Around 11,000klms in 5 weeks with 3 kids, would YOU do it ????

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 01:29
ThreadID: 89524 Views:6223 Replies:26 FollowUps:23
Well we are back at work after the most amazing trip we have ever done..... Yes we did around 11,000klms in 5 weeks and it was the best trip we have ever done ... yet !!!!! .... Please note we have THREE kids 4,9,11 .....
Our only plan, to go to the Birdsville races and from there make the next plan .....
We left Doomadgee on the 2nd of Sept, arrived Friday at Isa with a gearbox seal gone, fixed it up at Isa and left Isa on Sat arvo after a big shop to stock up (wine/beer/rum and some food) and arrived at Bedourie to stay Sat night, left at 5 in the morning to avoid the mass exit from the Birdsville races ...... we arrived and what a sight it was .... the planes at the strip blew us away, anyway first job was to locate a mate from Albany they flew there plane over, after a bit we caught up and got that out of the way, now to drive around and see the place, got brekky and plan next move .... BIG RED what else so off we go and follow the crowds out there, lots of cars but we did expect that .... did BIG RED or so we thought and as soooooo many have posted we did little red .... bummer but was a big heap of fun ...
Back to Bdsvl and camp for a few days and finally un-wind for a few day and de-stress from work, transalated to drink wine and dribble bleep :-)
It is at that point we found out that the $1399 purchase of a ROOFTOP CAMPER was the biggest screw up we have done for some time, 3 kids and a roof top camper DONT mix..... so we stayed for a day more to drink about our next move .... ok now time to make plans for the rest of hols so i will now cut it all really short and go stop to stop ....
Birdsville to Coopers Creek, did the "crossing", down to Maree and to Lyndhurst, up the Straz track to Camerons Corner, Tibulburra for the night and down to Broken Hill, out to Silverton and rest for 3 days and caught up with some EO people, over to Port Broughton, off to the Nullabour, stop to see the Whales and did we see them, 5-8 so close we could hear the "spout" noise, drive on to see the cliffs, further on to the cave at Cocklbiddy, Norsman, Esperance, Ravey, Gnowangerup Pub, Albany, Gnowangerup, Bremer Bay, fishin and kids time for a week, Gnowangerup again to farwell family, Perth, Kal, Central Desert Hwy, met Al n Serina, Olgas, Ayres Rock, Alice Springs, Whycliffe Well for 2 days as we had a LHF bearing noise, Tenent Creek for parts, Barkly, Tablelands Hwy, Calvert Hills road, Savannah Way at Wollagrang to Doomadgee at TWO am in the morning we arrived at Doomadgee on the 9th of Oct .....
Tired ???? yes
Happy yep
Kids, will NEVER forget it...
I will post a "blog" with pics as soon as i can.
So the final question is......... would you do it ?????
Joe n Mel n Kids

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 06:10

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 06:10
Hi Joe. Did something similar in 1981/82 with two kids. We towed a caravan and went round Oz in six weeks though. Left Wollongong with 6 days till Xmas and headed to Dampier to have Xmas/New Year with my brother who lived there. Left after New Year and went to Darwin via Broom. Caught up with old friends in Darwin, then down to three ways, across to the Qld coast and up to Cairns (Yorkeys Knob) to see my Mum. It was then a trip down the east coast and back home just in time to get the kids ready for back to school. It left us with the travelling bug but sadly,life and work took over and we are now only just starting to get back "out there" again. Glad you had a great trip, missed you by a couple of days at Silverton. Don't leave it too long to do the next one. Cheers,Bob.

AnswerID: 467490

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:30

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:30
we sooooo would have loved to stayed for a bit longer at Silverton and we would have been able to catch up with more people but it was just not possible eh ...
FollowupID: 741691

Reply By: wato35 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:55

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 07:55
J M & kids

Don't think I would do that trip in that time. I like to spend more time in 1 place, but that me. If you and your family had a great time ( and it sounds like you did ) then thats all that matters.
Looking forward for the pics.

