Smart Phone - what to buy?

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 10:51
ThreadID: 90847 Views:5900 Replies:13 FollowUps:28
Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year to everyone. We are retiring in N.Y. and I am trying to buy a SMART PHONE suitable for caravanning around Oz and we are terribly confused each store gives us different answers re rural reception etc. All I want to do is send photos/Text/Skype my 9 grand kids.
Any suggestions on which is the best phone (no Satellite) most welcome as I'm sure others have encountered and solved reception difficulties.

Reply By: Pebble - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 10:59

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 10:59
Look for one that is suitable to use on the Telstra Next G network, preferably one that is blue tick rated. And the rest depends weather you have a brand preference and your budget.

Something like the Motorola Defy + would be a reasonable option (I've brought one myself not that long ago, happy with the purchase, live in an area that has marginal reception at best).
LG Optimus Spirit is another option, but the camera on that one doesn't have a flash.
http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/prepaid/mobiles.cfm

Buying one of the Telstra Prepaid phones means you're not locked into a contract, but the phone can only be used on the telstra network unless you pay an unlocking fee.
AnswerID: 473395

Follow Up By: Pebble - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:06

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:06
Of course if you want one of the high end phones (Iphone 4S, Samsung Galaxy SII etc) it's best to just buy it outright if you don't want to be locked into a 2yr contract.

We have found that the Iphone 4 (even though it's not blue tick) has about the same reception at our place as the blue tick phones. I imagine it's likewise with SGSII. That's probably why you get conflicting advice. Although sometimes people who live in cities and are selling the phones just have no idea about reception woes out in the country!
FollowupID: 748218

Follow Up By: Member - Joy B - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:20

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:20
Thanks Pebble, do u find Motorola Defy easy to operate, I have only ever had Nokia and Samsung. Also is there anything telstra do to get the blue tick - eg if I buy same phone online from another supplier will it be the same? Sorry too many questions ??
FollowupID: 748220

Follow Up By: Pebble - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:34

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:34
My Husband had an Iphone4 for a bit, he reckons the Defy is as easy to use as that and that it's similar in a lot of ways (to operate). So can't be too bad considering Iphones are meant to be known for ease of use.
He also had a HTC Desire briefly (reception not as good on those) which he found harder to use.
I've come from non smartphone phones (Samsung A411, Sony Ericsson W508A) and didn't find it too hard to pick up and figure out how to use.

I am not sure if Telstra do anything special with the blue tick phones, I would tend to think they just undergo testing and get the blue tick if they pass above a certain level for receptoin but I could be wroing? There is probably some sort of rules where others aren't allowed to use the blue tick rating ... and I'm guessing it doesn't mean the phone isn't blue tick if you buy it somewhere else, but just make sure it's compatible with the Telstra Next G network frequency if that's what you plan to use it on.

Hope that helps, and I hope others will chime in if I'm wrong on any points...or to give you a few other opinions at least!

FollowupID: 748221

Follow Up By: Paul V1 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:51

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:51
bought my samsung galaxy s2 online, paid for it outright so is not locked to any network, put in my next g sim and a 32 gig sd card and away it went, excellent phone, no probs with reception and works as good as any other phone i know of out in the bush.
FollowupID: 748230

Follow Up By: Member - Joy B - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:56

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 13:56
thanks Paul, I like the samsung s2 but telstra told me it wouldn't work in the bush - no blue tick! How much would I pay on line for one please
FollowupID: 748231

Follow Up By: Paul V1 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 14:12

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 14:12
i picked mine up for $550 about a month ago, dont remember where i got it from though, I think all phones online.
FollowupID: 748232

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:50

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 11:50
One of the things that convinced me to get an iPhone is the number of APPS available for it that are very useful while travelling.

Pocketweather is a favourite. Store locators for Bunnings, Jaycar, banks (and mobile banking), caravan parks. There are many more.

Once you look into it you will find that it will be useful for so much more than you thought.

I have never found the iPhone lacking in reception compared to other phones. It doesn't have an external antenna connection and induction cradles are hopeless, but if I'm out of touch for a little while.... Bliss!!

It can also be a mobile wifi hotspot for other devices, iPad, laptop etc. So if you get a datapack for your phone you won't have to get any separate devices for internet access for your laptop.

AnswerID: 473400

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 17:56

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 17:56
Expanding on my collection of apps:

Convert Units: everything metric to imperial and a whole lot more.

Spirit Level

WiFi Finder

Flashlight

Dictionary

Walkmeter

Bigpond

ABC News

SBS News

Channel 7 News

Al Jazeera News

Westpac

NAB

Coles

Woolworths

Jaycar

6PR Perth Radio

Stocks & Shares

Toyota

BP

RAC WA

Australia Post: mainly for postcodes.

