Swagin it at King Edward River C/G,Honeymoon Bay

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 22:05
ThreadID: 90196 Views:4223 Replies:3 FollowUps:13
As others have stated on here that they leave there C/T at Drysdale river station[set up so you still need to pay whole it's there right] or do you fold it up and go on your way ? and go on and over night it up to King Edward river sleeping in a Mitchell double swag or would we be better in a tent due to the weather,what do you normally do.cheers GD

Reply By: Member - kimberleybloke - Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 22:47

Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 22:47
G'day Greendog,dont worry about trying it this year,you are too late,wet season has already started up that way.My last trip up there,(2009)camped at Drysdale,camped at King Edward River with camper trailer,took camper in to Mitchell Falls,no problems if you take it easy and your camper is genuine off road,then took camper all the way to Kalumburu (Honeymoon Bay).Just remember,every year is different,this year is shaping up as a BIG wet,so next years conditions is any bodies guess!!Whenever you get there,enjoy it,it is magnificent country.
AnswerID: 470454

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 23:05

Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 23:05
Thanks mate just starting to plain a trip for 2113 now is the time to asking all the questions cheers GD
FollowupID: 744943

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 11:35

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 11:35
Wow! That is some early planning!!!!
FollowupID: 744981

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 15:23

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 15:23
Yeah mate we have to plan early as wife and i both work hard.Only get low income so we start saving and planning now.All worth it in the end when it comes around.cheer's GD
FollowupID: 744993

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 23:28

Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 23:28
Hi Greendog

We took our caravan to the King Edward River camp, and took a day trip from there to Mitchell Falls. We'd planned to camp at the camp ground for Mitchell Falls (it is not near the falls) overnight, but still had daylight left to return back to our beautiful riverside camp. At Kalumburu we went to McGowans Island Beach camp ground - a bit before Honeymoon Bay and I'm sure just as good as each other. Check out My Blogs 2008. Some people left their caravans at Drysdale River Station and took a tent to do the Mitchell Falls and Kalumburu extensions. If your trailer is tough enough to get to Drysdale, it should get to Kalumburu. We made final decisions about each part of the tour when we got near after talking to others. Road conditions vary greatly so be prepared to be flexible.

AnswerID: 470456

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 23:38

Saturday, Nov 19, 2011 at 23:38
Thanks mate for your feed back ,we are just wanting to leave the camper at Drysdale then use the Swag for a couple of nights.cheers GD
FollowupID: 744945

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 05:40

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 05:40
''A couple of nights'' is no where enough to visit the Mitchell Falls and Kalumburu. A week would be closer.
At Kalumburu, take care about where you camp in a swag or tent. I have seen coc tracks go right past a tent with 2 kids and 2 adults in it, 50m from the ocean. The croc went 150m into the scrub to get fish scraps left by someone a day or 2 before.

I would choose a tent before a swag for air circulation.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 744949

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 14:04

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 14:04
We didn't see any crocs, but didn't swim at Kalumburu. We had a great day fishing and caught heaps, most of which went back due to the policy of only taking what you can eat whilst there. They were the nicest fish we've ever eaten; even better than the barra from the Pentecost River.

Our time frame was; overnight and re-fuel at Drysdale River Station, three nights a KE River, with one day looking at the Aboriginal rock painting sites, one day at Mitchell Falls - walking there and chopper taxi back, and another day at camp because it was so nice (luckily we were 'at home' that day when some campers lit a campfire in a grassy area in hot windy weather :O). We spend two or three nights at McGowans Island, including the fishing boat, then doing the fascinating mission tour in Kalumburu the morning we left. Another night at KE River then the following night at Drysdale again; fuelled up and filled water tanks. 100 kilometres a day on those roads when towing was enough!

Mh

FollowupID: 744990

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 11:52

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 11:52
Hi GREENDOG,
We left the camper trailer at Drysdale as it was only a strongly modified soft roader. We've been back a month now. Our hols are in Sept. & things are nowhere near as busy then. Hotter though.
We camped at Mitchell Falls camp the night before in our tent, & walked in to The Falls & caught the chopper back. With Motherhens good advise we camped at the King Edward river & it was Beaut . Thanks M.H.
We didn't camp atKalumburu but continued up to Honeymoon Bay for lunch & stayed at McGowan's' Island that night. We preferred much more for camping safety & very nice place.
We were able to take the trailer to both places but the road had just been graded.
We take our little Oz tent so we can get to the places the trailer won't go.
You could buy your swag with a reasonably priced tent which will accommodate your swag if you need the extra protection.
Make sure to stop at Drysdale for an incredible Burger. Ellenbrea nice camp too.
We were very lucky that the wet had been so big this year b because the falls were still running really well.
The rocks when crossing the Falls are extremely slippery. I wished I'd taken 2 walking poles!
Take care, safe travels, Bye for now. Ma.
AnswerID: 470482

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 12:14

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 12:14
GREENDOG,
I'm only learning this & you don't seem to have an M.M button.
These photos aren't good but will give you an idea.Image Could Not Be Found
Image Could Not Be Found If this doesn't work. I'll get them on to my profile.
Bye for now, Ma.
FollowupID: 744984

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 15:39

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 15:39
Thanks for the Pic's gives me an idea what it's like,I've just showin the wife where it is on the map and she said it's sooooo farrrrrr but she will love it once we get there,We have a old 1990 Trak Shak off rd camper what would suggest to take it up past Drysdale or take the Swag,Tent.cheer's GD
FollowupID: 744995

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 16:46

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 16:46
Back again GREENDOG,
It is going to be entirely up to the conditions next year, both weather & road wise. You'll have to ring Kalumburu before you leave Drysdale. It's a great spot.
Before we left we were advised that the Kalumburu road would be closed until the end of the year. We got Permits just in case & low & behold we get to Drysdale & the road had been opened. Just a few places of very careful driving at some unfinished washouts.
What time of the year are you intending to go, once you're up that far it would be a shame to not see what is up there.
The camp ground at Honey moon Bay is more of a fishermans Shack & nowhere near as pretty as McGowans. They both have Salties & sharks.
The people at McGowans are very good & the grounds are very pleasant & to me were more croc safe, not so likely to attract them at night. The ablutions are better at McGowans.
Little crabs all crawl around in their shells at night but they're only tiny.
McGowans sell fuel but I don't know how good it is we made the mistake of filling right up just before there.
Your wife will love McGowans but take both of your sleeping alternatives & make up your mind when you get to Drysdale.
It would be a shame to go all that way & not be able to go on because of the trailer. Have a look at our set up in my profile or I'll send you my email address.
FollowupID: 745003

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 17:23

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 17:23
GREENDOG, Con't,
As it turned out, we could've taken our little trailer up there.
The little crabs crawl over everything at night. They don't do any harm. Big caravans were at McGowans &
off road camper trailers. Take care, safe travels .
Bye for now, Ma.
FollowupID: 745005

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 17:37

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 17:37
Thanks Ma for all your info very helpful,we are not going till 2113 but as i stated we are on a low income and need to start asking and plaining earlier then most people hope we don't bother you to much asking all the quest.cheer's GD
FollowupID: 745006

Follow Up By: GREENDOG ! - Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 19:00

Sunday, Nov 20, 2011 at 19:00
Forgot to ask for your Email A.D,mine is greendog14@live.com
FollowupID: 745010

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 11:22

Monday, Nov 21, 2011 at 11:22
GREENDOG!,
I sent you an Email.
The Post master said it was Undeliverable. I'm mapacook@bigponddotcom
I'll bounce my Email to you that way.
FollowupID: 745050