Ayres Rock in Febuary - Air con or not?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:05
ThreadID: 89064 Views:3566 Replies:14 FollowUps:13
Hope this is not too naive a question.

We will be in Adelaide in February and have a 10 days free so are looking to hire a motor home and dash up to Ayres rock and back. It all looks quite do able along the Stuart Highway

The question is whether we would need to rent a camper with air con or not. They all have it in the drivers cab but it costs a good deal more to get a two berth with air con in the rest of the camper.(The exchange rate is disastrous for anyone going from Europe to Australia!) Daytime would not be an issue as we will be driving or walking So will it cool down enough at night to stop us sweltering?

Thanks in advance

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:10

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:10
would have to be the HOTTEST time of the year and will be very hot at night, some do it without ac's but i would not, there will also be storms, awsome to see and well worth it....
AnswerID: 465224

Reply By: Andrew & Jen - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:19

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:19
Hullo Silver
If you Google Uluru or Alice Spring climate information, it will give you mean maximums and minimums for Feb, plus highest and lowest temps.
The means are max 35 and min 20. So during the day you could get temps from about 30 to 40 and at night 15 to 25, say.
Depending on where you are coming from in Europe, this could present quite challenging weather for you.
But OTOH, for someone acclimatised, 20 at night with a fan could be quite OK, but if it's 25+, that might be a bit OTT.
I would suggest that at 35 to 40, walking in the sun would be regarded by many as foohardy. At the very least, take plenty of water and a good wide brimmed hat and walk in the morning.
Locals may well have better advice.
AnswerID: 465226

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:23

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:23
Have a look at the tips in THIS Thread. If you want to do it on the cheap. Not what I would call fun though, but helps when caught out.

Fred
AnswerID: 465228

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:36

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:36
Do it without Aircon. Character building and you will come out the other end a better, stronger person :)

AnswerID: 465231

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:02

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:02
LOL Funny bugga!!

FollowupID: 739222

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:49

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 20:49
definately air con time.
35 will be a nice cool day .. :-)
Expect 40+
AnswerID: 465233

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 22:49

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 22:49
If you're planning to go walking during the day, the nights will be the least of your worries. We were at Yulara in September and found it hot - after a very cold August in Alice Springs. We started walks as early as possible in the day to avoid the heat. We did not climb Uluru. There is a swimming pool at the campground if you need to cool off when you get back to camp.

As much as i can't tolerate the heat, sleeping under an air conditioner, then going out in the heat during the day would be too much of a contrast. Go without the air conditioner, and be prepared for some very hot days when you get there. Take plenty of water when walking, and be aware that walks will be closed on very hot days. From the Uluru website: "In summer we recommend walking only during the cool part of the day (finishing before 11am) and drinking one litre of water per hour".

The walk at Kata Tjuta is lovely but apart from the first short section, it is closed once the temperature reaches 36º.

AnswerID: 465247

Reply By: Silver - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:10

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:10
Gosh - thanks everyone. I posted that this morning (UK) and there were 6 replies when I got back from the gym.

We knew it was going to be hot but we will be taking onboard all of the good advice.

We are already wide brimmed hat wearers - even if the temperature here in the summer rarely reaches 25C!

Perhaps I could ask another question? We were thinking of taking 3 days to get to Yulara, stopping on the way up at Woomera and Cadney Homestead and on the way back at Marla and Glendambo. Does this sound ok? Are there better stops? and given that February is not peak tourist season, should I book ahead or just turn up?

AnswerID: 465248

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:36

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:36
About the aircond thing......dont do it! Spend your money on beer and enjoy your time outside......not sitting inside discussing how hot it is out side.

Book ahead just incase they close early. Id personally make Cadney a stopover and drive through?
FollowupID: 739225

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:50

Friday, Sep 16, 2011 at 23:50
I was at the rock a few years ago in January and it was still 47 degrees C at 8:30 in the evening while we were watching the sun set on it. Some of the walks are downright dangerous under those conditions. You could be lucky and have it milder in the high 30's somewhere. :-) Night time always seems hotter than it is. Remember you will be coming from UK winter and stepping straight into an oven and the air is very dry compared to what you are used to.
I would stop at Coober Pedy not Woomera. Coober Pedy is an unusual place and well worth a good look. It's a lot bigger than most of the other places you mentioned. Except for Woomera, they are not much more than a garage plus a few houses at best. The rocket park at Woomera is interesting.
I wouldn't book anywhere and 3 days is easy enough time for the trip. You can cover a lot of ground in a day out there without stretching yourself too much. There are also roadside rest areas where a lot of grey nomads pull up and free camp the night if you get caught short between towns.
If the flies are out then get a fly veil from the shop at Yulara. They can be unbelievable sometimes...you have no idea :-) Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 739226

