Carbon Tax

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:08
ThreadID: 89510 Views:3736 Replies:17 FollowUps:20
This Thread has been Locked

It looks like the green minority will get there way and force a carbon tax on us, my question is Do you think it will it effect your traveling lifestyle?

I'm sure its going to be detrimental to a lot of areas of community but will it effect the someone who travels a bit with a caravan or camper trailer and does some km doing so?

Cheers Wilko

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:25

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:25
Its a sad day for Australians when a minority government with no mandate forces such massive economic destruction on a country such as ours.

Anything that increases our cost of living and puts unnecessary cost pressures on business, forces our competitive advantage offshore will impact the level of disposable income available to spend on leisure activities.

AnswerID: 467400

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:58

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 07:58
Hi Wilko

There is a calculator you can use but its pretty poor.

http://www.carbontax.net.au/household-compensation/

In the initial phases I think it will not cost your senario , mainly because fuel isn't taxed directly and there are tax offsets which make up for its impact on electricity etc for most people.

Its all a shame because the science is good , but I don't support this tax because unlike the GST the government didn't get a mandate for it.

Being able to trust a government is a more important factor for me.
AnswerID: 467402

Reply By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 08:54

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 08:54
Forumites,

While the heading may appear to many to be off topic, the point of Wilko’s post is very relevant. What will be considered off topic/inappropriate is if people reply in a party political fashion away from the intent of Wilkos post. Please keep this in mind when posting a reply. We do not wish this post to become a political rant that breaches the spirit and rules of the forum

Thanks for your understanding

The Modsquad

Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 467404

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:02

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:02
Well, ok, but "It looks like the green minority will get there way and force a carbon tax on us" starts the thread with a political barb and almost begs a response. I will refrain.
FollowupID: 741532

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:20

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:20
Hi Wilko, It might affect my lifestyle, but it won't affect me travelling this great country. Can't put a tax on nature, or can they.??

AnswerID: 467405

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:32

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:32
They have, remember CO2 is a naturally occurring gas that is essential for life.

FollowupID: 741533

Reply By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:30

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:30
ARGH - I just wote a detailed reply and my computer deleted it somehow.

I think the way we travel is already very altered by environmental issues and the CTAX needs to be viewed in light of that. For example, vehicles are now complex and expensive to repair. Only the very skilled of us can do our own repairs, unlike the old landy and similar. This is largely to meet efficiency/emissions regulations. Aussie fuel is "parity priced" to tie our fuel prices to the overseas market. This is partly to limit our fuel use by inflating the price. This has a massive effect on travel.

I think it is hard to sort through the mud thrown up about the CTAX. It looks to me that it will open up opportunities when it moves to emissions trading. I am happy that, for the first time, industry is accepting responsibility for its emissions. I am concerned about the short term effect but look forward to it driving alternative technologies. Perhaps travellers in 20 years will be getting about in very different vehicles than now, so the change could be massive.
AnswerID: 467407

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:38

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 09:38
Industry isn't accepting responsibility for its emissions.
Industry are simply passing any costs straight though to you and I.

The opportunities for business overseas is massive sadly to the detriment of Australian business and employment opportunities.

FollowupID: 741534

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:04

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:04
"Industry isn't accepting responsibility for its emissions.
Industry are simply passing any costs straight though to you and I." - true John but its only part of the picture. Other methodolgies and technologies that are perhaps more expensive but create less emissions are able to compete because the true cost of manufacture is represented in the price. At present the creation of emissions is free and not reflected in the price of good, therefore, alternatives cannot compete and there is no economic incentive to reduce emissions.

Anyhow, I don't want to wade into the CTAX mud bucket so I will refrain from this aspect of the discussion. Far more interesting is "how it will effect travel" and I maintain that it is part of a general change that has been changing how we get around (or atleast what it costs) for quite a while now.
FollowupID: 741537

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:20

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:20
That facts show your thoughts are not supported world wide.
Google, Chicago Carbon Exchange as a start, permit prices in Europe are rock bottom.
The so called Carbon pricing has collapsed all over the world and there is no incentive to change anything.

Besides the world has woken up to the lies perpetrated by the IPCC and we know the sky is not falling.

Cheaper and simpler to pass the costs straight through to you and I.
The impact as I said is simple, less disposable income and higher prices for no environmental gain.
The leisure industry and leisure spending will diminish going forward as the cost of living rises.

