I am now reluctant to get work done on my car in a country town!!!
Submitted: Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:24
Member - Boo Boo (NSW)
G'day all
Well we arrived in
Walgett, NSW last Sunday.
On Monday morning I went to the Ford dealer Duncan & Duncan, I needed an Anderson plug put on my ARB compressor and that was the place to go..
The alarm bells started to go off when one of the blokes had no idea what I was talking about. Anyway the other bloke opened one of their books and pointed to a picture and yes it was indeed an Anderson plug.
He said he would order it in. 4 days later it had arrived and I picked up the compresser about 20 minute.
Coming from a small country town I have always had a policy of having work done in country towns we stay in.
Well,, I got a bit of a shock at the price. Now all I wanted was to have the plug fitted in place of the clamps that get attached to the battery poles.
The plug cost $11.31
The labour was $60.00
The freight was $10.00
The GST was $8.13
Total $89.45.
I reckon the price should have been closer to $50.
Am I dreaming or is $89.45 a realistic price.
And yes I was stupid enough not to get a quote. I was also stupid enough to trust people.
Reply By: GimmeeIsolation - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:49
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:49
Why did you not consider that you could of purchased a soldering tool and done it yourself, done it better, and then had a tool for many jobs for many years and had change left over. Cannot get much more simpler of jobs than to fit an Anderson plug. Do not even have to be mechanically minded. There are only two wires and they are coloured for you. Unless that is how you come by your username - BooBoo. Many business's have a minimum one hour charge rate. Come in spinner.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:56
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:56
You know I think I can see where you may have got you name from as
well.
I have asked a reasonable question about the price and you reply with a personal attack.
If you haven't got something constructive to say then buzz off.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:04
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:04
Gimmee
Even though I worked as an electronics technician and senior positions for 40 plus years and made more cables than you will see in a life time, I am now unable to do it for various reasons. Maybe BooBoo is in the same boat but for different reasons.
I think that was a bit rough mate.
BooBoo
I also think the price was fine. Labour is the killer where ever you go. And to have an inexperienced person do it as
well.
We had our alternator break outside
Injune and it cost $70 to remove it, extract the broken bolt and refit it with a new bolt.
Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:52
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:52
If I wanted that work done in a "small country town", I'd be very happy with that price. Try getting that donet an auto electrician in suburbia and you'll pay way more than that. Thankfully I can do most things myself.
Capt.
Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:53
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 15:53
Going to an Auto Elec would've been a lot cheaper then going to a dealer. I bet they would've had the Anderson Plug in stock as
well.
Follow Up By: Penchy - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:03
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:03
+1
dealers make their money on after sales
services.
Got an electrical problem? Go to auto sparks
Breaks problem? Breaks and power steering
Suspension? I think you see a pattern. But as the grumpy bugger said, its an easy job and sometimes it pays to have a look at it yourself.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:06
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:06
Try finding an auto electrician in some country towns.
Scone has one auto electrcian and the town and outlying areas has a
population of about 8000.
When I asked noone knew of one in town.
Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:11
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:11
Repco/supercrap etc would have Anderson Plugs in stock. A half decent mechanic should be able to do the rest.
Generally dealers are a lot more expensive then mechanics etc but now I make the point of checking dealers for parts prices as I've been surprised a few times on their prices. Some things but not most are cheaper at the dealer. Not sure why but other parts are multiple times more expensive then aftermarket.
Reply By: Rudds - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:08
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:08
I reckon the only "boo-boo" you made was not having ago and doing it your-self. They are very easy to fit with, just need pliers.
In my opinion, the price for the plug is good (they are cheaper on e-bay) & the labour is reasonable.
I'd still trust a small town, I assume you were at
Walgett, haven't been there myself, but most of those sought of
places are a lot friendlier than city folk.
Don't let it worry ya-self, go fishing.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:30
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:30
Rudds you're probably right.
In reply to Repco etc
Walgett has only one coffee
shop let alone a Repco or autobarn.lol
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 19:35
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 19:35
Rudds,
It takes more than a pair of pliers to crimp 50 amp lugs onto electrical cable.
You need either a very good soldering iron, a butane torch, or a purpose designed crimping tool.
Follow Up By: Rudds - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 08:13
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 08:13
That is what you may require Sand Man.
I have 50amp plugs fitted to my ute and my accessories. I run my fridge on one and have a second one for the other accessories. Both these plugs have heavier wire and the accessories have what ever leads they came with.
I fitted them my self with pliers by just crimping them and I have never had any issues with any of the plugs.
I still feel Boo-Boo could have a had a go at doing the job himself, regardless of what
tools he used, he has nothing to loose and would possible surprised himself at his achievement.
Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:50
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:50
yep - I changed my alligator clips for an Anderson plug just using pliers. Perfectly good only 2 years (but some rough roads) on.
Reply By: Axle - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:19
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:19
G/Day Boo Boo,... Just another few dollars along the way...LOL..LOL.
Mate just think of the fuel dollars ya saving against the Troopy!!.
Hows the DMax going By the way?
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 17:44
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 17:44
Axle
I wouldn't go back to the Troopy.
