Motorbikers vs 4wders mindset

Submitted: Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 18:49
ThreadID: 89677 Views:3767 Replies:9 FollowUps:23

Related Pages

Hello all. Im heading from Perth to Alice Springs, Esperance and back to Perth in february on my motorbike. As I am a keen 4wd traveller as well as on the motorbike, I have been using my trusted motorbike and 4wd( explore oz) forums to gather the information I need. For all the information I have received I am grateful. Something I have observed is the different mindset between 4wd tourers and dual sport motorbike tourers when it comes to outback/remote/off road travel.

Im generalising a bit here, but it seems that motorbike tourers tend to not be quite as conservative as the 4wders. While alot of people on this site have said that Im foolhardy attempting my trip in feb, dangerous, cant carry enough water, too hot etc, All motorbike forums say go for it, just be as prepared as possible.

I guess that out of neccessity motorbike riders at time cut a fine line with this sort of trip, cant carry enough water, spares, no aircon obviously, just not enough room on the bike . Most 4wders seem to be carrying everything but the kitchen sink, and every kind of safety feature available, and good on them if they have the space. At times i dont think some 4wders are aware of the sacrifces that have to be made to ride a bike long distances through hot remote country.

I dont really have a point to this ramble, its just an observation and Im not judging anyone at all. Tanks for all the info, this site is invaluable

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:22

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:22
Not all of us are the same ..... some think driving down a dirt road is off road, some think if it doesn't have large rocks or big mud holes it's not off roading and others like me think if it's not on a map or 300 km's to the nearest homesteed THEN it's off road.

Everyone has a different view and some like it one way and someone else likes it another way but we are still all travellers of some sort.

When you do things on a bike it's different to a car..... like if you go for a hard ride off road and you get muddy, wet and ache then that's a ride but if you went for a drive and got muddy, wet and ached you would hate it.....

Maybe 4x4er's carry more safety gear because we can and most times it involves more then one person..... you high side a bike and your the only one who gets hurt.... high side (roll) a 4x4 and there maybe another 4 people hurt.

Plus 4x4er's have a tendency to do more remote travelling over a longer period requiring more supplies and gear.... on a bike you can only carry so much.

With a bike you want to get from point A to point B as quickly as possible but in a 4x4 you can take the time to smell the roses.

Bikers and 4x4er's have different mind sets... on a bike in 35 deg temps wearing full leather it doesn't bother me but in a car at 25 deg temp I want the A/C on wearing shorts and a Tee shirt.
AnswerID: 468250

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:31

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:31
Nicely put olcoolone. As I said, it was only an observation from me, not a judgement, and you have just added alot more to what I was trying to say, thanks
FollowupID: 742476

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 20:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 20:42
I'd have to agree with your observations Grunta. A majority of posters on this forum are quite conservative.
Some posters get quite remote & push the limits, but they would be a minority of posters. It seems to be an all encompassing forum.
Not trying to put anyone down here.
To each his own.
I personally am reasonably conservative myself these days.
But with motorbike riders it is another story. There is a big difference in attitude between car drivers & motorbike riders.
I would go out on a limb & say that motorbike riders like to live on the edge & relish a challenge. You gotta have a competitive streak in you to ride a bike. I don't mean that you necessarily try to compete with others, but rather you try to do it better or faster or harder than the last time.
It's 20 times more dangerous than driving a car for starters, so just making it to your destination is a small challenge on it's own.
There a bit like I would imagine mountain climbers would be.
Then when you loose the spirit you drive a car.
Then when you realy loose your courage you carry that much emergency equipment & just in case stuff that you need to upgrade the suspension.
FollowupID: 742493

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 20:52

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 20:52
Your wrong about most motorbike riders just wanting to get from point A to B in the quickest time Olcoolone. Did a 9 day journey with a crew on our harleys and mate , although we fanged em when the time was right, we took our time and smelt the roses. Why try and end the tour in a hurry? Met quite a few riders on adventure bikes (bmw,s, yammies and assorted bikes) all carrying heaps and quite a few had been on the road for over 3 months. Two chaps were into their second year. Living off what their bikes could carry. I couldnt do it! Handling a motorbike is way harder and more physically challenging than any 4 wd. You see many 4wd rigs with vans on the roads but I always admire the bikers for taking the harder alternative. I dare say there are many older drivers who would love to be able to jump on a bike and head out bush.

