Fishing.....Fresh bait aside, I want to hear from soft plastic gurus.

I never leave home without my trusty rod & reel and tackle kit in the truck. Over the years, I have sometimes been constrained from wetting a line, due to a lack of available bait. I have never been persuaded or convinced to use soft plastic lures when fishing. I was brought up as a fresh bait angler, and have continued to follow that instinct for over 60 years.

Now !!!

Soft plastics, as is apparent in every fisho mag, is by all accounts ithe way to go.

What I would like you fisho's out there to share, is your experiences with soft plastic lures, and your success, or lack thereof, either in inland rivers, impoundments, esturies, beaches or off shore with them.

I am very sceptical about hooking a feed on plastic, and as such have yet to dedicate a fishing session to using plastic, as these sessions are dearly anticipated, and I am reluctant to waste that time until I can be convinced that plastic will, and does, catch fish. Whose been into a tackle shop lately? They have acres of walll displaying thousands of lures , all very expensive, when a packet of pillies or prawns only cost a few bob.

What are your thoughts fellas, and not forgetting, girls????

Fred.

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:24

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:24
How about salting a block of Mulies, then packing them into small bags? no need to refrigerate, and I think they catch more than fresh ones...
Drew
AnswerID: 469288

Reply By: Member - Krakka - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:34

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:34
Hi Fred,
Unfortunately it is not really as simple as just tying on a soft plastic and catching fish. Ideally you really need to use braided line, with a matching graphite/composite rod, and of course that also requires the top notch reel as well with silky smooth drag, more bearings than your truck etc etc.
Like everything else though you can compromise with your rod and reel. But really do need braid for much better feel and casting.
Most soft plastics will catch fish but they must be "worked". Best go to the library or youtube and do some research into the finer points and retrieve tecniques.

Good Luck.
Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

AnswerID: 469289

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:32

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:32
G'day Peter. I guess all this new learning stuff don't come easy at my age. But, I am determined to give it a go.

Cheers mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 743747

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:37

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:37
Not sure why you need convincing, every fishing video you watch they are using them and if they were a gimmick they would have been cleared from the tackle shop shelves by now.

I like you prefer to fish with bait but my son loves the soft plastics and he usually bags more than me.
They are a different style of fishing that you will need to adapt to but they definitely do work.

Give them a go, better to fish with a lure than not at all.
AnswerID: 469290

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:41

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 20:41
Hi Fred

I was brought up in the old days of finding fresh bait for fishing but that was some time ago. Now I rarely if ever use bait for fishing.

I have lived and fished in the northern territory and that changed me for life. Nothing like some bait in the hot humid sun up there - makes your boat stink and you want to puke at the end of the day.

I use a range of lures, soft plastics and best choice is flyfishing. All depends on what fish you are targeting. Some fish just will not touch anything but fresh bait.

In the territory the barramundi will rarely if ever take dead bait. It has to be alive or look alive like a lure. I will use a green or gold manns 10+ or bomber lure. At the end of the wet when water is running I like to use soft plastics on drift down stream with lift and drop technique. Works really well.

I find most of the bait fishing now is the bottom bouncing type of fishing which I now find a bit too tiresome. I like to hunt my fish and actively target, and cast to the fish.

What type of plastics - well big story there. Again which fish are you targeting in what type of waters with what type of fishing rod setup.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 469292

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 10:58

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 10:58
spot on there, up here it is the primary thing to use, only really use baits if you are after a smaller fish to use as a live bait, and it also vareys with the seasons as to what you use ............
The general rule is to match the "lure" with what the fish you want to catch will be interested in, ie a barra will take a bright 6" long shallow diving lure in some places with dark muddy water, as the water gets clearer you have to go to a deeper diving lure and sometimes no so brighter colours .... the lure will match what ever the barra is hunting for.....
The thing also to remember is it is not a substitute for bait as with bait you let it sit and the fish tastes it, lures and all of them will require YOU to imitate live movements so it tricks the fish into first stalking it, pouncing and chomping down hard on it to capture it, it then realizes it is plastic and trys to spit it out but gets hooked ......... you will never catch anything with a lure that is sitting still, well very rarely anyway, you have to constantly move it, that in itself is a bit of a pain as with a bait you cast it, let it sink, wind in the slack and place rod in rod holder, go to esky and remove can of beer, crack open beer and as you place can to mouth you will without fail get a decent bite, always happens without fail ..hahaha
Cheers n have fun
Joe
FollowupID: 743722

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:38

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:38
Aye, just remember you blokes up there are in fisho heaven, where ya only need to whistle and a flamin' great barra jumps onto the BBQ plate :-))))

Getting up your way is high on my list Joe. BTW I can relate to that hook up scenario. Brought about a smile here mate. LOL.

