Swags - how good are they?

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 13:24
ThreadID: 90751 Views:7022 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
A swag seems to be a good idea in cold weather but how are they when it warms up. I am thinking of one in conjunction with a 4WD awning for over night fishing trips on the beach.
Thanks for any comments.
Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

Reply By: Joe - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 13:46

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 13:46
A swag on a cot (to keep you off the ground) and under an awning is a great way to go.

In hot weather I have slept on it with the swag open, so just using it as a mattress, but I'd advise setting up a mozzie net as well.
AnswerID: 472979

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:09

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:09
Thanks Joe. I thought a mozzie net around the awning.
Kevin

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 747785

Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:20

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:20
I have used a traditional swag and found it was great until The great Kakadu mosquito attack made me bail out and into the mates tent. next added a mosquito net and found I couldn't guarantee I wouldn't touch the net and get bitten through it. Unless they are self supporting they can be difficult to set up effectively so they don't drape or get blown against you.
I then went for a tropical tent (mostly mesh with a storm cover) that the swag fitted into. Starting to carry a bit of gear here.
replaced the swag with a newer dome type. Lots of mesh. Found it was great for keeping pests out but if there was no breeze on humid nights it still acted a bit like a sauna.

So the new swag was great just about everywhere except for the really humid stuff when I found the mesh tent and self inflating mattress more comfortable.

Either swag has been great for cold camping. have woken numerous times with ice outside while snug as a bug inside.

A
AnswerID: 472981

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 03:12

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 03:12
bushmans

tried true and just works against the biggesr baddest mozie infected areas - seriosly when camping in the top end let alone other areas you wouldnt consider it unless youve bushmaned up just before sunset
FollowupID: 747891

Reply By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:25

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:25
Hello Kevin,

I presume this is what you are thinking of. There are a few good swags around. The main thing is to get good quality canvas. The cheaper swags seem to be thinner and are not as good. Mine is a Burke & Wills Redgum. The thing I like about it is the flyscreen comes right down to ground level so I can lie in there and still see out with the screen zipped up.

the awning is a $20 silver tarp cable tied to an $11 length of 25 x 25 RHS. This is then cable tied to my roof rack. It has been all over the place including Simpson Desert, numerous VIC High Country trips etc. Poles and ropes are from my caravan awning. When travelling I use a long strap which firmly ties the awning and poles/ropes etc to the roof rack.

In the warmer weather I just leave part of the Canvas outer unzipped but still over the top so it remains dark but plenty of air gets through.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 472982

Reply By: TrevorDavid- Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:26

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 14:26
Kevin,
My wife have used a swag for many years now and you are correct, the old swag with the canvas directly over you is just to hot in the warmer climates. For this reason we now have a swag with no see um mesh & rods to keep it all up of you for some ventilation. There is plenty around but we went with one from Kulyne kampers ( www.kulkyne.com ).

TDB
dontyajustluvit

AnswerID: 472983

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 18:26

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 18:26
Kevin,

The setup I have used for many years.
In hot weather The canvas top can be folded up leaving the insect mesh to keep out the nasties.

Couple of images from the CSR.

North Pool:

Well 33:

AnswerID: 473002

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 18:58

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 18:58
Thanks Richard. That looks good. Love your pictures. And a great shot of your laundry out to dry. What a perfect camp scene.
Kevin
Kevin

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 747808

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 20:28

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 20:28
Sensational pics there Richard.
I hope the flamin' bloke sneakin' around with camera at sparra's fart didn't disturb you slumber there old mate LOL LOL

Fred
FollowupID: 747822

Follow Up By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 05:55

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 05:55
Thanks guys.
This trip was after the EO gathering at Willuna in 2010.
FollowupID: 747842

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 13:27

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 13:27
Great setup!!

FollowupID: 747867

Reply By: Muntoo - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 21:47

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 21:47
My idea of a swag is a flat piece of canvas with a mattress in it.

No hoops or covers or anything.

In the heat, i just take my swag and a mozzie net.

In the colder months, tent and swag.

Never needed anything more, always packed ready to roll, and takes seconds to pack away. Im not really into the hoops and stuff as they make a simple idea, complicated.
AnswerID: 473018

Follow Up By: steve g2 - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 22:49

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 22:49
I agree that the simpler the better. I have used swags for about 40years and for the last 25 or so have had a basic canvas swag closed with studs from Sar Major in SA (I think).

