What is the worst club meal you have had on your travels?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 09:00
ThreadID: 88748 Views:5201 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
G'day all

Well we arrived in Roma yesterday afternoon for our four week stint here.

We then found the Bowls Club and decided to eat out and have a couple of drinks.

We orded our meals and then had the pleasure of waiting almost 90 minutes for our meal. During that time we observed that there were not that many people in the club and 4 people in the kitchen.

The meals were coming out one at a time. It was taking around 15 minutes for a table of four to get all their meals.

Finally my wifes meal came out, and sure enough mine came out about 5 minutes later. The fish had been burnt on one side, it was obvious that the other side had not seen the hotplate. The vegies were look warm at best and the bar service was very average.

It's a long time since I have winged about a meal and the first time on the net.

There,, I've had my dummy spit, Roma Bowls Club gets my vote for the worst meal I have had for a very long time.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 09:19

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 09:19
Hi BooBoo

There is one very famous Outback Hotel that we have had many bad meals there and never go there again. Over the years it did not get better and to the point that last time I had a steak there, the meal was well and truly off and I would loved to have take a sample for the health authorities, they did offer either another one cooked, but instead had a refund......the such pup is...................

There was even one time when I was taking a group of 21 people there for meals. We were caught out with wet weather on the Birdsville Track and instead of being there at 7pm, we were late and arrived at 8.45pm. The problem here which was extremely bad was the fact that someone in the group had a sat phone and we phoned them 3 times to say we were still come and even thought that we we be there about 9.

So what do they have to offer 21 hungry travellers, frozen and heated up pizza pockets and stew, not like the normal pub meal that we were after. The money that they would have made from my group would have well and truly paid for the overtime for the staff to stay on, but no it was that or nothing and most of the group then wet and cooked their own meals at the Caravan Park.

Will I ever eat there again......NO only if they pay ME, and no it was not during the races, but in July, top tourist season.

AnswerID: 463778

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 09:37

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 09:37
Stephen, One of the possible problems when you become an Icon is that you may lose vision and sit back on your laurels. It has happened in quite a few places.

FollowupID: 737634

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 12:50

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 12:50
Stephen ...ouch! We had a feed there around this time last year and to be honest it was pretty good. Wasn't the best I've had, but far from the worst.

Al ...... agree with your comment suggesting that some places rely on their "good" name to attract business rather than focus on developing repeat customers.

We had a terrible experience last year at the Marree Hotel. The owners attitude added fuel to the fire....to the point where now, if heading up the BV track, I turn directly right and don't even go through the town or Marree. I won't even enter the town for fuel anymore either.

The guys at the Lyndhurst Hotel know how to look after their clients and they sell cheaper fuel too.

WORST EVER FEED...... Hooters on the Gold Coast.......I think. Apparently they sell food there too. I didn't notice :)

Fab.
FollowupID: 737652

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 12:56

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 12:56
Fab, I agree about Lyndhurst Hotel........great pub, good food, great service.

LOL re Hooters!

FollowupID: 737653

Follow Up By: Meggs - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:13

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:13
Stephen I agree with Fab 72 I have had pretty ordinary meals there but to put it in context they can't go down the road and buy more veggies and they won't be fresh so it is a bit much to expect top quality meals at cheap prices. On our recent trip we had nice meals at Buffs in Mt Isa and Corroboree Park Tavern in NT.

It is not possible to say this is the best and this is the worst as it may have been so at the time but it only needs a change in the cook and the reverse will happen.
FollowupID: 737661

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:28

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:28
Hi Fab

I know that the Pub will always have staff issues, as well as staff moving on and that can also have an effect on the quality of the food served up, but for the fact or running a good business, you must have some sort of high quality food control.

A good number of many moons ago, we owned a take away food shop here in Clare and the quality of the food served to customers was always No1.

The straw that broke the camels back was my last and worst experience and to be honest, there are no excuses for serving up, let alone cooking meat that was off. Even in a cold room, the only way meat will go off is if the cold room is not working correctly, the food is not rotated, or the food has been in the cold room too long and is off, which was my case. We had a motto with all our staff and that was..."if in doubt, throw it out"

As for good meals in outback pubs, there are many including William Creek, Innamincka and one that we never go past and that is the same pub that you had tea at the other night, Copley

Great to see that you made it over big Red, well done. Those other people that said that they had 3 goes on each of the dunes are what I call the drivers that give all responsible drivers a bad name - kers...sorry I missed the wan

FollowupID: 737662

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:44

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:44
Hi Meggs

Firstly a couple of points I would like to point out and that is the meals that we have always had in the above hotel have never been cheap, and secondly that most of the other perishable foods are all frozen and not fresh. Again it comes down to management.

