Name my $25k Ultimate Vehicle
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 20:09
Janders
New to the tenting game. Sold the camper in order to go deeper & rougher.
Will not be towing except an odd trip with a trailer + 110cc quad + 250cc bike up 1hr away, once a year.
Mostly to hit local NP's for short stays.
We have an old 1991 '80series landcruiser that has 600+ clicks and is desperate to retire - farmed only .
Husband is TQ mechanic. A bonus. Can do the upgrades + add on's.
Must have:
1) 7 seats
2) Not older than 5 years.
Prefer diesel. Will also double as *my* car so being pretty is a bonus ;)
Thanks in advance.
Reply By: buddyelle - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 21:04
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 21:04
Hi Janders
I'd call it "Sally"
Most Sally's I know are very versatile, don't mind hard work and scrub up pretty good
The seats and age criteria I haven't addressed
Sorry Janders....couldn't resist
Ray
Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:59
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:59
How do you know my wife!
Follow Up By: buddyelle - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 18:35
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 18:35
Don't Alan..live in the same state, but never had the pleasure, you lucky fella
Sorry again Janders
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:27
Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 22:27
Good luck with that Janders. You may get a high KM base model Pajero or 3L Nissan for that money but 7 seats, less than 5 year old in diesel is a big ask. May pay to look for an older low KM vehicle instead which coincidently I have a 105 series at the moment for a touch more but that may be seen as innapropiate advertising & the Mods here often frown apon that sort of thing ;-)
Cheers Craig...........
Reply By: patsproule - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 05:51
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 05:51
Ditto in that you wont find a 7
seat diesel under 5yo for $25k. If you do, I'll take 3 please to re-sell locally. $25k would get you into a 2001 to 2005 Pajero DID with between 150,000 and 200,000km, or possibly a 2001 - 2002 120 series Prado with the older diesel motor and a few more km on board. You'd also be able to get into an early 3.0l diesel GU Patrol if you want to play russian roulette with the grenade motor. A decent 100 series Landcruiser is
well above your budget.... It's a tall ask.
You might just be able to find one in petrol though.
Pat
Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:07
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:07
Easy Jaders
All your requirements are in the 4800 Patrol Petrol GU made in manual as
well till 2006.
Not diesel - which is probably a bonus cost wise - but if performance is what your after then this car has the lot and won't need the "Upgrades".
Reply By: olcoolone - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:08
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:08
If I was you I would do some research before asking this question..... if you did some research you would of found what you want; being 7 seats, diesel and under 5 years old is near imposable..... I suppose you want it running for that price and in good mechanical condition?
..... But then again ain't the Great Wall V series dual cab ute around that price second hand... you made no mention of it being good.
Your best bet would be a wrecked mining vehicle!
Follow Up By: Janders - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:33
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 08:33
I've researched.
And your right I cant find a damn thing withing my limits and dear husband advised me I wouldn't either :)-
So, I've spread my wings posted here and joined the LCOOL Board (see I read the archives *blowing raspberries*)
However, there must be something out there with true grit.
thanks to those posting with actual advice, see you at the front bar, my shout.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 11:41
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 11:41
Thats a bit harsh olcoolone, I don't see anything wrong with her asking the question? The forums are here to try and reciprocate helpful advice and information.
Janders you may need to re-consider, I wouldn't advise buying and
old car with too many KM's. You may want to consider LPG modified 4WD's that have done under 200,000Km's
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 15:44
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 15:44
Can't see any probs with a later model Yota.... 80 series with a less ks on it. We bought one a couple of years ago for $10 000. Okay... probably spent around $5000 since on various worn bits, but I'd take it in to the outback anytime and it still looks okay.
$25000 should find a mid 00s vehicle without a problem!
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 22:40
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 22:40
TerraFirma... I don't think it is a bit harsh, the truth hurts sometimes and there is no point in beating around the bush..... I wasn't nasty to her
As Janders said in a reply to my post; she has tried and even her husband said it couldn't be done.
