Oil from the sky???????

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 06, 2003 at 23:53
ThreadID: 9009 Views:2222 Replies:5 FollowUps:38
We have just returned home through pouring rain, and the mess on our windscreen with an oil affect made the vision extremely hard. We were not following any other vehicle for it to be road grime,anyway it has been raining here for the last week and didn't have any trouble. My brother had driven from the Sunshine Coast yesterday and experienced the same problem. Any ideas? Maybe Santa is flying about the sky in a deisel 4B :-) Jen

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 17:16

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 17:16
Hey Guys,
I am asuuming that you just got back from a trip? If so I hope you enjoyed yourselves.
As for the oil thingamejig...Id say its pssibly a commodore rather than a Diesel 4b cheers and Merry Xmas to you both :-)I love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 39616

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 19:01

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 19:01
Yep!! had a good short breakaway, you know the saying " a change is as good as holiday". I'd say you are right about the bomabdore, they blow lots more than oil at times, especially the drivers. You have a bonza and safe Christmas also, in what we see you have a great looking beast. Was that one of your Chrissy gifts from a few years back?? Geoff & Jen
FollowupID: 257288

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 19:10

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 19:10
That should have been Bombadore, it's either my fingernails are too long and hit the wrong keys or I type too fast. :-)
FollowupID: 257290

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:03

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:03
Hello again,
Actually, I just picked her up from Wagga Wagga 2 weeks ago. She really is a beauty. I have another GQ 1989 model 4.2 D with 600,000 k's on clock and although she is still a great 4b I am going to sell her. The new toy has all the accessories i was going to buy already in it, so it has saved me lots of dollars up front. She is booked in at ARB on tuesday for a front Air Locker. I basically used the old girl to learn as much about 4wd'ing as possible....and i sure did learn alot about my own capabilities off road in her. Now its time to do it in style....ooo rooo for now....AngeloI love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257291

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:40

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:40
So it's a she, I should have known :-) she looked so shmick anyway, good on you, we hope you have as good a run and fun out of this one as the last. G&J
FollowupID: 257295

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 09:20

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 09:20
Angelo, I was thinking maybe if you installed some HRT into the old girl she may give you another 600,000k's, just have checks on the grease nipples for cancer every 12 months. LOL Jen
FollowupID: 257317

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 15:47

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 15:47
Hello Jen,
Ok I raise my hand girl,
You refering to the old girl? or the new girl?
What is HRT...Im interested to see how clean this comes out. As for the grease nipple checks, well dont worry about that baby, when I close my eyes they feel just as good as the real thing......Sometimes it gets pretty lonely out bush you know, so the nipples do come in hands as far as company goes....
Thats my story and I'm sticking to it.
Cant wait for your reply Jen.

Angelo.I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257342

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 15:49

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 15:49
oops i stuffed up, this happens when i get excited you know...

"Hands" = "Handy"

Told ya i was human !I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257343

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 17:55

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 17:55
OK Angleo, I dont talk dirty, I am a clean girl (thats true,) so I only talk medical and mechanical. So are you ready for your first lesson? I am talking about your 600,000k old girl. So are you now concentrating with a clear mind, ready for some education. OK. As a girl gets past her prime and her motor and gearbox start to fail in many areas, she starts to show the signs of being withdrawn and not wanting to go out as much. She may groan when asked to do things beyond her energy levels and her brakes may become sloppy or touchy where it brings on screeching or headon conflicts with objects which confront her. The comfort she had with her driver in her early days, has gone, all gone. So this is the time to get her to a GP ( Genetic Professor) he will check down the lines of inherited problems and prescribe HRT(Horrific Reconditioning Treatment) to suit. See how you go. Jen
FollowupID: 257347

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 19:13

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 19:13
Oh ....that !!