Fred.
FollowupID: 743748

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:52

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:52
Hi Fred, i wish it was that easy, they arnt that common eh ....
When i used to smoke i used to take rollies fishing as it takes up less room and lasts heaps longer and it was almost a GIVEN that i would place rod in rod holder, get out papers and begine to roll one up and would have it in my thumbs and BANG, the rod would go off, it was a mad scramble to get to the rod, papers, tobacco and lighter goes everyware as you drop it all and the bleedin fish drops the bait just as you pull out the rod ..... everybleedingtime ..i am certain i could hear them laughing at me as i swore at them ..... hahaha
FollowupID: 743749

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:06

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:06
G/Day Fred

I also prefer Fresh Bait to Plastics or Lures.

I have a whole range of Artificial Baits in our tackle boxes but for some reason I choose fresh bait preferably Live Bait.

Our son uses Soft Plastic and Lures and does quite well.

He fishes in our local Tallebudgera Creek just adjacent to were we live and catches a few Mangrove Jack.

I have seen him use Plastics and Live Bait at the same time and pulls in the same amount of fish.

He to carries his rods in his work vehicle and it's handy for him to rely on plastics at short notice.

I do a lot of Surf / Beach Fishing and I only use WA Pilchards as bait and get good results most times.

Yet I have had blokes fishing right next to me using Lures and they get similar results but with more effort.

AnswerID: 469295

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:19

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:19
"I do a lot of Surf / Beach Fishing and I only use WA Pilchards as bait and get good results most times."

That's my style over many years also Dazza. I have never ever seen anyone pull in a fish, and say "Hey, look at what this soft plastic caught."

I remain sceptical :-(

Fred.

FollowupID: 743705

Reply By: Fatso - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:38

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 21:38
G'day Fred
I will start by saying that "I am not much of a fisherman but I do fish".
But I do know that the so called soft plastics have been around for years.
We had versions, of what are now called soft plastics, in our house in the sixties here in NQ. There were types for trolling & types for bottom fishing. The only ones I ever saw used were the trolling ones. One in particular was a large one that looked like a squid. It was regarded as being very inferior to spoons for trolling at the time.
Spoons were preferred for trolling over painted bib type lures at the time as well.
In the 60's the fishing market was very different. Fishermen were not the big consumers with the disposable incomes they now have. Remember in the 60's blokes were still using split cane rods they made themselves & hand lines were the most common rig. It was even common to see fishing line wound on a soft drink bottle for a reel.
Now we have a massive marketing campaign trying to sell products to a cashed up consumer society. All the fishing shows on TV, all the magazines & all the fishing expos are about is selling advertising that is trying to sell a product & soft plastics are the top of the list at the moment.
In the 80's & 90's it was bib lures & occasionally for pelagic it might include surface lures in the advertising campaigns.
Now it is the soft plastics turn to be the flavour of the time.
The best bait always has been & always will be live bait. But nobody sells it, so nobody advertises it.
I have heard said that the advertising industry is the largest industry in the world. It is undoubtedly what steers society & when it come to fishing there is no exception. For if soft plastics were so great why was it not that everybody was using them since the 60's. They were around that long ago.
I would say "you can catch fish with them Fred". I just doubt that they are as good as the advertising promotes.
It would also be interesting to know what the percentage of fishing gear that gets sold actually ever gets used to fish with.
I would go out on a limb & say that a majority of these fan dangle gizmos never see the water let alone catch a fish.

Fatso
AnswerID: 469297

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:08

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:08
Fatso, it would appear we are on the same page, same wavelength, same thought process LOL.

Fred.