Janders asked for specific specs for a vehicle, they didn't want a petrol, it had to be under 5 years old and carry 7 .... that doesn't leave much to choose from does it' so I gave her some advice.
Under 200,000Km's I would not call low K.
Mate I am not a huggy huggy tree cuddling mean to hurt no bodies feeling wouldn't kill a fly cry over spilt milk guy....
I didn't see anything wrong with Janders asking the question and I hope she didn't take it offensively either BUT obviously you did and I'm sorry for you!
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 09:11
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 09:11
Offensively no, I didnt see it that way, a bit harsh imo which are 2 different things, I understand your thought process complettely, see you at the front bar for a beer and some more banter..
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:17
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:17
What about a 2000 or slightly later 4.2 Patrol Diesel with say 250,000ks, It would take $25K of your hard earned from you. Also there are a heap of used add ons available now , due to the decade of vehicles produced. No electronics on this engine to speak of, a mechanical injector pump and super tough drive train. Don't buy a 3 litre Patrol due to the high number of engine failures. A highly strung piddly 4 cylinder with built in faults is not where you would take to "deeper and rougher"..
Mine has 325k with nothing spent on it from new , other than normal servicing. My first 1999 4.2 is still in the family with over 400k and only a clutch and font auto hub housings replaced. You cant beat that!!! MIchael.
Reply By: bazz - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:27
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 09:27
have to agree on the Patrol 4.2 td, except for the weak 5th gear as i've just discovered... what about an older Troopie..
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 12:37
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 12:37
Bazz!! The 400k Patrol, luckily is still holding onto its 5th gear, i think
mine being mid 2003 manufactured is passed that crook 5th gear problem. What is you manufactured date?? Michael
Follow Up By: bazz - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:00
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:00
2000 dx ute , got it to tow van, cheers bazz
Reply By: Member - Mary-Teresa R- Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 12:48
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 12:48
We've got a Mitsubishi Delica (and 4 kids). 8 seater diesel. 4WD. Bought 2nd hand through a dealer who imports them from Japan where they are used to drive people back and
forth to the snowfields, apparently. Excellent condition. I love it and think it looks gorgeous. Older than 5 years but in great nick. Seats all fold in a variety of ways so you can do it up as a camper if you wish - very versatile. Cost us $25k. 2WD, 4WD (high and low range), AWD. Again.... I love it!Image Could Not Be Found
Reply By: Kimba10 - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 13:02
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 13:02
2004 TOYOTA LANDCRUISER PRADO KZJ120R GXL$25,000*
private sellerEnquiry NSW White
4cyl 3.0L Manual
WAGON
253,500 kms
REDUCED from $26500to$25000 call me today. Great condition with Hyw kms. Won't last at this price
2004 TOYOTA LANDCRUISER PRADO KZJ120R GX$24,500*
private sellerEnquiry NSW White
4cyl 3.0L Manual
WAGON
176,000 kms
Dual tanks , turbo diesel, very
well looked after, roof racks and bull bar. 2 yrs service records.
2 examples of what you will get in prado form for the money you want to spend, taking into account the second one is a GX so is only a 5 seater..
Pajero example.....
2006 MITSUBISHI PAJERO NP MY06 GLX$21,990*
private sellerEnquiry SA White
4cyl 3.2L Auto
WAGON
199,320 kms
REDUCED FOR QUICK SALETURBO DIESEL 5 SPEED TIPTRONIC AUTO, BULLBAR, WINCH,
DRIVING LIGHTS, TOW BAR
You will be pushing to find what your after maybe at the auctins but even then I doubt it. Petrol will get you closer to what you want.............
Follow Up By: Janders - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 13:46
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 13:46
yep Im hearing you.
Pretty good examples if you ask me. Thank you for your time.
Great alternatives for me to look at and some left over beer $$$
Follow Up By: patsproule - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:35
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:35
Hang on, you're female, you're on a 4WD
forum researching the purchase of a 4WD to take touring, and you are concerned that there will be beer money left over.