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 13:25

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 13:25
Hahahahaha....toughen up princess.....LOL
FollowupID: 739261

Reply By: jdw211rob - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 03:10

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 03:10
One word "YES"!
AnswerID: 465252

Follow Up By: Desertrose - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 06:16

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 06:16
I agree, definitely! We went out one September and hit unseasonably hot temperatures. 43 or more degrees and very little relief at night. The car seats were hot, the sand, the air. Between the heat and the flies we nearly went insane.
FollowupID: 739230

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 05:54

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 05:54
Hi Ho Silver,

Yes for the AC, Yes for the wide breamed hat and water but your main worry will be the flys.

There will be so many they will be considering to eat you there or take you away.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 465254

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 06:48

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 06:48
not if its hot enough the flys wont bother you unless you sit in the shade

flys struggle over 45 deg

we had a real hot patch at work a few summers back and people thought I was mad walking the 3km back to camp for excercise after work

but thing was - no flys , usually you could clap your hands and bring down 10 at a time but with the heat no worries

heat alot easier to cope with than flys.

also youve gotta ditch the wide brimmed hats, they become fly magnets for the shade on a hot day
FollowupID: 739232

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 12:50

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 12:50
well after living in Yulara for two years, and living not far from it now, in similar country, I can assure you 100% that flies don't care how hot it is.
The only thing that knocks them is the cold, which it wont be in February.. ;-)
and flys aren't after your shade under your hat, they want the moisture off your face, Much smarter to wear a wide brimmed hat, than to fry your brain.
FollowupID: 739258

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 20:02

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 20:02
I agree with the flies not being bothered with heat.......never see yet it hot enough to slow the flies and keeping your head cool is a lot more important than getting rid of flies.....
FollowupID: 739305

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 00:39

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 00:39
try it next time your in a stinker 45 pluss in the shade,

stand there with your face to the full sun, sure theres still plenty of flys but most will be on your back out of the sun

then turn your back to the sun and they will flock to your face

most people wear a hat or stick to the shade or face away from the sun

and thats all it takes to encoarage them to swarm you

weve all seen flys sitting in the shade in summer - they certainly are effected by heat and will avoid direct sunlight where they can on very hot days

as i said only works on the hottest of days 45 and above and probablly not a good idea if your sensative to strong sunlight
FollowupID: 739333

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 09:40

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 09:40
LOL ok mate, I'll be sure and tell all the flies out here that according to you, they should be afraid of the sun, I'll let you know how it goes...
LMAO ...

FollowupID: 739361

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 09:19

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 09:19
G'day Silver, I would go for it. It will be an experience like no other. Assuming you will
be plugged into power when camped, take a decent fan & dont bother with the full
aircon. The extremes of temperature will only highlight the heat. Take seriously the
warnings re walking & dont be surprised if most are closed. Be prepared to start at daylight. I would incude Kings Canyon too,too close to miss it.
cheers......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 465262

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 12:21

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 12:21
On our last trip there one April we encountered 3 days in a row with low 40's C (that was a late heat wave, but anything can happen - in February though, it's far more likely). Walking round the sights had to be quite early and late in the day - rest of the time found us bludging under a huge tarp, splashing water around. As for roof air conditioners in a small campervan - they might be able to keep you cool but I doubt you'll get any sleep while it is running (and it could be sweltering overnight). Staying in accommodation might be the go (resort, motel, caravan park units), but hell - do they charge $$$$$ ! Presuming you go, take any liquor you need with you - groceries and fuel are ok, but liquor prices at Yulara are an outrage.
AnswerID: 465271

Reply By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 13:36

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 13:36
hi silver
you have picked the hottest time
the heat is unrelenting day and night
personelly i would go for the aircond all round that will give you relief and a chance to restore your energy at night ready for the next days heat otherwise you will very quickly become burnt out

i am not trying to put you off just give you a down to earth warning of what to expect you can expect low to high 40's you wont see many people out there at that time of the year only mad dogs and englishmen lol
sorry but thats just my warped sense of humour i'm a 4th gen aussie who's family originated from uk early 1900's
the road trip will be very hot and dry with plenty of dust everywhere you visit
so dont drive your hire vehicle too hard as the heat and the hot windy conditions can take it's toll on it and the flys will carry you off