If they only get deliveries once a week, then they would know from experience just who many meals a week they would serve up and they would always have a good back up frozen food incase of the transport not being able to get through.

Like I replied to Fab, we had been involved in food industry for over 12 years and know how it works first hand.

FollowupID: 737663

Follow Up By: Meggs - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:54

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 14:54
I know they are not cheap and I didn't mean to give that impression.
FollowupID: 737664

Follow Up By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:14

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:14
2x Marree. used to be a good feed , but now the lake is full there are too many tour buses, they all eat and stay at the pub.
FollowupID: 737683

Reply By: Geobserver - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 10:42

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 10:42
I'll take the liberty of flipping this around to the best I have encountered...

Bistro at the Charleville RSL... super service and food, especially given the crowd there when we visited. Lots of locals... always a good sign.
Alpha Pie Shop - best pies and cream buns in the country (and the cheapest... I felt guilty paying what they charged!)
Lightning Ridge - I think there is just the one club(?). Anyway, super food and dessert.
Tatts Hotel at Winton - great steak and wonderful sitting out on the street on the edge of town there. Very friendly service.
AnswerID: 463782

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 11:26

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 11:26
I like your attitude :-) Mike
FollowupID: 737645

Follow Up By: kidsandall - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 11:33

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 11:33
I went to a mongolian resturant in NZ last week and it was amzing. All the food is laid out buffet style. You go and fill a bowl with what YOU want, meat, vegies, sauces. Then take it to the chef who cooks it on a large hot plate in front of you. It is all fresh and cooked perfect. We made the comment that everyone in the resturant was happy as they got what they wanted. It was a great idea.

Josh
FollowupID: 737646

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 11:35

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 11:35
To all. Unless they change Management you will never beat the hospitality at Tatts Hotel. I arrived late and the Motel was booked out. They phoned around and found me a bed and then told me to call into Tatts Hotel for a feed. Called in and had a beer then the girls asked if I wanted a meal. Sat outside and enjoyed a evening with the locals and other traveller. Could not ask for more when you travel alone.

FollowupID: 737647

Follow Up By: IronMan - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:30

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:30
This is hardly way Outback, but the Gungellan Pub/Railway Hotel in Freeling SA does great meals and for very reasonable prices.

And, yes it is the pub from McLeod's Daughters. Hence the double name.
FollowupID: 737689

Reply By: Member - hopbush - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 15:10

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 15:10
I have had a number of meals (including buffet breakfasts) at the Birdsville pub and never had a crook one. They are not cheap or necessarily good value for money but have been good quality.

The standout worst meal I have ever had on my travels was a terrible T bone steak at “Elkira” Best Western Motel in Alice Springs back in 2009. I have eaten there since and it was ok.

The best fairdinkum value for money meal I can recall was at The Imperial hotel/motel in Quilpie. Not exactly fine dining but I would go back there anyday.

Best breakfast in cleanest cafe cooked and served by nicest bloke was at Brigalow on the Warrego Highjway.

Tony
AnswerID: 463796

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:04

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:04
Tony,

That All day Breakfast at Brigalow is great isn't it :)

The Burgers at the Yuleba Roadhouse are pretty good as well :)

FollowupID: 737681

Reply By: new boy - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 15:28

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 15:28
Worst meal
RSL Hervey Bay

Best Steak burger Pub at Southport Tasmania only because of price so close with one in Monteville QLD
AnswerID: 463800

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 16:04

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 16:04
The kids gave Kathy and I a night at the "Hyatt on the Park " not long back. Food was just great and so was the service.

