Things you see?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:30
ThreadID: 90866 Views:4277 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
Was down the beach fishing last night and noticed a Landcruiser about a km down the beach not moving very far. After a while it was pretty obvious he was bogged and was having some trouble, so a mate and I decided to go for a drive and see if he needed a hand as the beach was really steep and the tide was coming in.
When we get down there the bloke is digging like mad while his Mrs stood back with her hands on her hips looking less than happy.
I asked the driver what pressures he had in his tyres and he replied.....aaaa 20 0r 30 something psi.
I suggested he dropped a heap more pressure, which he replied, "I dont want to drop any more air out as I dont fancy driving all the way back with flat tyres"
Talk about laugh!!!! we cracked up.......Drive back......he wasnt driving anywhere like that.......Bwhahahahahaha!!!!!
I convinced him to drop his pressures when I told him he could use my compressor once we get it out...........which with a little push (from a mate, my daughter and I while his Mrs stood back with her hands on her hips) he drove it straight out.
Then!!! after pumping his tyres up! he asked if he could get a couple of cold beers off us for the trip home as his were'nt very cold...........what a tosser!
His tyres were pumped up and he was prepared to drive up the beach he just got bogged on, in the wrong direction, to bludge beer of the people who just saved his arse!!!!!!
Lucky his Mrs stepped in then , smiled at us and told him they were going straight home.......
It takes all sorts I guess?

Reply By: baz&pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:48

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 13:48
We had a similar experience at Minnie Waters in NSW a couple of years back, helped the guy and his miss's out, and didn't even get a thank you.
Hope you didn't give him the coldies.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 473480

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:00

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:00
Yeah, good onya for helping Hairy, sooooo did you give a beer..............lol

FollowupID: 748320

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:06

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:06
Naaa....he had a dry trip home.
Hes lucky his Mrs was nice on the eyes or he wouldnt have even got to use the pump........he wasnt real friendly when we first rolled up and wasnt open to any suggestions either.......could have quite easily said bugger ya and driven off.
FollowupID: 748321

Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:24

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:24
yes hairy
i worked out a few years ago while on a trip in company of a 40 vehicle convoy yes thats right 40 of them
there are certain 4wders who have no gear on board when they go driving

but aren't backward in putting the squeez on any kind and goodhearted suckkers that come along and offer to help them when there in a fix and who will rarely offer thanks or pay for anything that may be offered to fix there problem
there are the givers and the takers in this world and many more takers than the givers after a while one adopts a cautous approach once they have been bitten like dont offer until asked
in the true sense of 4wding i dont like to see anyone stuck it's my aussie nature to help out but ??????? if you know what i mean wink! wink!
some have the cheek of old nick as you just found out
we live and learnt about how to deal with these situations as we go on our way
stick your neck out to help and someone might just cut your head off ?????
barry
AnswerID: 473483

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:45

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 14:45
I didnt really bother me......... bleep can happen to the best of people and there is always a chance of leaving something (like a compressor) at home, we just had a good laugh at his expense , although I thought trying to bludge a beer was pushing it a bit!
If it was me in his situation I would hope someone would help.........thats why Ill always stop......even after being bitten.

FollowupID: 748325

Reply By: caseh - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:07

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:07
Good on ya Hairy!
We always stop as well. As youy say:"you never know when it's your turn"

However the tosser should have offered you a few cold ones or at least give you a financial reward so you can stop at the next pub.
I did it the last time I got stuck on the way to Ngaraloo. We very happy( and told them so) The saviours happy and am sure had a few cold ones on us.
We should all stop and lend a hand and/or knowledge. The Christmas spirit should not just be there this time of the year but always.

Cheers, Case H
AnswerID: 473487

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:07

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:07
Im not sure if I agree with paying people for help? Having a beer with them or just a thanks is enough for me. Id hate to see people expecting money everytime they help someone....could get expensive......and Id hate to see people decline the offer of help because they didnt have any money on them and end up in more trouble.
Just a thanks is all I expect.

FollowupID: 748335

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:49

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 15:49
I hope those blokes in the utes turn up to levuka we owe them a carton, it was at the end of the weekend the oldman didnt have any left. I feel bad not having any on board for them. Its the right thing to do. One year on fraser we came across a couple stuck hard with heavy camper. It took 4 blokes to unhook the camper pull it around then hitched two of our cars to pull them along. By this time the waves were laping. Wasnt our gear but hell didnt we work hard to help. Poor bloke only had a couple beers left.
AnswerID: 473489

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:28

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 16:28
Well done Hairy, agree with you 100% that we should always offer help when we can see it is needed. There are always the 'different' ones out there who maybe haven't been brought up in the 'country way', but I did have a laugh about them asking for your beer...... now that is taking things a bit too far. LOL

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 473491

Reply By: 4 runner - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 18:22

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 18:22
Not so long ago, whilst working for a government department that often required patrols of beaches in the south west (Warren, Yeagerup etc) I would often come across bogged vehicles, the majority of whom had no idea what they were doing and as such had no right to be out there with not only themselves but other family members.

I had a responsibility to help these people (Read people not vehicles) I was always advised that the removing of bogged vehicles was not our problem but the rescuing of people was, anyway I would always carry enough gear to get them out of the problem they were in and always was able to get the vehicles back.