FollowupID: 742495

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 20:47

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 20:47
Well Harley riders are a different breed again.... And I think you misunderstood what I was saying; 4x4ers will in most cases set up base camps and camp in one area for a few days to a week at a time but on the other hand most bike riders are on the go to get to point A to B quickly (different then getting somewhere in the quickest time... some thing I didn't say!)

You very rarely see a bike rider pulled up at 2 in the arvo... camp set up relaxing on their chairs with stubby in hand do you.

And again you very rarely see a bike rider away from civilisation for more then 3 to 4 days before they have to get restocked.... unless they carry 60+ lts of fuel have a fridge and dual battery system, cooking facilities and room for the rest of their stuff.

Most long distance bike expeditions always have backup vehicles close by.

So what remote areas and dirt roads did you take the Harley's on?
FollowupID: 742602

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 20:51

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 20:51
And one other thing I think what grunta and myself was talking about is a different type of bike touring then your talking about.
FollowupID: 742604

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 07:58

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 07:58
As you know Ocoolone harleys are not made to go offroad, so dont be facetious! You dont have to go off road to go touring. Just because many people own 4wd,s doesnt mean they,ll see dirt. Yes I did get mixed up when you said bike riders get there as quickly as possible, this to me is the quickest time ! I thought you were talking about bike riding in general. One last question though, how is your average harley rider different.
FollowupID: 742619

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 09:26

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 09:26
"As you know Ocoolone harleys are not made to go offroad, so dont be facetious!".... no need to get defensive.... suppose you right there are many 4x4's out there owned buy Poseur and the bike world is no different!

Bigfish if you don't know the difference between Harley riders and others I'll give you a quick lesson..... Harley riders are more cruisers and have a tendency to follow an image and according to most the only bike ever built was a Harley.... how many Harley riders do you know who wear full face helmets and full leathers using proper riding boots and gloves in 35 deg temps?

There are many different types of riding categories.... sports bikes, tourers (bitumen and cross country), cruisers, moto cross, scootrtboys, cafe racers, nakeds and yes Harley riders..... yes we are all bikers but all different.

And as people get older there style of riding changes.... when I was younger all I cared about was having the quickest latest model biggest monoing bike I could buy... my next bike looks like being a sports/tourer maybe a BMW k1300S and I don't even mind some of the cruisers either.... might even look at a Vrod or Night rod.

But then again I still have some of my youngers years still in me so maybe a GSXR1000 or R1.

It gets to a stage where you really need a few bikes to cater for one's desire...
FollowupID: 742630

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 10:44

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 10:44
Agree with ya regarding needing several styles of bike...only money prevents me, like most I suppose. However you are wrong about the harley riders and an image. When we did our last trip, only 4000 klms in 8 days, everyone had a leather jacket, all had kevlar jeans and only 2 didnt have full face helmets. At the first bike shop in Darwin full faces purchased. Everyone had leather boots. Lets face it ..if you dont have the correct protective gear , your an idiot. Some people wear half helmets when cruising. Personally I think it is a posseur thing. We live in the top end and riding in 35 degrees is common. I belong to several harley forums both in Oz and overseas. The perception you have is also one that the media like s to stick to as well. The biggest seller at the moment for harley in not a cruiser. The 48 is an around town bike. Harley at the moment are targetting more women and younger riders with bikes to suit. Most harley riders love their rides. I think most acknowledge the other makes out there but have decided that the harley is for them. Triumph, Ducati , BMW, Kwaka, Victory have some great bikes out there that have seen many harley people purchase. I live in a mining town and I suppose there are several dozen harleys around the neighbourhood and I,ll guarantee that if I lined up every motorbike rider in town You would struggle putting faces to makes. Many mine workers, doctors, technicians, truckies, nurses own these rides.
I thought of the night rod but after 40 + years of motorcycling I realised I dont need the speed. Thought of the Jappas and the BMW but decide that during my life I wanted to see what a harley was all about. Best decision I have made in many years. I think it is a sad day when one group of riders start slinging it off about another group. Motorcyclists cop too much crap in the papers already without adding fuel to the fire.
I take my hat off to these younger blokes riding around Oz.

