If you were about to turn 50 yrs old, where would you celebrate it?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 20:47
ThreadID: 89740 Views:3226 Replies:14 FollowUps:6
I have 2 weeks in April 2012 and am based on the central coast. Any suggestions?
Mick W.

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 20:57

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 20:57
On the Cooper Creek, Flinders Ranges, The Simpson, any where west of the mountains. South of you, gotta be Narooma. O/S - Vietnam or New Zealand., the worlds your Oyster really. As a bloke who's got the same milestone 6 months later, we're off to Canada for 8 weeks to head up to the Arctic, dodge bears and then Canoe down the Yukon (dodging more bears!). Think BIG!

Mick O.

AnswerID: 468538

Follow Up By: Member - David Will (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 12:01

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 12:01
Hi Mick O
I too have the big 50 in December this year, we just came back from Canada for 5 weeks, went over for a wedding and did lots of stuff over there as well, eg Cruise up Inside Passage for 7 days, Drove around Rocky Mountains, Then took Rocky Mountaineer Train from Jasper to Vancouver then up to Whistler and looked heaps around Vancouver.

Yes we spent heaps but well worth it all and would do it all again if I had the chance.

Seen lots of wild life, bears deer elk beavers skunks eagles owls chipmunks and squirrels as well of lots more.

Remember that you are only hear once so do it all while you can, you may not get another chance.

Get out and about and ENJOY IT,

FollowupID: 742883

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:00

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:00
Gracious me Mick. Whata simple question! There are only about a million choices. Ask something difficult and you may get a few ideas. Seaside? Mountains & hills? Desert? old mining towns? Cemeteries (full of history)? Abandoned historical towns.....? Anything difficult?
AnswerID: 468539

Follow Up By: Member - MicknCarolyn W (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:19

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:19
Yes i realised it was an open question Brian, but i was hoping people would share there top 3 destinations without fear or favor. I love the desert but was thinking beach fishing, beach camping. I have a 4x4 camperalso.
Mick
FollowupID: 742831

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:57

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:57
OK Mick. I was being a little facetious. I bought a Range Rover when I turned 70 some years ago. I was determined to "travel around Australia". I live in Perth and set off full of great intentions. I never went east of Bulong nor further north than Marble Bar. I fear that I have missed more than I have seen. I talked to the locals and the people I met on the track and found many places that I knew little or nothing of.
Regretably old age (and ill health) has caught up with me and now all my "explor oz" is restricted to this site which I visit every day and still dream.
This is really a great country with much to see. Enjoy your two weeks of freedom and have a happy 50th birthday.
FollowupID: 742840

Reply By: caseh - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:15

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:15
Hi Mick and Carolyn.
I have this book called :"1000 places to see before you die" .
We have been lucky enough to travel the world in the last 10 or so years and been to a fair few places in this book.
Forget about the book. We just spent 5 months in the WA outback. Awesome. Better than any of the places in the book. Don't leave home till you have seen the country! It's right there on your doorstep. Australia is your oyster.
Happy birthday and enjoy. cheers, Case
AnswerID: 468544

Follow Up By: Member - MicknCarolyn W (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:22

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 21:22
Yes, i love your style Case. I was born here and will probably die here, so i have plenty to see yet. I wasn't actually considering OS.
FollowupID: 742833

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:11
Paris!!

AnswerID: 468555

Reply By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:12

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:12
Hi MicknCarolyn W
I'm with Mick O think Big
I would try to travel to the furtherest place possible with out rushing it.
Might mean flying in and doing tours/charters but you have two weeks to fill up so make the most of that time and see/do stuff that you couldn't do within say 8 hours drive from home.

Thats what I would do anyway.

Cheers Michael

P.s half the fun is in the planning/dreaming :-)
AnswerID: 468556

Reply By: Simon (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:15

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:15
It all depends on what you 'LIKE' and don't like.