FollowupID: 743702

Reply By: Member - Josh- Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:08

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:08
There is nothing worse than being out somewhere and finding a perfect spot to fish and not having something to fish with.
When we travelled I carried soft plastics, lures, salted baits and instant bait. The were all good at some point, all depends what the fish are eating. I fished quobba with plastics and had fish after fish after fish follow the plastic in but not touch it. I changed to a blue back and white belly and got hit cast after cast. You need to match the plastic with the bait.
Other times the salted bait was what got hit and other times lures were the go.
I'm gunna give away some secrets but don't tell anyone ok....Image Could Not Be Found
The first plastic is called hollow glitter from DOA, great for salmon, atlantic salmon, trout, flathead.
The second is Nuclear chicken, good for snapper, flathead.
The third is good for trout, can't remeber the name.
The instant bait you buy at Big W and is handy as an emergency bait. It does work well, but when mixed must be used.
I don't agree with previous poster that you need top dollar gear. Plenty good fish get caught on cheap gear. My favourite rod and reel combo is one of my cheaper units. I catch plenty of fish on it and some big fish to. You do have to work a plastic though to make them swim properly.
I liked carrying salted pillies as I could sit and soak a bait if I wanted to.
Hope that helps

AnswerID: 469299

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:14

Saturday, Nov 05, 2011 at 22:14
Thanks Josh for a very informative reply in layman terms, which I do understand.

BTW I can keep a secret, it's just those who I tell that can't LOL LOL.

Thanks mate. I have heard the Nuclear chicken is dynamite, but had yet to meet someone who proved it so.

Fred.
FollowupID: 743703

Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 06:52

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 06:52
The one in the middle is a Berkley lure - 4 " jerkshad? The COLOUR PATTERN is nuclear chicken.
Yes, I'm a bit of a fishing tragic and 'go both ways' - there you have it, I'm out and proud.
I think you're looking at it in the wrong light.
The plastics vs bait argument will go on ad infinitum and whoever is the better fisherman will catch more fish no matter what they are using.
A plastics outfit is merely another arrow in your quiver. Name a fish and there's a time and place where bait will win, and theres a time and place where lures pickup more.
I've just returned from the west beaches of Fraser. 10 days during the flathead run. I'm not giving away my secrets, but the Hervey Bay traditional method of catching lizards wins hands down (bait). The big girls up there aren't targetted that often and need to be coaxed a bit. Move down to Jumpinpin area where the bigger flatties have been pinned a few times each and are more aggressive, a well worked pink plastic is deadly for making them break cover. Caveat - yes we fish slot sizes - big flatties tase horrible anyway.
I also tow lures in impoundments with a canoe and an electric motor. Watch the sounder, use a lure that will get within cooee of the rock ledge you just found and barra fun will ensue.
I've also caught all manner of reefies and pelagics on plastic.
For me, if I'm going for a 'quick session' then its plastics all the way and a nice clean boat. If I'm serious (In Brisbane we travel up to 200 kms for a snapper) then whole lot is coming with me and i'll try each mark with bait and lures until I start getting results - never know which is going to perform better. Bait's probably got the upper hand, but plastics also have their day.
Start with a basic kit (I still use basic kit cause I'm hard on gear). In time you'll have a habit of having the plastics outfit pre loaded and ready to fire. Never know when a tuna is going to cruise by...
Plastic fishing is like surfing - a complete befuddlement of mixed emotions then all of a sudden you catch your first (wave or fish) and I guarantee you'll be hooked.
FollowupID: 743709

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:01

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:01
Thanks for a very comprehensive and informative reply there gbc.

I'm a fishing tragic, but obviously not in your league.

I have a small selection of soft plastics, but have yet to seriously use them. Maybe it is time to give them a go.

I remember some years ago, I had a mate who would fish the bank of the Hunter river estuary at low tide, with only a hard bodied lure, and claim to catch a feed of lizzards every time. Mind you, I never saw him do it.

One day, with a nice brand new shiney $12.00 lure attached, I thought I would try, what he made sound so simple. Somewhat nervously, I cast my $12 bait out towards a rock ledge.

Alas, that $12 lure probably is still attached to the rocks where it snagged on my first cast with it, never to be seen again LOL. At that point I went back to my favourite pillies, pippies etc.

I'm going fishing next weekend up at Tea Gardens, so maybe it's time to experiment with the plastic.

Tight Lines.

Fred.

