Travelling to Darwin in February / March 2012

G'day to all

I have to take some overseas business people ( by 4wd ) from Adelaide to Darwin and return in late February to mid March. I have told them that the wet season could present some problems, especially with the roads but they cannot go any other time, so as I have never been much further north of Alice what problems should I expect to face with the weather and roads ?
I understand that the weather is unpredictable and anything could happen at that time but I would like to know whether the main bitumen roads in an out of Darwin remain open ? Do all dirt roads in and around the area become inpassible ? Availability of supplies if out of Darwin, what chance is there of swagging it or should I expect to be roughing it in a motel, things to see and do at that time of year etc etc ? Whilst I don't mind getting stuck in a pub for a few days I don't think the businessmen would cope very well listening to my never ending array of jokes while I consume copius amounts of amber fluid !! Any and all advice is much appreciated.

Gazz

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 21:36

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 21:36
I've camped in a tent in Darwin in January. It was a fair dinkum sweat box :-) A nice place though, not what I expected. We gladly retreated to an air conditioned cabin after a few nights. Tenting up the centre in January was very hot as well but not as humid. Cheers
AnswerID: 472701

Reply By: offroad_tommo - Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 23:44

Friday, Dec 16, 2011 at 23:44
Hi mate,

As you say, the weather up here is unpredictable this time of the year. The time you suggest is also a very common time for cyclones, its the rain they dump that really shuts everything down.

I really wouldn’t recommend camping out, its going to be hot and humid with periods of torrential rain and the few hundred mossies that would like nothing else but to share the camp with you, and as you would likely be the only ones camping out there, your there only meal. It can be done, I Do it on many occasions however would only do it for necessity eg, fishing.

Your best bet is to wait until your up here and visit the local tourism office and see what’s available. Even call now and get some ideas as to what is available during the wet and perhaps make some bookings. Kakadu does shut down but I know that they do a lot of scenic flights and just during or after the wet it can be an amazing sight, so perhaps you could book for something like that? Jabiru usually is accessible all year round, only the northern access road (Arnhem highway) can become flooded and impassable at the Adelaide River if this happens you need to take the long way around via Pine Creek.

Litchfield, depending on rain amounts will most likely be closed to swimming however I believe you may still be able to visit certain spots.

The main roads should remain open, only occasional stream rises could close them for a short while but they usually run off pretty fast. If you do sniff a low or cyclone though then you better watch weather reports as its really unpredictable as to what can and will flood. Katherine is usually a safe spot to be if your worried about getting stranded.

I would also suggest that you bring some recovery gear as if you go off the road, your likely to encounter boggings, just keep off the black soil and you'l be fine!

Good travels,
Tom
AnswerID: 472704

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 00:10

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 00:10
Katherine a safe spot?

The Katherine River is subject to flooding, with the highest recorded being in January 1998 when tropical cyclone Les dumped water in the river catchment area causing the river to swell and peak at 20.4 metres, inundating the town and a surrounding area of 1,000 square kilometres. In April 2006 there was very little warning for the flood which peaked at around 19 metres. Again the entire town was flooded.

FollowupID: 747548

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 00:32

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 00:32
I have lived up in Darwin for years and I believe Tom has summed it up just about right. And in the event of a major cyclone I too would evacuate to Katherine - the largest town south of Darwin that would cope with any evacuation. Of course if the cyclone moved inland and started dumping on Katherine you would need to move further south.

Most of the tourist spots are all closed due to being meters under water. Most of the tourist have left town and Darwin is quiet again for a while.

It is of course so hot - so humid hot - just soooooo hoooooot. Try sleeping in a sauna and you get the idea. If you don't have close access to a swimming pool to dump yourself in a few times a night it is very uncomfortable. My cousin came up to Darwin in the buildup and learned a new meaning of the word 'WHEW' - used about all the time.

We developed techniques of surviving up there - only buying thin light clothes, taking lots of water with you all the time - even to pop down to the shops, stand in the shade a lot, change your clothes a lot, live with tropical ear and heat rashes etc.

Aside from all that - January and February must be the most spectacular time to visit Darwin - most lightening anywhere in the world and most in that season. Unbelievable downpours of rain, mangos as street verge trees just dropping their fruit on the road. Fishing is a bit off at that time though - too wet for barra and too hot for saltwater fishing.