FollowupID: 741538

Reply By: NTVRX - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:12

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:12
Hi Wilco, You have asked question so here is my view. The prime minister stressed the carbon tax would apply only to the nation's biggest polluters and that most households would be compensated for any price rises. She also stated that there still is a lot of explaining to do & a lot to learn about the CTAX so I would imagine things may change in the future!!! The way it has been explained through the media is confusing to a certain degree. I am more interested in the the Fuel Watch Dog.....has anyone seen him or her? I found some teeth on the way to Birdsville this year & I wonder if they belong to Our Watchdog.!!!!

AnswerID: 467410

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:13

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:13
The carbon tax might seen great to some but it will affect everyone through higher costs from businesses being past on.

Gilards phrase "it is only going to affect high pollutants".... one of the businesses we have is a refrigeration company, Australian refrigeration companies operate under one of the wolrds most strictest code of practice put in place 5 years ago under the Rudd government..... we have to recover all used refrigerants, keep records of what refrigerants we buy, sell and return for destruction...we have to keep records of repairs and maintenance of service equipment including checking of refrigerant cylinders and all our technicians have to be qualified and licensed...... as a company we also have to have a "refrigerant trading authorisation number" to be able to buy and store refrigerants.

And we get regularly audited to ensure we are complying.

We are already operating above "worlds best practice" set out by the government.

But thats not enough.... we are going to get slugged a tax of between $32.00 and $60.00 per kilogram of refrigerant being used.

How can we be a big pollutant when we are following strict practises set out by the government and recover all refrigerants.

We are expecting a down turn in business and have already seen the impact from large companies.

This flow on effect will effect everyone regarding wages, employment and day to day running and maintenance costs of general house hold items and vehicles.

The economy is already feeling the pinch due to issues outside Australia's control, utility prices have increased not by the usual 2-3% but by as much as 20%.

Sure we need reform for pollutanters who don't follow "worlds best practices" but how can you change to something better if the technology is not there to support it or in our case we all ready exceed "worlds best practices" set out by the government 5 years ago .

Yes I an expecting it to affect our travel plans and the sad thing is once in they can do almost anything the like with it .... lets put a 40 cent per litre tax on petrol on top of the other 10 taxes already imposed...... disposal of used oils and tyres will all of a sudden increase to a point where people will just start dumping it illegally.

Road transport is already feeling the pinch and the carbon tax will be introduced to them in the next 2 years.... seems like no big deal but when an industry is suffering now it will through many operators to the wall bringing down companies that you may work for by not being able to pay for work supplied by you and you company.

I am very concerned for us over the next 1 to 5 years.

When the GST came in it was removing on tax (wholesale) and replacing it with another tax.

AnswerID: 467411

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:44

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:44
The debate over global warming has raged for some time, and regardless of the ‘scientific’ arguments from both sides of the divide, intuitively I doubt the world can continue to emit the way it does without any impact on our fragile environment. As a lover of the bush and outback, I feel something needs to be done to ensure we have ‘best practice’ when it comes to greenhouse emissions so as to preserve it for future generations. I’m sure I don’t stand alone on this point.

In simplistic terms I doubt it will affect our plans to travel in the short-term because the government has already indicated it will exclude fuel from the scheme, a major component in most travel budgets.

But fuel is only part of the story, this tax will affect people in many ways, the cost impost may reduce the competitiveness and profitability of many companies, which in turn reduces their ability to employ, or pay dividends. This will no doubt affect people in the long-term through job losses and reduced incomes. Discretionary expenditure such as travel in household budgets will most likely be affected over time.

In respect to the Moderators’ request I’ll steer clear of the political element inherent in this discussion (albeit it is difficult), however I will say, this tax does nothing to encourage emitters to modify behaviours, so what is the point, and on mandates, the current government has a mandate under the parliamentary system in Australia, and there is little doubt this Bill will pass both Houses of our Parliament. Don’t confuse what might be morally right with the reality of the situation. That’s politics, I guess!
AnswerID: 467413

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:59

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:59
Its a sad day when something nobody voted for and was promised would never happen gets rammed down our throat!!

Not what I would call a mandate, parliamentary or not!

FollowupID: 741541

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:23

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:23
And I’m sure your view is shared by many.

But before we sent the players out onto the field the rules of the game were well known and defined, we can’t change the rules every time the result isn’t to our liking, and the ballot box is the place to remedy the issue at the next election if that is what the majority of people want.