Wato
AnswerID: 467493

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:28

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:28
personally ... so would i, but kids get bored quick and dont take in what we do so we went the distance and it was worth every bit of it .....
I would have LOVED to have spent 5 weeks at Bremer alone but everytime we talk to others we relise how great a trip it was and what we saw ....
Time poor i guess.
FollowupID: 741690

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:20

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:20
Hi Joe n Mel n Kids

Sounds like you had a ball and would have seen some unreal country. Any time camping with the family is always the best time and you will and your family will talk about that trip for the rest of your lives.

Looking forward to the blog and of course, photos.

AnswerID: 467496

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:55

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:55
and the wild-flowers .... awsome is all i can say .....
FollowupID: 741632

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:23

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:23
Great to hear that you all had a great trip Joe.
It was great to meet up at Silverton.
How did you finish up with the rooftop tent?
Looks like the whales were a highlight of the trip.
You beat the rain across the centre too by the looks of it.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 467497

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:44

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:44
Hi Dave, good to meet you, we still have the tent, we never used after that as every time we planned on using it rain and bad weather came in so lucked out ... big mistake to buy but thats how we learn i guess eh ......
The whales were up there eh, kids were thrilled....
The rain was a real bummer for us, it all started when we started to head to the west, there was forcast for a big series of front to hit in a few days, we had a stinking hot day and howling headwind the whole Nullabour trip, we planned to camp at the tops of the cliff but got a mobile signal and checked the up dates and it was looking really bad, we booked a room at Border village and it came screaming in at around midnight with wind clocked at 103klms and lightining and rain, they evacuated some campers as the bush was lit up with a fire and others trickled in for the rest of the night, trashed any tents set up, poor people ....
We then hit more at Ravey and more at Bremer but that did not bother us, many a glass of port solved any issues there .... we then looked at the forcast and again it was forcast to hit the whole central area so we bolted again hoping to beat that lot, at least the wind was up our bums now... we had it hit us just out of Kal and it absolutly poured, the roads were closing behind us, we got to Laverton to the news that the central road was closed .... not happy, it was really wet there to so did not look good at all, sheets of water as far as we could see, got a room and next morning to our suprise it was opened so we headed off, the rain seemed to be very local and it was wet but perfect only 10 ks out, from there on it was perfect ...
FollowupID: 741692

Reply By: Bill BD - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:57

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 08:57
"Would I do it?" - not in a thousand years. I like to take my time, particularly with kids. BUT to each their own and it sounds like you had a great time.
AnswerID: 467500

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:49

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:49
exactly what we said before we left, lets get to Birdsville and make our next plan .... and it all kinda un-folded from there .....
And even now i cant see how we managed it but it was so awsome to do it was worth every bit eh .....
I now FULLY understand what people mean when they say "time poor" ... that was us, we wanted to see SO much but only have 5 weeks to do it in, and every year we wait the kids get older and we will miss out, we know that so we just bit the bullet and did it ......
If i had a thousand years then i would have taken it easy hahahaha
We did have a great time eh, thanks
FollowupID: 741694

Follow Up By: Livin On The Road - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 11:33

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 11:33
Yeah, I like to go a lot slower, too. But then ... it's taken us nearly two years to see Victoria, Canberra, central Australia and South Australia. It's going to take us 8 years to go around Australia at this rate!

FollowupID: 741727

Reply By: CSeaJay - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:32

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:32
Would we do it? YES YES

We did it when the boys were in primary school. 5 weeks 10,000 km, central desertys including CSR
They absolutely loved it, and were always keen and have joined us for many (albeit shorter) trips thereafter

They are now late teens and one is at uni, when we announced we are planning a similar distance/time trip this time to the Kimberley, they were in at a flash!

It has bonded our family together and we have very fond memories of our adventures.
AnswerID: 467501

Reply By: Honky - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:53

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 09:53
Did Similar, 10,000 in 3 weeks.
A lifetime memory and many discussions at BBQ.
Better to have done the trip and seen 40% than not do the trip at all and see 100% of nothing.
Just leaves some for another trip.

