Finally home from Silverton

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 14:10
ThreadID: 89579 Views:2495 Replies:9 FollowUps:20
Well, we've finally got home from Silverton.
It's been an amazing 4 weeks, 6600km's all up.
We had a fantastic time in Silverton thanks to you Dave & Nora, Thanks guys
You filled our heads with information about the history of the area that has sparked our imagination to get out and see more of the country.
Your tour around Broken Hill, The Desert sculptures and history of the area was brilliant, Cheers.
Also thanks to Bonz for the day trip through the Barrier Rangers, cheers mate.
It's hard to believe that some people have made a living out of that harsh country.
I must also thank kev for lightening Fysh's purse of all her change for the raffles, our fuel bill would of been higher carting that extra weight around ;)
Thank you Ray for your poetry, we love it. Cheers mate.
Thanks Scrubby for sharing a yarn or two with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
And thanks to all those that attended, we may see you next year, who knows. :)
The link below is an account of our four weeks on the road that we would like to share.
Our September/October Trip
We hope you enjoy it, as much as we enjoyed living it.
Through sharing what knowledge we have, we all become wealthier.

Regards Jon & Karen

ps, Thanks again Dave & Nora

Reply By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 15:14

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 15:14
Hi. Jon & Karen. Good to know that you arrived home safely and I second your comments on the N G at Silverton. Dave & Nora really organised a great show. I never thought, after passing through Broken Hill in the past that there was so much to see in such an arid part of this county. I will a sure to stop and look around more, when through that way again.
Again, thank Dave & Nora for the trips and hospitality that you provided for us all.

Cherrs
Steve.B....

AnswerID: 467767

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 16:26

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 16:26
Hi Steve,
Thank you, yes safely and tired, Might need a holiday to get over it ;)
It's an amazing country we have for a backyard LOL, as big as it is.
Broken holds so much history, as does Silverto. On the Thurday afternoon a group of us went out to Mundi Mundi to watch the sun set, Amazing and breath taking.
The vastness of the country and the lack of water, astounds me how people settled in these remote places.
It was great to also put names to faces and share a laugh.

Thanks guys.

FollowupID: 741931

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:24

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:24
Steve. We went down to Menindee after Silverton and had a couple of nights there. Reading a brochure on BH that Dave supplied the first night and didn't realise how much there was to see and do. We drove back up to BH and had another three nights in the TT caravan park. BH even put on a huge storm one afternoon.Thought we were in the tropics for a while. I never imagined how much growth would be out there and the amount of Bird and Animal life we saw was amazing.
I reckon we could have spent a few months in the area easily and enjoyed every minute of it. Now roll on retirement so we can make it happen.
As Jon said, the Mundi sunset was incredible. Just wish I would have got the horizon straight. Cheers, Bob

FollowupID: 741953

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:18

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:18
Thanks for the comments Steve, and I very much appreciated your help.
It was good fun going through the various designs you came up with for the nametags and certificates.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 741962

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:51

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:51
Yep Silverton was a great time. Great to meet you guys too finally. You need a GPS mate, I checked out your link and you got damn lost going home... next time maybe call in when u are near Warrnambool, I can give yoiu some directions and believe it or not I have a few beers in the fridge on the shed

cyas

Bonz

AnswerID: 467780

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 18:57

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 18:57
We're sorry mate, we didn't ask :(
Can't believe we only 'Missed by that much Chief' LOL.
A few beers? Sheesh mate, come on, bit more of an incentive hey ;)
Only down the road from were we stopped, Damn, It's a pretty place Warrnambool, as is all that coast line, a bit cold tho for Fysh.
We wish we had more time for a lot of things Bonz, we would of liked to of taken our time over the whole trip.
We had a ball at Silverton, we enjoyed every part of everything that happened, and the kids had a ball. As I mentioned, they are our future, we need to give them the taste of traveling this beautiful country so that they will want to share it with their kids.
You're dead right, We've got the bug, damn it LOL.

FollowupID: 741948

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:27

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:27
Hi Bonz. How is the Bonzmobile. Has it had surgery yet? Bob

FollowupID: 741954

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:26

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:26
G'day Bonz, thanks for your help in making the gathering a good time for everyone. Much appreciated.

Have you got any more sound deadening to stop all that noise from the front of your car?

FollowupID: 741963

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:48

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:48
Yep the heart transplant starts today Bob, Brand new motor, should be good

And Dave, I have purchased earplugs, not for the engine noise but for the bagging......

FollowupID: 741983

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:55

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 17:55
Hairs,

I have an extra special deal for Raffle tickets for you ;)

15 for $20.00 or if ya ask noicely I might actually give ya 20 tickets hehehehe

Good to see you again and might see you at the next one in Beechworth, seeing as Brooke has to draw the 1st ticket in the raffle ;)

AnswerID: 467782

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 19:07

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 19:07
Fysh wants to know where you were Friday night at the Manilla bowling Club.
We were having dinner there.
They started to draw the tickets in they meat raffles and Brooke said, "where's Kev?" LOL.
Sounds like a good deal tho ;)
We'll see how we go mate, i know it's only 1,327km's away, we'll see
FollowupID: 741949

Follow Up By: Member Ray M (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:47

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:47
Hi Kev
Didn't see you at the markets in Chinchilla this morning, thought you would have a stall there selling worn out Yota parts hehe
Didn't have your mobile number mate so missed out on a cuppa
We are in Roma at the moment and headin to Emerald tomorrow and home by Thursday
Say Gidday to Sam, Ashleigh & Pothole
Cheers Ray & Justene

FollowupID: 741956

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:35

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:35
Thanks again for your help Kev & Sam, you must have worn out at least a couple of pairs of shoes all the walking around you did with the raffle tickets.
You probably have a raffle book under your pillow now I suppose.