And let’s face it, once you can accept that a political party or their representative will do anything to be elected, or re-elected, you can pretty much accept anything else they do – including holding the electorate to contempt.

But this is heading into the area the Moderators’ have requested we steer clear of, so I will leave my comment at that...

FollowupID: 741542

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:32

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:32
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Off Topic Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 741543

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:01

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:01
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Off Topic Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 741548

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:57

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:57

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 467414

Reply By: Member - Des Lexic - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:17

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:17
I'll probably get moderated for this, but a bloke I know had a stroke a few weeks ago and to determine his mental faculties, they asked him a number of questions. One of which was "Who is the Prime Minister of Australia" Without a blink of an eye, he responded Bob Brown. His wife has to alert the medical staff to his sense of humour.
The above is a true account and not fictitious.

Des
AnswerID: 467416

Reply By: Member - blackbird1937 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:27

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:27
India and China are the big polluters and they are not interested in cutting down on carbon emissions . Australia has very little industry left . I heard early this morning on the ABC , Australia has lost 350,000 textile workers in the last 10 years . As usual it will be the small wage earner or pensioner who has to pay the bill because they will not be able to pass the cost on to anyone else . Even though the government promised they would subsidies the people I cannot see them doing it for the very long . I think the promise might be as good as the one made before the election , NO CARBON TAX . The greens surprise me , use electricity , gas , use paper like it is going out of fashion , have timber in their house , eat food produced with water , fertilizer , diesel , etc yet want everything shut down . The old people who paid taxes for around 50 years have been having it too good so their pleasure will have to be curtailed so I think the cost of using vehicles will go up .
AnswerID: 467419

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:09

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:09

Keeping away from the politics (Thanks Mod squad for allowing)

My views is that it will change the way I travel, I can see a time when the larger caravan/motor homes will become too exxy to run so people would look for smaller cheaper to run tow rigs and vans.

I believe it will impact on fuel pricing so my trips will become shorter with a view to getting the most bang for my traveling buck. Stopping longer in one spot

It might not happen overnight but in the coming years I think it will change.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 467428

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:33

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:33
"I can see a time when the larger caravan/motor homes will become too exxy to run so people would look for smaller cheaper to run tow rigs and vans." - I reckon we are already there on that one Wilco. I would never buy a big rig, even if I was permanent on the road.

Perhaps we will all have camel drawn Gypsie caravans (not enough watering points around for horses any more). I am going to paint mine yellow if we do.
FollowupID: 741553

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:30

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:30
Hi Wilko

And that might be the desired effect many are actually looking for this tax to do or for future emission schemes to do, modify our behaviour, or in the very least think about what we are doing in terms of emmissions - can we use something smaller and more efficient...I guess that is the starting point for many people.

FollowupID: 741556

Reply By: TTD1 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:20

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:20
Wilco,
Just a little story on how this tax will affect travel. Just before we headed off this year I decided to get new shockers and a snorkel fitted to the Prado and decided to wait while the job was being done. The office girl said to the business owner that electricity costs had gone up $400 on the same quarter last year and his reply straight back was put up the charge out rate $1.50 per hour.
Every service we get will reflect these increased costs and impact on our travel plans.
TTD1
AnswerID: 467432

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:48

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:48
$400 a year being recouped by charging $1.50 an hour for every job being done in the shop, which could be several at once. That sound like opportunism to me, or the office girl is just bumping her gums.
FollowupID: 741558

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:01

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:01
Per quarter if you read it properly.
Thats $1600 per year, only the start!!

FollowupID: 741566

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:22

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:22
Oops, I stand corrected. It still probably doesn't justify $1.50 an hour across the board but I am not going to do the math on it. Only the start!! My oath it is. The WA state govt has pushed big power and water increases annually for the last three or four years. Not to mention stamp duty and a range of other increases. We have to pay fees to go into Nat parks. Car rego has increased markedly. All taxes and charges spill back to the end user. Probably the only difference with the CTAX is some of it will go back into households..... goodness only knows what happens to the state power charges because we still use mostly dirty old coal burners and the supply cuts off if too many people use a hair dryer.

People might go for smaller vehicles and vans or perhaps travel less distance in the future but in reality its a change that's been going on for ages and there are a whole range of things driving it. The CTAX is a small part of it.
FollowupID: 741569

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:02

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:02
Not a small part of it, it will in fact cover all of it in some form or another.
They may have directly exempted fuel (At this stage) but the input costs are not exempt (Power etc) so the refining process cost will rise, the effect will be refiners will be more inclined to move offshore where there is no such costs applied. Bang goes another level of Aussie manufacturing.

