Suggested itinerary for outback Qld tour

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 25, 2011 at 22:15
ThreadID: 90832 Views:3949 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
I intend to tour thru' outback Qld next year, and will travel from Adelaide up to the Stockman's Hall of Fame. I would like to go on up to the Gulf if time permits. I have a Pajero, and a Coramal poptop, and intend to free-camp where ever possible. (Hate caravan parks !).

I would appreciate some ideas on suggested routes and good camping spots etc. I am happy to go off road, although I don't have the van to handle corrugations and bulldust. I will do some homework with National Parks.

Thank you, Barry22

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:42

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:42
G'Day Barry,
We did a trip last year from Adelaide up to and thru QLD. Our weapons were AWD Captivas and although we stayed in Cabins, the route might be of interest to you.

Left Adelaide, stayed first night in Leigh Creek.
Leigh Creek to Marree (2nd night)
Marree to Birdsville (night 3 and 4)
Birdsville to Windorah (night 5)
Windorah to Longreach (night 6)
Longreach to Rockhampton (night 7)

Then we headed south to Moorychidore (poorly spelt) and down through the Gold Coast (damn amusement parks for the kids), Tamworth, Bathurst, Canberra, Mildura and home.

If heading up the Birdsville track, check on whether the ferry is operating or not. If it is, you may be over-length.

It's a great part of the world and which ever way you go...you'll love it. Your rig should handle it with ease.

Fab.
AnswerID: 473331

Follow Up By: barry22 - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:19

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:19
Hi Fab,
Your trip sounds a lot like the one I would really like to do, however, I think my van would fall apart. I would have to go with a tent. I think I would find myself on my own if I did this. My we have progressed from tents, to camper trailers, to the caravan. My wife says going" backwards" is a no no !
Thanks for your info. I might use it on a trip with a mate one day.
Regards Barry22.
FollowupID: 748141

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:48

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 08:48
Hi Barry,

We travelled through some of outback Qld last year. Have written some blogs about where we went and what we saw. You can have a look here. the final blog contains a map of our route.

Val.

AnswerID: 473332

Follow Up By: barry22 - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:27

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:27
Hi Val,
Thank you for your advice. You will have to excuse me, I am not into blogging. Perhaps you can give me a clue on how you join and use.

I did sign up for FaceBook, but was a little uneasy about loading personal details etc, and did not find it something that was much use to me. Maybe Blogging is different. I am keen to get first hand advice, but not particularly interested in 'exposing" my personal details to half the world. Maybe I am too old ????

I am happy to give blogging ago if it is much like this forum however. Will I be finding things like Trip Notes for example ???

Thanks for the lead.
Barry22
FollowupID: 748142

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:59

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 11:59
Barry,
For your info "Blogging" is just basically writting an account of your life's adventures. Almost like a log/diary. In this case, John and Val have documented their travel adventures for all to read, so I'm sure it wouldn't contain sensetive material.

For you...it allows you to read up on material which I think will be relevant to your question without you having to share any info at all.

On the flip side...on return from your trip, you may wish to create a Blog detailing (with only as much infor as you feel comfortable to share) your adventures too. No personal info is shared other than your ExplorOz screen name eg: Barry22.

You may choose to set up a Blog and add to it along the way also so people can re-live your daily travels along the way, and it helps to keep family informed that you are all well and what you've seen and done.

Facebook? Yeah, I have one of those too...mostly to share photos with overseas rellies. The personal info it asks for only needs to be as honest as you're prepared to imput. Hence, never trust the validity of others information on those sites either. Aire on the side of caution and the internet and social pages can be very useful.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748145

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:19

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:19
Hi Barry,

I do understand your reluctance to disclose personal info etc. However to read our blogs you dont have to do anything like that. In my original post you will see that the word "here" is underlined - all you have to do is click on that word and it will take you to the list of our blogs and then you can just choose any of them and start reading. A few other words are also underlined and you can click on any of those to get further info.

In the blue bar at the top of the forum page is a tab marked "Blogs" and you can go in there and find all the blogs that have been posted on the site.

Also, right up in the top RH corner of the forum page there is a "search" button - if you were to enter a search term eg outback Queensland and wait a few seconds a screen will appear showing the number of forum posts, blogs, articles etc are in this whole site on that topic, so you have a mass of info at your fingertips.

You do have to be a member of ExplorOz to put up a blog, but as others have said the amount of personal info required is minimal. We keep a daily handwritten diary as we travel and find that when we get home its a good way of reliving and remembering the trip to write it up, put some photos in and post it as a blog. Others seem to enjoy reading them too, and when someone asks a question - like you have done - we can just point to our blogs rather than writing stuff over and over again.

Hope that helps, and enjoy planning your trip.

Val

FollowupID: 748147

Follow Up By: barry22 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 10:31

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 10:31
Hi Fab/Val,
Thanks again for your input. I will start looking at your blogs. I am slowly using my computer to learn more. Sounds like the blog is a great tool I have yet to use.
Thanks again,
Barry22
FollowupID: 748210

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:12

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 12:12
With your rig you probably should stay clear of theStrzelecki Track and roads north of Innamincka but there is still plenty of Outback Qld to see. Contact Qld Tourist Info and they will post you heaps of stuff to give you some ideas.
I would suggest heading to Broken Hill and Cobar which is a quick trip from Adelaide and saves your time for Qld, then going north from Cobar. Cunnamulla, Thargomindah, Quilpie, Windorah and up to Longreach would be an interseting route with no challenging roads for your rig. Don't miss camping on the Cooper out of Windorah. Longreach CPs are pretty average and overpriced. There is very basic camping by the river, weather permitting. If you can't find a good spot to camp try Ilfracombe, a great little caravan park and the area is well worth a visit. There is really great free camping by the river at Isisford, south of Ilfracombe. All Western Qld is great, in our opinion. Just watch the weather in case of rain and bogs! Lynne
AnswerID: 473340

Reply By: zenonie - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 17:08

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 17:08
Hi Barry and might I suggest trying some Station Stays, there are quite a few in operation now and this will give you security and peace of mind knowing that you are welcome to camp there and the opportunity to experience life on an Outback station. These 2 are good places to start some research:http://kilcowerastation.wordpress.com www.outbackbeds.com.au

Also many of the dirt roads in the outback are excellent, sedans and caravans have no trouble on the good dirt roads as long as there is no rain.

Cheers zenonie
AnswerID: 473355

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 18:32

Monday, Dec 26, 2011 at 18:32
Barry. Many of the country roads are surprisingly good when dry. When wet even fourbys can get in strife. Kilcowera Station is easy to get to in good weather. Here is a link to my blog that covers a trip along the Dowling Track and a call at Kilcowera with both wet and fine weather. I was amazed at how quickly the road recovered after rain.
Kevin
Blog on SW Queensland
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 748173