FollowupID: 743723

Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 17:08

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 17:08
Couple of very basic pointers, use only enough lead for a steady sink to the bottom. Try to keep 'in touch' with the lure - no huge movements of the rod enabling slack line. If you're not catching, focus on your technique rather than lure shape/colour - crap fishermen have heaps of lures - they need something to blame. Finally, if you're not losing the odd lure, you're not casting them tight enough ;) There's always only millimetres between the perfect cast and a snag.
Next week we'll have you boiling plastics (changes their action), and cutting the bellies out of slick rigs........
FollowupID: 743759

Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 17:12

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 17:12
I see by your tag line you watch the grandkid's movies too :)
FollowupID: 743760

Reply By: sweetwill - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:08

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:08
Hello fred G.
like you i spent the first 50 years fishing with bait, then went bass fishing in a canoe with my son he only used lures, well what an eye opener that was, Him about 30 me nil he was using surface poppers i was using worms, So i tried a lure and it didn't take long to get the hang of it, and i must say it is a more energetic way of fishing, in a good way, so now i carry a box of lures with me,and remember fred all those shiny lures on the fishing shop wall most are to catch fishermen not fish, and one last thing as always you have to be where the fish are as Rex would say and yous the lure that's right for the targeted species cheers bill.
AnswerID: 469305

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:10

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:10
Thanks Bill. You have opened another can of worms (no pun intended) for me.
I have been on the water in everything from an aircraft carrier to a tinnie, and have always wanted to try a canoe for those remote and quiet backwaters.
Maybe time for this old dog to learn some new tricks :-))

Fred
FollowupID: 743724

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 16:09

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 16:09
Some of the new fishing kayaks are pretty impressive. I like that you can paddle with your legs while casting, playing a fish, etc. The hobie sail/outrigger version looks like pure fun.

Check this out
FollowupID: 743755

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 19:49

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 19:49
I have the Hobie Pro Angler and they are awesome. I wish I had when we travelled, would have caught so many more fish and seen more places.
Here are a couple of videos of catching fish from the yak. the first one is in Devonport catching salmon on the hollow glitter. There were 4 or 5 stink boats out there and they weren't catching anything at all. I got over 40 fish and usually would hook up right next to the boats which was ggod fun. It also shows releasing a pike I caught earlier
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2PXFHvI8Ew
The next is chasing atlantic salmon and trout in lake Barrington, Tas.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jEiXghQIQA0&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
The last is taking my daughter out in coles bay, tas
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OiHM3aIubI&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL
I usually use plastics on the yal unless I'm chasing something with big teeth then use live bait or big dead baits.

Josh
FollowupID: 743767

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 19:53

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 19:53
I meant to mention the reason I sound like I'm out of breath is I had a high tech piece of equipment as the camera mount. The camera was inside a plastic soap holder with the front cut out, it had a hook on the back which I held in my mouth. Peddling is very easy.

Josh
FollowupID: 743768

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 10:56

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 10:56
Thanks for putting those clips up Josh. I enjoyed watching them. I'm impressed with the kayak.

Fred.
FollowupID: 743794

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 17:08

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 17:08
Hey Fred if you make down the mornington peninsular in vic, look me up. We'll go down to Port Philip Bay (about 20 mins from home) and chase some fish together, might even use some soft plastics LOL.. The weirdest lure I have used is a hook with some foil wrapped around it, and it worked, salmon eat almost anything..

Josh

FollowupID: 743815

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 18:20

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 18:20
Certainly will do Josh. I am pretty familiar with the area having spent time at HMAS Cerberus.
Nowadays, I have a daughter who lives in Melbourne, and she and her hubby have a weekender on Phillip Island. I have spent many hours on the water in Westernport Bay chasing KG's and Snapper. It is Paradise. It's far too long since I have visited. Sighhh :-(

Fred.
FollowupID: 743823

Reply By: Bill BD - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:16

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 08:16
I prefer bait; however, I wouldn't write the soft plastics off as "marketing ploy". Up until 15 years ago it was considered that Bream in the Swan river would not take any artificial. You needed fresh prawn or bloodworms. Nowdays many bream are caught in the Swan with soft and hard lures.

AnswerID: 469307

Reply By: drjfly - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 10:27

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 10:27
Fred

What type of fishing you like to do is up to you.

I have fished bait, lures (including soft plastics) and fly. Each has its strong points and weaknesses. Now days it is fly first and the odd lure session and bait about once every 2 years. On any given occasion one can out do the other.

Fishing is about enjoying so do what you want to do. I would suggest carrying a range of gear (and it doesn't have to be the top end stuff - I've proved that over the years with mid range gear as I can't afford what many of my mates can). When you don't have any bait or the fish are not biting on bait give the lures a go. It will take time to get the basics sorted (like learning any new technique) but take the time.

