Yabbying....which bait?

Submitted: Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 20:43
ThreadID: 86241 Views:6764 Replies:14 FollowUps:8
Never seemed to have the time before.......but have now acquired an Opera Yabby Trap.

There seems to be conflicting advice as to which bait to use to attract the Yabbies. Some say meat in the cold southern waters and vegetables in the warmer tropical waters

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Spero

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 20:52

Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 20:52
Spero

When I was a Victorian bacon , even tinned span will get them, now I am a NSW I have found that still works but got put onto sweet corn, straight from the can...

Works for me..
AnswerID: 454114

Reply By: funnyfarm - Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 20:57

Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 20:57
In the Darling River kangaroo backbone by a million mile. Have seen other baits in nets next to roo backbone and the roo out done the others at least 20 to 1. You can get it from some butchers and you need to keep you receipt if using it to show fisheries otherwise you will cop a fine.
AnswerID: 454115

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 21:06

Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 21:06
We commercially harvested yabby's and used dog nuts. Most effective bait we found.

Neil
AnswerID: 454117

Follow Up By: goddosglory - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 11:20

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 11:20
must have had a lot of dogs???lol
FollowupID: 727003

Reply By: Farmboywa - Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 21:49

Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 21:49
A small bag made from pantyhose knotted at both ends and containing chook pellets is cheap and simple. We won't get into a conversation about where to get the pantyhose.
AnswerID: 454121

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 22:00

Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 22:00
farmboywa has got the the answer you are after--tried and tested for me over the years and it works.
FollowupID: 726968

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 10:11

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 10:11
Yep, chook pellets always worked for cherabin, gilgies and marron over here in the fab West. Don't see why it shouldn't work for the tiny little yabbies.
(sorry, must 'fess, gilgies are tiny as well, but when you're a kid catching them, they're fun :-)
FollowupID: 726992

Reply By: SDG - Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 23:41

Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 23:41
NSW, and QLD I just open a real cheap tin of sardines (no name variety) and drop that in the net. Often found the net overflowing when I returned.
AnswerID: 454129

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 07:24

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 07:24
Red Meat works for me on the Murray.

After the bait bags kept getting chewed up by water rats, I now use a stainless bait clip used for crab nets.
I just stick a chop on the clip. No fuss, no bother.

AnswerID: 454141

Reply By: SIF4X4 - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 08:40

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 08:40
Thanks for all the advice....quite a variety of bait ideas....much appreciated.

Spero
AnswerID: 454151

Reply By: Member - Matt M - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 09:29

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 09:29
Cat.
AnswerID: 454156

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 10:12

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 10:12
Does that mean that book title has to be changed to "102 uses for a dead cat"?
:D

FollowupID: 726993

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 12:06

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 12:06
Just use Road Kill.

AnswerID: 454171

Reply By: guy007 - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 13:58

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 13:58
Used to use Friskas dry cat food in a perforated plastic pill container. Now find that this brand falls apart and dissolves quickly. Now use Woolworth own brand and works a treat. Make sure that it contains fish preferably sardines.
Caught a heap of red claw in the Darr river just recently. Now working well on the cherabins further north!
enjoy
Guy
AnswerID: 454182

Reply By: murrayman - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 18:33

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 18:33
hi, roo bones work well, last weekend in the murray, 10 pull ups, 600 yabbies in 1.5 hours. quickest the 3 of us have ever bagged out. cheers mm,
AnswerID: 454202

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 19:55

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 19:55
Spero just be aware that Opera house nets are now illegal in NSW because of the amount of water rats, platypus etc getting drowned in them. Check your local fisheries laws.
AnswerID: 454210

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 21:54

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 21:54
Is this something new? The NSW DPI site show opera pots here for use provided they meet the specs. Any I've seen in the shops and mine meet this spec.

FollowupID: 727055

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, May 13, 2011 at 22:03

Friday, May 13, 2011 at 22:03
I thought they where all illegal, but maybe they have changed the specs so wildlife do not get caught. Last time I checked was 12 months ago. If it meets the specs go for it.
FollowupID: 727057

Follow Up By: Member - A J- Saturday, May 14, 2011 at 00:10

Saturday, May 14, 2011 at 00:10
Madfish - last time I checked they were illegal east of the Newel highway and a small area down on the Edward River west of the Newel.

You do not have to have then in the water, but just in your possession beside a river in which they are illegal.

A J
FollowupID: 727063

Follow Up By: SIF4X4 - Saturday, May 14, 2011 at 21:11

Saturday, May 14, 2011 at 21:11
Thanks fellas

Wow..did a quick Google

Opera House Yabby traps

Victoria.....BANNED
South Australia....Opera OK Entry/Exit rings 75mm
NSW........Opera OK Entry/Exit rings 90mm
Banned east of Newell Highway

And there I was thinking of a simple pleasure.......*sigh*

Whats the world coming to?

Spero
FollowupID: 727113

Reply By: mattd - Saturday, May 14, 2011 at 19:23

Saturday, May 14, 2011 at 19:23
Hi there,

I have found chicken necks to work well. Nice and fleshy but hold their shape well. Gives the yabby something to hang onto.

Mattd
AnswerID: 454269

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, May 15, 2011 at 19:36

Sunday, May 15, 2011 at 19:36
Mate when we where kids we just used a bit of meat on a string in our farm dams and caught heaps.
AnswerID: 454394