make sure before you sign the hire document that you make sure the vehicle has very good tyres on it with a good spare and wheel brace and jack as tyres take a beating in the heat as well
inspect these items dont take the hirers word for it as it is too late when your km's from know where and find these items aren't actually in the storage box
make sure the water tank is full and you need to carry two water container that hold at least 4-5ltrs as well for drinking
no one has mentioned sun burn or wind burn
coming from uk if you have that fair skin and( i speak from a life long problem born in aus but inherited the fair skin factor)
is going to be a real challenge as you will roast under the aussie sun like a chook in the oven
you will get sunburnt just from the glare of the sun and also you can also get bad wind burn it is a very big factor here in aus without being in the sun
keeping your legs and arms covered with lite clothing is a smart thing to do
you will need copious amounts of good qualitity sun repellent cream and after burn cream incase you do sizzle avoid sunburn as it is very painfull and you have nowhere to hide once burnt
use a wide brimmed hat with a flymesh to get some peace and the mesh will also filter the suns rays
start your excursions at first hint of morning light it will be much more enjoyable for you this way
as mentioned your hourly intake of water will need to be high as you will dehydrate very quickly and suffer with heat exhaustion before you know it
so be very aware of this factor too
where the flys are concerned it has always been aussie bush folk lore that sometimes if the flys are really thick around your face you will get relief by cutting the arss out your pants, havent tryed it but am told it works for some

the above imfo i have given you is not in any way intended to put you off just warn you of the challenges your going to have to face in taking on a visit to that part of aus in february the rock and the olgas are a sight well worth seeing coober peddy is also a fasinating place where everyone lives underground to escape the desert heat
so if you arrive there at midday dont expect to see very many people above ground ??
hope you thoroughly enjoy it cheers barry
AnswerID: 465274

Reply By: Silver - Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 23:04

Saturday, Sep 17, 2011 at 23:04
Thanks again for all the info everyone.

I think we are going to wimp out and rent a motor home with aircon throughout.

We would have preferred to have gone to Ayres in the winter but could not arrange that. Still I guess there is a silver lining in that Ayres Rock should be a lot less crowded when we go - maybe completely empty if the walks are shut!

It looks like the walk around Ayres Rock itself isn't too long - around 12K so if we start just after sunrise, we should finish before 11.00. Same goes for the Kata Tjuta walk

We are going to have to come back and do Brisbane to Adelaide at some point in the future - before we get too old :) and take in Kings Canyon too that rim walk really looks the business

Now I've found this website and forum I'll be logging on regularly - and probably posting for help when I get into a panic.

One last thing - is there any mobile phone coverage in the Park?

AnswerID: 465318

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 09:05

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 09:05
There are 3 mobile carriers in Oz, Telstra, Optus and Vodafone. I recently swapped from Vodafone to Telstra because Telstra has by far the best coverage in remote places. I think that Yulara has coverage by all three can't be sure. Other than that, for your journey you wil have coverage in Port Augusta by all 3, around Coober Pedy by Telstra and then the Rock. In between will be dead. You may get Telstra coverage at some of the rest areas if they have a Telstra emergency phone as they seem to include a little mobile coverage of about 5 kms in them. Other than that it is sat phone country. Cheers.
FollowupID: 739353

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 09:17

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 09:17
On a similar note, please take heed of this
Lucky tourist
FollowupID: 739357

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 18:01

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 18:01
Anywhere in land mainland Australia is hot at that time, where I live is about 3-4C cooler than Alice and it doesn't stop us from doing things.
The wonderful thing about the inland which no one above has mentioned is that it has very low humidity and is more comfortable than the outright temperature states.
Give me the dry air 35C average at Alice any day over the 5-7C cooler but humid coastal locations.
Yes you can get outright 45C stinkers, but so can any of the capital cities at that time of the year, even Melbourne. IF it is hot at night, do as most others do and sleep out. Just buy an air mattress, flies disappear in the twilight.

Just do the activities in the early morning as you suggested.

Enjoy it
FollowupID: 739417

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 21:35

Sunday, Sep 18, 2011 at 21:35
Silver,

Think you've got all the info you need, but I sms'd our daughter yesterday, and she has just replied: "HOT, HOT, HOT!!! Not as hot as January, but still very hot and rain occasionally" unquote. She has been there over 2 years, running one of the tourist ventures.

Don't think anyone mentioned that the heat there, unless it's stormy, or general rain, can be quite bearable, because there's little humidity. Still need to drink plenty of fluids, & big hats. If it was to rain while you were there, it would be unreal, water off the Rock, and all the pools full at the Olgas.

Have fun,

AnswerID: 465427