Councils have already stated that collectively it will cost them hundred of millions of dollars across the country.
So your rates will rise.

Its a regressive tax that will hurt every single one of us and is geared to rise year upon year and the supposed compo will reduce.

Never in history has a tax induced growth in any economy of the world, so I'm keen to see how this one will supposedly do so if you believe their rhetoric.

FollowupID: 741574

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:23

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:23
"Never in history has a tax induced growth in any economy of the world"... but manipulating tax regimes and tax rates is how governments stimulate or slow down economies. It's tax structures that largely attracts investment, encourages the flow of resources etc. Where are you getting this statement from?
FollowupID: 741578

Reply By: Toby T1 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:21

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:21
They said this about GST that it would ruin the lived etc etc. Its another form of Tax which if used correctly will impact on our cost of living. Australia is such a large exporter of coal, which introduces billions into the economy. Ask yourself this question. If it did not impact you in the slightest would you change your habit? The price of electricity is going up, now we see people using Energy Effiecent Light bulbs. People turning items off at the wall. This would not have happened to the majority if the price of electricity did not go up. I am all for this Green Tax, which Tax's big polluters of this earth. Australia is doing the right thing. Albiet small in the size of the earth's economy, but its certainly a start. Will it impact my cost of living? Yes. Does it bother me? Yes. Is it the right thing to do? Yes.
AnswerID: 467436

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:58

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:58
Look on the bright side, maybe it will work and our grand kids will still be able to enjoy the outback as we do now.

NZ has it and it hasn't been the end of the world,

Europe is looking like going the same way.

My advice, don't listen to all the negative BS being spread
AnswerID: 467440

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:09

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:09
NZ is winding theirs back as it has done nothing but hurt their economy.
Canada voted a new conservative government on the platform of no CT and no emissions program.

The U.S is doing nothing, China is doing nothing, India is doing nothing.
Europe is also backing away, with Germany planning 26 new coal fired power stations to replace aging nuclear plants.
Don't be mislead by what the government of the day is spruiking as they said it would not happen at all under a government lead by Gillard.

Its a tax to raise government revenue, will not have any effect other than to make you and I poorer and this country uncompetitive.

I would worry that your grandkids will be in a position to fund their travel to the outback in the future given the way this country is heading.

FollowupID: 741567

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:55

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:55
Hi John,

Yes must be careful what you read and listen to.

this article dated today seems to show the NZ system is running very well. I would like to know your source?

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=10758396

I agree its sad the US and China are motivated my money rather than where we live. However I do note they have by far the most investment in renewable power.

I see europe will be applying a carbon tax on all airlines flying into the EU from next year.

I think when the hysteria dies down in 12 months we will see a different perspective from whats being sprouted by todays doomsayers
FollowupID: 741572

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:12

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:12
Yes you must.
John Key the NZ PM spoke about this when he visited Aus in June.

One quick link on the matter from a Greenie source of all things :))

NZ CT Scheme

FollowupID: 741576

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:23

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:23
Thanks John, good article, I make 2 quotes that I take encouragement from,

From the NZ PM

"what I can tell you about the emissions trading scheme in New Zealand is it has worked, so that's the first point"

"New Zealand will be slowing its expansion of emissions trading"

I read nowhere where it talks about winding it back and hurting there economy.

I guess time will tell
FollowupID: 741577

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:52

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:52
John (Vic)

I think most of us hear you loud and clear; you are opposed to this particular scheme, but please stop hijacking the thread with political rhetoric. And I suggest this in the nicest possible way!

The moderators’ (and I’m not one!) in their wisdom reinstated the thread earlier today on the basis that discussion will be contained to the specific topic of how it might affect our travel plans, not what we think of it from a political viewpoint. All you will end up doing is having this thread closed off to further comment...

You have recourse to remedy the situation at the ballot box...

AnswerID: 467450

Reply By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:56

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 16:56
Thanks one and all but as it appears some just can’t curtail their need to turn this into a political comment, we’ll lock the post to prevent it going further astray.

Thanks Wilko. We always knew there was going to be a risk with this one but decided it was an interesting topic and one you wove into the context of the forum in a good fashion. We can only hope that whatever the outcomes, the impact to the costs associated with travelling this great country of ours will not be too onerous.

The Modsquad
Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 467451