Ray, thanks for your very entertaining poems.
You did that under a great deal of sufferance I reckon.
You must have finished up with a sunburnt bum from that fire, you were standing so close to it.

FollowupID: 741964

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:40

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:40
Ray,

I was busy setting up for Potholes birthday party LOL

Sam and my sister were down there early to get some fresh fruit. Shame we missed you both but no doubt we will cross paths again as Pothole needs some more training on drying the dishes hehehe

Dave,

I reckon by next years Gathering I will have Ashley trained up to sell tickets as well so look out hehehe

FollowupID: 741978

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 19:15

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 19:15
Hi Jon, Karen and kids

Just as an aside Hairs, saw you and the family coming towards Tamworth on Friday morning last week in a little place called Carroll. Saw the sticker across the windscreen and instantly it had to be you and yours.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 467785

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 19:37

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 19:37
Hi John,
Yeah, it was us.
We turned off and headed to Manilla down the Lake Keepit road, a nice drive. I can vaguely remember as a kid going out to Keepit, can't remember what for.
It has looked like the country has had a good drink at the moment.
The kids were amazed at the number of wheat silos that are around that area.
I was telling them, As a kid going to school at St Michael's in Manlla, we would hear train horns/whistles blowing most days.
BTW, love your profile pic.
Cheers mate.

FollowupID: 741952

Reply By: Member Ray M (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:40

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:40
Hi Jon & Karen
We still aren't home yet but should be by Thursday
We are currently in Roma and passed through Kev's country this morning and stopped at the markets hoping to see him or Sam there but no luck and didn't have his address.
Have to agree with all your comments about Silverton, it was a fantastic gathering and my wife (Justene) said she had a great time there and hopes next one is as good. I just hope we can make the next one as I heard a rumour it could be at Beechworth.
Great to catch up again Jon and maybe I can have a new poem for next year
Cheers to you and Karen
Ray & Justene
AnswerID: 467791

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:44

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:44
Hi Ray,
Whether you have a new poem or not, it doesn't mater mate. You do a terrific job of it.
Safe travels home and take care guys.

Regards, Jon & Karen
FollowupID: 741982

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:15

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:15
G'day Jon, good to see your back home safely.
Thanks for the comments about the gathering. I enjoyed organising it, and I must also thank all those others who helped along the way.
It wouldn't have been a success without that help.

Scrubby was like a termite searching out all the wood for the fire.
Kev and Sam could get jobs as metal detectors, they found change where we didn't even know we had change.
Esarby (Steve) for his artistic work on all the nametags and certificates.
Bonz for leading a big group out into the wilds, and getting them all home safely.
David & Michelle for providing lots of great prizes and support.

I am really glad you and all the others enjoyed yourselves.
I had an idea that a lot of people wouldn't realise how much there is to see out here.

I would think that you could show us around your area and it would knock us all out too. Nothing like a bit of local knowledge.

AnswerID: 467803

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:55

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:55
Hi Dave,
There is a hell of a lot to see out your way.
I have tried to capture some of it in, but some times pictures don't do it justice, you've just got to see it first hand to appreciate it.
One day Dave I might possibly do that. There is a lot of history were every you go around this amazing country. A saying I found a few years back, is so true.
"Believe in miracles. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere"
Thanks for sharing you stories mate.
BTW, we camped for the night at, Siccus River, on our way to Hawker.
Met the owner of the property that we camped on, had a beer with and a chat.
320 square Km's he owns, makes my 2 acres look real small LOL.
About the size of a postage stamp.

Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 741985

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:22

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:22
Jon & Karen
Looks like you had a little road trip and saw some great places along the way.There's still plenty to see so make shaw that the kids see it as well. It was nice to meet you at Silverton and Betty says thanks again. Well it's time to get back to work to pay for your next trip, maybe to Beechworth, who knows might see you there.

Regards Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 467805

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 10:02

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 10:02
Hi Murray,
I'm glad Betty pulled up alright.
She gave me a scare when she dropped over the logs. No worries Betty :)
We could see you in Beechworth yet :)
Yeah right right, we have seen some pretty impressive country, we defiantly have been bitten with this traveling caper. LOL :)
Safe travels guys.

FollowupID: 741988

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 05:55

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 05:55
Jon & Karen,

Good to hear you arrived home safely.
Nothing like a small detour and looks like an interesting trip.
AnswerID: 467812

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 10:12

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 10:12
Hi Richard,
It's is full of memories that will last us all for many years to come, specially the kids.
The country is breath taking at times, it brings a smile to my face remembering the look on the faces as the watched the country side change from arid dry country to pockets of green, back to dry, treeless landscapes and back to hilly tree lined paddocks with sheep dotted across the country.
With the use of the internet, the kids classmates were able to see what we were up to, when it happened. They'll have many stories to tell their classmates over the coming months.
Now we make plans for the next trip.

Take care
FollowupID: 741989

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 07:52

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 07:52
Well you've beaten us, we've still not made it home ;-)) maybe towards the end of this week we might get there.
AnswerID: 467815

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 10:16

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 10:16
Hi Peter,
I take it you guys have racked up a few K's since Silverton as well?
Travel safely.
FollowupID: 741990

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:15

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:15
Yes, up around 11k since we left, be around 12k by the time we get home.
FollowupID: 742016

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:20

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:20
Makes our 6600k's look like a walk through the park LOL
Good stuff
FollowupID: 742017

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:25

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:25
Yep and our 12k fades a bit when compared to Jaydub's nearly 19k !
FollowupID: 742019