Footy Live: AFL

Bunnings

Pocketweather

ExperienceWA

Living Earth

Currency Converter

Spicks & Specks Quiz

All very useful and most are free.

FollowupID: 748249

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:50

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:50
Gone Bush,

Good info, but most, if not all those APPS, and more, are available for Android phones and most are free as well.

Some of the GPS and Geo programes on Android are fantastic plus Tunein allows radios from anywhere in Australia and the world. provided you have service...

FollowupID: 748299

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:20

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:20
GB, you have left out a most useful app in Viber which is good for iPhones and also android I believe. I know places where I can talk Viber without any tower connections. Great on wireless and better than Skype.

Texts too, though wirless iPhone to iPhone texts have been coming to me the last few days, once again no cell reception at one end
FollowupID: 748310

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:02

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:02
Looks interesting John.

Although the reviews in the App Store are a mixed lot. I'll keep it in the "maybe" list.

FollowupID: 748329

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 14:36

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 14:36
My vote is also the iPhone.

We both have iPhone 3GS's.
It's all in the Network you connect to. Herself is on '3' (Vodaphone) and I am on Telstra 3G.

The Telstra 3G network is the only one worth belonging to if you are travelling in the country. I have convinced Herself to change to Telstra 3G when here contract expires.

I have not noticed any problems with range on the iPhone. Perhaps a "blue tick" rated phone gets an extra 1 kilometre range, or perhaps it's just a marketing ploy.

AnswerID: 473408

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:21

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:21
Bill we get through on iPhone 4 and 4S where we couldn't with blue tick Telstra classification
FollowupID: 748311

Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 15:41

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 15:41
To understand "Blue Tick" phones you have to compare then against a non "Blue Tick" phone.

Me and my wife uses Iphone's as our main mobile phones due to better business intergration and our field service guys us Nokia's with "Blue Tick"...... seeing we do a fair amount of work in regional country, fringe reception areas and mine sites the Nokia's leave the Iphone for dead....... try 20 to 40 kilometers more with less drop outs.

Over the years we have played with a quite a lot of different mobile phones and antenna's as communications play an important part in our OH&S and customer support.

If I'm doing work in regional or fringe reception areas I still use my Iphone as the primary phone but also have a "Blue Tick"Nokia with car kit as a fall back...... and then if that fails we rely on sat phones.

Most would not know how much better a "Blue Tick" phone works as compared to a non "Blue Tick" phone..... a "Blue Tick" phone still doesn't give perfect reception in all areas but every bit helps.
AnswerID: 473410

Follow Up By: Member - Terra'Mer - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 09:52

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 09:52
What type of Nokia smart phone?
Have you seen my marbles?

FollowupID: 748291

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:58

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 12:58
Non of our Nokia's are smart phone.... when we upgraded 2 years ago Nokia weren't that smart and had no smart phones available..... hence Iphone and standard Nokia's.

Very hard to find one phone that does everything well!
FollowupID: 748306

Reply By: Vivkingsa - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 15:44

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 15:44
Hi There. iPhone 4s. Its is almost the latest in iPhones, the later has a personal assistant called Siri, which you wont need. It is sooo easy to use and you can get apps from the app store (also so easy to get) which allow you to send free messages, call people for free, check your weather, online banking (for bills whilst your away) calanders with reminders, every radio station in the world, EVERYTHING! I even have an app for my garden which tells we what vegies I can plant in that time of year! I am with Telstra, who I find to have the BEST service in terms of reception. We live in the country and always have telephone reception and internet reception. I can almost guarentee this is the best option! GOOD LUCK!
AnswerID: 473413

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 18:15

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 18:15
My experiences.

I live and work in the counrty and have all my life and I have stuck with Telstra simply beacuse of the coverage. I detest them as a company to deal with...because of repeated stuff ups on their part but we wont go there!

Blue tick with a socket to take a dedicated patch lead to an external antennae is the best....however you wont get a "smart phone" with a socket...

of the non smart phones....best performers by a county mile (that are still available that is ...are the Samsung c5220) ..a clamshell type phone.......i have one in the 'cruiser to fall back on when needed and will never get rid of it.....amazing coverage almost as good as the old A411....(still got that as well)

Inductive patch leads are a waste of space !!

I have recently purchased a smart phone Samsung Galaxy S 11 ..not a bluetick but working very well here on the farm where a LG bluetick struggled at times

My son has been an apple iphone fanatic for ever...and has just diched his latest iphone for the Galaxy..work that out

Plenty of apps out there for Android and so I reckon the list that Gone Bush has posted is no better than what any one can get on Android phones for free (reckon he will give me an email on that comment :)

if you can afford too I would go the Galaxy smart phone and pick up a c5220 for around $50 for backup when the smart phone drops out....both these use the standard size SIM and you can swap easiyt between the two if needed

the iphone uses a micro SIM...i think there is adapters available?

