Karcher Pressure Cleaners
Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 13:57
jdpatrol
Guys, my Karcher 360M has died. Doesn’t look worthwhile fixing it cost wise. Few years old now but not used much at all. How has your cleaner performed? Is there anything better on the market? Cheers
Reply By: Kimba10 - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 14:39
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 14:39
Yesh I found with my Karcher it died whey before it should of as far as Im concerned considering the little use it got and was used as per directions eg run for a few minutes then give it a rest, dont use hard soaps through the suction part of it, rinse the tube out etc did all this, They want $120 just to look at it and then go from there, myn is the full alloy motor to not the plastic crap motor. Decided to change brands this time and got one just called Gernie, green in colour, hiigher PSI then the karcher I had, also for less $$ but also has the full alloy motor. Will see how it goes compared. I only use it on the 4wd when Ive been through mud or cleaning down the driveway when I seal it which is once a year..........
Follow Up By: Bernie C - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 10:37
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 10:37
Know where you are coming from, I just picked up the Karcher and tossed it in the bin, went into town and bought a Gernie, never misses a beat.
Even trained the wife on washing down the house with it. :)
Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:32
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:32
Bernie, I'm surprised we didnt hear a bit more about the Gerni brand. Still, sounds ok for you. Cheers
Follow Up By: Bernie C - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:51
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:51
If I could just get her to wash my Cruiser then I wouldn't have to know anything about it at all. :)
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 14:45
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 14:45
My previous HP cleaner, I've forgotten the brand, suffered from calcium buildup on the pump. The calcium came from our
Perth water. I had it repaired once but it still happens every now and then.
I've got into the habit of pouring a small amount of CLR into the pump after every use and that seemed to help.
Reply By: Trustme - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:10
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:10
I've had three of the YELLOW one's and got sick of getting them fixed or replaced. I finally bit the bullet and parted with a fair bit of my hard earned and purchased a Spitwater. VERY happy with it so far, (16 months ) Got a funny feeling it may be the LAST one i have to buy.
Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:33
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:33
Hi Trustme, which model did you get?
Follow Up By: Trustme - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:55
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:55
The CLEANMATIC I think it's called. It's the one listed under pressure cleaners / cold
water electric / hobby on their web site. The thing weighs a bloody tonne,
well, almost, nuffin plastic in this little sucker.
Have between 3 to 6 cars to wash most week ends,(depends if the boy friend and girl friend are there). not
mine , the kids. haha. Has NOT missed a beat.
Follow Up By: Trustme - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:59
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 15:59
Come with a 7 m hose.
I think by memory the "others" only come with a 3m hose.
VERY handy.
Follow Up By: jdpatrol - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 16:48
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 16:48
thanks Trustme, it's the cold
water electric / hobby I'd look at also. Sounds like yours is getting a real work out. I'm still checking out other brands but Spitwater sounds v.good. Cheers
Reply By: Spitster - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 16:41
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 16:41
I have a stihl unit, which had an issue with continual pumping. Took it to the dealer who pulled it apart and said it needed something replaced, which was going to cost about $400 for parts and labour. Told him not to worry about it, put it back together and I would take my chances. Still going strong 2 years later, although still suffers from the same problem. So in answer, no matter what brand you buy, they are not indestructable.
Reply By: olcoolone - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 16:47
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 16:47
People have to start listing models and prices.... no good comparing a cheaper home handy man model with a commercial quality model and then giving the impression your brand X that's a commercial model is better then brand Y that's a home handyman model.
Compare apples to apples and not apples to oranges.
Anything under the $800 mark in most makes is home handyman...$800-$1600 light commercial and above $1600 commercial.
Follow Up By: Trustme - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 18:17
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 18:17
Sorry. Just started posting here. Not to sure of the legal side of things on this site, but I'll give it a go.
Spitwater Cleanmatic
home handyman size unit
Price 16 months ago $550
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:25
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:25
The karcher come in just under $500 the gernie just over $350 roughly $150 difference, the gernie is quiter, has more attachment with it and has higher PSI, will it out last the karcher ?? dont know havnt had it longer then the karcher yet, time will tell I suppose. .............
Reply By: Bushranger1 - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 18:10
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 18:10
My Karcher died after a couple of years too!
Having said that, after it died I bought another one and now I run a bit of automotive ethelyne glycol coolant through it after each use & it hasn't missed a beat. I reckon if you dont use them very often the internal workings corrode but the anti rust properties in the coolant stop that happening.
Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 12:43
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 12:43
hi bushranger 1
if you read the label on your glycol container it tells you to avoid getting glycol on vehicle paintwork ???????
Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 16:06
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 16:06
I can't imagine that the internals of a pressure cleaner is painted!
Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 13:54
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 13:54
bushranger
what i was implying to was that if you've got glycol inside your pressure cleaner to stop corrosion and you then start it up and squrt it at your vehicles paintwork there is a risk of damaging the vehicles paintwork
no of course the internal of your p/cleaner wont be painted !!
Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 18:43
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 18:43
Ha ha. I totally misunderstood what you were getting at! Now I am with you.
I just start the pressure washer and run it for 30 seconds onto the grass so I dont get any antifreeze on the paintwork. Guess I should have explained this earlier.
Reply By: time waster - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 18:35
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 18:35
Our $400 Karcher also died and replaced under warranty, then died and repaired again during warranty then cracked a pump housing just out and was repaired under good will.
It's only used for washing the car and cleaning around the house.
Christian
Reply By: Begaboy - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:06
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:06
gday guys ---
little note - if the machines are not used for months at a time - the
water dries up in them and it " glues" the valves shut due to calcium deposits from
water - these will not free up when you put
water to machine and turn on -- you have to physically pull machine apart - poke valves to unstick them ( same for bypass valve )
this is the biggest problem of machines left for long periods of time without use ..
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:08
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:08
oops forgot to add - usual sign of this is either no water pressure at all -- or a heavy vibration in hose and a rough looking water spray from nozzle .. ie not smooth and consistent
Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:17
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:17
Yep. You hit the nail on the head.
Like I said above automotive antifreeze\antiboil is great for stopping corrosion before you store it.
Reply By: GimmeeIsolation - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:44
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:44
I bought the Karcher with the Brass head, not alloy. They are designed for longer running times, the cheaper models (such as all alloy) need a rest if doing something like the roof of your house or a big driveway in one hit.
Mine has lived on
bore water for seven years without a problem, no glycol, just drained.
As said, it is impossible comparing X, Y and Zed. They all have so many variables and price. You get what you pay for. Like gennies, cars, boats etc etc
Reply By: Member - Josh- Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:35
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:35
Can I just ask...what does this have to do with travelling
Australia. Isn't this off topic???????? I'm surprised it made it this far.
Follow Up By: Bigfish - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:58
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:58
The topic is ..karcher pressure cleaner. Most people use a high pressure cleaner for cleaning their trailers,vans,boats cars and motorbikes after weekend camping or trips. No different to asking advice about tyres, camp stoves or fuel filters really. In actual fact I dare say there are people who take a small gernie type cleaner with em. You must of had a bit of interest Josh if you read it thus far.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:08
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:08
Fair enough
Reply By: ModSquad - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:43
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:43
We don't have a problem with it - Karchers (or any other brand) of high pressure water cleaner are well-known to be great for self-cleaning the underbody of your vehicle and are especially useful to 4WD owners for getting rid of salt after beach driving, or fine red desert sand that gets right up into the chasis after an outback trip. Those that have replied seem to own/use one for that purpose but of course once you have one you would use it around the home.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:39
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:39
Fair enough, I guess I read it differently. I didn't see the question asked as "which pressure washer is best for cleaning the 4x4/car" or what's thge best way to clean under the car after beach use. Seemed more like a complaint about a product failing premature.
It's your call and I stand corrected.
Josh
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 14:02
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 14:02
Yes probably a bit of both, complained it didn't last very long and is also asking ""Is there anything better on the market?"" Don't see any issues with how he has worded it. The way I read it is, the karchers crap and shat itself and its stopped before he thinks its had its day (same as I said) and he wants to know what other brands are out there and are they better then karcher and going to give him a bit more value for money...........??? Same as any one else that gets on here saying what a crap run they had out of cooper tyres, de laminating, punctures etc and are changing to say BFG's what's peoples thoughts on BFG"s, same thing..............Don't see it as been not connected with 4wd's or this website, would be a majority of people who would use one on there caravans,cars,4wd's, remember they are more water efficient then normal hose..........
Reply By: jdpatrol - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:07
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:07
I bought my Karcher to clean up the 4b after muddie weekends.
Lot more to EO than just touring.
Reply By: outsider - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:18
Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:18
I've had my karcher for over 20 years and it is still going.
It has sat for long periods unused and other times it is used regularly.
Some times the motor wont start up but a couple of flicks of the switch and away it goes.
only other problem I've had it that sometimes when I squeeze the trigger it wont pump the high pressure water out but it usually comes good after jiggling the trigger for a while.
I am amazed that it still works at all after all this time
Follow Up By: Bigfish - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 09:08
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 09:08
Had mine 2 years. Had a hell of a workout. Paid around$180.00 from bunnings(karcher). Cleans the 4wd, driveway, trailers,camper and boat. Wont use it on the bike though! Too much pressure can force water in where I dont want it.
Reply By: mynance - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 00:13
Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 00:13
Karcher are garbage had 3 of them, none did more than 10 car washes, all were over $300 ones, last one burst into flames.
I now have a Ryobi petrol model and no trouble so far.
Myles