Update Post Cyclone Yasi Mission Beach FNQ

Submitted: Monday, May 23, 2011 at 19:08
ThreadID: 86504 Views:3320 Replies:10 FollowUps:5

I've been off the air since the 4 of February when Cyclone Yasi gave us a scare see thread TC Yasi

So I thought I'd provide an update for all those of heading this way over the winter months, whether it is to stay here or to pass through on the way to the cape.

Much as happed since February 3 sadly not all so good.
Our state government together with the local council have colluded to produce a truly poor response and reconstruction effort.

It is a saga of missed opportunities, confused priorities, wasted money, poorly allocated manpower, duplicated efforts and blame shifting. We just don't do disaster response well in Australia.

The insurance companies have simply "gone to ground" when it comes to dealing with claims many people are on their fourth and fifth builders quotes for repairs to damaged homes.

All in all however there is a good community spirit brought about by people working together to repair and recover in spite of the obstacles put in their path.

Quite a bit of the tourism infrastructure is now functioning again and we are ready to welcome visitors again. The friendly nature of the people is still there although a few of us are a bit raw around the edges and still a bit stressed.

The rain forest is recovering but obviously not looking at it's best. In it's own way it is an interesting thing to see the awesome force of nature unleashed and what it can do, so the damage becomes a kind of tourist event in it's own right. It's worth seeing, and if you buy a cup of coffee or stay the night then local operators will be very grateful.

So the message is we're down but certainly not out and we'll be back better than ever, but we need your support to get over the rough bits.

Finally I've been asked many times what it is like going through something like Yasi. So here goes:

Imagine your sitting in a metal garden shed next to an airport runway with a 747 jet 10 meters away at take off point, while at the same time your shed is being hosed by say 6 water cannon from the fire trucks and someone hurls a few bricks at your shed every few minutes.

Then imagine doing this for 10 to 12 hours and you have some idea.
Not nice and not something I'd want to do again in a hurry.

Reply By: Crazy Dog - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 19:16

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 19:16
Yeh onya GT..

I am in Cairns and have been making enquires about c/van parks and will be heading down to Mission and Cardwell - Tully maybe for a few weekends away just to spend a few bob and chat to the locals over a beer or 50..

True Aussie spirit will not be dampened by the government or insurance companies.. I will not scribe here what I think of both of those.

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 455275

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 20:02

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 20:02
A few of us are off to Hinchinbrook to walk the half of the Thorsborne Trail which QPWS will have open by late June.
Rangers commented that one side effect is that you will get better water views than normal with the reduced foliage!

Thanks for answering what we all wondered, "what is it likie"
You give a similar account to what I remember Darwin residents saying about Cyclone Tracy in 1974.
AnswerID: 455282

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 20:49

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 20:49

We and, I hope, many southerners will be coming your way in the coming weeks.

I was at Kurrumine Beach last year and spent several days wandering in the Mission Beach area. I enjoyed it very much.

Reading of your time in the cyclone reminded me of of our time in one on Bora Bora some years ago. It is a very concerning time and certainly one that is not forgotten.

Keep up your spirits

Best wishes
DW
AnswerID: 455287

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 20:55

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 20:55
Hi Gone troppo,

Welcome back, yes things seem slow but it will improve one day ; ). I made a trip to Cardwell to stay the night and spend some company cash (Was in Cairns on business).

It all helps

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 455290

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 23:13

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 23:13
Good to see you back Gone Troppo, and thanks for the update. I don't think anyone could comprehend what it was like for you guys up there unless we'd been through it ourselves. Hope all goes well and that you have a good tourist season.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 455307

Reply By: Member - Heather MG NSW - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 06:48

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 06:48
Hi GoneTroppo,

Good to see you back on here and interesting to read your report about the rebuilding and the experience of being there during Yasi. It sounds truly terrifying.

We aren't going your way this winter as we have a trip to Central Australia planned. (Leave next week and can't wait!) but maybe next year we will go north again.

All the best.

Regard,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 455321

Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 07:34

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 07:34
Seems not too much has changed over the decades Chris. We lost our house (well my folk did as I was just a little tacker in Grade 1 at school) in Freshwater (Cairns) in 1956 cyclone. While I thought the whole thing was pretty exciting at the time I now realise what my folks must've gone through. Government and Council involvement back then was also pretty ordinary from the stories I've been told and I guess then, like you guys now, it was the community that pulled together to get things done.

Frankly, I think my preference would be for this 'community' approach to take precedence with just some support from Governments - but until I'm actually in the situation myself I can't say how I'd react. Communities need Governments to rebuild infrastructure.....insurance companies need to move quickly to ensure they are responding to their customers. At the risk of copping a bit of flack, however, I don't think Governments (ie the taxpayers) should provide defacto insurance cover for people who don't take out their own private cover though.

Good luck with the continuing rebuild and will probably drop in a spend a few days and dollars in the area when I bring a 4WD tour group through in Jul-Aug 2012 (going to the Cape).
AnswerID: 455325

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 07:38

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 07:38
...not saying that you or any of the folks in your area don't have insurance mind you..just my thought on the seemingly increasing situation where folks choose not to have insurance. Not peculiar to FNQ, or QLD for that matter there are many down this way (NSW, ACT, VIC) who choose not to insure and run very high risks in bush fire season.
FollowupID: 728236

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 09:59

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 09:59
Agree with you re the insurance. It is a trend however.

On the other hand here I (and many others) pay insurance premium, nearly 5k per year in our case with the farm, after 3 1/5 months I have nothing repaired.

Someone down the road who hasn't worked in years with no insurance has had all the help in the world including payouts form the donated money.

Don't misunderstand I'm not whingeing, but it sure presents as a disincentive to insure.
FollowupID: 728245

Follow Up By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 11:33

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 11:33
Mate I feel for you
10 years ago here in Huskisson nsw we had the Xmas day fires & a lot of parasite's who did not have insurance but can play the pokies every day came out of it a lot better than us who had insurance.
My insurance company did fix the fire damage to my factory but nothing outside (moulds etc) as it was classed not in a secure area then increased the policy by $13,000.00

Vince
FollowupID: 728249

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 12:08

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 12:08
Good to see you back on here Chris. I was only wondering the other day how you got on. I am sure that those who have never experienced what you all did, have a better understanding of what you went through now.

Thanks for your 'sitrep', and all the best for the future.

AnswerID: 455338

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 22:23

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 22:23
Hi Chris, we were heading back out to the QLD border again but everything we want to do is shut but the pub, so we have plans on taking the kids on a history lesson of another kind up your way. We rode the edge of two small cyclones last season in a caravan hmmm that last couple of hours where they don't know if the bloody thing is going to take off north or south. I've always wanted to see the Tully Falls and the others in the area. What's our chances with access. We have no concrete destination for o/n stops will just work that out as it comes. 1st-11th June.
Sharon
AnswerID: 455391

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 08:08

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 08:08
Hi Sharon

There is a fair bit of work going n still so I think your chances by early June would be pretty good.

Here is a link to Mission Beach Tourism website Click Here

This is a pretty good site and updated regularly the things to do section on the left hand side is a good snapshot of what is available.

Have a good time when you get here!!

FollowupID: 728403

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 23:42

Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 23:42
Thanks Chris,
Great link, Id better ring the caravan parks this week and book before the Vic nomads get in first. There has been heaps of advertising down our way that your open.
Sharon
FollowupID: 728782

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 08:19

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 08:19
Thanks everyone for your messages of support.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our region.

AnswerID: 455509