Personally, from the Central Coast I'd suggest perhaps going up to the north coast a little way, perhaps right up towards the cape or perhaps Frazer Island (as you've got the camper trailer you can always set up a base came and enjoy Frazer and come back to base came each night).

Actually Frazer would probably be really nice for ya. It's somewhere I want to get to, so I'd recommend it (because then I could get feedback, hahaha).

You could always look at a trip across to Ayers Rock or something, but that'd take you 3 - 4 days each way (driving) so wouldn't leave a lot of time for anything but driving and a little bit of site seeing, though having a glass of your favourite while watching the sunset on your birthday would be a nice way to end the day.

Or perhaps try the south coast areas, the Great Ocean Road or something like that?

Mate, personally I remember my father taking me camping for his birthday (it might well have been his 50th as well, I can't honestly tell you) and he and I went alone, we had a great day doing stuff, I had $100 saved up and wanted to get him a big cake and fill the tent with balloons.. I managed to lose the $100 and could only afford the balloons, so I filled the tent anyway, and then sat there crying because I couldn't afford to buy the cake for him!!! (I was only a young'n at the time, can't even remember my age either).

To be honest, while 50 is a milestone, and congrats on reaching it and wanting to get out and do something (make SURE you go and do stuff instead of waiting and waiting some more), you can ALWAYS find things to do and enjoy even on the CC.

On a completely off-topic remark, do they still have the markets at Ettamalong? (I think that's where it was - I was only a kid last time I went there but I have many fond memories of going around the markets on the weekends and usually getting my mum's birthday presents there (my Mum died when I was 10 so you can imagine how young I really was). Apart from passing through the coast on my way north from Sydney back up to the Hunter I haven't been down there in years (though I now live in Alice Springs, so very, very far removed from the places I grew up).

Good luck on whatever you decide to do for your 50th. Please, please come back and post what you do on here and hey, share a bit of a story and some pics, it'd be great to know what you actually decided to do... :)
And Congrats on the birthday mate.
AnswerID: 468557

Reply By: Member - Daryl N (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:15

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:15
Top 3!!
Dalhousie springs
Lorella springs
Kingfisher camp
AnswerID: 468558

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:22

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:22
Howdy MnC

Apparently there is a really awesome swingers club in or near Lithgow which isn't too far from you guys - might pay to look it up !

Enjoy your birthday

Gazz
AnswerID: 468559

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 07:20

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 07:20
Gday Gazz
I understand there is a nature lovers resort near Echuca on the Murray

FollowupID: 742870

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:47

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 22:47
Mick!! Good luck with the 50th!! Just love your number plate,,, very clever !! Michael
AnswerID: 468563

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 23:10
just off Townsville ....... Magnetic Island, we booked a whole house for a week for our 9th anniversary, it had a spa bath inside, 4 bedrooms... not that you need them all (we have 3 kids) .... a salt-water pool outside, under cover parking, BBQ, fully equipped kitchen .............. basically a "normal" house as you would expect it with full privacy ....
About $280 bucks a night all up...... based on a ISLAND, heaps to do and see or just lock the doors and stay at home and enjoy the time..
AnswerID: 468566

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 13:45

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 13:45
Yep...my choice too!
FollowupID: 742888

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 05:27

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 05:27
Mick,

Two weeks is not long.
Mallacoota is a nice spot on the Vic coast and just up the road from you is Diamond Head.
AnswerID: 468575

Reply By: Meggs - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 13:43

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 13:43
50 yrs young, I wish
AnswerID: 468591

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:46

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2011 at 19:46
Mick if i had my turn again!

KINGS CROSS!!..Lol.

Wolgan Valley mate!!....Beautiful.

AnswerID: 468603

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:15

Friday, Oct 28, 2011 at 11:15
Two weeks might be a stretch, but you could fit in trips to Fraser, Moreton and Stradbroke Islands. They all have their own personality.

I did it all in a month a few ears ago and it was awesome.

AnswerID: 468725