Honky
AnswerID: 467503

Reply By: Livin On The Road - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:47

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 10:47
hmmm, wouldn't do it with three kids because the one that I left behind would complain too much...so would the grandparents!

Sounds like you had a great time! I'd encourage everyone to do this sort of trip. The kids love it, and it's great to spend that time together.
AnswerID: 467506

Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:08

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:08
i just got home yesterday afternoon after completing just over 9600 klms in 4 and 1/2 weeks with our family of 4, including 2 kids aged 3 and 8 years old, my mate was along also with his family of 5 including 3 kids under 12 years of age.
we left Brisbane and headed to Normanton and Lawn Hill and up through the Gulf to Katherine Gorge, Litchfield, Darwin, Kakadu, down to the Devils Marbels and home to Brisbane again.
so the answer is yes we would probably be silly enough to do your trip also.
AnswerID: 467515

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:17

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:17
just thought i'd mention...
last year we also did Brisbane to Cameron Corner, out to Lyndhurst and into Lake Eyre at Halligan Bay, onto Coober Pedy and then Ayres Rock, up to Alice Springs and through the Finke Gorge to Boogy Hole then out the other side of the park, across to Chambers Pillar and down the Old Ghan Line to Mt. Dare, before crossing The Simpson Desert to Birdsville and home to Brisbane in 3 weeks.
so as said earlier, get out and see the country in what ever time frame you have. we don't see everything, but in 2 years my kids have certainly seen alot. the 8 year old has even been to Cape York back in 2006 when she was 3 years old.
cheers.
FollowupID: 741652

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:53

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:53
it kinda grown on you as you travel, you look at the distance, think about it and it hurts, then you bite ya lip, start eh up and head off and before you know it you are pointing at something going woooooowwww and stopping to take pics and walk to it and before you know it you have clocked up 5-600 klms and you are fine .....
It really is fun eh.
FollowupID: 741696

Follow Up By: rumpig - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 11:23

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 11:23
having a dvd player in the back of each headrest makes it easy to clock up big klms with the kids onboard, between that and colouring books etc, the distances aren't a major issue for us or our kids. if we see something interesting (usually animals or views etc.) we make sure the kids look out the window and see it themselves also.
as nice as it would be to stay at places for a longer time period and do all the walks etc that are there to do, with a 3 and 8 year old child along it really isn't an option, they simply can't walk the bigger distances to explore some places. at Lawn Hill our youngest walked out to the water fall which was almost a kilometer away (900 mtrs i think), i then carried her on my shoulders the return leg via the longer walk of about 2 and 1/2 more klms. so with abit of effort my kids still see what alot of other people possibly don't get to see.
we spent a few days camped at a farm stay / cattle property just out of Biloela in the last week of our holiday. it was just so the kids could enjoy themselves and go horse riding and feed the animals there etc., it was a reward of sorts for them, for putting up with travelling so far in the vehicle whilst on holidays.
FollowupID: 741726

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 20:41

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 20:41
DVD players .... i dont think we could have done it without them, we actually have a 12v outlet in the back for the kids multiude of gadgets and we have a switch on the dask that we can switch it off, it we ask a question and we dont get an answer we simply switch it off, they soon get very cranky ... hahaha works well for things we want them to see also .......... we got the ones with ir headphones, it is the best way as they can watch what ever they like and we can not hear a thing, nothing worse than the DVD right behind your head and you are trying to drive ..
FollowupID: 741853

Reply By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:12

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:12
Well Joe we have just done 6500 km in 16 days with the Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari.. admittedly with no kids , but still a fair haul up to the the gulf and back via the Ridge ( from Gold Coast). I was thinking of you when we were at Leichardt Falls but no time to pop over and say hi.
AnswerID: 467516

Reply By: funnyfarm - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:28

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:28
would we do it???? Hell Yes, we are doing it next winter. Going all through the northern territory. My children will be 8,5 and 2. Can't wait :)
AnswerID: 467517

