Bad Back

Gidday all,

SWMBO has a bit of a back problem (and me as well). All lower back. What have people done to alleviate this with regards to inserts in seats, cushions etc. Will not go the expense of putting new seats in but want to enjoy touring.
2003 Hilux with camper trailer.

Tomorrow is here!

Reply By: petengail - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:43

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:43
I have spinal spondylosis (lower back trauma), and am on a disability pension for it. We have a rodeo dual cab. I had my mechanic put a chock under the back of the seat to raise the back up about 2 1/2 inches to make the seat more "bench like". Its not as comfortable as the original seat but it makes me sit up more straight. I think it has made a difference. And if it dosent, you can always take the chock out. Hope this is of some help. Pete
AnswerID: 471426

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:45

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:45
G'day Greg, as a sufferer of arthritis in the back I know where you are coming from.
The best thing I have found is a portable lumbar support that sits on the seat
behind the lower back. It is a flexible light metal frame covered with a stretchy net.
Cost all of $10 but cant recall where I bought it. I'll do some checking & get back to you.cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 471427

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:52

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 10:52
Can be found on eBay for around $10..may be available at autocrap type stores as
well. Big advantage is the airflow..doesnt get sticky & wet like anything with vinyl etc.
...........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 746065

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 14:46

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 14:46
This is what myself and wife use. Only about $8. They do help a bit, but stopping regularly for a stretch is a good way to go.

lumbar support from officeworks

wizzer
FollowupID: 746084

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 11:05

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 11:05

Took my truck to a motor trimmer and showed him exactly what I required.

He stripped the seat and fitted an internal air operated lumber support and made changes to the lower seat padding. Made a huge improvement so much so that we are doing the passenger seat next

Cost was $220-00 drive in drive out

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 471428

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 11:46

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 11:46
We also had pump-up lumbar supports fitted to front seats of a '97 80 series, by Motorcare, in Brisbane. Think cost may have been similar to Tezza's. These made a huge difference to travelling comfort, for both of us.

Currently use a booster cushion, tucked under the Black Duck seat cover, in my 79 series ute. It helps in the lumbar area, with the seat adjusted properly.

Spending a bit of time getting the seat "just right" can mean comfortable travelling. Also, as David mentioned, plenty of walking can be a huge benefit to the body's general fitness.

FollowupID: 746174

Reply By: Sigmund - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 11:31

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 11:31
Get professional advice. There are a number of devices on the market; the wrong one can make the pain worse.

Most lower back pain is unspecific, ie. a cause cannot be found. But you need a solution that works for your particular kind of pain and posture.

And some forms of pain do have a specific cause that you really must not ignore.
AnswerID: 471429

Follow Up By: Andrew - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 11:57

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 11:57
Agree Sigmund

With herniated disc, osteophytes and arthritis all in the lower spine, I used shaped supports to get comfortable. felt good while driving.
Found I had to go to the physio more often though.
Then she threw it all away and set me up in the correct position (which seemed a lot less comfortable at the time) but it relieved the pressures that were making things worse and means I need treatment far less often. Applied the advice to the office chair as well and that also helped.

That physio visit has saved me heaps of down time.

A
FollowupID: 746073

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 13:14

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 13:14
Yeah, I'd be a basket case without the physio and regular workouts.

The right back support for car and office are just part of the picture.

There's some good info out there on LBP.

A strategy in plain language from our NPS: click

Clinical guidelines for diagnosis and treatment from the American College of Physicians: click

FollowupID: 746076

Follow Up By: Old Dave - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 15:53

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 15:53
Hi i agree

I had very bad lower back pain for years in the end i could not walk for more

than 4 mts without having to sit down,

I got help by having back compression and fusion i have not felt better since

having the op.

Regards Dave.

FollowupID: 746093

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 13:22

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 13:22
I do not have a chronic back problem, however I do get a very sore back after the constant sitting and end up at the physio when I get back home. They tell me no matter if you have a back problem or not, sitting is detrimental - add to that jarring over bumpy roads and its a pure recipe for pain. It's a fact of age that our back muscle degenerate. As a recreational triathlete, I have to run, cycle, & swim constantly (8-12hrs/week) to improve and maintain my performance but things like walking, yoga, stretching, sleep, diet, and core strength are just as important - this helps me avoid injury and keep muscles aligned. Everyone can do something to strengthen their core muscles, even if you have an existing injury. The worst thing you can do is sit - whether at home or in the vehicle so we have to move to make up for all the sitting! Preventative measures are better for the long term.

The best thing you can do for your back is make time in the day to walk. Ideally 3x30mins - a morning stroll, a midday stroll, and an evening stroll. But even once a day is better than nothing. We should all walk more, but it is more important than ever when you are driving/travelling for long periods for days/weeks/months on end!
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 471438

Reply By: Villatranquilla - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:00

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:00
Hi Greg - bucket seats in my old Hilux were a killer - replaced them with ford falcon seats that had a good tilt range as well as lumber support and height adjustment from wreckers about $100 for the two (1998 model from memory) bolted into existing slots -problem solved. Am looking at doing it again to my Navara as the seats kill my wife's back
AnswerID: 471458

Follow Up By: Villatranquilla - Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:11

Thursday, Dec 01, 2011 at 17:11
sorry - make that a 1996 tickford falcon
FollowupID: 746106

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 00:40

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 00:40
Both Hubby and I have lower back problems, sitting for any length of time is not good. Chiro is where we go and have done for many a long year. I have always said the chiro has kept me on my feet, I broke my back when I was younger, not good in old age. We find the Patrol is good for our backs, that's why we bought a patrol instead of a LC, we couldn't sit in one of those for five minutes. Sorry LC owners, just the way we are. LOL I'm one who cannot under any circumstances have any supports of anykind behind me, the seat has to be straight or I'm in big trouble, I've also got scoliosis which is probably why I can't use the supports. Keep exercising is the best medicine, use it or lose it.........LOL

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 471503

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:16

Friday, Dec 02, 2011 at 20:16
I love 4WDs because they seem to have seats that deal with my back problem. The opposite happens when I sit in the seats of saloon cars. The big plus of 4WD seats, as in the Pajero or my Patrol, is that they make you sit very upright whereas many saloon car seats seem to have you riding on a La-Z-Boy.

The line from your hips/knees/feet should form something near to a right angle at the knees. The spine should be as vertical as possible in the seat. The sides of the seat should support you in such a way as to stop you moving your spine horizontally and 4WD seats have those side supports that do that.

The addition of a lumbar support brings this all together and puts a nice curve in your spine about L4/L5.

Finally, when you get put of the car make sure you stretch. I see so many people get out of cars only to sit down immediately. Once you get out, walk around, stretch your spine, hamstrings and calves. It does make a difference to me.
AnswerID: 471579