Mate before ya hang up your cue...at least take a harley for a test ride and see what ya reckon. Thats if you havent already. They really have come a long way. Thats why people buy them 95% of the Jappas and European bikes come decked out with everything that truns, whistles , hoots etc. The harley if like purchains a coloring book and leaving it up to you as to how to fill it in!
Anyway enough ranting. Good thread this ona and enjoy your travels.
FollowupID: 742639

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 12:50

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 12:50
Yeah a Harley is on my list to look at and so is the Suzuki Boulevard.... Hugh following in the USA, a mate who owns a few factory super bikes (real raced one with a strong history here and overseas) is on his second Boulevard and is sourcing hi performance gear out of the states for it.

Harleys have come a long way in the last 10 years..... after nearly being bankrupt in the 90's they had little choice but to offer what the masses wanted hence the Vrod and the start of a new breed of Harley.

Yes all bike riders get bad press and the worst thing at the moment here in S.A is the media jumping on the band wagon re: bike crashes.... the sad thing is there has been a large increase of people buying scooter type bikes that can be used on a car licence.... these people have ZERO experience with no formal training yet if the crash they come under the bike heading in statistics.

FollowupID: 742651

Reply By: wizzer73 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:30

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:30
Hey grunta.

I have done the great central on a dual sport and a 4wd. When i did it on the bike it was loaded up thats for sure, probably overloaded. But its still nothing compared to when i did it in the car. I rekon the biggest difference was food and water. Cant take an engel on the bike haha. When you take a car you tend to take more spares, recovery gear, electronic stuff, more luxury stuff, just a little more of everything in general. On the bike you have more of the attitude of "she'll be right"

When i did the GCR on the bike it was in late september with temps mainly in the mid 30's. Yeah i was hot and sweaty but just stopped at the roadhouses and drank plenty of water.

What bike you taking?

Have fun
wizzer
AnswerID: 468252

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:34

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:34
bmw f800gs. At times I think a 1200gs would be nice for the longer distances, its a big bike and nice for cruising, but when it comes to the trickier stuff Im more than happy to have my bike, just a little more nimble.
FollowupID: 742477

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:35

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:35
One of the other differences between cars and bikes is what they think of the road conditions. I found the GCR pretty tough going. Soft patches, corrugations, rocks on the road etc. Almost came off numerous times. Then when you get to the roadhouse and start chatting with a 4wder they say "roads in good nick hey". haha. whats good for a car isn't always good for a bike.

Also in reference to oclone above, i tend to "smell the roses" more when I'm riding as I need more frequent stops for a rest.

wizzer
FollowupID: 742478

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:37

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:37
I was going to say that about the info you get from 4wders in regards to road conditions. You have to be more specific when asking someone driving a cage when you need bike info.
FollowupID: 742480

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:42
sorry grunta, one more question. are you doing a blog or something like that? i would like to know hoo the bmw handles the road. I'm thinking of upgrading to the bmw 800 or triumph 800 early next year.

wizzer
FollowupID: 742481

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:55

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:55
You can ask as many questions as you like. When you say how does it handle the road, you mean off road or on?. Either way, I dont have alot to compare it to, this is my first bike for quite a few years, and my first dual sport. I have been in Aus for 10 years now, from Nz. I have always had a passion for travel, but always overseas. A couple of years ago I decided I wanted to start travelling around WA, and thought that a bike would be a great way to have an adventure. So I guess you could say that Im a passionate traveller who got the bike to supplement my adventurous travel style, not because Im passionate about bikes. Backward maybe, but it works for me. It was a big learning curve for me, I dont think dual sports are easy, especially in the rough stuff, sand especially.

Back to your point, like I said, first bike for a long time so not alot I can say. I have no probs doing the long distances on it. Plenty of power, crap seat, will sort that out for this trip.
FollowupID: 742482

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:05
I meant i would like to know how your f800 handles the great central rd.

My dual sport is a vstrom 650 and the seat can become very uncomfortable. I now use an airhawk and wouldn't ride a long distance without it.

wizzer
FollowupID: 742496

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:40

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:40
Sorry wizzer, i totally misread your follow up about the bike handling the road. A blog, hmm, too much like hard work for me, but I can let you know when I get back. I did the kimberley and Dampier peninsula on the beemer a while back, about 9000kms, 2000km of that off road. Sand up Dampier peninsula,, Gibb river road, Bungle Bungles. I thought it handled the conditions well, well for my abilities at least. Ironically, I got told by alot of 4wders at the time that the GRR was very rough, and to take it easy. For me, it wasnt really any slower than riding the blacktop, and in some parts much fasterYes, an airhawk is my next purchase, and if I wasnt such a tight arse, I would purchase a steering Damper, not nice in the sand when the steering starts going haywire.
FollowupID: 742501

Reply By: Member - Rocker (NSW) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:42
Hey grunta - an interesting ramble none the less.