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:54

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 21:54
excellnt ..... reading all those that have done it and loved it must make you wish you could go now eh hahahaha
Good luck guys
FollowupID: 741697

Reply By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:37

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:37
My wife and I just came back from a "quick" 4000kms trip from Bathurst out to the Ferry over the Cooper Creek and up to Arkaroola and back in 8 Days. Work committments limited us but with both driving it was a great trip.
I read so much on here about the Ferry Crossing we just had to see it for our selves. We did a chopper flight and the cruise as well. Fantastic value for money for both of them. It did rain on us at the Ferry crossing but we got back to Marree OK with heaps of mud on the Terracan and the new van. It was an amazing experience as we have done some outback travelling but this was also to give our new van its' maiden voyage.
We had no kids either but sometimes work and money do limit people from taking more time to travel and I admire Joe and Mel for what they have done. The kids will remember it forever.
It is just such a great country and hopefully I will be out to see more of it over the next few years.
The Bigfella
AnswerID: 467519

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:00

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:00
exactly what we did, sitting at Birdsville and having seen the red dunes we had the "bug" ..... we had read about the Cooper ferry so that is exactly what we did, we crossed it and got to the other side and looked at each other kinda like... well where next ???
We followed the "track" to Marree and hit rain, drove down to Lyndhurst and saw the sign .... Strazlecki Track (or however ya spell it ), had a singal there, checked the weather and looked up the maps and said to the kids ... hey have ya ever seen a big yellow bus out in the middle of noware ??? so off we went and ended up at Camerons Corner ....
Yep a great country, we are sooo lucky here ..
FollowupID: 741698

Reply By: shanegu6 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:04

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:04
Just did 11600kms in 13 days with my 6 year old daughter and 3 year old son. Perth to Brisbane in 5 days, Brisbane to Perth in 5 days and then 3 days from Perth to Kununurra to start a new job. All this to buy a new caravan as the same van was over $10000 more in Perth for exactly the same van (Royal Flair Family Flair).
AnswerID: 467522

Reply By: guzzi - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:41

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 14:41
315 km a day EVERYDAY, If you stop for a day or 2 its more.
How car tolerant are your kids?
Still its not something you get to do very often.
Do it.
AnswerID: 467524

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:03

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:03
yep you cant "think" about the distance as you wont ever do it, the kids were fantastic, cant praise them enough ... i will say we have been at home now for 5 days and my legs still ache ...
FollowupID: 741699

Reply By: pmk03 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:57

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 15:57
It's not only about the destinations, it's about the journey.
Most of us only have annual leave to fit these trips in. Over the past 30 yrs We have always covered large distances in our trips & my daughter has travelled with us since 11mths old. She's now 16 & still loves it.
We all love it & always will. Once the bugs got you theres no turning back.
I don't want to rush life but once we retire there will plenty of time to "Take our Time" But untill then I say go for it............

PMK
AnswerID: 467528

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 17:49

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 17:49
Yes - I did 17,000k around/across OZ with 2 kids in 4 weeks in 1997 & that was with over a week in Perth :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 467536

Reply By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 19:53

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 19:53
I'm loving these posts!! We did the same sort of things with our kids - starting when the youngest was about 2 and oldest 6. The first trip was 1980. Every year we'd take them out of school a week before and after the school holidays, so we'd have four weeks of travel.

We all had a wonderful time seeing Australia and I wouldn't trade those memories for anything.

Now my two are grown and still have the travel bug. They still remember the travels we did and are extremely proud that they saw Australia before they headed off to see a bit of the world.

So many times I have heard people say "four weeks" that's not enough time..you won't enjoy it, you should stop and "smell the roses".Well, we did enjoy it, believe me lots of roses were "smelled" and now its making me smile to read about all you others out there doing the same thing. Keep it up!!

