Led lights

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:15
ThreadID: 87622 Views:3363 Replies:13 FollowUps:10
I am a bit fed up with light problems on my boat trailer, I am thinking of converting to LED. Anyone had any experience with them good or bad.
Thank you Pete

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:30

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:30
Hey Pete, LED is the way to go. Totally waterproof, no globes to worry about, contacts are sealed in resin and they draw little power.

Noel K.
AnswerID: 460185

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:57

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:57
Thanks Noel, I have been hearing good things about them, just the intial purchase price disadvantage by the look of it.
Thaank you Pete
FollowupID: 733823

Reply By: Member - Wozikev - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:33

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:33
I've found LED lights to be excellent on my boat trailer. In fact Led lights have revolutionised the trailer industry, just ask the truckies.
AnswerID: 460186

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:58

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:58
Thanks for the feedback mate
FollowupID: 733825

Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:40

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 13:40
G'day Pete

I always had trouble with the lights on my Compac 402 Van, purchased new in Melbourne in 2009, on every trip I would have stop lights or blinkers not working, despite always being checked before setting out from home. After a eightteen months of stuffing around I had LCD lights fitted, no problems after that.

Funny enough we got a bigger Coromal (SWMBO's demand) that still has idential original taillights fitted and apart from one or two globes being replaced they have been OK. We just did a 9,000km trek to WA with no problems, but at first sign of any issues I would fit LCD lights in a heartbeat.

Paul H

Paul H
OZ Downunder

AnswerID: 460188

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:00

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:00
How are you Paul,I take it you are away travelling.
Thanks for the feedback
FollowupID: 733826

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:05

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:05
I replaced the stop/tail/indicator lights on my old camper trailer with LED lights.
They were quite good, or so I thought.

Last year we took a trip to the Nullarbor (mostly bitumen road) and to Mt Ives in the Gawler Ranges on the way back to Adelaide. This section was predominantly dirt tracks.

Just recently, when I was selling the camper, we connected it up to the buyer's vehicle and on checking the light operation, I discovered the right hand light had non functioning LED's. There was something like nine red LED's that comprise the tail light and the bank on either side of the centre bank were not working.

So, I can only conclude that a bit of vibration may adversely affect LED lights, which would be impossible to fix as they are completely sealed.

AnswerID: 460190

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:01

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:01
So it seems the only disadvantage is you have to replace the whole light if you have a problem.
Thanks for the feedback
FollowupID: 733827

Reply By: Fatso - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:53

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 14:53
It's the way to go Pete.
I converted my boat trailer last year.
Just make sure you get them with the long cables that will reach all the way up to the plug.
The LED's had about 6m of cable & I wired both into the light plug. No joints.
AnswerID: 460195

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:04

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:04
Thanks had not thought of that.
The local boat dealer has a auto sparky next door , might pay them do to the lot. I am a bit over laying on my back rewiring trailers etc.
FollowupID: 733828

Reply By: racinrob - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:53

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 15:53
I've just converted my caravan to all LED, over 24 assorted lights, festoon, two prong and bayonet fittings and can only say I'm blown away with the latest LEDs they are so good.
Two comments, I bought mine from overseas, some were only $1 each with free post so do your homework and secondly someone said he thought vibration had affected them, no way, I suspect poor connections or bad earth.

rr
AnswerID: 460200

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 17:35

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 17:35
what URL did you do the deal thru rr?

FollowupID: 733850

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 17:39

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 17:39
Overseas have some really good deals on LED lights. They are at least twice the price here in Oz. Buy extra for further down the track. The CREE lights are brilliant. LED also dont have water ingress issues. Use buggerall power and take the worry out of travelling. Vibration is normally the one area that they leave the normal globe for dead in. Couple of years from now and LCD will be the only light on the market! IMHO
CHEERS
FollowupID: 733852

Follow Up By: racinrob - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 21:39

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 21:39
Bonz (Vic) I bought thru eBay, check dealers feedback and exactly what you're buying, for me it was all good, BTW the ones I bought, 36 SMDs came with three different adapters, so SMD card plus adapters @ $1.00 each, I got a dozen. Other plus's, very low power consumption, waterpoof, no heat and vibration proof.

rr
FollowupID: 733898

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 15:01

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 15:01
Replacing the globes in your trailers navigation lights is not on. The optics of the lenses are designed around a standard size and position of filament. When you replace the globes with LED units the light source is in a different position. You may not get the full spread of light at sufficient brightness that the lamps were designed to provide.

You should replace the light fittings with complete new ones that have been certified to conform with the appropriate ADRs.

FollowupID: 733948

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 22:37

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 22:37
hey rr would u mind sayign the selleers name and I will do a search, veryu interested in using others good fortune when buying these.

Ta

FollowupID: 733988

Reply By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 18:07

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 18:07
I run them on the back of my Agi Truck, they get high pressure hosed, washed down and dribbled upon,every hour or so and seem to be bullet proof after 6 months.
AnswerID: 460212

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 18:14

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 18:14
Www.Whitworths.com.au have Narva boatrailer lights on special at the moment for $40.00 a pair
I bought a set on Friday but have not fitted yet.
AnswerID: 460218

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 19:22

Sunday, Jul 17, 2011 at 19:22
Thanks everyone for your replies, its obviously the way to go.
AnswerID: 460233

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 05:24

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 05:24
Madfisher

Click here

Used to have the prices too, but I could not find that bit.
Am sure if you found the bit you need then the retailer will get them in for you ..

I have done hi and low lights on my camper trailer with them, and also used the same mob to replace the indicator lights ion my Bull bar

Good and not that expensive
Buclky
AnswerID: 460265

Reply By: David l3 - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 12:20

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 12:20
Professional LED lights website : http://www.topledsupplier.com
AnswerID: 460281

Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 13:29

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 13:29
Once again thanks everyone for the terrific responce. I just went out to BCf and picked up a pair of stop/blicker / tail for the grand total of $60, and also spotted a new wind up arm for the jockey wheel to replace the one I snapped off.
AnswerID: 460285

Reply By: Been-Everywhereman - Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 16:40

Monday, Jul 18, 2011 at 16:40
Yeah i am a mad fisherman also.
Only last week i replaced my boat trailer lights with LED.

At the moment repco are selling a narva brand kit with 9 metre leads so there are no interconnections to do for $145 and it comes with a 4X4 rear halogen worklight....

Great deal and they all work well.........
AnswerID: 460294