.....I knew that ! :-)I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257353

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 20:54

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 20:54
I thought you must have been out of touch not to know that. Have you got that new beast Dirty yet??
FollowupID: 257355

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 21:18

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 21:18
Hey Jen,
Where abouts in Australia are you?I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257357

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:19

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:19
We are just south of the tropics,slightly west of the eastern coast. I suppose you are going to say you are in the same neighbourhood, but that can't be right as you have green grass. This rain we are having is the best in 12months and we are so thankful we are going to have a lawn for Christmas, it has been so sad and dry. Jen
FollowupID: 257366

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:43

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:43
Oh that pic was taken the day i bought her. It as on the front lawn at their house in Wagga Wagga. Very green indeed..almost wanted to roll me some of it, but my son was there so i behaved.

Actually I am not up your way, you live in god's country, me, well im down here in Greenacre / sydney. A well known suburb at the moment due to all the shootings and kidnapings happening, and NO.i dont own a gun !!!!

I am actually heading up to brisbane on the 2nd of January, gonna try out some nice cruisy off roading on the outskirts of town, am hoping that the people we will be staying with in West Lake know some nice places for a few days. Its really just a trip to see how she handles going the distance with her new man .I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257369

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 08:22

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 08:22
G'day Angelo, After living here, I couldn't live in the city where you do not know who is going to move into a rented villa beside you. I don't know of any challenge spots in or around Brissy but I am sure there would be. We have fun around here on private propertys, as the farmers we know are on rivers and creeks. Anyway drive safely when coming up here, watch out for the maniacs, and have a very happy Christmas and New year. I can hear you saying "Y..e..s Mum" I guess that is what I hear most of the time......you know the painful response to a caring mum from a trying to be independent son. Jen
FollowupID: 257383

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:28

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:28
To both of you,
I wish you a wonderful Xmas, and an extremely fulfilling new year. Although i have no idea what plenet you are from and what you both look like, it really dont matter cause you were kind enough to compliment me on my new girl, and she was just over the moon when i told her what you said. So from both of us here in Sydney.....all the best xxxxI love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 257433

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:39

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 22:39
Thankyou Angelo, we are normal looking Aussies, so with that you and your shining girl have a lovely time together for many many years. Best wishes to you and your family.xx Geoff and Jen
FollowupID: 257435

Reply By: Viola - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 17:24

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 17:24
Darling you always need to put some Turtle windscreen wash in the bottle
AnswerID: 39617

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 19:08

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 19:08
We sure did have some good wash liquid in the reservoir, but we couldn't keep up with it. I am tending think the greenies should put a filter on the water spouts in the ocean.
FollowupID: 257289

Reply By: Barry B - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:54

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 20:54
Probably an aircraft dumping fuel in the clouds between Sydney and Melbourne. They do it all the time.
AnswerID: 39624

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:45

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:45
We had a S/W heavy breeze last night, so it may have been the remains of the southern flights:-) I am starting to worry what is going into our lovely tank water. Jen
FollowupID: 257296

Follow Up By: StephenF - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 10:03

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 10:03
They dump expensive fuel it all the time? Why? I thought that they only did it in an emergency after takeoff when they had to quickly reduce weight for landing.
Stephen.
FollowupID: 257319

Reply By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:00

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:00
I reckon it could have been Santa taking the Reindeers for a bit of a training run. I know that Reindeers cannot handle carbohydrate like we do, so instead of carbohydrate loading, they have an fat rich diet. This helps the cope with the cold weather and also gives them lots of energy which they will need on Christmas night. Unfortunately if Santa takes them out for a run soon after feeding them their oil, it is like us going for a run with a full stomach and they tend to get oily diarrhoea. Make sure you keep your windows closed.
Andrew2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
AnswerID: 39625

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:58

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 21:58
Andrew and Jen, OH my goodness!! I will certainly make sure our windows are shut and put the A/c at full speed. My main concern is the beautiful tank water we drink, frogs in the pipes( not the tank) I can put up with, but things coming from the heavens like sprays and now reindeer excretions YUK!! I know the roughage may be a bit hard to come by in this drought for the old reindeers,surely in this modern age he could run them on gas. Geoff & Jen
FollowupID: 257297