Are you available?
Follow Up By: Janders - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 19:55
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 19:55
I might be new but I'm not very shiny ;)
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:20
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:20
My 2003 GX Prado has 7 seats, same as GXL...
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:26
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:26
Sorry Explorer, you are right, its the new 150 GX that is only a 5 seater, sorry was thinking 120
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:50
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:50
Yeah ..good idea to give them the flick I suppose -
mine are in the shed getting eaten by mice :)
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: Tim Owen - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 19:52
Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 19:52
A td5 land rover discovery?
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 09:16
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 09:16
How about a 1 x 5th share in a Porsche Cayenne?
Reply By: Janders - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 12:51
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 12:51
Can anyone knock a GGN25R 2006 Prado. Petrol but manual? How do I start to review this build?
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:28
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:28
We would hope its not about knocking but getting to know about both the pluses and minuses of a given model Janders.
Read thru similar thread 89598 and yell out if you need to know any technical info.
Follow Up By: Janders - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:42
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 19:42
89598...exit....stage right :)
And true, 2 sides to every coin.
Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:51
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 22:51
I think RM's coin is a double header :)
Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 13:17
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 13:17
G'day Janders,
It might be a hard task trying to find a reasonable car of the type you want.
But it is definitely not impossible.
I tend to think that most of those requirements of yours would be very easily achieved if you just extended the age by a few years.
I sold my 1999 2.8l GU Patrol in exceptionally good condition with 180,000 k on the clock for $16,500 when it was 10 years old. Others advertised on the net in no better condition with no less k's were advertised at prices up to the mid 20's.
The main difference was that
mine sold when I wanted it to sell.
It also sold for what I wanted to sell it for.
A lot of posters seem to have some unrealistic idea of what their pride & joy is worth & in order to support this will tend to believe the higher advertised prices as being correct market value.
It doesn't matter what price someone advertises a car for.
It is the sale price that counts.
Also not all seemingly lower priced cars are of a lower quality. It could just be someone like me who wants to sell & sets a price that he thinks is fair & is not prepared to negotiate with tyre kickers.
Happy hunting Janders
Reply By: Tim Owen - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 17:19
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 17:19
Not
mine, just examples of what can be had if willing to get away from the majors - and these are at the top end of the market
http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=11472637http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=11243807http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?R=11224406
Follow Up By: Janders - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:30
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 13:30
So something has to give.
We are not willing to compromise on fuel, so the diesel stays and I drop the years and 2 seats.
Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:06
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 at 19:06
These are 7 seaters - although you are obviously not going to get the same comfort for all 7 seats that you would in a van.
Reply By: Member - Mary-Teresa R- Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 12:57
Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 12:57
I'm still pushing the Delica (Space gear)... We take it everywhere - Done all the roads at Karijini,
Marble Bar,
Carawine Gorge, Skull Springs Road to
Nullagine, back roads through from
Cue to
Mullewa,
Eighty Mile Beach (shocking road), sand, pebbles, corrugations, bitumen, gravel, dirt, bit of mud, been all over WA, North and South, mostly towing a trailer. Also good to drive around town.
Tough and under-rated (obviously). 2.8L Turbo Diesel, 2WD, AWD & 4WD (high and low and diff lock), automatic, power steering, 8 seater, airconditioning. Yeah, ok, so it's a van instead of a truck, but it's hasn't got that "vanny" look of the
Tarago - looks much beefier and tougher than that.Image Could Not Be Found
Looks fantastic when it's covered with mud and dirt too. We bought it because we needed something rough and tough with at least 7 seats, 4WD and good clearance that wasn't going to look like any of the tractors dropping kids off at school.
But that's ok... you guys stick to your trucks.... (Maybe I'll make my own little fan club...)
Enjoy the search.
Mary-Teresa
Reply By: stevie1947 - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 17:29
Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 17:29
How about a 2005 ST Pathfinder. Is diesel and has 7 seats, reliable, looks nice and nice to drive. Should be around the $25,000 mark.