Teewah Beach Report

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:00
ThreadID: 90506 Views:2621 Replies:3 FollowUps:4

Just returned from 4 nights at Teewah and I think the permit system is working and money is going to good use. There was minimal rubbish around compared to what I saw 6 months ago, I also noticed more rubbish bins along the beach! We saw different rangers driving around during the day keeping a very close eye on things.

Reply By: rags - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:49

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 15:49
Interesting comments,was only just reading this article
Site Link
AnswerID: 471884

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 16:09

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 16:09
I am guessing like many reporters they have not set a foot on the beach?

We drove through the third cutting towing our camper with no problems, didn't need low range, didn't have to flog it down nice and steady, tyres down etc etc. On the way back we followed a Xtrail up the cutting and the xtrail made it look like a dirt road no dramas.

One thing I would like to see is more toilets up that stretch, we take our toilet but so many people don't have one and they will not drive to freshwater.

I am all for the permits and charging people as long as it's put to good use and just the fact that you see rangers now is a good thing, many years ago we used to go there and not see a ranger for days and sometime we don't see them at all.

When we got our permits on the Thursday the lady said that so far only 100 people are camping and another 120 to come by the weekend. Was very dead for school holidays and it suited me just fine.
FollowupID: 746620

Follow Up By: rags - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:08

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:08
I haven't looked into the new permit system as yet,but when we go back up home to the sunny coast [when we drive in the prado/as oppose to fly] i try to go for a beach run.Will be up there in xmas /jan period.I guess i better look into where we get the permits and the cost, as the beach run will be required to clear the mind,,especially after seeing your pics to remind me of what we miss down here in nsw
The article i found while reading the sunnydaily online caught my eye as i had not really heard any thing about the permits.You are correct in the statement that the reporter will never let the facts get in the way of a good story.
Russ
FollowupID: 746630

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:06

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:06

My biggest gripe with the QLD permit system is fees are charged per calendar day and not a 24 hour period.

We recently used the beach for camping as a through road from Tin Can Bay to the Sunshine Coast.

Called in at Rainbow at 330 pm and went top get a vehicle access permit. One day permit $15
No worries. Ah but you are going to camp overnight so you need a week permit $25
By the time I shelled out another $10-60 for camping I had a total of $35-60 for one night.

Now I'm not against the permit system but each year we visit Moreton Island, Fraser Island. and Teeewah Beach and I can't buy an annual permit covering all areas.

I rang National Parks and they could't care less. So to buy annual permits for my above destinations costs $530 per year. The permits are also vehicle specific so if I use the ute for one trip I need a new permit if I take passengers that require me to take the wagon.

With this kind of money coming in you would expect to see some improvements.

Cheers Teza

AnswerID: 471887

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:24

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2011 at 17:24
Agree 100% mate, we went up there about 2-3 months ago just a quick boys trip staying Sat night but a weekly permit worked out cheaper than buying a 2 day permit. I guess they can't control a in/out type system like at some 4x4 parks.

FollowupID: 746636

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:13

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:13
So what sort of improvement would you be expecting for your annual $530 for the three areas?
FollowupID: 746712

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:06

Thursday, Dec 08, 2011 at 12:06
The permit system can be expensive in some situations, however the beach is a lot quieter these days, so it makes for a better experience.
AnswerID: 471946