Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 16:47
Mapesy (QLD)
Folks,
I have a Jayco Sterling Outback that has a twin gas bottle setup in the front boot.
I want to add an external gas outlet to suit my portable BBQ so we can do most of our cooking outside. Presently I need to carry an additional gas bottle for the BBQ.
There are gas pipes accessable under the van that could be connected to. Has anybody done this or has thoughts on the best way to do this. I don't want some daggy looking pipe hanging off the wall of the van etc.
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 16:59
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 16:59
Yes It can be done and will have to be a bayonet join.
It will cost to get someone like "Aussie Escape" at Brendale to do it and you will need to get a new gas certificate. They can do the certificate as
well.
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:31
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:31
Hi. I have recently been through this exersize with my Sterling Outback and after installing the bayonet fitting I found out that my Coleman 2 burner was not compatible with the gas pressure. You need to ensure that your stove will run on a low gas pressure. The Weber baby Q is one that is suitable and there are a few others but not Coleman. Image Could Not Be Found
Cheers,Bob
Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:41
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:41
G'day Bob
Do you have a cap/cover for that fitting when you are travelling?.... hope so... keep all the dirt etc out
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:58
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:58
Gday Bob
I would have fitted a WOG tap just before the quick coupler for that extra bit of safety against leaks.
Follow Up By: Mapesy (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:14
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:14
Does the bayonet fitting have an automatic shut of as on an air line fitting? I agree though that a tap before the bayonet would ensure more peace of mind.
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:34
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 19:34
Hi. Yes there is a tap and a cap. Took a bit to find a cap to suit but I did find some just recently. The Bayonet fitting does have an auto shut off as
well but apparently they are not suitable for high pressure. ie, gas bottle pressure. Cheers,Bob
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 20:22
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 20:22
Good lad Bob .
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:21
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 07:21
Bob,
The Coleman is a low pressure stove. It just needs its own regulator to operate successfully.
You may try a temporary connection using the Coleman regulator in the line to see if it will work in conjunction with the main regulator.
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:32
Sunday, Aug 14, 2011 at 17:32
You don't need an additional Gas bottle
I made up from various fittings at a BBQ
shop a T piece. Unfortunately it needed a couple/few fittings with the various thread permutations which I wasn't happy with due to leak risks.
I placed a brass screw in "nut cap" on the external screw in hose fitting for my long hose 3 burner ring which I use on the ground with my camper trailer.
This screws in from the regulator outlet (assuming your system works that way).
I got a licensed gas plumber to check it and he used some loctite type product to ensure a good snug fit of the various new fittings. I use two spanners when undoing the cap to ensure the series of fittings don't work loose when taking the cap on/ off.
I did contemplate using a 3 way fitting with a switching lever but couldn't find the part and wasn't too comfortable with how safe it would be.
Serves my needs though for the occasional uses I have, I can run the gas ring on the ground simultaneously as the two burner stove on our Kimberly Kamper.
Reply By: Mapesy (QLD) - Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 17:13
Monday, Aug 15, 2011 at 17:13
Thanks heaps guys. The pictures from ToyoCrusa show exactly what I want. Now I need to find a locam gasfitter to do the job at a reasonable price.