Quondong point protests broome
Submitted: Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 19:07
CMC79
Hi there , I just like to bring to peoples attention that I have just been harassed out of
camp near
quondong point by the "protesters" this morning with two people filming me and man wearing a "kimbley wilderness tours" shirt an elderly indigenous man and a lady with a dog, i am a tourist like every one else there , I mad coffee went for a walk down
the beach for A few photos the man wearing kimbley wilderness tours shirt said these people want to have a word with you , i said what about whats going on? He refused to answer me telling me you know what you have done at this point I have no clue what's going on , they ask me what I'm doing there & what I have I come to destroy! & why am I wearing the cloths that I am wearing & where's my fishing rod.
I asked em what have I done wrong? Whats going on no one would answer me a lady with a dog was trying to sic the dog on me after the camera stops rolling they kept telling me to F off! what the hells going on! Im completly dumb founded!
This is while they were filming me asking me questions the lady said we ought to search your bag for a gps! The indigenous man looked at my arm tattoo & said its the devil! Good Lordy.
I had a chat with people back at the
quondong protest
intersection very nice people to talk to said they must of mistaken me for a woodside Mercenary , I kid you not! They gave me run down on the no gas thing but to just assume & hassle me straight up without answering any of my questions was very poor form from these protesters & people with the camera gear they are doing them selfs a disservice & not helping cause by hassling a regular tourist.
I had come back informed the police and infocentre here in
broome of these knuckle heads
Has any one else been hassled by em there was a lot of other campers up there with caravans and things weather it was just me or what? Bazaar
Very disappointed to see people behave this way.
Reply By: CB55 - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 19:56
Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 19:56
G'day CMC,
Sounds to me like a typical greenie, they jump to conclusions, don't weigh up the evidence, and anyone who doesn't agree with them is treated like a criminal.
I believe there is a fair number of locals in
Broome who are actually in favour of the gas plant, but the slent majority is being overwhelmed by the noisy minority.
CB.
Follow Up By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:09
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:09
Yeah, these protestors and the so called "Traditional Owners" are all full of you know what. The fella Joseph Roe isnt even from the area, so dont believe a thing he says.
They are so pathetic, but no one is game enough to speak up about it for fear of being disrespectful. I know all the facts about it.
I am all for the GAS.
GO GAS.
Reply By: GimmeeIsolation - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 20:23
Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 20:23
We have lived just south of the site for years and these tossers have been filming and photographing us travelling to work in town which gets up our nose to put it lightly and scares the wife the way they rush and surround the car.
It's alright for some of the elders to say that their ok as they get welfare and have land, but the
young indigenous blokes we employ in our Civil Earth Moving company (90% indigenous) don't want that life.
They like new cars, fancy phones and a house of their own like the rest of us and want to work for a future.
James Price Point has been a long term
park-up for campers/caravaners each dry season for many years leaving rubbish and the never ending flutter of
toilet paper in the scrub. So much for respect to the area.
I flew over the area on the weekend on the way back from the Horizontal Falls and to say that this small area (in
Kimberley terms) will decimate the
Kimberley forever are mentally challenged. I would of probably liked an offshore option myself but that has pitfalls also.
The
young indigenous need worthy jobs and are ready to change the cycle, the protesters don't seem to have employment options for them, there is only so much seasonal tourism work.
AND PLS, I don't need to hear southies or other whities up here WITH a job telling me I'm full of it and "just heard about it and make it up".
How many indigenous are you helping to climb up and break the cycle ?
Follow Up By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:12
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:12
Spot on mate.
I know of ACTUAL TOs who couldnt get to Manari the other day because of the protestors. There scum , both the locals and the hippies who are out there.
There isnt a valid arguement against the gas, apart from the social issues. Been in the game a few years and many benefits will flow from it.
Good to see someone trying to make a change, good onya mate. hope you do
well becuse of it too. Those of us who are all for the gas, i think its time we spoke up.
GO GAS
Reply By: CMC79 - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 21:36
Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 21:36
Hay thanks for replys , beautiful country and but it's left a sour taste never have I come across such disrespect from people , couldn't beleve it minding my own business injoying the morning then get hassled. They must of been stalking & watching me the day before cause they said we seen you we watched you yesterday & when i kept asking what's going on have I done something wrong the bloke with the kimbley wilderness tours shirt kept saying I don't have to tell you anything! I was so angry I had to hold back.
I work for riotinto so have fare idea
I don't have the answer to mining but people need employment.
It's been a great kimbley trip so far other than the above Sorry you have been getting hassled like that & yes it's these minority bone heads that seem more self interested in them selfs than doing something constructive.
Follow Up By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 22:16
Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 22:16
Hi CMC79,
Lets hope the people who hassled you get what they deserve.
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: CMC79 - Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 22:44
Monday, Sep 05, 2011 at 22:44
Yeah mate karma will come back around ,
water off a ducks back an all.
When I was on the gibb a few days ago other tourists said I wouldn't be able to get to
quondong cause protesters had blocked & chained them selfs to things got to
broome & info centre said narr it's all good now , haha
Reply By: CMC79 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 08:02
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 08:02
Now that I have had a think about it appears the bloke with the "kimbley wilderness tours" shirt on had tried to intercept my exit from
the beach for em to hassle me, the day before I did see a bloke walking & sitting along
the beach in a similar maner as per the above charactor as I was walking & taking holiday snaps it now seems like he must of been keeping tabs on me or something , kinda disturbing really!
Follow Up By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:14
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:14
Yeah dont worry mate, they are all stooping to such low acts that they dont deserve to live here.
I could argue all day about this topic, and have done. The arguements being put up are pathetic. No brains behind those thick skulls.
Instead of sending the cops out there, they should just send centrelink out there. that'll bloody clear the lot.
Follow Up By: CMC79 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:29
Tuesday, Sep 06, 2011 at 16:29
Being not local of the area I don't have a full grasp on events emotions up there at first I half sided with with the no gas thing thinking disaster or some destroying nice cost line etcetc
Now I'm a lot more informed from reading other articals including you guys informative responses now feel like siding WITH the gas project.