In my younger days I was one for jumping on the bike carrying just enough that didn't interfer with my riding style rather than worrying about my safety & well being. Yep now the 4wd is packed pretty well with all the creature comforts. It's an age thing for me I think,

Whilst I still love jumping on the bike (Harley these days) if I had the fitness and strength to jump back on a dual sport / off roader again - I wouldn't hesitate.

Only you know what you need to take - "Go for it"
AnswerID: 468255

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:57

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 19:57
Didnt think you were a real 4wder Rocker, "go for it' isnt something I have heard on this forum for my travel plans ;-)
FollowupID: 742483

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 20:17

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 20:17
Great post Grunta.

It gives a different perspective. While I’m not exactly in my senior years, I am somewhat confined to a vehicle these days simply because of injuries sustained due to a bike accident (in particular the 82 year old in his 1983 Toyota Corolla with poor eyesight who shortened the Harley at Goornong in 2002). I think you also have to look at the demographic of the EO site as well. There are a lot of years of experience in the membership and a lot of experience on outback roads and in outback conditions. This can also mean that to a lot of us, bikes are just not an option. Shit, I’d be a basket case after a day of corrugations on a bike, it’s bad enough in the vehicle ;-).

There are a lot of similarities as well, dependant on the type of travel you do. Motorcycle expeditioners have to be very conscious of their space and weight requirements as do the more remote vehicle travellers. A car can only carry so much so this is a major consideration. Mind you I reckon the ability to carry hundreds of litres of fuel and water could be an advantage when travelling the wide brown land. Redundancy is a tough issue when space and weight are a concern!

It seems that we are always bombarded in minimising our risk in outback travel as well and this can influence attitudes. There’s a big difference in travelling the bitumen of the Calder Highway near Ouyen on a 42C summer day and travelling the Great Central Road west of Warburton on the same day. We only ever read about the bad things that happen to the Swiss tourist who thought the Canning was a shortcut from Margaret River to Cairns and decided that January was a great time to bolt the surfboard onto the wicked camper and give it a go. The simple fact of the true harshness of summer in the outback is something that is often lost on so many people. Couple that with the constant reminder that bad things always happen in the outback in the hottest times of the year and you can see how cultural attitudes develop. Mind you if you were heading down the Eyre Highway...no worries mate.

What ever you end up doing, planning, common sense, planning, making the right notifications and oh, planning will see you through.

AnswerID: 468256

Reply By: SDG - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:43

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:43
A few years back I ran into an older retired couple couple travelling around Australia on a full dresser. Can't remember what model. Probably goldwing. Anyway, I watched this pair dismount. First they both unhooked wires from the helments (intercom/stereo) Took off helments. They then both unhooked a hose from the waist line of their matching one piece leathers.
This I could not understand. All i could think of was toileting issues, so I had to ask.
Before retiring, the gent was an engineer. As he and his wife planned on travelling a lot in all weather, including hot, he installed a small aircon on the bike.

Who said luxuries are not available for bike riders.

AnswerID: 468264

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:54

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 21:54
The most luxurious things I will probably take will be an evaporative vest, and Im looking for a micro table so Im not eating red dust for dinner everyday. :-)
FollowupID: 742505

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 22:12

Friday, Oct 21, 2011 at 22:12
Yep I wanted to go adventure riding. I have a FJR 1300 which is very average on the dirt at the best of times so I got myself a Dual Sport KLE 500. Then a Trail bike so I could do some bush bashing. Tried it out over a motor cross track near home. 4 laps yes thats all 4 bloody laps and I was stuffed and I did not even leave the ground on the jumps

Sold the trail bike trying to sell the Dual Sport. Given up completely on riding in anything that resembles sand. Still got the FJR fantastic Black Top Tourer.

As for the off road I will stick with my fully loaded HJ 80 and camper trailer. LOL

"Age shall not weary them" Rubbish, who ever stated that must have been on drugs.

