Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 14:57
James G1
Just wondering if the 1999-2004 model Mazda B2500 will be powerful enough off road (mainly sand and rock) and i am also wondering if i will need to make any modifications in order for it to be a better 4x4
Cheers, James
Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:05
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:05
James G1
I had a B2500 4x4 for quite a while and only sold it in January.
It has been right across the country towing a 1.8t trailer. It has been on such roads, with the trailer, as
Plenty Highway,
Bloomfield Track,
Cape York by the Development Road,
Gibb River Road, into the Bungle Bungle NP., another steep road from
Scone via Ellerston to
Nundle etc.
I had it lifted 50 mm with heavy duty ARB springs and OME shocks.
Never once did it even look like stopping through lack of power even with the trailer on. There is always low range when the going gets very steep.
One thing I would check is the state of the radiator as they are known to get hot under heavy and hot conditions.
Otherwise it is a great vehicle.
DW
Follow Up By: James G1 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:10
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:10
thanks for that mate, how much did all your mods cost??
Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:18
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:18
James G1
It is quite a while, 2001 I think, since I did the mods so I cannot remember and the figures would have changed a lot in that time.
Sorry I cannot help more.
DW
Follow Up By: James G1 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:22
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:22
Nah thats fine mate
Thanks for the info, i am thinking of getting one for going on sand tracks, dunes, bush tracks and rocky tracks (mundaring powerline). do you think it will cope
well with those conditions?
Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:32
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:32
I ran BFG All Terrain tyres and varied the pressure depending on conditions. The only time I had a small problem was turning on
Cable Beach near
Broome because I had not let my tyres down.
Reply By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:36
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 16:36
hi james g1
you wont have a problem
mine is a 1997 bravo
and its done heaps of towing of a high profile viscount 16ft van and sand driving including calcup
hill on wa's southcoast before i put the after market safari turbo on it with 5 people and our
camping gear onboard
and then up the west coastal
sand dunes and beach driving and the csr after i turbo'ed it
i would highly recomend fitting a 2.5inch exhaust incorporating a truck type muffler this gave
mine a very noticeble gain in performance and a very exceptable exhaust burble tone
i also extended the sides and top of the snorkle head by 30mls so it scoops in more air
it rams more air down its throat so to speak while driving it
this has made the turbo more responsive from a lower engine rev band which i noted on the turbo boost pressure guage as soon as this modification was done
(i have no doubt that this mod would improve a lot of other vehicle performances as
well)
keep the cooling system in good condition and the air cleaner clean
they are a better vehicle than a lot of people /non- owners rate the bravo
cheers barry
Follow Up By: James G1 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:07
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:07
Thanks guys, sounds like it is a pretty decent off roader...
I am tossing up between that and a Holden Jackaroo, however i like the diesel and the ute part of the bravo, and they arent a bad price either
Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:33
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:33
hi my exhaust mod cost $650 as it already had a dumppipe on the turbo
the turbo extension i did myself using handyman skills
Follow Up By: James G1 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:37
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:37
Sounds Great!!!
Have you heard anything about the aspirated 2.6 litre, i have heard it is considered a bit gutless especially for off roading, is this true???
Obviously i would rather the diesel, however if it comes to it, i may have to go the petrol or the Jackaroo....
Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:54
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 18:54
hi
the bravo petrol 2.6 had reasonable power but was way to thirsty
Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:00
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:00
are you aware that the jackaroos had 24volt electrical systems that can be a pain in the you know what and the they have 2 batterys under the bonnett where as there is space under the bravo bonnett for a second battery that can run your engel etc
jackaroos second battery space already taken up if your get what i mean
Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:01
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:01
James,
I had a petrol Courier (same motor as the B2500) for work. Great vehicle but a bit weak on the clutch in sand and pretty thirsty when working hard. Went like the clappers though when empty
Follow Up By: James G1 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:16
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:16
Thanks Guys for the advice
disco driver, would you recommend on sand as that is the main off road terrain i will go on??
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:57
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 19:57
V6 jack is 12 volt, which is what james was looking at
Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 21:01
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 21:01
James,
Under normal conditions on sand you wouldn't have a problem, my job entailed working fully loaded and towing in deep soft sand with frequent start/stop operations. Could smell the clutch often after a few hours of this type of operational work.
Disco
PS The best thing I've ever driven on sand was a 3cyl 2stroke Suzuki, Horrible thing on the roads though, slow noisy and uncomfortable.
Follow Up By: James G1 - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 21:33
Tuesday, Nov 15, 2011 at 21:33
Thanks guys, just needed to clarify a few things...
is maintenance an issue, will it be much for parts?