Partnered with a no frills mozzie net hung from the bullbar or with a shearers cot (also used as hungry boards on the trayback when doing extended exploration/mining/survey jobs) and a good quality tarp that extends over the tray for protection from the elements, I have found this to meet most of my needs.

Nothing to break or tear.
FollowupID: 747835

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 08:00

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 08:00
With a wife & 2 kids I have purchased several swags over the years. 8 in fact.
The only one that has ever had a failure was the only one we have owned that had a zip. Of course it was the zip that failed.
All the others were made by Lanskys here in Cairns & had press studs to close them.
We still have 5. Of the other 3, one was a double we got rid of for 2 x 3 ft singles & the other 2 the kids grew out of & were replaced by 3 ft singles.
What we have been doing for the last 10 years or so is storing them unrolled on the floor under beds in the house. This will give your mattress a longer life.
Those shearers beds coupled with a good swag & a tarp over are about the ultimate in bush comfort Steve.
My brother in law bought me home a few from out near Boulia some time back. They must have been pre WW1 & were fairly heavy.
Put a good waterproof swag on one under a good tarp & the weather can do what it likes & you have no worries of an interrupted sleep.
There seem to be some pretty good quality camp cots available these days too. They wouldn't be as durable as the good old shearers bed, but are much lighter & compact.
Fatso
FollowupID: 747845

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 00:43

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 00:43
I give up on swags in any weather and now I will only use a $29 tent and air mattress if I have to rough it in the open
AnswerID: 473028

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 07:47

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 07:47
Kevin,

A swag is one of the best investments you can make.

We have used ours to sleep outdoors in teeming rain without any problem, but usually use it as a simple matress inside a tent with a sleeping bag opened up as a doona in cooler weather. Very very comfortable if you invest in a quality one.

As a matter of fact, we will be using ours on Christmas Day to bunk down overnight at a rellie's place.

AnswerID: 473036

Reply By: petesgq - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 10:04

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 10:04
HAving used a swag all over oz. from tas to most northern tropics of oz.

Simply a swag doesn't breath enough in the tropics.

Just but a two man Jackaroo mozzie dome. Don't worry about pegs, and spend some dosh on a really high quality foam that you can buy from a swag maker. use a single or double fitted sheet. Spray the dome mozzie met with insect surface spay every six days. and put it under the car awning to keep the due off. and just role up the whole thing mattress and all like a swag. cheaper and far more comfortable than a swag in the tropic. Don't waste the money on some of the expensive swag like i have.
Ps use a cut to size ground sheet underneath as it protects it and make it easy to role up
AnswerID: 473043

Reply By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 11:15

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011 at 11:15
Peoples idea of a swag varies.

What a lot of people call a swag I'd be calling a personal tent, and the bedding issue still remains.

I cant stand sleeping bags......they are no good at all when the weather changes thru the night and they are bugger all use in hot climates.

If ya start thinking a traditional swag...ah now you are talking.

a big flat piece of canvas, some sort of matress....self inflating king single is good....a queen sized sheet and a queen sized blanket....ya lay it all out flat......then you have 2 layers of sheet 2 layers of blanket and 2 layers of canvas you can pull over and mix and match thru the night.

So if it is a steamy hot tropoical evening ya sleap on top...when that cold front comes in you can pull over the layers one at a time

The sheerers stretcher is a good thing but not esential.

But the mozzie net is critical.....it needs to be big enough so you dont touch the sides...... get one of them big rectangular ones and it wont come near you.....put a couple of rods or bars under your awning / tarp to support it.

the mozzie net, the shelter, stretcher and the swag then become seperate items.

I mostly rig the swag and the mozzie net in the back of the ute...but you can take the swag into a tent, into a screened cabin or bring the mozzie net and camp in a shed.

But viewing the swag as an alternative to the sleeping bag is the key in my view.

AND when you get home or ya get swamped its all easy to wash and dry in a day.

I remember washing sleeping bags....thats at least a 3 day process....drying can take a week in bad weather.

I've never got a sleeping bag wet at camp but I've seen it happen and the owners are then buggered for bedding they might as well go home.

AnswerID: 473050