Tyres

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 09:50
ThreadID: 87884 Views:2481 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived

Related Pages

Gooday folks
I recently asked a question in these forums asking for the pros and cons on 4WD diesel utes and the answers I received helped a lot. My thanks to every one who helped in my selection of a one year old Triton. I need help again in selecting a new set of Tyres for this vehicle. I plan to tow a caravan and do a lot of beach fishing so the new Tyres will be mostly on road with some beach work. Any input from members would be greatly appreciated. I have very little experience in off road beach work so any information in this area ie tyre pressures etc would also be helpful.
Regards Jim Kemp

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 10:35

Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 10:35
If road and beach driving is what you'll be doing I would stick to All Terrains in a LT (light truck) construction. Muddies will help you dig in deeper in the sand which is not something you want.

I've run my tyres down to 10 psi on the sand but I have a light 4WD and was very careful with corners etc so I didn't roll a bead off the rim.

With regards to brands you'll get a million and one opinions on which brand is best.
AnswerID: 461382

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 10:51

Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 10:51
Hi Jim,

I don't believe you could go past a set of AT (All Terrain) tyres for your vehicle.
They will suit a variety of situations off road and have minimal noise level on road as well.

I have run Bridgestone Dueler AT's in both 693 and 694 construction for a number of years and have been happy with their practical road life before requiring replacement.

Bill

I'm diagonally parked in a parallel Universe!

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 461384

Reply By: pash8470 - Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 13:09

Sunday, Jul 31, 2011 at 13:09