Viv
AnswerID: 467546

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:13

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:13
i remember not so long ago when people used to goven everything by the school hols, we now are so "time poor" that we simply take the kids out of school and just go, also accomodation is hard to get at school hols and costs more so we have given up on that, we also see heaps of people come through here with kids and they are not on school hols but traveling when they can .....
You are so right about the "smell the roses" so we got a car freshner that smelled like rose and we did not have to stop then hahaha
But as you say it makes me also smile to see so many people would gladly do it, more than i actually thought, i was thinking i would have a lot asking if i was mad ....
FollowupID: 741700

Follow Up By: rumpig - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 11:44

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 11:44
with relation to the kids schooling.....
we are going with the idea that until our kids start high school, then we will remove them from school to go on holidays whenever we need to if that is what suites our plans. i believe our 8 year daughter learnt alot more on this holiday then she would have, had she of been at school during the same time frame.
whilst at places such as Barcaldine i explained to her what the shearers strike was all about as we were at the Tree of Knowledge, we also visited the Telegraph Station at Tenant Creek and explained it's significance with the Telegraph Station we visited at Alice Springs the year previous.
with the way schooling is taught these days, i am of the opinion that our holidays teach so much more to our kids, then the school ever will.
FollowupID: 741728

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 21:49

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 21:49
The Kids schooling...

My son changed schools in yr 8 (NSW) as the new kid in school and coming from the bush to the big smoke he was copping a bit of flack. Then he picked an argument with the history teacher. She said Bourke and Wills died at Innamincka, my young bloke said they didn't but died along the river near there.

The argument continued and the other kids gave him even more grief. The next day he bacame a hero when the history teacher apologised and admitted he was right. How did you know that? she asked.

"I've been there Miss."

They really do learn heaps when they are out there.

FollowupID: 741772

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 02:20

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 02:20
yep ..... interesting eh, good to hear your point all, i love it as we kinda got worried that we were doing the "wrong" thing but as can be seen it is a fact of life, you simply cant do all this stuff and fit into the "normal" persons life ...... love it eh...
FollowupID: 741796

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:34

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:34
hey thanks for the replys all, it seems there are a lot more people out there as mad as i am, that actually scares me hahahaha.
That aside it was fantastic, i still dont think i could have done it if i had "planned" it as it seems to be impossible on paper, yes 11,000klms is a very long way and it is simply to much to see in such a short time ..... but we did it, i still dont know how, it was amazing, the kids are telling everyone about it and probally will for years to come ...
And yes i now understand the term "time poor", thats us.... but again it worked and we pulled it off, i will add one thing, we live remote and dont get a chance to "catch up" with old feinds and family as most others do so we have become rather attached to FACEBOOK, yes i said FACEBOOK ..... i know a lot on this forum that hate it and dispise it but it has been fantastic for us, we were posting our progress and pictures as we travelled and downloaded up dates with many pics as we went, we did not once contact anyone as to where we were going or when we got there, it was all posted to FB and thats it, and in doing that we had a lot of people waiting in anticipation for our next post as they even said it felt like there were travelling with us, seeing the red dunes, the deserts, the cooper, camerons corner, silverton and mad max, the whales, the cave, fires, beaches, fishing, the almighty rocks, flooded roads and even posting photos of the road signs as we went took them on the journey with us ...... as some said they were "cyber" travellers and cant wait until we go again ....
Anyway all, maney thanks for the replys, very interesting.
J&M&Kds
AnswerID: 467552

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:46

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 22:46
G`day Joe n Mel n Kids,

It was great to meet you at Silverton. I knew that you were sort of wishing that you could stay for the Gathering but as you said at the time " so much to see and do in a limited amount of time".
Anyway I am glad to hear that you are home safe and sound and that you enjoyed your trip.

I did 11,000 Ks to Cape York and home via Silverton, but took a bit longer, 13 weeks.

Regards and best wishes,

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 467553

Reply By: member-PradoMad - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 23:29

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 23:29
I did a short one; 5184km in 8 days w/ my teenage son.
the things to see out there and the diversity of the landscape is something no one will ever forget.
JS.

AnswerID: 467555

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 22:05

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 22:05
I remember seeing this when you first posted it.

It was great then and still is.

