bucket seats

Can anyone please help with advise regarding which seats to look at buying. I have a landcruiser ute 79 series, 2004 model and the seats are terrible for people with a bad back. Finding a good brand name would even help.

Reply By: toohey - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 16:43

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 16:43
g'day kingann
i've had stratos pump up lumber support,adustable suspension,for eight years and very happy with them.
toohey
AnswerID: 467848

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:01

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:01
G'day, have used Aerotech for years, they don't make them any more, but some times you can find them on fleabay or in the trader section here. Have driven 1400 k's in a day once, could walk when I finally finished, which was amazing. Have a spare drivers one going in the trader in a week or so.

AnswerID: 467851

Reply By: TassieD - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:20

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:20
I'll second Stratos. Hubby had the 3000 LTSS and it really made a difference to his back at the end of the day.
AnswerID: 467855

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:52

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 17:52
Personally i reckon you need to sit in them and see if they suit your body shape, most of the cheaper seats feel uncomfortable i reckon, myself i have SAAS pump up lumbar support seats in my 105 series Cruiser.
make sure you can get a base to suit the vehicle you are putting the seats into, i ended up making the base for my seats to suit my cruiser, once you have the seats installed you'll probably have to get it engineered aswell, so something else to think about.
Recaro is another name you can look at also, just make sure you get a seat with very low side bulsters or none at all, you don't want to be climbing over them every day trying to get in and out of the vehicle, for a start it's annoying and also the material on the bulsters will wear out pretty quickly.
AnswerID: 467858

Reply By: kev.h - Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 18:23

Monday, Oct 17, 2011 at 18:23
I fitted the suspension seats out of the early model Pajero to my work ute cost $60.00 each at wreckers as good as any others i've tried
Kev
AnswerID: 467862

Reply By: Villatranquilla - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 14:46

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 14:46
I replaced my early hilux bucket seats with seats from a '96 falcon - gave good positioning options with lumber support and tilt seat
AnswerID: 467957

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 17:16

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2011 at 17:16
most of the good brand names have already been mentioned here, except Paratus, which we have.

Good luck with it!
PS: I often find after a few weeks of offroading that I need to get my back realigned - the constant vibration on the spine pinches nerves in your legs etc too no matter how good your seats a bit of TLC and even yoga does wonders after a trip.

MM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 467979

Reply By: KingAnn - Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:09

Thursday, Oct 20, 2011 at 11:09
Hi there. We would like to thank everyone who offered help and good advise regarding seats. We travelled a couple of hours just to find a business who stocked seats and have found the Stratos very comfortable. Now it is just a case of waiting for 6 weeks to have them supplied and we will be back on the road. Hope to see you out there.
AnswerID: 468118