The other issue with lures and fly is that it is more active. You are constantly casting and retrieving (unless trolling with lures). With bait you can sit back and watch the world go by.

Just go fishing any way you want and enjoy :)

Darren
AnswerID: 469314

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:29

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:29
Thanks for all your informative replies fellas.

I guess our old late and great mate Slim Dusty sums it up well with this song.

Tight lines all.

Fred.
AnswerID: 469320

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:35

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 11:35
Then again, perhaps some might better relate to this song by Slim :-))))

FollowupID: 743728

Reply By: Member - Alan K (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 12:14

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 12:14
An old fisherman (83) on the Gold Coast put me onto a method for fishing for bream and flathead (and a few other species) which transcends bait, lures, plastics. He cuts fresh bread (minus crusts) into fingers which he then wraps around the hook as a dough. He gets five fingers from a slice, cuts one across the top, then four from top to bottom) The crusts, cut up are also a good burley.

IT ACTUALLY WORKS WELL AND I HAVE HAD SUCCESS FROM LAND AND BOAT ON THE GOLD COAST - NOT SURE ABOUT ANYWHERE ELSE.

My father, an equally old (and experienced) fisherman, (84) didn't believe it worked, until he got bite after bite on it. The other advantage is that if the fish aren't biting, take marg and vegemite and at least you get a feed whilst you are out there. Good for bank or boats in relatively shallow waters. . Very cheap at $2 - $3 a loaf, but it must be FRESH to be able to work into a dough. The price is why you will never hear of it at a tackle shop.

Fred, also remember the old Chinese proverb. "Time spent fishing is not deducted from one's lifespan."
AnswerID: 469324

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 13:48

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 13:48
I have tried dough baits in Perth and further south west to no great effect. As you said... depends where you are.
FollowupID: 743738

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:29

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 14:29
Hey Alan, that's what we used as kids many years ago in the creek.

Still use bread for collecting live poddy mullet in 2 ltr coke bottle mullet traps.

If that proverb is true Alan, I've got a whole lot of years in "credit" then LOL.

Cheers mate.

Bill, try it without the vegemite :-)) or maybe they prefer whole meal down there LOL.

Thanks fellas.
FollowupID: 743746

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 18:04

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 18:04
Or perhaps even gluten free. What I did find was squid love dough.... often had a squid grab a bait but never got one to stick on a single hook.
FollowupID: 743762

Follow Up By: Member - Alan K (QLD) - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 08:10

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 08:10
Thanks, I am finding the discussion on soft plastics very educational and as a result I have to give them another try.
FollowupID: 743782

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 18:24

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 18:24
Me too Alan. I have been inspired, and I am always one up for a challenge :-)

Fred
FollowupID: 743824

Reply By: deserter - Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 16:57

Sunday, Nov 06, 2011 at 16:57
Ihave been fishing soft plastics a lot in the past 10 years. But if you are inland make sure you also take hard body lures and spinner baits. I fish the dams in SE Qld a fair bit. Hard body and spinner baits are more effective on bass in my opinion. Soft and hard both work well on dam barra. For cod I use mainly spinner baits or hard body.

In the salt water estuaries you will find the softies very good for all species but particularly effective for flathead.
AnswerID: 469347

Reply By: The Bantam - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 00:08

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 00:08
One thing is for sure, you have to look past the hype and the marketing surrounding soft plastics, and to a certain extent the outward appearance and your own preconceptions.

The moulded jig head with the lead on the hook predates soft plastics, it is therefor neither esential to use jigheads with soft plastics nor consider the jig heads for exclusive use with soft plastics.

There is no necessity to use, braid, spinnreels or stiff rods with soft plastics.
The braid, the stiff rod and the spin reel have been combined with soft plastics to make a certain style of fishing.......you don't have to do it that way.

You can stick a soft plastic blood worm approximation, on the standard whiting rig with ya old 4 inch alvey, with 6 LB mono and a floppy rod, and do just as well as you would with real dead worms, fishing the same style as they have for decades.......the soft plastic worms will probaly last longer.

Dont be put off by the "plastic" word..some are plastic as we understand them, but these days the majority are more related to fish flavoured TOFU than your garden hose.