Wayne B
AnswerID: 468268

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 09:19

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 09:19
G'day Grunta - One thing you will need to watch out for is the way in which a large number of 4wders think THEY own the road or track they are on - NOT ALL of them do but certainly a very large number ! I have ridden across the Simpson Desert 3 times in both directions and on all the tracks and the attitude toward motorbike riders in the bush is not very pleasant at times. Having said that, we have met some wonderful and lovely people in 4wd's all over the country on our travels. Dual sport motorbike riders and 4wders have very much in common - they like a challenge, the adventure, the isolation, the flora and fauna etc and meeting interesting people along their journey, so I think it would be great if both parties would realise this and show some respect to each other ! The problem is that some uneducated 4wders see a enduro bike and or Adventure bike and immediately associate them with the "leather clad patch wearing bikies in a club"
Those people that have read any of my postings and or replies on this great site will know that I own and run an outback 4wd tour company specialising in Central Australia and more often than not cater for motorcycles.
Grunta - as far as your trip goes - no problem with travelling in February as long as you take the right attitude and use your brains before the throttle !

Have a fantastic trip, enjoy the ride and last but not least - stay upright !

Gazz

Ps don't forget to post some pics and how you faired on this site after you return.
AnswerID: 468300

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 09:26

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 09:26
Yes it's difficult to generalise about bike riders IMO ... given the varying styles in bikes and the approaches riders take.

* Dual sport
* Pure trailie
* Tourer with full kit
* Sportsbike
* Naked muscle bike
* Commuter

To disrupt the stereotypes about what bikes are good for what roads, Nick Sanders has gone around the world on all kinds of roads several times on a sportsbike (an R1)!

When I do multi-day rides the luggage limit means I live more like I do when bushwalking with lightweight everything and no luxuries apart from an ebook reader.
AnswerID: 468303

Reply By: Pezza QLD - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 09:29

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 09:29
Hi Grunta,

You're correct on the different mindsets of 4wders compared to adv riders, I think you'll find the same difference within the bike riding fraternity as well, the mindset are rather different between a GS 1200 rider that thinks the dirt sections at roadworks is "off road" and the guy on a DR 650 or 990 adv doing the gunbarrel, simpson or The Madigan.
Keep in mind also that the people on this site are of the more conservative variety, which only goes to enhance the different ways of thinking.
I think a lot of this 'difference in mindset' that is mentioned in both 4 and 2 wheels is directly attributed to the experience and ability of the individual, the less experienced person will take a lot of extra stuff and stick the the more safer times of the year and routes "just in case" because they're not sure of what they are getting in to, whereas the more experienced people will rely more on their knowledge of previous travels and their ability to get them through and only take the necessities.
In saying all that I do think that the biggest difference is in the personalities of individuals, some people are just more prepared to take a bit of a risk than others and are more adventurous, if we were all the same it would make for a very boring world !

Not sure what info you were after when doing your research but this link to one of my rides may or may not help you out with some info.

Across Oz on a 625

I don't need to tell you to "enjoy your adventure" cause I know you will !
AnswerID: 468305

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 10:50

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 10:50
We gave these guys a helping hand with a flat tire. The guy on the Triumph only had Semi Road tries fitted and they did not like the sharp rocks.

FollowupID: 742547

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 15:12

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 15:12
Another ADVrider user, good to see Pezza, its my main source of info for my bike
FollowupID: 742572

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:11

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:11
Just read your ride artical. Mate well done great trip and great pictures.
I have been to most of the places you mention except west of the Olga's.
I take my hat off to you I could never do that trip on a bike.

Wayne B
FollowupID: 742605

Follow Up By: grunta1970 - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 00:53

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 00:53
Jesus Pezza, if you didnt stop and take photos every 5 minutes you could have made the trip in half the time ;-). Excellent report man!. You are now official my go to man for any information required in regards to my trip lol. I do have a couple of questions, I hope you dont mind
FollowupID: 742616

Follow Up By: Pezza QLD - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 18:58

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 18:58
Wayne B. Yep, that’s where the bit about ‘experience’ (or lack thereof ) comes into it. It’s amazing how many people I see heading off road locally with only standard or "’heavy duty’ tubes just to save 20 bucks, and invariably have nothing but tyre problems, but to go into the type of roads in your pic with the same setup. . . . . . there’s just no excuse.
Thanks for the compliment on the ride report .

Grunta. Lmao ! Mate if I didn’t stop every 5 minutes to take a pic you wouldn’t have made it to the end of the RR, *booooring .
You’d be surprised, I didn’t stop all that often, there’s a lot of nothing in between those pics out in the desert.
Shoot as many questions as you like mate, I’d be glad to help out.
Not a member any more here so just MM me through ADV rider and I’ll flick you my email or just use the PM on that site.

Pezza
FollowupID: 742680