Patrol LSD cluches shattered, now an Air Locker !

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 03:53
ThreadID: 87790 Views:2972 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Suprise Suprise !
2 weeks out from our trip to Cape York, vis Hadden Corner, and I have blown up my Rear Diff.

How I asked ..?
Who knows, definately not from flogging the vehicle, because I do not. I work it occasionally, but never flog her.
But arn't they built for it..?... not too sure any more.

Anyway t eupshot of it all is $2000 later and I have an ARB Air Locker in it.
Always wanted one but not this way.
But better now, than going bang in the back of BF, and ruining a very well planned holiday.

We actually leave home this coming thursday.....Yippieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !
Just 2 days to go, and really doing the final checks. Should be finished by 10:00 this morning, and I can thank 17 years of shift work and a really buggered up sleep pattern, for writing up this post at 3:45 in the mornoing..

Check out the Foto's of my clutches ect

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 05:25

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 05:25
Bucky, sorry to hear of your rear diff troubles, hell of a bang by the looks of it..........

Enjoy your travels to the Cape............. John

AnswerID: 460942

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 16:16

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 16:16
G' day John
Long time no here. Gotta catch up with you when we get back, in September
Wonthaggi not that far for you !

Hope not ?
Cheere Bucky
FollowupID: 734666

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 06:53

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 06:53
Bucky,

Agree an expensive exersize.
I put in front and rear lockers when I broke my front diff.
Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 460945

Reply By: SIF4X4 - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 07:18

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 07:18
Bloody Nissans.....lol
AnswerID: 460948

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 19:23

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 19:23
Gday Spiro
You are to far from home to have a break down......

FollowupID: 734693

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 07:42

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 07:42
Gee Bucky that should be happening to me not you - I have never seen that.

Any idea of issue - could it have been abused once / low on oil etc ?

3 days from heading off here , and you get a bit nervous that everything is ok.
Drove it this morning fully loaded as a test - 300lt of fuel 50 of water etc - feels heavy but drives well - fortunately its got a rear locker already.

AnswerID: 460953

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 16:18

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 16:18
Where you heading Mate ?
FollowupID: 734667

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 16:21

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 16:21
Madigan line Bucky

FollowupID: 734671

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 19:20

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 19:20
Gday Robin and Bucky.
You and yours have a good and safe trip.
Enjoy

FollowupID: 734692

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 15:45

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 15:45
Actually not much of a bang
More like a clunk, when reversing out of the driveway ...

GO figure, I cannot....

Guy's at Sth Gippsland Car and Off Road cannot figure it either... Never seen it before, then 2 in a month ......???????

CHeers
AnswerID: 460988

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 17:38

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 17:38
Bucky, will catch you when I get back in September also............... Have a great trip. John

AnswerID: 460998

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 18:30

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011 at 18:30
Bucky,

Look on the positive side of it.
The diff could have blown up during your trip and then you would have been "up the cape without a diff".

Sorry mate, I couldn't help myself:-)
Now at least you will have a stronger solution.

AnswerID: 461004

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2011 at 05:19

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2011 at 05:19
Yeah Mate
You are so kind !

FollowupID: 734719

Popular Products (11)