The Dmax is just too good.
Probably the only drawback (and I'm nit picking), is there is not as much room in the front for all the things we had in the troopy. Maybe not a bad thing when I think of how much unused stuff I took out. LOL
Fuel consumption when not towing is 8.8/100 and 8.4/100.
The first towing consumtion is13.75/100, but I am carrying much more than I normally do (Frances is taking a 'few' things to our son in
Melbourne, and the tyre pressure on the van was 5psi lower than I normally run. I'm doing a few trial and error things on the set up to see what changes there are in fuel consumption and obviously settle on the best combination.
I'll keep you posted.
Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:40
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 16:40
Any auto-sparkie will charge you an hours pay for 15 mins work + the cost of the parts.
I took my laptop round to the local bloke which he fixed in 10 mins and chatged an hour's labour. Nothing unusual I'm afraid mate.
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 17:47
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 17:47
might be time to change the way we charge at work
we work in 15 min blocks
$88 an hour
Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:20
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:20
that's how it should be mate but not many I've come across do.
Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:17
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:17
Same here number 1
Except on Saturday arvo and Sunday on callouts its $110 if I have to do field work, in workshop it is still the same
Charlie
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 01:13
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 01:13
in reality, you couldnt even fart in 15 minutes.
By the time the job is discussed and you grab the parts and tools-its gone.
Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:58
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:58
to be fair, a lot of them stand around farting and head scratching for 15 mins before starting a simple job but it looks like he only paid half an hours labour of a pricey $120 p/h. Even the plug was cheaper than what Jaycar charge (minus the postage)
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 10:07
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 10:07
Too right Steve.
Using a tradesman I'm surprised if any charge is under $100, but then I live in WA!
Reply By: ken triton - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 18:14
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 18:14
Hi Boo Boo,
I owned my own mechanical repair business for 10 years, I always did small jobs as cheaply as possible, this quite often led to other work or if the customer was passing through hopefully he would pass on a good word to some other traveler. Small owner operated businesses will generally be cheaper than dealerships as they have much lower overheads and in many occasions you will deal with the person that does the work. I would always recommend asking for a quote when dealing with a repairer you don't know.
Enjoy your travels
Ken
Reply By: Bazooka - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 19:03
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 19:03
Not saying those two words can really cost you eh Boo Boo. I mean 'How much?'
Fortunately I've only ever had good experiences with country service, admittedly a few years back. Once at
Emerald where an engineering service machined me a small part for my Nissan Patrol to help get me
home (the alternative was to wait a week or more for a part). Took them a couple of hours but they basically charged me what they thought the part was worth (less than half of the real cost). The other terrific service was from the
Gundagai service station with the NRMA towing franchise, can't recall their name.
Water pump disintegrated on the way to Wagga so I left the truck with them. Picked it up a few days later and was sorry I didn't get them to do a complete service - the price and work was that good!
Follow Up By: murranji - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 19:38
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 19:38
With an anderson plug you dont even need pliers..A little gas flame and some solder,fill the little silver cylinders with hot solder and whilst liquid insert the bare wire..Red + Black-.
Reply By: Member Bushy 04(VIC) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:08
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:08
Hey boo boo just got a manifold gasket replaced on an 05 td courier and it cost $470.00 so I would say that the price was reasonable.
Then if you equate the price to the old days then $150.00 per hr labour is considered cheap.
Bushy.
Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:33
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:33
I don't honestly think you got too bad a deal there Boo. I remember once getting a flat tyre outside Benalla, Vic and the car dropped to one side busting the brake lines. I was a bit greener then and didn't know it was a relatively simple fix like I now know. But after phoning the RACV at 11.30 am we finally got a tow at 6pm and it took them until nearly 5pm the next day to fix what I could now do in half an hour. Apalling service for a
young family having to wait at the roadside with trucks roaring past at 100 km in the hot, dusty conditions for so long. They could and should have done a lot better but a lot of these "services" do what suits them rather than the customer.
Reply By: david m5 - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:58
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 20:58
$66 is very reasonable , If it takes them 10 min... to fit
well that's life , everybody has the rite to earn a living. There are a lot of hidden costs involved in running a business in todays world.
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 07:17
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 07:17
Exactly -
GST you cant avoid - so take that $9.00 out of the equation ..
If you had of offered cash he may have taken it , but does he know if your the local Tax man in which he then runs the risk off massive fines for the sake of a few $
He has to pay for Public liability insurance each year , and i am sure ever increasing - he has to pay for rental of the factory/ or mortgage - he has to pay employees , Payroll tax(PAYG), super , uniforms , tools , utilities , advertisement , deal with local council , in some cases EPA - waste removal - Interest on loans , have to take bad debts insurance on property / contents and factor those into his general running costs ..
May even have an x wife with kids that CSA are now bending him over to squeeze every last cent they can out of him whilst she lives the good life with new hubby earning bucket loads and does not need his money.
You could off coarse spend 3 years plus at tafe , get your trade qualifications, spend your life savings setting up a
shop and charge everyone that comes through your doors 1/2 the price of everyone else take home $500 a week- live on the poverty line - but be happy knowing you saved someone else a few dollars ...