Enjoy yourself and book into an air conditioned cabin - they can be cheaper off season.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 747551

Follow Up By: offroad_tommo - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 01:54

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 01:54
Motherhen,

If your south of the Katherine river you can continue on your way back down south. If however your on the other side, your stuck and can be for some time. It's safe in that sense.

Yes Katherine does flood but once that river starts coming up those traveling through would be expected to head south, there is enough warning.

Just a tip for the original poster, when coming up and if there is a substantial amount of rain I find the Bureau of Meteorology river watch very helpful for determining rising river levels on the roads.
http://www.bom.gov.au/nt/flood/index.shtml

FollowupID: 747552

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 11:26

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 11:26
In April 2006, most of the rain was in the catchment eare to the east, and the town was under-prepared.

Katherine Flood 2006

Similarly, i read last night on the BOM site that there is a current flood warning for the Blackwood River - although we only got 10-15 mms. It takes a week or two to reach us from the rain further inland.

Mh

FollowupID: 747570

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 07:26

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 07:26
Unless there's a major Cyclone you won't have any problems, trucks and vehicles are up and down the Stuart Hwy day and night right through the wet season, come and enjoy.

AnswerID: 472709

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 07:28

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 07:28
G'day Doug Thanks for that !

Gazz
FollowupID: 747554

Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:24

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:24
I don't live in Darwin & have not experienced one of their wet seasons. I have lived 48 wet seasons in Cairns though.
I would guess we have a similar wet season, only we get heaps more rainfall & they get the heat for a couple months longer than us.
The thing I always tell people is, that as bad as it gets we don't evacuate for the SWEAT season.
The tourists & temporary residents might, but the locals don't.
We still keep on living right through it all, year after year.
People in the south are no different. They don't evacuate Melbourne or Hobart or Adelaide through the unbearable parts of winter.
We still get our fruit & veg & most of what we consume shipped up from Southern warehouses right through the wet season.
There is no famine through road closures.
The highways might be cut in various places, but not for ever.
I deal with tourists in my job & they are a very diverse lot. I have actually had an elderly couple from SA complain about the humidity on a day that was about 27 degrees & 50% humidity. To me that was glorious. To them it was murder.
They were concerned about a little bit of moisture on their skin, instead of being in awe of the contrast of this beautiful continent. They came from SA, the driest state on the driest inhabited continent, to the tenth wettest place in the world & weren't amazed. You gotta wonder why they bothered to leave home.
So I say "go for it".
If it's your first time Gazz you will be amazed.
Us locals are every year.
FollowupID: 747561

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:37

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:37
Thanks Fatso - I've stayed in Broome, Cairns and Port Douglas over the years and I adapt very easily to any conditions - even lived in Canberra for a few years ( one of the dumbest things I've ever done ) so I will be fine it's just my guests I'm worried about. Also spent some time in England where I worked out that Aussies are bigger whingers than the Poms ! Some Aussies would complain if you gave them oral sex and a million dollars ! I'm looking forward to the trip and thanks for your reply !

Gazz
FollowupID: 747562

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 07:26

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 07:26
Thanks Mike, Tom, Motherhen and Serendipity !

As the businessmen Im taking are paying for my fuel, my food, my accommodation ánd best of all - my beer, I will be quite happy roughing it in an air conditioned motel or similar ! Don't want to make you too jealous but I'm actually getting paid to do this trip as well - somebody has to do it ! I have over 20 years experience in outback travel, 4wdriving and bush skills and probably close to 40 years experience getting stuck in pubs so whatever happens I'm sure I will be prepared. All your advice has been taken on board and is greatly appreciated !

Gazz
AnswerID: 472710

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 08:15

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 08:15
Try a night at the Daly Waters pub. Good cold beer and airconditioned cabins. One of those unique "outback" pubs. Also do an excellent Surf and Turf.

FollowupID: 747557

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 08:21

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 08:21
Thanks Phil - I've heard about the Daly Waters pub, looking forward to eventually having a coldy ( or ten ) there and will definitely have the surf and turf !

Gazz
FollowupID: 747558

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:28

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:28
It would make more sense to take a plane, quicker and cheaper and also avoid the heat.. Michael
AnswerID: 472717

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:43

Saturday, Dec 17, 2011 at 09:43
Michael - it would appear to be more sensible to take a plane but there is a film crew involved with all there equipment - I can't say too much more due to a confidentiality agreement ! They're paying me so I will go with the flow until something becomes dangerous or just plain stupid and that's where I take over with my leadership skills !!

Gazz
FollowupID: 747563