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 473421

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 19:52

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 19:52
Hullo Graeme,

I run the risk of becoming an Apple fanboi, I just got an iPad.

I think Telstra has improved immeasurably since the Mexican left the helm. They really are trying to do the right thing.

Now, I feel that Apple is the new bully boy with the way they sue anyone that looks like producing a product that threatens theirs. Apple vs Samsung is a good example. However, there is so much support for their products from suppliers everywhere it's the line of least resistance. And the devices work so well too.

I carry a little Samsung with a patch lead in the van but have never used it. These days I could care less if I'm out of range for a few days, apart from internet deprivation.

FollowupID: 748256

Follow Up By: Member - Joy B - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:29

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:29
hi bungarra, thanks for your great info. Yes we will go with Telstra pre paid. I like the Samsung GalaxyS2 but wasn't sure of reception so if your son has bought one - over his Iphone then that sounds good enough to me. I see everyone has different views I guess it depends on what part of the country they are in - we are in Melbourne, but will start travelling North in March. Is there anyone else out there that has travelled remotely with the Galaxy S2 and can confirm its the one to buy. thanks Joy
FollowupID: 748323

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 12:06

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 12:06
Hi Joy

Whilst I am more than happy with my Samsung Galaxy S II (in fact I purchased another yesterday).....as Telstra have them out on a $59 post paid atm) be aware......there are limitations for reception away from the towns on all phones that dont have the ability to receive a patch lead (PLUG IN SOCKET TYPE...not the useless passive/induction type)

The only Telstra "smart phone" that I am aware of that is blue tick is the Motorolla Defy + and you can get them pre paid at the moment....if you go down the Defy path make ertain it is the newer release with the + as the earlier model had issues with speakers and a couple of other issues (do a google search on reviews)...it does NOT have the socket for a patch lead

You used the word "remotely".....all phones (smart or otherwise) without a dedicated socket patch lead will drop out first...usually the non blue tick ones first, followed by the "blue tick" models (not always, but usually).......followed by the phones with the patch lead connected to a suitable antenae....then finally all of them

As i said... I have a small clam shell samsung with the socket at the back for the patch lead and switch to that when travlling when the smart phones drop out...when the little back up samsung drops out then you are more "remote" as far as mobile phone reception goes anyway

as for "remote" as far as mobile reception goes that will depend upon where you are from a Telstra tower ..+ the terrain (hilly, undulating or flat) and your antennae / phone setup.......reception from anywhere between around the damn corner in a dead spot! ...to maybe up to 100kms with a good antennae and lead

hope all that helps

Graeme

VKS 1341

FollowupID: 748394

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 18:33

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 18:33
Graeme, FYI, the Motorola Atrix is also Blue Tick smart phone, but not as tough as the Defy.
Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 748408

Follow Up By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:53

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:53
Hi Bungarra,

'My son has been an apple iphone fanatic for ever...and has just diched his latest iphone for the Galaxy..work that out '
Was this the new iPhone S ?

Rob
The outback calls

FollowupID: 748848

Follow Up By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:54
Sorry,
iPhone 4S
The outback calls

FollowupID: 748850

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 18:21

Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 18:21
Hi Rob

the model before the latest iphone he ditched

ps check out my new thread.... something I just discovered and tested today
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 749176

Reply By: Pebble - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 18:49

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 18:49
Something to note about the Defy + is that using 3G data seems to drain the battery rather quick...apparently IPhone 4 was better in that regard. We do have dismal 3G here though, but I think even in good signal having it on seems to chew the battery a bit more than you'd hope.
AnswerID: 473425

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:45

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:45
Very easy to buy the larger battery and back cover for the Defy.
Peter Horne

FollowupID: 748298

Reply By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 19:41

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 19:41
I also have the Motorola Defy+ and like it very much. It will work in places that the iPhone 4 won't and it will take an antenna. Where I will be traveling I'll need as much coverage as I can get so I bought this from Telstra as a prepaid. The cost was only $299 which is very good for an android 2.3 smartphone. It's also water, shock and dust resistant. Have a look at this page.

http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/prepaid/mobiles.cfm

However, if you are not going too far off the beaten track and can guarantee telstra coverage for most of your journey then you might also like to consider either the iPhone or the Samsung Galaxy II S
AnswerID: 473428

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 23:01

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011 at 23:01
holden 4th

can you confirm that the Motorola defy will take a socket patch lead....not the passive / inductive type lead?

thanks
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 748276

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 09:44

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 09:44
Hello Bungara

When I bought the Defy I took a quick look at the pix that went with it and assumed that it took a socket patch lead. What I was looking at was this

and I mistakenly thought that a solid antenna connection was through the micro USB port. However, it seems that I was wrong and that this is a passive lead. That said I do have an external glass mounted antenna on my windscreen and am interested to see if it will work with my Defy