That was until, I came across a group on a beach bogged to the axles, full of grog and an attitude to match, Pulled over said hello and asked if they needed help, reply words to the effect of "What do you F**** think"

They then followed up with the old "We pay your taxes" and "Come on get the truck out, we have to be back in town"

Told them to jump in the back and that I would give them a life to town to organise for a tractor to assist (Cost of about $800) they totally lost it and I replied with "Do you think this is an RAC uniform i am wearing"

I told them that i was not covered to remove a bogged vehicle and that another vehicle might help, but not with the attitude.

I did help them out about an hour later (Left them to have a rethink) but the attitude of some people stinks.
AnswerID: 473495

Reply By: Member - Rich - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 18:33

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 18:33
The guy should have been grateful.

However after your reading the discription of his missus i can guess he would feel like a beer, he would need them :)

But should have offered to buy from you or swap for a couple of his if he had them.

Any way good one,

AnswerID: 473496

Reply By: Begaboy - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 20:12

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011 at 20:12
I have a similar story of a " Tosser" i was camped out on stockton beach , at close to 4 Pm had some idiot come knock on my caravan door - guy has got his car boged and need to be pulled out --- do you have recovery gear i ask .... NOPE - he replies whilst stumbeling around blind drunk , he even fell down in front of me.

Against better judgement i try to help him out - he was that badly stuck that it took 2 4x4's to pull him out.

Got his 4x4 ute out, he goes to the back - cracks another long neck stumbles , falls down -- jumps back up -- thanks us

jumps in his care and says , well i better get going - its a long drive back to sydney ....... what the hell ???? if i had of know that i would have left him where he was boged till he slept it off ...

with that said --- they should have RBT on stockton beach as a LOT of people drive drunk there
AnswerID: 473504

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 12:56

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 12:56
A few years ago when my son was a teenager, he came home from a ride in the bush on his motorbike to tell me that someone was badly bogged.

I headed off an found a young bloke, his missus and a babe in arms well and truly stuck. They had been collecting firewood and had a trailer on. A heap of effort and they were removed. He thanked me... but.....

Twenty minutes later he came running up the paddock......"I've hit your son"

Sure enough he'd been going one way and my son the other. Son luckily had the reflexes to jump as his bike was thrown to one side in the head on ... Son flew over the car and hit the trailer cartwheeled and landed on the track. The bloke had been travelling with the baby on a knee, no restraints for any of the passengers. Son off to hospital.... no real damage, but the car and bike a write-off.

Still... you have to help people out...
AnswerID: 473546

Reply By: Shaver - Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 13:02

Thursday, Dec 29, 2011 at 13:02
I remember going up Victoria Pass years ago in a M543 6x6 Wrecker (23 ton) and half way up we came across a old bloke & his wife with a Morris Minor that was vaporising & refuseing to go any further. He asked us could we tow him to the top. Well the smallest chain we had nearly pulled his bumper off, but we towed him & he insisted on paying with the only note he had which was 10shillings. We refused, but he followed us to a Pub in Blackheath & then insisted on buying us a beer. It must have been a sight with a small car beiing towed by a huge Army Wrecker, but his gratefullness made our day.
AnswerID: 473547

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:19

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:19
Hairy,

Back when we were still living down the Diamantina, on one occasion we'd had some pretty heavy rain, and a few days later, I was doing a run down towards Diamantina Lakes Nat Park. There were some fresh tyre tracks on the road, which was a bit unusual, so followed them until I came to this.

Once I crossed this little nasty(always treated it with respect, due to being on limit of UHF range, and very boggy), found this Discovery, only 150 metres from here.

This adventurous couple had gone so far into the Park, turned around, but hadn't buried the right foot enough, to escape back to civilisation. And they only had H/T tyres, which were next to useless.

Once we'd completed the de-bogging, I was presented with a nice bottle of white, and the next day, they called in to the station, and gave my wife some other stuff.

So there are some who do appreciate what's done for them.

AnswerID: 473633

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:31

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:31
Hi Bob Y,
What Station were you on? My Grand parents used to work for Sydney Kidman in the 1900's.
We visited the stations, long after Grandparents & my parents had passed over
The people on Brighton downs were lovely.
Hubby & I have been on both sides of this fence, we've received both no thanks at all & an overdoing of thanks.
The beer nor the fact that his wife wasn't easy on the eyes has nothing to do with it!
She'd probably been taking abuse from him for tying to suggest something. He was probably hot & bothered & would've killed for a beer. He may have thought better of it later.
All you can do is offer,but beware!.
It's a long story & to cut it short, we lived on a station which was a refueling station. All were out in camp & this group of rough looking blokes came in for fuel.
I was there alone & with a broken arm & trying to shift a gas bottle.
They wanted to use the phone & they had a delay on the radio telephone.
They asked me if they could walk around a bit after they shifted & hooked up the gas bottle. They then went to collect me a load of wood for my Donkey Boiler .
I thought mmmmmmm never judge a book by it's cover.
I had a beaut guard dog. German Shepherd X Blue Healer.
Luck has it that the camp came in that night & found them up at the Aboriginal workers quarters selling guns!!!!! We made an Emergency call to the Police.
They were jail escapees! charges were rape, murder & armed robbery!
OH! I could've drunk all the beers that were offered by the people who over thanked us & I think I'd have still been shaking. If Jake the guard dog had been needed, he could well of been shot.
How's things going there Hairy.
We hope 2012 treats us well, best wishes to the rest of you too.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye for now Ma.
FollowupID: 748534

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 21:01

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 21:01
Hello Ma,

Ha ha, we were on Brighton Downs, for what seemed a lifetime. Great bit of country down there.

You two take care, and all best for 2012.

FollowupID: 748935