Business owners who took advantage of stranded vehicle.

Submitted: Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 14:55
ThreadID: 86871 Views:5759 Replies:14 FollowUps:25
Just to warn people of what happened to a vehicle in our group travelling on a remote track.
We had 4 vehicles all towing vans with excellent preparation work on them doing the Oodnadatta track. Unfortunately one developed a major engine malfunction and had to be towed.
After sending two vehicles the remaining 102ks into Oodnadatta to drop vans at C/P and search for a tow they got the roadhouse guy to agree to come tow him in. The Tow driver was informed exactly where he was 102ks from Oodnadatta towards William Creek and asked for a quote. $500 to $600 he stated in front of 4 people so it was agreed on. The vehicle was towed into Oodnadatta. We refilled two 4x4s with Diesel @ $2.20 per litre and headed 102ks back to get the remaining van and the other driver waiting with him.
Then all three 4x4s refilled again in Oodnadatta thinking we were helping the Roadhouse owner out as he came and got our stranded mate with little notice. So we spent around $450 on Diesel and booked in three vans for the night at his C/P which two were charged $19.50 a night and I was charged $25.00 for the same powered sites but that's not the point
The owner of the towed vehicle went to pay the roadhouse owner for the tow and was handed a bill for $888.00.
When questioned as to why the quote was $500 to $600 he said oh I could not have done it for that even though we told him exactly where the vehicle was, right at the 102k sign post and exactly what it was. The vehicle was simply driven onto a car trailer and a 204k round trip.
We are not complaining about the quote of the tow as we know remote recovery can be expensive.
The fact that he just decided to charge a heap more than he quoted because this guy was stranded and there was no one else to do it.
Not to mention the amount of money we pumped through his business in fuel and accom. thinking this guy was a decent guy helping the outback traveller.
Had we known what he was gonna do we would have waited and refuelled at Marla.
The trip continued without drama from then on with us finding room the him in our cars and vans.
In future I will be avoiding that roadhouse simply because he took advantage of a traveller in trouble.
Be advised GET A WRITTEN QUOTE should you need to be towed.

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 15:11

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 15:11
Given what you have indicated above - why did you pay the $888??? If you were quoted $500 - $600 why not just pay that - reminding the person that there were witnesses and if unhappy then please take legal action.

However - I do understand that maybe easier said than done in the circumstances.

Garry
AnswerID: 456979

Reply By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 15:44

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 15:44
Section 52 of the Trade Practices Act deals with 'Misleading and Deceptive Conduct'.
I would threaten to report him to Department Fair Trading.
If you relax at a faster pace you can get more relaxation in for a given time.
Regards Rob

AnswerID: 456982

Follow Up By: CSeaJay - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 16:29

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 16:29
For some people, threatening with FTA is not a threat at all

I'd say he would have been one who wouldn't give a damn about the FTA

CJ
FollowupID: 730090

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 16:46

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 16:46
Hi guys,
We had to get the vehicle off his trailer and onto the tow vehicle from Coober Pedy so we had no choice but to pay.
We did argue that he quoted one thing and billed another and he basically said tough luck, thats what its going to cost you to get your vehicle.
I believe the vehicle owner has reported this to the RAA who said he is not a RAA Tow Contractor, ( no wonder ) and the appropriate Government Dept. but he is just treating this as a lesson learned.
patrolman
FollowupID: 730093

Follow Up By: ss--ss - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 16:55

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 16:55
Some people will try &squeeze every cent they can out of you especially if you don't have any other option. Probably worked out you were happy to pay 500 to 600 so why not stretch it even if they upset you a bit. Reminds me of a plumber I know :)
FollowupID: 730096

Follow Up By: Member - Rob D (NSW) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:06

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:06
I don't want to get into urinary Olympics here, but I have had 100% success using Section 52 of the Trade Practices Act. I have twice recovered large sums of money ($16,000 in total) for damage caused by faulty workmanship, and once for a sales person operating deceptively in adding up a bill.
The penalties under this Act are quite severe.
If you relax at a faster pace you can get more relaxation in for a given time.
Regards Rob

FollowupID: 730099

Follow Up By: ted - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:11

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:11
Why didn't one of the other vehicles tow the broken vehicle back to civilization?
After you dropped off the vans at a CP you could have done it easy I would think.
FollowupID: 730101

Follow Up By: rainbowprof - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 18:08

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 18:08
I wondered that, Ted...
FollowupID: 730104

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 19:42

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 19:42
We were advised against towing as the damage to headlights, spotlights, windscreen and bonnet would have been extensive.
Originally our thoughts were to tow it but we were advised against it by several people on the track.
Patrolman
FollowupID: 730116

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:04

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:04
yep I can vouch for the towing damage

FollowupID: 730184

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:13

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:13
About towing damage.

