Sailing on Lake Eyre - $50,000 fine!!

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 16:25
ThreadID: 85202 Views:6593 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
Lake Eyre coverage lacks respect for the Arabunna people, says lawyer

MEDIA coverage of a sailing ban on South Australia's Lake Eyre has been "disrespectful" to the lake's native title claimants, a lawyer for the group says.

Controversy over the ban arose after the commodore of the Lake Eyre yachting club Bob Backway called for boaters to risk fines and sail on the normally dry desert lake without a permit.

Mr Backway said the National Parks authority had halted sailing on Lake Eyre, filled by recent floodwaters, until permission was obtained from the lake's native title claimants, the Arabunna people.

The Arabunna people have refused sailing access to Lake Eyre, citing its spiritual significance.
AAP March 24, 2011 3:05PM

Stephen Kenny, a lawyer for the Arabunna people who filed a native title claim on the waterway in 1998, says the controversy over the issue has been 'disrespectful'.

"Some media circles are appearing to take on a tone of disrespecting the culture of the Arabunna people," he told AAP today.

"It is a place of great significance to them and well documented and well known, and I am pleased the national park is recognising that in their actions."

A spokesman for National Parks said the yacht club had applied for a permit to sail on the lake and it was being assessed.

He said issues raised by the traditional owners of the land were part of the process undertaken in granting a permit.

Mr Kenny said National Parks' concerns was not related to the Arabunna's native title claim but the Aboriginal Heritage Act which calls for protection of sites of indigenous significance.

"Lake Eyre is a national park and for the yacht club to hold a regatta there they do need permission from National Parks and Wildlife...(who) know Lake Eyre is a significant site for the Arabunna people," he said.

"There is an Aboriginal Heritage Act in South Australia that allows Aboriginal people to protect their heritage, and it is an offence to do something that is detrimental to Aboriginal heritage."

"That is a separate issue, and that is what National Parks is concerned about, that the (sailing) activities could infringe (indigenous) spiritual beliefs."

Mr Kenny said native title only gave Aboriginal people formal recognition as traditional owners of the land and the right to negotiate with miners.

"Native title does not give Aboriginal people the right to exclude others from their land," he said.

"The tourists can still go there - they can't actually ban anyone from going to Lake Eyre."

Mr Kenny said he was confident the Arabunna's native title claim would be successful.

"I am bit frustrated that it has taken so long and hasn't happened earlier," he said.

"This is a very strong native title claim and I have every expectation that it will be decided by consent."

South Australian Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Grace Portolesi told AAP that those who sailed on the waterway illegally could face penalties of up to $50,000 under the Aboriginal Heritage Act.
AAP March 24, 2011 3:05PM

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 17:59

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 17:59
Why don't they try to get a ban forSydney Harbour while there at it, see how they go then. I am bewildered.
AnswerID: 449148

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 18:20

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 18:20
What an amazing coincidence that everywhere the white fella wants to go in this country ( once it becomes popular ) the indigenous Australians get white fella lawyers ( at white fellas expense ) to put a claim on it and start charging money !!
FollowupID: 721469

Follow Up By: ian zzr - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:16

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:16
Took the words right out of my mouth. my relo;s had property has become very prosperous now consumed by np and givin to locals to handle , i grew up on this place for 50 years and my dad before me . Cant say any more to angry
FollowupID: 721475

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:38

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:38
Gazz,

I think it may be the ambulance chasing lawyers getting to the Indigenous Australians, not the other way around...

FollowupID: 721478

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 20:03

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 20:03
A very interesting quote from Mr. Kenny in there. I never thought I would hear that from a Native Title Lawyer. I'm sure Mr. Kenny already regrets that quote...however, it's too late!!!!

FollowupID: 721485

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 20:53

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 20:53
Yes Alan

Picked up on that quote myself. Didn't know that.
Puts things in a different perspective. Might not worry to much about the permit that did'nt arrive before departure.

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 721489

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:06

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:06
About 15 years ago - there was an indigenous australian ( who didn't have 50 cents to his name ) put a claim on 3 acres of land at Robs Point on the coorong in South Australia because "it was sacred" - one of the best spots on the coorong I might add ! For nearly 3 years he used white fella lawyers, white fella dollars and the white fella system to prove that the land was "sacred" to him because his mother and father were born there and their mothers and fathers were born there - very sacred ! Didn't cost him a cent ! Well, a few months later when this "very sacred sight" was handed over to him - complete with title documents, he sold it for 40,000 dollars ! I know this because I knew one of the lawyers involved and actually did some contract work for the person who bought it ! Must have been VERY VERY sacred to sell it so quickly ! And before anyone amps out at this reply I will add that I have spent time on Aboriginal missions in central Australia and have seen how our indigenous cousins rort the white fella system !! I just say it as I see it !

Gazz
FollowupID: 721490

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 18:48

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 18:48
When this was first posted, I made a suggestion that all and sundry should line up with their sailing boats + media and go for it.

Isn't easy to charge a lot of people especially if there are 2 or 3 to a boat.

I am not against native title but I am against every foot of this country being called sacred, it seems ok to leave all the rubbish lying around cars, bottles, cans and every other item and then call the ground sacred. The same people will drive vehicles over that sacred ground but we can't.

Regarding the waters of Lake Eyre, this will also make every other natural lake in Australia sacred + the Pacific, Indian, Southern Oceans and the Timor, Arafura, and Coral seas.

I don't wish to start world war 3 but enough is enough, please don't ask me what I think of the legal profession as I would be here all night.

I have worked with and beside indigenous people including Torres strait islanders and have never had any problems, in fact a good mate is a Murray/TI.

Many of these people have been down trodden and deserve their land rights but not at the expense of others who call Australia home.