FollowupID: 741781

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 02:50

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 02:50
wow .................... i can not say anything more .... that is one really good clip, well done guys, i so wish i had done the same footage
FollowupID: 741797

Follow Up By: member-PradoMad - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 07:52

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 07:52
just noticed that the audio has been disabled...???? even though all the songs have been bought from iTunes...don't understand.

JS.
FollowupID: 741806

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 10:16

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 10:16
JS, tunes bought from iTune to play on your portable device probably don't give you the right to publish them on a commercial site. I buy music with no copyright attached to use in my videos for that reason.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 741813

Follow Up By: member-PradoMad - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 14:58

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 14:58
Great info; thanks for that.
Have to check that out next time as I was not aware that there is actually music without copyrights.
JS
FollowupID: 741835

Reply By: Member - Hunnam Family - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 01:27

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 01:27
Have 4 kids 14, 11, 7 and 5. Quit job, sold house and left Torquay Vic on 22nd July. Have been via Warrnamool, Portland, Mt Gambier, Adelaide, Port Augusta, Ceduna across the Nullarbor then up to Kalgoorlie. From there stuck to the west coast then through the Kimberley, Kununurra across to Katherine up to Darwin, Litchfield and across to Kakadu. About to head south then across to QLD and spend the next 3 months checking out the sunshine state. No job, no mortgage, no stress and no idea what the future holds but living life for the present!

Just the 6 of us...
AnswerID: 467556

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 06:56

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 06:56
Me and the Mrs just spent 7 weeks...in July/August travelling at our own pace, no set plan from Brisbane, thru the centre, over to WA, then up to Pilbara area, and back down thru many areas of WA, then back across and thru Silverton (EO gathering) and back home..16,730 km..50 days...$4330 in diesel. Great trip.

We have done other trips with the kids when they were little, including a 9 week trip around the place, caravan, and tents for the Cape.

We are off again next year for an 8 week trip going a nothern route across to and around WA. These days it's just us, and loving it..even better with no set plan...just a return date..unfortunately.
AnswerID: 467559

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 13:03

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 13:03
G'day joe, Mel 'N'Kids, was great to meet you mob, hopefully one day we'll get to Doomadgee.
Thanks for the Stubby holder by the way, It's getting plenty of use!

Al and Serena
AnswerID: 467581

Reply By: lxtbattery - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 21:47

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 21:47
That is good, i am looking forwards your pics.
Lithium-ion Battery
AnswerID: 467618

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 22:03

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 22:03
In 1996 we did our first BIG trip.

We had 3 kids the youngest had her 3rd birthday in Perth. The brother is 14 months older and the oldest girl 4 years older than that.

We did 15,000km in six weeks. Spent just under a week in Broken Hill when the clutch let go. About 3 days in Adelaide on the way west waiting for our friends camper to be ready and another 2 on the way back to pick up ours. and a week and a half in Perth with my brother.

FFFaaaaaaaaaannntaaaaaasssssticcccccccc.

Last year for Schoolies week my son,then 18, came with me to Birdsville. About 5,000km in 8 days. The year before the son, a mate and I did Googs Track, Woomera, Farina, Bourke about 7,500kms in 11 days.

Would I do it? Yeah actually I did, more than once.

Would I do it again? In a heartbeat.

Great country, great company, great fun.

And in all that not a DVD to be seen.

AnswerID: 467621

Reply By: Member - sparra - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 11:29

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 11:29
g'day joe and mel,i saw you looking for a carpark at mcdonalds in alice when i was there a week or so ago,i saw the exploroz sticker and the doomadgee one on the toolbox on the back.
glad you had a good trip,i was on my way back to w.a. from up cape york.

cheers,sparra
AnswerID: 467653

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 20:47

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 20:47
hahaah, yes our car is to HIGH to fit through the drive throughs, plus it was a bit of a "Macdonalds" crawl, we promised the kids we would go to the maccas in every place as we dont get to have it here , after all they were on hols also so a big treat for them as well .....
FollowupID: 741854