We have been towed and have towed others as well. We put our water bra/blind over the front of the car to protect against rock damage and keep the speed way down. Definitely not higher than 60Kph on a good paved/graded road. 40Kph sounds good. Even slower as needed.

Not one bit of damage so far.

Maybe its worth buying a water blind and stick it in the car for towing as well.

FollowupID: 730187

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 19:18

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 19:18
Patrolman

Being towed 102kms with no engine, so no brake assistance and no power steering would not be fun, but with the amount of people you had sharing the time behind the wheel may have been the best choice.

We all have 20 - 20 hindsight...
FollowupID: 730232

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 23:38

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 23:38
Tony

You are not kidding. I was towed last week. Motor sounded funny so I did not start it. About 10Kms through a bundle few back streets to keep out of traffics was. My arms were nearly dropping off. But it was better than an after hours tow home. It only cost $80 to get it to the mechanic the next morning. It was some bad fuel. Got it at a cheap fuel place in Sydney. My BAD.

102 Kms would hurt but I think a lot less than the $800 sting in the tail.

But we all learn hey? (20 - 20)

FollowupID: 730257

Follow Up By: muffin man - Monday, Jun 20, 2011 at 11:37

Monday, Jun 20, 2011 at 11:37
Patrolman,
If the owner reported this to the RAA you can only assume he is a member, if so the RAA Premium coverage would have arranged a tow or covered the costs.
Did they try contacting the RAA ?
MM
FollowupID: 731281

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:38

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:38
Pretty tough treatment I reckon. I am not able to add to the rights & wrongs etc. But a hearty Thank You for the warning, so I will tuck it away in case I have a need in the future, Cheers.
AnswerID: 456991

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:52

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 17:52
Some thing I think is even worse, just had the MU fixed after an accident and was paid by insurance company. I saw the quotes that the panel beater put in:- a set of spot lights $295 and he put on a set for $80 not even the same ones I would have thought he would have had to put on, which were $220 locally. No wander we pay heaps for our insurance.
AnswerID: 456999

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 19:55

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 19:55
Hi Bruce,
I agree, we all get ripped off.
A good mate had a Community Transport car pull across his path to pick up a poor old dear to take to hospital for a specialists appointment. The Panel shop took both cars, both with different insurers, this shop was the preferred repairer for both insurance companies. Three weeks later I see the community transport car back on the road. My mates Suburban still isn't fixed, something about Tie Rod Ends having to be imported. Another 4 weeks he gets his Suburban back, it's due for rego, books it in, the next day, It fails.
The whole front end is shot and the steering rack is loosing fluid, which it wasn't before.
Takes it back, and is called a trouble maker for ringing the insurance mob, another 5 weeks lpass & he gets it back, 11 1/2 months rego, still leaking oil out of the rack and it has different tyres on it (the others were brand new, I was with him when he purchased them), the same Mags but different tyres. Fair Trade, don't want anything to do with it because he could prove anything. The tyre place didn't remember him buying 5 new tyres for a Black Suburban With Gold strips down the side. It's the only vehicle of it's type that gets around here.
If the Authorities don't want to help customers Bruce, what hope is there?

FollowupID: 730120

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 20:17

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 20:17
Hi Jon, he could not get the colour right on the new bonnet, so if I want it right I will have to take it to some one else to get that right another $300 at least.
FollowupID: 730123

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 18:26

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 18:26
I make no comment of course on the forgoing - the roadhouse has been for sale for quite some time - still listed here. $1M ! The owners have been running it since 1974.
AnswerID: 457004

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 19:54

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 19:54
After my bad experience there, I now fuel up & buy provisions at the co-op store just up the road.