FollowupID: 748290

Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 00:47

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 00:47
What ever you look at, make sure you have a play around with it first. I know I can't physically use them as I have bad hands. My old man can't use them as his fingers are to big and stumpy. I have heard of a few other older people unable to use them as well due to finger/hand problems.
AnswerID: 473450

Follow Up By: Pebble - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:10

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:10
Agreed, looking at the smartphones in person I thought a lot of them were quite similar (from the look and feel perspective). You might set your mind on a particular brand but that can change after you have a play with a few in the shop.....some people like their phones more compact, some like the biggest screen no matter what etc.

Regarding the motorola, I don't think it's any more shatter proof than any other phone (it you were to drop it), but the water resistant feature is great, I can even use it to listen to music / podcasts while I'm having a hot bath.
FollowupID: 748293

Reply By: Member - Krakka - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:50

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 10:50
If Skype is a requirement then the Motorola Atrix may be a better choice than the Defy, I have both the Defy and the Atrix. Both are blue tick and easy to use. The atrix does have a much better camera than the Defy. Defy is definately the "tougher" phone of the two, water resistant, dust resistant. Both have the Corning Gorilla Glass screen.
Peter Horne

AnswerID: 473468

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 21:09

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 21:09
G`day Peter,

You have got me thinking about the Motorola Atrix, I think that it is 4G phone that works on the USA 4G but not on Telstra 3G.
Telstra 4G is reportedly coming in March but is a different frequency to USA 4G.

Also heard that the cheapest 4G plan with Telstra is going to be $90.00 per month when it is introduced.

Please correct me if my info is not correct.

Scrubby.

FollowupID: 748355

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 01:10

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 01:10
forget 4g by the time it becomes meaningfull you will be looking to upgrade this latest phone youve got noe anyway

Ive got the atrix and it was buggy at first but since the 2.3 upgrade (anything you buy will have it now anyway) its been much better

ive protected it with a rubber boot thingo and plastic screen cover available from those asian mobile phone accessory stores in the middle of the shopping centre isles

happy with it but dont have anything to compare it to and im not tech enough to get full use from it anyway
FollowupID: 748372

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 01:16

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 01:16
oh sorry - yea for some reason its called 4g but it just works off of everyday 3g gotta blue tick but i reckon thats overrated the worst reception phone i ever had was blue tick the Atrix seems OK from bush trips but dont reckon id put it in the exceptional reception catagory. I reckon youd find when a normal phone lost reception the atrix wouldnt be far behind

Ive got it on an $80 plan which is $800 of calls and 2gig of data

went over the plan once despite having 50% of my data left with 3 days to go so i rang telstra and they reckon my phone ran some 1 gig upgrade while i was sleeping - phone showed no record of what had been upgraded but did confirm the data usage ............
Hmmmmmmmmmmm
FollowupID: 748373

Reply By: Member - Krakka - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 22:07
Hi Scrubby, I am using the Atrix purchased thru Telstra and believe it is 3G, and is certainly working on the NextG network. Is also Blue Tick Rated.
Peter Horne

AnswerID: 473519

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 11:37

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 11:37
I have an iPhone 4 and an iPad and have been more than happy. Recently added VMS app for $150. Have been using BitMap by Nick Sands which is good for Hema Maps. No problems with reception of Next G.

Recently been setting up OziExplorer on a Telstra touch pad for a friend. Its my first experience of Android and its 'Market'. It seems a bit of a schemozzle compared with the App store. A lot more mucking around and less intuitive than the iPhone or iPad. It runs Android 2.2. I can't figure how to upgrade to Android 2.3, or 3.0 or 4.0. Easy to upgrade the OS on the iPhone. Yes it works, but lacks the quality feel of Steve's creations.
AnswerID: 473609

Follow Up By: Member - Joy B - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:30

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:30
Hi everyone, what a fantastic response I have had and a big thank you to everyone. I got a big surprise y'day my girlfriend posted me her old HTC Desire to try out. Its a bit tricky but will perserve and see how it goes. So my big son suggested I buy a Samsung 3G WiFi Tablet / or Apple iTablet and get a cheaper Samsung phone if HTC gives me headaches. Tomorrow we are heading to the beach for a week - New Years Eve (also son's B'day) so guess I will have a few drinks and go thru all these replies again and see where the wind lies.
Son has a Apple I tablet so I will have a play with it.
Happy New Year everyone, can't wait to discover this lovely big country of ours. Joy
FollowupID: 748451

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 18:19

Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 18:19
Hi Joy

check out my new thread on a smart phone...I just posted it

VKS 1341

AnswerID: 474234