Submitted: Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 07:28
Member - onemore
Good morning all,
There is a land cruiser in NSW that I would like to purchase but the thing is I live in QLD,
so I am wondering if the registration process would be difficult seeing it is a private sale.
What document should I ensure the seller provide to me for the transfer to take place. i.e safety certificates etc.
Any info greatly appreciated.
Reply By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 07:50
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 07:50
Depends on what your state requires for you to transfer the rego ?? Dont think it would be an issue as my cousin has just gone from here (
Sydney) to QLD and has transfered his commodore only thing is it is his car ?? so may require different documentation. I would ring your local department (our is called RTA not sure what its called in QLD) and ask what they require from a vehicle that you have bought, BUT is in the original owners name (not yours) just so they get it clear what your asking and whats required........................Also dont forget to do a check on the vehicle your buying, we have a REVS check here in
Sydney also there is VIC ROADS check (I always use both) often VIC roads comes up with more info then REVS (not sure if its private sale or not) but either way have it checked as there is nothing stopping even a yard from selling you a vehicle that has been written off then repaired and put back on the lot again. They are not allowed to reregister a written off vehicle now but maybe this vehicle was prior to the new laws coming in place. Car yards are suppose to tell you if it has or not but some of these shonky dealers wont (for obvious reasons) get it checked mad if you dont.....................may also be money owing on it ..............
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 07:51
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 07:51
sorry just reread your post ""private sale"" more the reason to get it checked out................
Reply By: cro142 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:40
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:40
I am a Queenslander and over the years I have purchased several vehicles from private sellers in NSW & Victoria.
The registration is NOT transferrable between states.
You will need to re-register the vehicle in Queensland.
The documents you will need for this are as follows:
1. Proof of ownership - a receipt from the seller will do.
2. A Queensland Safety Certificate - a NSW Safety Certificate is nice for your own piece of mind when buying, but is not accepted for QLD rego.
3. The vehicle must have a compliance plate with all VIN details etc.
4. A completed Application for Registration form, available at any Queensland Transport office, which is where you will do the rego.
In order to drive the vehicle home from NSW you can do either of two options:
1. Get a permit from NSW RTA to drive an "unregistered" vehicle from a particular place to home.
2. Arrange with the seller to leave the NSW rego current while you drive the vehicle home - i.e. drive it home on his rego, then return the plates to him for cancellation. Not sure about the insurance implications here.
I have done iy both ways.
Also be sure to follow up all the REVS and WOVR checks desribed in the reply above.
Overall, it's a straightforward process.
Peter C
Follow Up By: cro142 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:48
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:48
Also, for the Rego application, you will need a Certificate of Third Party Insurance (CTP), obtainable over the counter at any Suncorp branch (Also available from other insurers)
Follow Up By: Member - onemore - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:49
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 08:49
Peter,
Thanks, your response is exactly what I was looking for, i.e. someone that has actually been through the process.
Reply By: rags - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:00
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:00
I would want to know what suburb the car is from,as unfortunately there is an area around the south west
sydney that seems to specialize in the rebirth market,usually being sold for their sister who has moved O/S
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:26
Thursday, Nov 17, 2011 at 17:26
Yep you got that right, starts at parramatta and keeps going most of the way into the city and is mostly the south west of parramatta rd as you have said, I dont even bother ringing the number if im in the process of looking for a car, my mate who use to work for NRMA inspoections and then a private firm called it cut & shut city.......and he's so write.........
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 22:38
Friday, Nov 18, 2011 at 22:38
There was one company 3WJ that specialized in written off vehicles '