for my little dog Coster, there's a mix of meats including Croc meat, I give him some at night, I don't go near him until morning.......

I sometimes have a Croc burger at the Darwin wharf, Coster won't come near me for 6 hours............

FollowupID: 721189

Reply By: Member - John H (SA) - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 08:53

Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 08:53
Welcome Serena and Al. Will be passing through your area in a couple of months time. We'll be the geriatric couple with a Camper Trailer still trying to find new places to visit in this wonderful country of ours. Will certainly be in touch with you re road Conditions prior to leaving home and also to avail our selves of your "Mud Maps"
John and Wendy
AnswerID: 448811

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 09:27

Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 09:27
G'day John and Wendy, thanks for the welcome.
Certainly get hold of us at anytime for road conditions, and I'll have new and improved mud maps here by that time.
Look forward to seeing you then.
I've also just replied to your opal question, i hope it helps.

Al
FollowupID: 721061

Reply By: Member - David W4 - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 21:06

Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 21:06
Hi Serena and Al,
You're clearly getting a great welcome to ExplorOz, and having also only just joined last month I'm learning just how good and helpful this group are and I'm also finding an unbelievable amount of useful information for me as a "beginner" ! (This being my first "post" !)
I have a schedule next month to come from Gold Coast via Oodnadatta and then along Great Central Road eta Tjukayirla around 19/20 April .. my lovely Discovery 3 and all road conditions permitting ! I'll certainly (a) look forward to seeing you both and (b) contacting you closer to then to check those roads.
I'll add my "welcome" to everyone else's and give my regards, Dave.

AnswerID: 448893

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 16:08

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 16:08
G'day David,

Thanks for the welcome mate, and likewise to you.
we look forward to meeting you also when you pop in, and feel free to contact us anytime beforehand to see how the road is.
The road is starting to come good now, so as long as we don't have another big dump of rain before then it should be fine.
The weather is perfect at the moment, so fingers crossed it stays like this.

Al
FollowupID: 721235

Reply By: muffin man - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 23:11

Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 23:11
You've gotta be the same bloke from over at the overland magazine site.
If so luv ya comments.
Muffin Man
AnswerID: 448909

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 16:14

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 16:14
G'day MM, yeah mate, same person :-)
Good to see a familiar name over here..

FollowupID: 721237

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 17:05

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 17:05
G'day Rute,

Good to see you and Serena aboard.
Shame you weren't there last year when I drove through.
Over in WA again this year but will be heading up the Tanami and home via Duncan/Buntine/Buchanan.
AnswerID: 448969

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 18:34

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 18:34
G'day Richard, yeah mate, it is a shame we wont catch you. You know us though, we could end up anywhere in coming years..lol so no doubt we'll see you again somewhere, if not here in the next couple of years.

Al
FollowupID: 721244

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 17:45

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 17:45
Al and Serena

With the welcome that you have got and the amount of people that will be dropping in I hope that you have plenty of tea and coffee.

I will take this opportunity to place my order for a coffee on the 4th June at 3pm.

There will be 5 vehicles in the convey and will just be staying the one night.

I know via face book that will have another 34 campers in that night so hope to get in early.

AnswerID: 448976

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 18:41

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 18:41
G'day wayne, I'm just ordering more coffee and tea now..LOL
I've made a note in the book for the 4th June so we know to expect you.
Make sure you also ask serena for her special Crumble Cake (that way she'll make more, and I get to sample it) :-)
Look forward to seeing you then.

Al
FollowupID: 721246

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 21:32

Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 21:32
Gooday Serena & Al,
Was there in August 2010, if you have Barry Wood, one of the grader operators come in "Say Hello to him from me, I took his photo when I went through and later called on his Boss and told him both Barry and the other Operator need more money for the great job they do. Look forward to doing the trip again.
Cheers, Ezi Hitch,
Boroma 604.
AnswerID: 448997

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2011 at 00:55

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2011 at 00:55
Barry's a great bloke, he comes in all the time, was just in today topping the grader up actually.
You say there's a photo, but i don't see it, will try refreshing etc...
And yes, they do a bloody great job!!!!
FollowupID: 721297

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Wednesday, Mar 23, 2011 at 08:47

Wednesday, Mar 23, 2011 at 08:47
Gooday,
Sorry I took the photo of Barry and his Grader west of Tjukayirla on my way through, blew it up to A4 when I got back to Brisbane and sent it to him.
He was looking forward to getting his new grader, has he got it yet?.
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 449034

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 22:54

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 22:54
G'day Boroma, I'll ask Barry how long he's had his current grader :-)
We actually have a special sandwhich here that we do, that Barry started, an now all the shire workers order.
Bacon, Egg, Cheese and onion and BBQ Sauce.. we're gunna name it a grader special or something..lol
FollowupID: 721603