Marree Hotel - Asta Lavista Laurie.

Hello All,
After my much publicised bad experience at the Marree Hotel last year, I have come across, what to me, is probably the best news I've had in all of 2011.

Like many of you, most of us have that special place that we love to visit. To me, that place was Marree. I won't go into details but its proximity to the Birdsville and Oodnadatta Tracks, it's rail history, and the fact I can get there in a day from Adelaide are all part of it. After last year, I was on the hunt for a new special place. Let's face it...the Marree Hotel is kind of like the heart and soul of the town.

Anyway...I was reading up on Trip Advisor about people who had had almost carbon copies of our bad experience there, when I came across a post where it stated that the much maligned Laurie had been replaced by Maz and Phil.

Now I've never been there under the management of Maz and Phil, but I'm willing to give it a go. It seriously couldn't be any worse than when Laurie had it. I really hope they turn this place around. It has squillions of potential with the right management.

Now to plan my next trip. In the meantime, has anyone been there since about Nov 2011 which is roughly when they took it over by what I can tell?

Fab.

Trip advisor Marree Hotel reviews (mine is Fab1972).

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:39

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:39
Based on your experience, this is good news.

But more importantly now is to find out where he has gone to, so that we can alert others that he is the 'new kid on the block' elsewhere, and those that choose to can avoid him.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 473629

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:43

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:43
Good thinking Jack.
Although I'm sure his legacy and Resume' may follow him.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748460

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:04

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:04
What interested me with this thread was how people are prepared to act (and react) with poor service standards, which is a good thing.

I have a similar situation with Innaminka, where I found two of the three people I encountered in the general store quite rude and disinterested, to the point that once we left, we vowed not to return. I suggested to the lady after enduring her rudeness long enough, that if she didn't like her job she should look for another.

Without Burke and Wills, Innaminka has very little else to offer, and some folk need to bear that in mind.

As you say .. onward and upward.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 748466

Reply By: the_fitzroys - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:06

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:06
Hi Fab,
Spent twenty minutes trawling through trip advisor and Laurie sounds like a real piece of work. I've met some taciturn outback publicans in my time but there's no harm in them. This guy obviously couldn't care less about his patrons. Good luck to the new team and may the Marree Hotel flourish.
Lou
AnswerID: 473632

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:58

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:58
G'Day Lou,
And here we were thinking that maybe, just maybe we caught him on a bad day, but as you've seen for yourself, others had identical experiences. Thank you for taking the time to read others accounts too.

I can't believe that someone like him lasted there are long as he did. I guess the monopoly in the town has something to do with it.

Mind you, being the biggest establishment in town, Laurie could (if he hasn't already) significantly impact the rest of the tourist trade in town.

I know that last time I went up to Birdsville, I boycotted Marree. I fueled up in Lyndhurst and turned onto the B/Ville track without even entering the town proper....a far cry from the enthusiasim I had the first time I took my family up to Marree to see all the old Railway memorabillia, kick the footy on the MCG (Marree Cricket Ground), visit Hergott Springs and wander around loooking at familiar sites from the movie The Back of Beyond.

It's unheard of. But anyway....onwards and upwards. By early accounts Maz and Phil sound like the best thing to arrive in Marree since the Ghan. I wish them well.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748464

Reply By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:45

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:45
Hi Fab72,
We were at the Marree Hotel 28/10/11 and in answer to a question of 'how long have you been here' he said he 'was still counting in hours' he certainly was a lot more friendly than the previous publican. Apparently part of the lease is to keep the Collingwood colours on the chimney so don't hold that against him.

Graham
AnswerID: 473636

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:00

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:00
Graham,
A publican that actually spoke to you and didn't yell at you.Well there's an improvement already.

Sounds promising. Might head up there in the next few weeks for a look. I like it in the heat...less tourists.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748465

Follow Up By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:10

Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:10
Fab,
heading that direction ourselves next week like you said less tourists like us and looks like less grumpy publicans although!!!!!
Graham
FollowupID: 748477

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 10:09

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 10:09
Was Laurie there in 01 if so then this story relates.

A convoy of us went into the pub after setting up our tents and as is my wont I ordered the local brew - a pot of West End. It was that foul that after two sips I put it down and when the publican came back to me I asked for a stubby of Carlton. He looked at my beer and demanded to know what was wrong with it. Trying to be polite I deflected the question and simply asked again for the stubby. He was even more aggressive about the pot of untouched beer so I told him in a very loud voice what I thought of it (weasles p*** was one phrase) and that I'd better get a stubby of Carlton asap! He was that stunned by my aggressive response that he meekly complied. A few locals later told me that it was about time someone put the 'expletive' in his place. Does this sound like Laurie?
FollowupID: 748497

Follow Up By: cruza25 - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 10:12

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 10:12
http://www.marreehotel.com.au/

sounds like this could be a great place to stay when we hopefully do our simpson trip later in2012

good luck to phil and maz

mike
FollowupID: 748498

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:39

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:39
Holden 4th.
Not sure is he was there or not in 2001, athough I reckon he was.

Judging by your experience, I'd be inclined to think it was the same said person. A pub can't be that unluncky to have two consecutive "bottom holes" running the place.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748536

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:44

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:44
Cruza25,
The pub itself and the accomodation is awesome, our gripe was that even after paying for 5 beds, the 3 kids ended up having to sleep on the floor.

That aside, it is a great pub and they have a pool too. I'll definitley be staying there. Maz and Phil, although I've never met them, seem like the breath of fresh air that was needed.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748538

Follow Up By: the_fitzroys - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:50

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 15:50
I love the understatement on the website by the new owners...'sort the place out a bit.' LOL.
FollowupID: 748539

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 16:11

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 16:11
Graham,
Be sure to post a follow up on this thread so all interested parties can be kept updated on the new owners.

The_fitzroys.... I did see that. Obviously they recognise the challenge they have. Knowing the problem is the first step to fixing it. It'd be a worry if they didn't realise it.

Fab.
FollowupID: 748543

Follow Up By: Member - Krakka - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 17:53

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 17:53
Laurie definately wasn't there in April 2003, was a woman and her daughter (who was quite strange but "friendly". And they didn't have any beer on tap, was all cans and stubbies only, lukewarm I may add.
Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 748557

Reply By: Member - ken b (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 17:26

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 17:26
hi. when my wife margaret and i were there in august 2011, we asked "him" if we could see the bledisloe cup match,on his tv. "NO SPORT ON MY TV". was his very aggresive attitude. but,when margaret won $100.00 on his poker machine, the look on his face when he paid her, ( sunburn, high blood pressure, or just anger,) beautiful to see. regards ken & margaret brown
AnswerID: 473711

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Jan 01, 2012 at 10:43

Sunday, Jan 01, 2012 at 10:43
Ken,
I would have paid the $100 just to see the look on his face.

What pub doesn't have sporting events playing on the TV? Really...isn't that part of pub culture?

Fab.
FollowupID: 748617