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 22:57

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 22:57
It makes me wonder what Andrew does for a job if he knows so much about carb and fat rich diets and then they turn into the bleep s if Santa takes them out to early for a practice run............. I wonder what he could be??????? mmmmmmmmmmm????????????
lol
lol
lol
Karen Kind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
FollowupID: 257302

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 07:17

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 07:17
Yep - I think you have guessed it. I work for Dunnies R Us...... and our motto...... "It might be bleep to you, but it's my bread and butter." That explains how I know how to spell diarrhoea. And I am a highly tuned athlete - know all about carbohydrates, fat, McDonald's, all of that nutrition stuff from my Olympic days.lol lol
Andrew De Castella2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowupID: 257311

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 08:53

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 08:53
Andrew, I thought you may have been a zoo keeper or one of santas maintenance engineers, ;-) but...........Dunnies R Us....... you must really live in the sticks, and I know those dunnymen can run, and Karen, you should see their bodys, full of muscle. Jen
FollowupID: 257315

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:34

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 22:34
Karen is a very naughty girl I figure. And body full of muscle - my Jen is laughin coz I make Bert Newton look like that pretty boy from backyard blitz. Never was good at names. Fastest I run now is to the dunny myself. And Jen, you can't be as clean as you claim above - after all, paddling around in a slimy dam catching sick fish with a washing basket. I reckon that you are making a claim to be the Mum of the Forum Jen. Or maybe we will start calling you Nannie.
AndrewMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257368

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 23:35

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 23:35
Andrew, I maybe naughty but I'm also a very nice girl..............................lol lol lol lol, so we work for "dunnies e us" now do we and we know all about "McDonalds". Well yes you should to! lol lol lol lol lol lol lol That's not what you told me in your email.......lol lol lol

Hey Jen, which muscels are you talking about on these dunny men, if they are good looking dunny men I know which muscel I would like to be looking at.

But on a more serious note, the night man (dunny man) used to come and collect our outside dunny waste, and one week mum forgot to wind up the close line that he had to go under all the time. Well, then when he came back in the dark with the can on his shoulder like they used to carry it, he got caught up in the clothes line and wore the lot.............lol lol lol lol lol lol, I can still remember all the comotion and I was only about 8 years old. I suppose we can laugh now, but the smell was in the backyard for weeks. I wonder how he went getting into bed that night when he got home with his Mrs..................lolKind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
FollowupID: 257371

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 07:45

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 07:45
Proves my point about Karen really........My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257379

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:04

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:04
No! NO!NO! Andrew, I don't want to be mum to anything or anyone else. I have one more "know it all 19yo son" to grow up, then I quit ,never again, it means responsibility. Not that I didn't enjoy it but I have run out of steam and Aaron looks down on me now, I cannot reach his ear to give it a clip:-) especially with my right arm, as I have torn the rotator cuff muscle. Poor me:-( Strike me pink!! Karen has got a desperate naughty streak, we will have to watch her, she may need some counselling, seeing she has a Geoff. Do you have much to do with her Geoff?? Poor bloke, he must be at the gym 24/7 trying to fulfil her dreams. LoL LoL Andrew, I am very clean inside, the outside tends to get a bit grubby at times, but the dam event was a major, I am so happy I saved most of the fish. Mission accomplished under slime and mud. Some women pay big money for body mud packs:-) Andrew, how far away is your dunny that you use for your daily exercise program:-) Jen
FollowupID: 257389

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:24

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:24
Karen, Now I am a nice clean girl, Ok, I was visualising ( from years ago, as we are now modern in that department, you know push of the button, no maggots etc.) the upper and the lower muscles, not the inbetween. Now remember back when dunnymen wore navy blue singlets and short navy blue shorts. Their upper torso was full of worked muscle that bulged through their singlet and there legs were like tree trunks, solid to the core. Now I wonder if that is the attire Andrew wears on his run, his Jen tends to laugh at his worked muscles, he may have to either change his technique or his costume:-) Have you any suggestions? Jen
FollowupID: 257391

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:53

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 09:53
Andrew, I am trying to think of that pretty boys name, is it the boy who thinks he's pretty;-) Jen
FollowupID: 257393