AnswerID: 449150

Follow Up By: Member - wadams - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:27

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:27
Lucky (or unlucky) for me I don't actually own a sailing boat or I would be there in a flash. Be worth $50,000 just for the experience.
I actually live on Thursday island and I am not allowed to go out with the locals when they are hunting Dugong or turtle, however, how very lucky for me I am not banned from going to their feastings and eating Dugong, Turtle, Crayfish and Coral Trout. Wish you were here. Yum yum.

FollowupID: 721476

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:41

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:41
Wadam,
good luck to you, it has been a good few years since I have been to Thursday Island.

Used to get the odd piece of Dugong and Turtle from my mate.

Have a good one

FollowupID: 721481

Follow Up By: Member - daz (SA) - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:16

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:16
Can anyone explain to me please why a so called aboriginal with three quarters or more european blood running through his veins would rather be known as an aboriginal than acknowledge his white ancestors. ???

The greatest racism now is against the non aboriginal
FollowupID: 721491

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:45

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:45
Hey Daz - That's easy to explain - $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
FollowupID: 721493

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:33

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:33
I'm really surprised they haven't banned the bloody planes from flying over the Lake.

Fair dinkum, it's about time the Government regulators had the balls to ignore all this unnecessary crap from a minority group of people who are stuffing OUR Country and OUR lifestyle up.

Bill.

AnswerID: 449154

Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:52

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 19:52
Why ban the planes when you can charge every passenger an extra $100 to fly over.

Geez...I hope I don't give anyone ideas....lol.... no lvq

ob
FollowupID: 721483

Reply By: bibtracker - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:22

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 21:22
Q: What have you got if you have 100 lawyers buried up to their necks in sand?
A: Not enough sand.

What's the difference between a dead roo on the road and a dead lawyer on the road?
There's skid marks before the roo.
AnswerID: 449162

Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:10

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:10
Yeh, "citing its spiritual significance"..... remember this one "secret woman's business" They just make them up as they go! Australian white people are the endangered species!
Capt.
AnswerID: 449166

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:40

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:40
excellent ...... yep i am all for it, it should be handed over to them 100%, full titles and all ..............
And they should charge access for entry ......
Total absolute ownership with the names clearly written and witnessed and all legal .....

And as we never discriminate and treat all and everyone equal then those listed as the owners will and shall be rated at the GRV and any roads, services and infrastructure will be paid for by the owners as written on the papers ......
after all they will be making a very tidy sum ......And when the first bill for rates comes and is not paid then they are taken to the cleaners as we all are and treated fairly as we all are and the land re-possesed and handed back to the way it was........

After all i own land, and have to pay rates, if i make lots of money from it then up go my rates, if i want a bigger shed, i pay for it out of what i earn from it ... if i want power to my shed i pay for it ......

Mmmmmmm
AnswerID: 449170

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:55

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:55
Trouble is Joe,

you're not also getting a bucket load of royalties from all the mining companies who want to work on your land.

And you don't have a bunch of rellies living in the city and breaking every law available while assaulting and robbing everyone who is not your cousin.

And these people have got the police running so scared that they can only be described as "dark skinned" so that we don't foster any stereotypes.

Maybe we could start a new TV series. Call it "The Untouchables".

FollowupID: 721496

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:56

Thursday, Mar 24, 2011 at 22:56
In the meantime, a referendum planned to include mentioning these people in the Constitution is expected to get up.

Not while my fundamental orifice points to the ground.

FollowupID: 721497

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:00

Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 17:00
if your talking about the 'Police Service" they are a service now not a force, not that they did much Enforcing. police don't care about anything except there pay packet, speeding and sexual assault cases.

I don't have anything against 98% of the police officers just what they don't do, serve and PROTECT!

long story...
FollowupID: 721680

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 07:45

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 07:45
Which part of the lake is sacred? The lake bed or the water that has recently filled it?
If it's the water, that certainly isnt the same water that was there last time it filled.
All these 'sacred sites' seem to be sacred until enough $$$$$$ have been put into the Indigenous coffers and then it's ok for the white fella to have a look.
And then they wonder why some of the aborigines get a bad rap from the white blokes.
They call it 'sacred' and it gets given to them. I've had to earn all the property I own.
AnswerID: 449184

Follow Up By: Tim - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 16:34

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 16:34
I like your theory. If water was to fall on my property and then into the Lake Erye basin, then that water is sacred to me and therefore the contents of Lake Erye is sacred to me also......
Tim
FollowupID: 721549

Reply By: snapper49 - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 08:05

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 08:05
One only has to drive across the nullabor and past yalata to see how much respect they have for "their" land
AnswerID: 449186

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 09:51

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 09:51
Must agree with you there. It doesn't take much of an effort to clean up their sites. As far as indigenous people are concerned. Full blood and half casts I accept. The rest no.
I believe that a lot of this trouble is caused by "do gooders" and not by the indigenous population.
My ancestors lost their land many centuries ago and we had to assimilate into their society. Will these people ever assimilate into general society? I think not.
FollowupID: 721517

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 15:11

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 15:11
They are only doing this to set up a precedent of paying for permission.

Just check out how much it is for two to camp at Aurukun!! Same thing.

Unreal: http://www.aurukun.qld.gov.au/camping_permit_2009.pdf

AnswerID: 449205

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 15:46

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 15:46
$90 per night, per person.

Get out of here !!

FollowupID: 721544

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 18:20

Saturday, Mar 26, 2011 at 18:20
I couldn't believe it either. We (you know who I mean) are in the wrong job.

I wonder if I can find a bit of local input to my DNA and get a cut. Hmmm.

Yep All equal guys and gals.

FollowupID: 721688

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 16:22

Friday, Mar 25, 2011 at 16:22
This does not help their cause, doesn't it ?
Low lives on a power trip.
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 449212