Fuel prices across the Barkly Hwy today 4/6/11

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 17:37
ThreadID: 86752 Views:6038 Replies:6 FollowUps:16
Travelled from Mt Isa to Tennant Creek today petrol at Cammooweal $1.89.9 , Barkly Homestead $1.98.9 then Tennant Creek $1.64 Desil was about 2c dearer happy travel
Happy Feet

Reply By: ss--ss - Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 17:52

Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 17:52
I remember going the opposite way from devils marble to camoweal. No option but to fill up at the Barkley roadhouse especially with the massive headwind we had.. Was last year & from memory was around $1.80 per litre.
Anyway happy travels wish I was back there!
AnswerID: 456366

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 18:09

Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 18:09
Whenever I go past the Barkly Roadhouse, I pull in to the bowser, get out, have a look at the prices then get in a drive off, just my little protest.
FollowupID: 729427

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 10:13

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 10:13
Notso...I reckon they'd be fair traumatised by observing your little protest!!!

ROTFLMAO.

FollowupID: 729491

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 10:16

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 10:16
Yeah, terrified, still I have toyed with the idea of getting a hundred or so vans lined up and have em all do it throughout the day or week. Might be fun if nothing else.
FollowupID: 729492

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:22

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:22
Notso, where will you all be when they ALL decide to close the doors?
I bet you'd be the first to complain that there is nowhere to stop.
FollowupID: 729514

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:38

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:38
Nah, mate I have no problem paying for fuel, I just object to a mob like this who charge exhorbitant prices as stated in the first post. If Tennant Creek can sell it for 1.68 or so it is fairly obvious that this lot are profiteering.

The same going across the Nullarbor, there are servos that charge realistic prices and those who don't. No one would deny anyone making a reasonable profit, but some of em are beyond the pale.
FollowupID: 729515

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:44

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:44
Notso, I'm sure you are aware that places like Barkly Homestead have much higher overheads than someone in Tennant creek.
I'm certainly not going to argue the toss with you over it, when it comes down to it, I'd rather stop there than not, it's a great spot, and they are always friendly with cold beer and a good feed, and if you hadn't noticed, not alot else around it, so if that means i pay a little more for the privilige then i am very happy to do so.
FollowupID: 729516

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:51

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 14:51
Tjukayirla Roadhouse - I don't think he gives a damn, to him everyone should give him service at city prices.

FollowupID: 729517

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 15:03

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 15:03
I hardly think Forbes in Central Western NSW qualifies as City prices.

Anyhow I made a comment So actually I think you are already "Arguing the Toss".

So I guess you have you're opinion and I have mine, and I will continue to feel free to make comments when and how I feel like it.

"Nomadic Navara posted:
Tjukayirla Roadhouse - I don't think he gives a damn, to him everyone should give him service at city "

And mate, I've never criticized you for having your opinion, so how about you just keep to the discussion. As you know the minute you decide to attack the person rather than his ideas you've lost the argument.

FollowupID: 729519

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 16:19

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 16:19
Obviously we will not be arguing the toss with Notso at the bar at Barkly Roadhouse.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 729525

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 16:32

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 16:32
Kevin, we could all sit at the bar and watch him protest.......[img]
[/img]
FollowupID: 729527

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 19:03

Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 19:03
What about the Three Ways is there no longer a servo there?
AnswerID: 456377

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 07:38

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 07:38
There was ten months ago. As I recall diesel was about 2 cents more than Tennant Creek where we paid $1.479. Barkley was $1.749.
Kevin
Kevin

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 729465

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 15:56

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 15:56
Thanks for that Kevin.
FollowupID: 729523

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 18:32

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 18:32
3ways was there last week when I went through Bruce. They were around 10c /ltr over nearby Tennant Creek United servo.
FollowupID: 729543

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 18:36

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 18:36
Thanks mate hope your both having a great trip.
FollowupID: 729546

Reply By: MarkSom - Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 19:29

Saturday, Jun 04, 2011 at 19:29
Hi all, going that way in 2 weeks,4days,12hrs.....Adds a bit to a "family holiday,travel Australia, spend your money here" as the pollies say...but still prefer Oz....Maybe Julia might consider lowering the excise (& soon to come fuel carbon tax) if she done a bit more real travelling round Oz....don"t begudge the Roadhouse operators a living, be buggered without them, long as dont rip us off!
AnswerID: 456380

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 07:44

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 07:44
I'm with you MarkSom. I normally top up at remote locations. The premium that you pay is chicken feed compared to the potential advantage of them being there. People who stop at places like Barkely Roadhouse for food but not fuel seem to forget that without the fuel sales there would be no food .. or drink.
Kevin
Kevin

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 729466

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 10:07

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 10:07
We went through there 2 years ago last week. Do yourself a favour and spend at least one night there at Barkley Roadhouse.

Absolutely loved Barkley Homestead Roadhouse camping area, and ended staying 3 nights to rest up. Once everyone moves on about 9am you almost have the place to yourself until the new lot start to arrive from about 2pm.

Great early morning walks up to the airstrip. Lots of birds sunrise and sunset, even met (lol) a dingo. Met lots of people in all sorts of rigs, and was a great spot in the outback to "Stop & Smell the Roses" so to speak.

So what if the fuel is 10c pl more.....filling up or topping up isn't going to break the bank is it. It'll only be a few extra bucks for the tankfull, and they do have higher overheads out there, running massive generators, beaut camping area with showers and toilets, providing staff accomodation, not to mention the great Roadhouse with all fuels, including LPG, food, liquor and supplies.

Some people want to rush by or avoid these places just because things are a bit dearer. So what? It's in the bl@@dy middle of nowhere.

Enjoy your trip MarkSom.

Cheers Fred.

FollowupID: 729490

Reply By: nickoff - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 09:36

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 09:36
Have done a number of trips between Darwin & Alice Springs recently.

Most expensive fuel I saw (petrol) was Renner Springs @ $2.14 litre. LPG $1.07

Dunmarra was reasonable at about $1.80. LPG $1.05

Tennant Creek was about the same.

Still no fuel at all available at Larrimah.

Ti Tree was about the $1.90 mark.

Katherine still the cheapest in the Territory at $1.45, go figure.

Tillmouth Well on the Tanimi Highway surprised me at only $1.95 litre. Thought they would have been more expensive.

The fuel at Yulemeu was $2.05, understandable for a small community, and I would guess that Yuendumu would be about the same.

Alice Springs about the $1.65 mark.
AnswerID: 456424

Reply By: kevmac....(WA) - Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 16:57

Sunday, Jun 05, 2011 at 16:57
You probably find that Cammoweal would get it's fuel from a Queensland Distributor and Barkly Homestead from a Territory Distributor (either from Alice or Darwin). I worked in the Territory back in the 70's and be thasnkful you still have a fuel stop on the Barkley Highway.......is less than half now to what we had back then. All the roadhouses had their characters and were well worth visiting just to meet them.
AnswerID: 456463

Reply By: ao767brad - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 15:45

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 15:45
5 weeks on the road and so far the dearest diesel has been $2.20 a litre at William Creek last week, closely followed by $2.19 at Kings Canyon yesterday, $1.87 at Erldunda and the rest below that.
AnswerID: 456784