Submitted: Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 19:52
ss--ss
G'day, wondering if anyone has camped at
chaffey dam around Xmas time.. Thinking of heading up there with the kids for 2 or 3 nights with the camper trailer but not if there's going to be no room.. Also anyone know if I can bring my dog along?
Cheers Don
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 20:11
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 20:11
As far as I know you can take your dog, room there is plenty of it.
There is also
Keepit Dam, plenty of open paddocks there and if that is all to hot Sheeba Dam up the top of
Nundle
Check with State
Water at Dungowan/
Nundle they will tell you.
Follow Up By: ss--ss - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:13
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:13
Cheers Thanks for the information..
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 20:42
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 20:42
Don, I just may see you up there.
Fred
Follow Up By: ss--ss - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:16
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:16
It's a great spot up there isn't it, I've been a couple of times.. Usually only a few people
camping when I been there but i guess a lot of area to
camp even in peak times
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:24
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:24
I'll be there somewhere mate, with my caravan.
Fred.
Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:41
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:41
"Being a
Mildura boy, I have to ask...where's
Chaffey Dam? Also is it related to the Chaffey Brothers who started the irrigation colonies along the Murray in the 1880's?"
That's the question I was about to ask when I decided to let Google be my friend and discovered that it's near
Tamworth and wasn't named after
WB Chaffey but rather Frank Augustus Chaffey. It's interesting to me simply because Franks son William (Bill) Chaffey served in the 2/5th Independent Company (Z Force and later the 2/5 Commando) with my grandfather during the dark days of 1942 in the back blocks of New Guinea. Bill Chaffey asked some very interesting questions in parliament as to how a
seat polisher in Moresby got a few gongs for bravery when he was a whole mountain range from the action!.
A little off topic but interesting
Tamworth related history and certainly worthy of a Doug T investigation I reckon. Have a great Xmas break.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:57
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 21:57
Mick....I continue to be impressed by your investigative skills mate LOL LOL
And, BTW, we have a common link. True. My old dad, Fred senior, a pioneer/stockman/station mechanic, from
the Tanami Track circa 1955, is a
Mildura local, still residing in Thirteenth St. at 87 yrs old, and he's a WWII ex sub mariner, work that out?
Cheers Mate.
Fred
Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:10
Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 22:10
13th Street, one of the few streets I haven't lived in Fred! 7th, 8th, 10th, 14th, 15th and 17th. Lime, Walnut and
Deakin! Cabarita (The Lake),
Red Cliffs and Spiders Web! I think I should be having a quiet Ale with your old man at the Workers next time I'm in town. I grew up working the paddle boats while a
young bloke. The Wanera (RIP - burnt to the waterline in the late 80's), Coonawarra and Avoca. A great place to grow up was Majura lol.
This may interest your dad;
EO thread 77681