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 10:42

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 10:42
Jamie - Jen wants me to look like him instead of Bert!!My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257396

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 12:27

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 12:27
Oh Andrew, that would be soooooooo hard, tell her to keep watching Jamie. Don't despair. I am sure Jen really loves you as you are, but she just admires a different view, then forgets it. Eh! thats not why you keep running to the dunny? You aren't on fat blaster and putting your head into a vice, just to shape up as Jamie. I never think things like that of Geoff, over the years he has had so many different changes in his physique it gives me a change of scenery when I get time to look at it, I need binoculars. LOL Jen
FollowupID: 257403

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 22:24

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 22:24
i recently put a European 'substance' on my screen as it was advertised in Europe as a unique product that swept the water and other substances from the screen without relying on wipers , and i found it to be an amazing product, ... but I have always been a clean screen fanatic... new wiper blades regularly and a home brew in the screen washer system ...can't comment on Santa's exhaust shistem..
AnswerID: 39628

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 22:51

Sunday, Dec 07, 2003 at 22:51
Steve, I don't blame you for not wanting to comment on the santa issue, I think we will leave it for the good people who know more about him. He never comes to our place, has crashed a couple of times, too much plonk from previous calls:-) The European "subtance" sounds good, where did you pick it up from in Oz? We are forever running dry in our wiper tank as we live in the country and always washing dust and bugs off the screen. Jen
FollowupID: 257300

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 23:39

Monday, Dec 08, 2003 at 23:39
Jen, it is harder for us country people to keep our windscreens cleaner isnt it. We wash our car and have it spotless, one drive into town and it looks like it has never been washed.......How I would love to live in the city for certain reasons....................... Hey Steve is that product your talking about, is that called rain - x, if it is that rain x, it is brilliant stuff......
karenKind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
FollowupID: 257372

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 12:41

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 12:41
Karen, Yes, I know how filthy our cars can become in one trip. But I wouldn't trade our place here for a city site anyday. It is bliss. We have been here 15 years, sometimes we say, lets go, then we weigh it all up and stay. Better to put up with the dirt of the bush than the dirt of nosiy civilisation. Tell me, what is this rain X, what does it do, where do you get it??? Jen
FollowupID: 257405

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 16:39

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 16:39
Yeh - I love that Rain X stuff as you call it - I just call it rain. Comes out of those fluffy things in the sky and feels wet when it lands on you. Helps the plants grow too. Though my fruit on the trees has some hail marks on it because the rain x froze into little balls called hail x
AndrewMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257412

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 20:21

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 20:21
Andrew, you have done it again. You have put a smile on my dial that turns into laughter. You must have a happy household, keep it up, son. Thanks Jen
FollowupID: 257422

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 20:35

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 20:35
That's my Andrew!! He is always making the kids and myself laugh/groan with his antics, comments etc. Yes we have a happy household, he is a great dad and hubby.
Just been out checking the fruit trees and chasing the birds out from the netting.The cherries are looking good, but wilting in this heat, a bit like me really!!
Keep smiling. JenMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 257424

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 21:33

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2003 at 21:33
Jen, it is great to hear of happy homes where there is fun and laughter that comes from the heart and not the idiot box. We miss our kids now they have their own homes and familys, our house was always filled with fun, teasing and practical jokes. Now that we are just about back to the old Darby and Joan thing, we are redirecting our lives into different avenues of fun. We still have fun with the kids but it is not as often, as there is only 2/4 that live in the area. Cherries, Yum, it must be good to grow your own, although it sounds they birds enjoy a good feed too. This is what happens to our mullberries and peaches here, especially during the drought, everything is hungry. Water melons and rock melons are in full swing here now so we have been over indulging. We have had some unbearable humidity here amongst storms and showers over the last week. It has been raining all day here, and we had our Enterprise centre's christmas party this afternoon and it was a bit of a flop as not many turned up and we had the food to ourselves. That we didn't need, as we are starting to change our shape again, in the wrong direction:-) Anyway keep sharing your fun and we will laugh with you. Jen

FollowupID: 257429