AnswerID: 457016

Follow Up By: tommo05 - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 20:47

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 20:47
Good tip. I don't want to deal with them again after my last experience either.

FollowupID: 730129

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 21:13

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 21:13
I didn't realise the co-op store had a bowser?

Good to know. We will be there in a few weeks.

As a general rule we like to support businesses in outback communities after all we need them to be there if we are to enjoy the area. But this also works 2 ways

FollowupID: 730137

Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 21:30

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 21:30
I hate to say it but "$500-$600" dollars doesnt sound like any quote Ive ever had.
It sounds like an estimate which is not binding on either party?
AnswerID: 457023

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 22:50

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 22:50
Fisho64,
We explained exactly how far the vehicle was from him on the track and what type and weight it was.
He knew everything he needed to know to give a firm quote and he said between 500 and 600.
We expected to pay up to the $600
Especially seeing we also spent well over 500.00 on fuel accom and food at his business yet he still decided to kick a fellow traveller when he was down.
Its pretty simple mate he knew the distance, the conditions, the weight and size of vehicle, the weather, He simply took advantage of someone who had no other choice.
We hope he is happy counting his money cause we will never spend another cent in his business again.
Seems we are not the only ones he has upset by the look of these replies.
Patrolman
FollowupID: 730147

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 23:54

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 23:54
"He knew everything he needed to know to give a firm quote"

Unfortunately he didnt give one though, and he didnt have to.

Probably most of us could recall a similar incidence with a tradie, where we had wished we'd pressed for a firm price in hindsight. And probably got stiffed for more than a couple of hundred-I know I have several times over the years.

He may well have a different take on it also of course. Perhaps he is struggling to make ends meet? Perhaps last week he did 1/2 price for some people who were skint, and thought you guys looked like you could afford it?
Perhaps you should draw his attention to this thread, so he has a chance to put his side, and also see the reaction/damage to his business?

Sure it sucks-but at the end of the day, if this is the worst thing to happen to you this year-it'll be a pretty good year!
FollowupID: 730162

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 23:25

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 23:25
If you needed to be (accident) towed in Melbourne, current rates are $189.50 flagfall plus $3 per km plus $64.75 after hours fee. So for 204km you're looking at over $800.

Towing isn't cheap. You did well to get a remote outback tow for that price. I'd be thanking him for being there, not smearing him on a forum.

AnswerID: 457034

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 23:39

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 23:39
I understand that but it was a quote we asked for and a quote he gave us.
He has not laid out thousands of $$$ on tow trucks and equiptment.
He used an old ute and a very rough old car trailer, so I hardly think he can be compaired to the towing companies who have outlaid big $$$$$$.
If he had said 800 odd the we would have called Coober Pedy and sought RAA help to see if they could retrieve it.
A quote should be a quote in my book. He would not give an explanation as to why it was more. Just tht he could not do it for 5 to 600. NOT GOOD ENOUGH
In my business if you quote it stick to it, stuff up or not.
patrolman
FollowupID: 730157

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 08:03

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 08:03
Yeah, I see your point but RAA may not have been much help - they don't have a contractor at Coober Pedy - closest one would have been at Copley.
FollowupID: 730173

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 08:43

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 08:43
Hi Phil
We contracted the RAA once we got the vehicle into Oodnadatta and they do have a contractor in Coober Pedy and sent him out the following morning to collect the 4x4 and drop it at the Mechanics in Coober for inspection.
The vehicle was then freighted to Adelaide because rep[airs were not available in Coober Pedy either.
Anyway thanks for your input and thoughts on this.
I think its a lesson learned and I hope the owner does see this and then maybe he might think twice before he does this sort of thing to a stranded traveller in future.
FollowupID: 730175

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:08

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:08
We just had to be towed a few Kms in Canberra. $80 on a dual axle tilt tray (over 3000Kg). Or $100 for a receipted tow/lift. I opted for the $80.