BB
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 08:52
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 08:52
"If you had of offered cash he may have taken it , but does he know if your the local Tax man in which he then runs the risk off massive fines for the sake of a few $ "
Little misconception there-there's nothing illegal about paying cash, or giving no receipt (unless requested) under $100 is there?
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:06
Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 21:06
Paying cash implying no need for receipt ( and no addition of GST ) Is tax avoidance and as a business , no matter how small the amount is a big no no .... and by your logic every single fish and chip
shop that sells item from 20c to $20 does not need to record a transaction ?? ( via reciept roll ) as its under $100 ?
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 03:01
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 03:01
NO beggaboy. I did not say they did not need to record a transaction. I said they did not have to supply a receipt unless you ask for it.
GST is the responsibilty of the seller not the purchaser.
If you buy something retail (and have no need of the receipt for tax purposes) you dont have to keep it or produce it to the ATO.
Ever had a receipt from Mr Whippy, or other small vendors of a similar nature? Or do you say they are all criminals merely because they dont offer a receipt and dont offer EFTPOS/CC facilities?
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 20:31
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 20:31
I dont recall mentioning wanting a receipt? ( in my original post ) all i mentioned is paying cash , which in 9 times out of ten mean cash under the table / off the books - Not registered through business nor and implied levied GST so i have no idea why you are lecturing me on not needing a Receipt when i buy an
ice cream from Mr whippy
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 21:27
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 21:27
"Paying cash implying no need for receipt"
Cut and pasted from your post.
Not worth getting stressed over it though :-)
Reply By: Member - Anthony W Adelaide - Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:02
Friday, Nov 11, 2011 at 21:02
Hi Boo Boo,
We just had some minor works done on our landcruiser in
Laverton WA and hourly rate was $125.00. Work was done properly and professionally so no complaints here. Seems to be par for the course mate.
Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:46
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 09:46
yep - that's right - I was actually thinking that $66 labour was reasonable and they've charged an hour but they've been very reasonable either way, As you said, more likely charged half an hour because $120 p/h would be more like it. As somebody previously said, in these big companies it takes some of them 15 mins to scratch their @r$e and that's why they charge ridiculous hourly rates. Also, somebody has to pay for the frequent showroom refurbishments. Not really ripped off Boo and most of these replies reflect how we've become used to accepting $125 p/h charges. You haven't done that badly really.
Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 00:22
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 00:22
sorry but im kinda failing to see your point
yes its a simple job and I wouldnt have gone to a dealer for it but lets look at the costs
-Plug $11.31 sounds reasnable considering youve expected someone to get it in special order for you
-Freight $10.00 well im not sure how little you expect things to be sent for
- GST $8.13 well this is a part of life
- Labour $60 which sounds like their minimum labour charge of 1/2 hour
yea steep for a simple job but those figures add up. just coz its simple doesnt mean they will drop their prices for you
there would have been at least 3 people involved in the job
- to identify and order the part
- to pick and pack it
- to perform the work
sure were not talking about huge amounts of their time - but then thats why you were charged minimum labour costs
Reply By: the_fitzroys - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 00:36
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 00:36
You win some, lose some. We've experienced some incredible generosity by mechanics in country towns. We came out of Mungo and found our trailer riding on the tyre on one side and needing a leaf spring on it replaced. A Balranald mechanic hoisted it up, did the work and charged us $20. No idea what we would have paid in the city but it would have been a lot more than $20 that's for sure.
I wouldn't be too upset by the $89.
Lou
Reply By: Bill BD - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 14:07
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 14:07
Don't sweat it - you were lucky to find anyone to do it at all. When I moved into this town I rang the auto electrician, only to be told "I only do work for the mine". In many
places in WA the mining sector absorbs all available tradesman and you pay top dollar if you can find anyone to do small jobs ( very large if).
Follow Up By: AlanTH - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 20:11
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 20:11
Hi Bill.
I had a prob with the Prado recently on our first trip towing our new van. Every time I put it into reverse a fuse blew cutting out the aircon and indicators. Also the alternator but I didn't find that out til later.
Went to the RAC contractor in
Southern Cross and the bloke there was a bit perplexed and advise he wasn't sure what the prob was and I should try the auto leccy around the corner but he may well be out at a minesite, where most of his work came from.
We were in luck, he was there but going off on a job but said he'd have a quick look, checked all fuses with his light and found which one was blowing.
This was when we found it also controlled the alternator.
He couldn't take the time to trace the fault then but generously gave us 5 fuses to help us along the way and refused any offer of money for his time.... about half an hour.
Now that was more than anyone could ask for and was very pleasing in this day of greed and more greed.
Top marks and many thanks to the leccy at Yilgarn Auto Electrices.
AlanH.
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 14:52
Saturday, Nov 12, 2011 at 14:52
Thanks for all your replies.
It's been an interesting read and I will purchase the equipment to do the job myself next time.
Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 00:08
Sunday, Nov 13, 2011 at 00:08
Best result for all involved I think.. ;-)