All the tackle and methods marketed with soft plastics work with dead baits and some of the hard lures, and lots of the old methods and tackle will work just fine with soft plastics of some sort.

One thing is for certain, soft plastics are definitely convienient and portable.

There is even an account of one blokes MRS sticking on a lolly snake on a jig head as a joke, and doing better than her man that was fishing with conventional soft plastics.

Fish will bite on the darndest things......if it looks like something a fish would bite on and it smells fishy...its prably as good as anything.

AnswerID: 469365

Follow Up By: landseka - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 11:14

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 11:14
"Fish will bite on the darndest things......if it looks like something a fish would bite on and it smells fishy...its prably as good as anything."

Dead right there, years ago a mate & I were having a great salmon session in a rocky area south of Streaky Bay SA and I lost my last Chrome Spinner to the rocks. I just cut the sleeve hem from my old fishing jumper & threaded it onto a hook & kept fishing (and catching).

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 743795

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 18:28

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 18:28
Aye Neil, that's startin' to sound like a typical fishin' yarn mate LOL LOL

Fred
FollowupID: 743825

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 10:37

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 10:37
I can't guarantee soft plastics, but hard bodied lures definitely work, it's just a matter of trying different lures in different locations.

In the estuary I troll small lures maybe 25mm long, 20metres behind the boat at walking pace for whiting, bream, flathead, taylor, trevally ect. I use cheap rods with 6 lb line.

I have used larger lures for barramundi and steel type lures for tailor and flathead in the surf.

AnswerID: 469377

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 11:06

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 11:06
Thanks for all your contributions to this discussion fellas. Enjoyed them immensely just like Alan mentions above.

Josh, thanks for the videos. The look on your daughters face pulling in that flattie is priceless.

I think we need more fishing yarns on here.

Cheerio.

Fred.
AnswerID: 469381

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 21:12

Monday, Nov 07, 2011 at 21:12
"I think we need more fishing yarns on here." - here here. I have never found a fishing forum as well run and moderated as this site.
FollowupID: 743847

Reply By: luke80 - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2011 at 17:56

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2011 at 17:56
Fred, there is no doubt that soft plastics fishing can be very effective. My wife and I have caught hundreds of fish over the years on plastics and nowadays almost exclusively fish with them all over the country. In terms of what you said about expensive lures verses a 2 bob pack of pillies I would have to disagree. The price of pillies is about $3 to $8 pack depending where you are. Most people would soak a few baits and at the end of the session throw the rest of the pack in the water after they are defrosted they are not much good to refreeze and use again unless you are fishing for toadfish and crabs. A pack of 8 plastics costs about $8 and jigheads about $1 each. One pack of plastics will last me anywhere from a day if the fish are toothy, like tailor/pike/mackerel etc to many months if I am using them in muddy and sandy bottomed rivers/estuaries/beaches for bream and flathead etc. It is not uncommon to catch up to 20 fish on 1 lure before you need to change it if the fish are not toothy. If you catch nothing you pop it back in the juice in the bag and use it tomorrow. I have no doubt some of our packets of plastics have caught over a hundred fish as on some beaches you can get 40 salmon in a morning on 2 or 3 plastics. Not bad for $8. I could never catch so many fish on a pack of pillies and it would cost me a fortune. I realise I do a lot of fishing and you maybe not so much, but the plastics will not go off if you buy the right brands and you can use them again and again. It really is addictive once you start having sucess, but it does require practise and more practise. The better you get at your retrieves and picking the correct weight jighead for the conditions, the more sucess you will have. A general rule to pick jighead weights is to sink about 1m/second. In 5m of water it should hit the bottom in 5 secs. Sometimes you want lighter than that for example Bream like a very slow sink, but rarely heavier. A fast action graphite rod and light braid line will DEFINATELY make it easier for 90% of plastics fishing as you need to "feel" the lure as you hop it along. I have taught many people to fish plastics and they have all found it much easier with this type of rod. As said earlier there are a few plastics that don't require much or any action (like worms) that can be worked on your standard floppy fibreglass rod and mono but you will not have sucess with most plastics with this type of rod. If fishing with braid always run a rod length of mono line or leader material from the end of the braid to the lure for abrasion resistance and so the fish can't see the line. The standard flick,flick,pause........flick,flick,pause....retrieve is the easiest one to start out with and works with a lot of different fish and a lot of different plastics. Good Luck. Luke.
AnswerID: 469501