FollowupID: 730186

Follow Up By: patrolmann - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:48

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:48
We all know it is expensive to have a vehicle towed, thats not the issue here guys,
The issue is we explained down to the last detail. He knew the distance, he knew the road conditions cause he lives there, he knew the weather, he knew the vehicle he was collecting, he knew it could be driven onto a tow vehicle.
There is nothing that could have or did happen to change what he quoted except I believe he got greedy. Taking advantage of someone in need.
Thats the issue
Patrolman
FollowupID: 730189

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:54

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 11:54
First and foremost; We all realise this.

Some are just pointing out options for you to consider next time. Don't worry I think that most have had this tried on somehow and somewhere.

Personally I would get statutory declarations from your mates and go and see a solicitor and get them to start with a letter requesting a refund otherwise the following steps etc etc etc. Bugger him. Or write it off to experience. Maybe record him on the phone next time. I really do not know mate.

Just store these posts and ideas away until next time.

FollowupID: 730190

Reply By: Member - William W (WA) - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 00:23

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 00:23
If someone quotes you $500-$600 then of course you expect to pay somewhere in that range. I've no doubt you've been taken advantage of, what goes around comes around though and by way of this bad press the rip off merchant is getting what he deserves....
AnswerID: 457038

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 12:37

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 12:37
Same mob/owner is lauded far and wide on this and other forums as a top bloke and tyre pressure expert , now I'll put it to you is it at all possible that he has a conflict of interest in his advise on tyre pressure as he sells an awfull lot of tires to people who have followed his advise and then needed replacement at guess where ??
AnswerID: 457065

Reply By: Fred Smith - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 18:34

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 18:34

Having lived in the outback all my life I have a little experience with this situation. All and I mean ALL caravaners are seen as easy targets. Yes it is hard to hear, but it is the truth. Some operators have a heart and some want to retire to the million dollor view somewhere. Get used to it. As you did not get a written quote, BAD LUCK, but you would have had something to take to a lawyer. I'm sorry for the extra you had to pay but I guess it is a lesson learned and you did get out of the situation reasonably. You do have to remember you aren't in the city anymore and services do cost, regardless of the equipment used.

AnswerID: 457089

Follow Up By: Triggy - Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 19:14

Saturday, Jun 11, 2011 at 19:14
So we travellers are not to take any "local's" word any more? Treat them like the city folk and get it all in writing hey? It's not the way Aussies would expect to have to carry about business in the bush, but obviously times have changed and this thread has made alot of us a bit more wary of how we should approach "local" businesses in the bush before we commit to a service. ( at the risk of being "city folk" that are arrogant and don't trust country folk). Which is a shame, because I am sure there are many country/outback service providers that are genuinely good people of their word.

I feel for you Patrolmann, thanks for sharing the experience so the rest of us can be a bit more "street smart".
FollowupID: 730231

Reply By: Berny - Sunday, Jun 19, 2011 at 12:34

Sunday, Jun 19, 2011 at 12:34
We've just done the Oodnadatta and William Crk Rd and then on up to Darwin from Coober, and it scares the crap out of me worrying what would happen to us out there if we had problems, and this story just confirms our fears that 'the outback' is not a friendly place to be for caravanning nomads, particularly for those not familiar with the way things are done out here. We had the same feelings on the Savanna Way two years ago.
Frankly, I see towns like Marree, William Creek [$6.50 coffee, and pay to take photos inside] Coober Pedy and Alice, Tenant Creek and Mataranka as 'uncomfortable places to be and particularly those dying because of the way people behave. Very depressing in our opinion!!!
AnswerID: 457895

Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Jun 20, 2011 at 19:53

Monday, Jun 20, 2011 at 19:53
It is unfortunate your mate got ripped off by a smartasse. These bludgers that pull this sort of stunt think they are one up on everyone. It's a bit of a power trip putting it over someone.
But as smart as he thinks he is, you through making forum members aware of the scumbag has already cost him far more than the pissey $280 he ripped your mate off for.
Forget the $280 & forget him.
Your mate will go home & make that back & much much more without having to resort to being a thief.
That makes your mate the better man.
There is probably a good reason why this bloke has been out in the desert for so long living in squalor in a town full of people he probably resents.
God don't you pity him.
AnswerID: 458014

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Jun 21, 2011 at 18:21

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2011 at 18:21
patrolmann - I agree a verbal quote is a legal quote - Just a rip off merchant and we will steer clear - Thankyou

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 458099