Where Can I get An Air Hose

Submitted: Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 20:30
ThreadID: 86149 Views:3790 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
Hi All:

I want an air hose that I can attach to my spare tyre to (1) partly pump up a second tyre and (2) provide some pressure to a Tanami pump which I intend to use for a shower on occasions.

All I need if a fitting that fits onto tyre valves, and a 'tap' which will allow me to regulate the amount of air that is being released from my spare tyre.

I thought this would be a simple thing, but having spent half a day in Auto stores looking for the 'bits' I have come home empty handed and puzzled that I can't get this stuff over the counter.

Can anyone advise how I can get this made up?

Thanks in advance.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

Reply By: snoopyone - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 20:37

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 20:37
BOC would be a good start

http://www.bocworldofwelding.com.au/storelocator

or ask at your local tyre retailer where they get their hoses repaired

Seems a logical place to find out
AnswerID: 453661

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 21:24

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 21:24
I have seen someone use the hose from an ARB compressor, they screw onto the valve stem, and they popped a tap into the hose about 450mmm from the end, so they could switch off the air flow between pumping up the tyres. They also used it from the spare which they kept at 55PSI to assist with reseating tyres when replacing them on the rims. I would think Repco would have the taps and the screw on ends, and the airhose.

AnswerID: 453670

Reply By: friar - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 21:41

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 21:41
Jack I pump my spare tyre to 80psi, & use cheap pressure guage from bunnings to attach to air tyre or air blower , good for getting bull dust of rear bumper before getting in to kitchen in rear of Prado, also possible to inflate flat tyre if needed.
AnswerID: 453672

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 13:44

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 13:44
Don't you read the warnings on tyres, if your putting 80psi in a normal 4x4 tyre your asking for trouble. one of my tyres says 65psi, I would only ever inflate to 55psi , I have 2 spares and it can be handy to use them for spare air, ...unless your tyres are truck tyres...like on a large bus etc.

FollowupID: 726567

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 22:33

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 22:33
Doug,
Your tyres are only Load Rating D (old 8 ply rating) hence 65psi max.
Many of us run Load Rating E (old 10 ply rating) which have 80psi max. Looks like this:
FollowupID: 726624

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 21:53

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 21:53
Gday Jack
Just google 'Schrader" air fittings and all will be revealed. Plenty of agents and pictures of parts .

AnswerID: 453675

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 22:08

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 22:08
This mob have a store in Adelaide.
Beissbarth Australia Pty Ltd
They have heaps of tools, machines and fittings galore associated with the auto tyre industry - trade and retail - I bought some bits there a few years back for a similar air project. Didn't see a website but I guess they are in every state.
AnswerID: 453679

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 07:27

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 07:27
Jack,

Any Air fitting retailer should have what you want.

The hose I made has a lockable fitting both ends and an air control valve close to one end. This end I connect to the Tanami pump.
You only need to crack open the valve slightly otherwise most air will spill out of the safety valve. The "lockable" fitting simply allows you to clamp the fittings to the valve at either end, then airflow is controlled by the inline control valve.

Actually I haven't used the air hose for a while as my new vehicle doesn't have a rear mounted spare and I wouldn't use anything other than a spare.
I now use a small bicycle pump and that works well.

Love the Tanami Pump.

Bill.

AnswerID: 453691

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 07:40

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 07:40
While you can get various fittings ,some like clip on type etc don't cut it.

You can buy metal tyre valve extenders for truck wheels , I used one of these cut end off it , and the end that goes onto existing valve had nice screw on thread.
AnswerID: 453692

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 08:10

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 08:10
All useful info. Thanks to all that replied. I can now steer a straighter course.

Jack

AnswerID: 453693

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 11:56

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 11:56
They may have a grommet or two as well OBJ ;-)

FollowupID: 726560

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 19:55

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 19:55
Certain fellow travellers have sadly let the side down badly in the grommet department. I am sure that one particular blogging traveller has passed many a grommet, but has failed to stop and collect one for me. The fact that the car with the grommet may be locked is not, in my view, an excuse.

Jack

FollowupID: 726602

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 20:51

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 20:51
Even though I always have a decent 12v compressor on board, I also carry a 6m length 1/4" (6mmID) air hose with a clip on tyre chuck either end. I have for 20 years kept my spare at 60psi. Can use the spare or any of the other tyres to inflate the low tyre. Best to use non-steer tyres. Even after using the air from the 'high' side of any road tyre, you will be flat out (pun intended) to notice any difference as you are charging the 'low' side of flat-ish tyre. BTW we have tested a normal plastic soft drink bottle to over 130psi (lid hose clamped on) in safe controlled conditions and it did not blow so one would feel safe with 60psi in spare as long it is brought back to correct pressure before use on road.A spare with 60psi will blow up a flat with ease and still have heaps for road use. Now for a red after all that.
AnswerID: 453773