AnswerID: 463801

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:45

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 19:45
Another vote for Lyndhurst Hotel. They must stick a couple of chicken breasts together, their schnitzels they are so big.
Jim Smith at the Bedourie pub puts on a good spread. His breakfasts are good, too. When he cooks them himself they are awesome.
We had to walk from the airport to the Innamincka Hotel. They were three down on staff but the meal was good quality, appeared quickly and was well priced.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 737685

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:30

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:30
"They must stick a couple of chicken breasts together"

You sure their not emu breasts ;)

FollowupID: 737690

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:40

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:40
Nope! Too tender.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 737691

Reply By: IronMan - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:38

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 20:38
This was some six years ago so i won't mention the place, but I was part of a LARGE military convoy (about 80 people in total, all in LandRovers, Unimogs, white fleet LandCruisers and then Ford Couriers, and a couple of big Isuzu maintenance vehicles and Mack heavy duty flat beds) travelling up RAAF Scherger near Weipa. We passed through a small Cape York town which had been expecting us (prior arrangements over a period of weeks) and the lunch awaiting us was bloody awful!

Despite knowing what time we were due (mobile phone from the previous town) the BBQ tasted like it had been started the previous night. Salads were warm. All in all, a deadset failure.

The publican didn't look too happy when the Convoy Commander was overheard on his phone to RAAF Williamtown saying that he would NOT stop here for lunch on the return trip, no matter what! We didn't either. The next town got a good amount of business.
AnswerID: 463818

Reply By: kidsandall - Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 22:11

Monday, Aug 29, 2011 at 22:11
Now this has got me thinking. We ate in a lot of places when we travelled and to be honest the worst I ever ate was one I had to cook my self and the best was well.... Sunday lunch at Mums place, ya can't beat that and the price was unreal.. LOL.

Josh
AnswerID: 463826

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 08:25

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 08:25
One of the best meals we had was at Yowah - in the caravan park - whole town turned up for it. Corned silverside, white sauce, vegetables galore, all fresh, and desert was home made apple turnovers with fresh cream - all for $12!!

Worst was probably a road house on the Newell (can't remember town exactly), but ordered chicken burger and steak burger - chicken was the frozen manufactured kind, one piece of limp lettuce, one slice tomato - that was it! Steak burger was a steakette - again manufactured from mince meat - same additions - no onions. I think they were charging about $9 each for them - without chips!

Also a services club - I am not going to name the town because I can't recall it at the moment - the meal was ok - but the tablecloths were dirty, the staff had dirty tattered clothing, wine glasses were not clean, and when we said something, the reply was - "oh, well what do you expect for the prices" - by the way they were no cheaper than anywhere else we have eaten.
FollowupID: 737707

Reply By: Laurence W - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 17:55

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 17:55
Hi Boo Boo,
I live in Roma,currently on holiday in Darwin, the best place for a good cheap meal is at the "White Bull Tavern" on Charles & Station Sts. Top of the market out there would be BC's or the Explorers.

My wife & I and a group from work went on Friday nights to every eating house in town, and the "White Bull" seems to be the one we always go back to.

As for the "Bowls Club" they have been having some trouble getting a good chef latley, but it used to be a good place to eat.

Laurie.

On a side note, there are some real nice places to eat here in Darwin.
AnswerID: 463885

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 13:51

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 13:51
G'day Laurence

Its funny you should mention the White Bull. I met the lady next door and spoke to her about our experience and she said the same thing, but thanks for the confirmation.

We were at Jabari during 07/08 for 15 months and also found some great places to eat in Darwin.

Would you believe the Casino had a really good buffet for 27.50.
There was also a very good Morrocan right in the city,,,, it was near a park and a bright yellow souvenier shop.

If your back in the next 3 weeks give me a message and we can meet for coffee. My shout!
FollowupID: 737836

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 20:18

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011 at 20:18
I try to avoid clubs. Mostly, the food and drinks run a distant third to the pokies. There are plenty of honest businesses like hotels and restaurants that rely on their customer service for a living. Besides, it makes me sick seeing poor old biddies pouring their pension cheques through the machines, and I hate the noise.

I hate to say this but the Moama Bowling club is a giant glitzy palace that serves bog food and crap wine (at inflated prices), in an environment that sounds like hell on a bad day.
AnswerID: 463898

Reply By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 20:06

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011 at 20:06
,Boo Boo

I haven't had too many bad meals when dining out but I have had some rippers. The best hamburger with the lot was at the Beltana Roadhouse in November last year. The food at Innamincka is always excellent. Another great meal I had was at the "Back of Burke Discovery Centre". The food was great and the service was fantastic. I feel hungry now.

AnswerID: 463958