Oh No..! What Have I Done....???
Submitted: Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:04
Member - Fred B (NT)
Oh No..! I have just given the '06 Prado GXL petrol the flick....! And bought a new 70 Series GX Landcruiser Workmate ....... delivery 3rd week of January. Surprise, surprise, SWMBO and chief financier even agreed to the deal... lol..! Thanks darling...! (:
I will have to spend the next couple of weeks stripping the Prado of all the extras and cleaning it up to hand over to the dealer.
Once the '70 series arrives, I will have to start all over again. Find a canopy. Fit it out with 2" lift, rear locker etc.... More $$$$.... Oh
well..! What can you say.
I am looking forward to giving the new "toy" a run in the bush though.
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:25
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:25
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
I am seriously considering Selling Darkie and getting a 200 Series GX (vinyl floor coverings,
barn doors etc). Still waiting to see one in the flesh before i go any further :)
I am sure Doug will enjoy assisting you if you drop down to Mt Bundy LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:51
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:51
Sir Kev,
Go ahead and get one, then welcome to the Round Table.
You will love it through all those QLD hills.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:56
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:56
GB,
There has been no discussion on LCOOL about the GX yet :( But I suppose they were only released late last month hehehe
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:13
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:13
Kev Hi,
Vinyl floor coverings !!!
Has Charlies
Creek got You worried?
Mike.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:46
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 17:46
Mike,
Darkie has vinyl floor coverings ;)
With kids it is great LOL
Have
seat covers on the cloth seats so safe there but carpet is another matter LOL plus it is easier to clean hehehehe
Must be close to another trip for you isn't it
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:14
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:14
Kev,
Re 200 would You have it converted as "Darkie"?
My next trip is overseas !!!
Booked on the Spirit of Tassie for Feb/Mar.
NO RED DUST. NO CORRUGATIONS & leaving the tent at home.
Mike.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:14
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 18:14
Thanks GB
Was a good read :)
Will see if I can see one in the flesh first before committing myself into selling Darkie LOL
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:58
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:58
Doug has already been giving me a hard time..... cos I didn't buy a troopie...! lol... (: Just think of all the extra exercise I am going to get.... getting in and out of the vehicle to lock in those manual hubs.... lol..! Haven't had to do that for awhile. Also haven't had a live front axle since the FJ40 shortie either.
Like the idea of the "plastic" floors for those bog holes or
creek crossings. Glad for the cloth seats... hate the vinyl seats in the hot climate....
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:53
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 16:53
They are a great vehicle to dress up Fred.
Don't rush. Join LCOOL.org. Excellent info there.
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:05
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 20:05
Hi Fred and congratulations. I am thinking of upgradeing my 05 GXL V6 Petrol. Would you mind if I ask what yours was worth. Thanks,Bob
Reply By: Kimba10 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 22:00
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 22:00
Cant you get the factory locker in the rear end, and front as
well ???? Would be heaps cheaper I would imagine and also be under toyota warranty instead of some one having to rip the diffs apart on a new vehicle...........
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 22:42
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 22:42
The factory lockers are 3400 as I recall vs 2300 for ARB's and there are eletcric lockers about now that are awesome
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 22:52
Friday, Dec 30, 2011 at 22:52
Fair enough, you would think Toyota would try and get the price closer to aftermarket and get the $$ themselves. I remember the factory ones in the 80 series sahara's they were brilliant and never really heard of any reliability issues.........
Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 13:03
Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 13:03
Factory lockers. Were $2100 & can only be fitted prior to shipping from Japan. That price must reflect having a dealer fit them after arrival.
well worth the investment though.
Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 16:27
Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 16:27
Gooday Guys,
just back from ARB, (to fit 79 Series GX Landcruiser Workmate) got quotes for winch compatibale steel bullbar $1300, side rails and steps $1090, Warn XDC Winch $2100, Front Locker $1820, Rear Locker $1790, Air Compressor (with air hose for pumping tyres etc) $300, and lastly Old Man Emu
suspension 2" lift $2955.
Not too many other options in
Darwin. I wouldn't go to TJM (
Darwin) in a pink fit. Too many stuff ups and overcharging (in my opinion - and speaking from personal experience).
Will go with the bullbar, side rails and winch on 17th Jan.
regards,
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:17
Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:17
Nice !!! I have an 05 GXL V6 prado 120 series while their a great vehicle I reckon you will love the new bus, especially the fuel economy. Love the big fuel tanks on the prado and obviously with the diesel will go a lot further but I couldnt see the value in going the diesel which in the D4D was going to cost me another 10g+ so thought yes will pay more often at the pump but definately love the power output or the petrol, You will notice a big difference on fuel plus having that V8 diesel torque under the bonnet I reckon you will love it. Yeah I wouldnt touch TJM either, the first bloke that ran the store here in Penrith (scott) really new his products and stuff, when they booted him and put some other clowns in his spot they didnt have a bloody clue what they were selling or talking about so never went back, then they shut it down same as at Seven Hills here in
Sydney. Hope all goes ok for you and dont have any issues when getting stuff done on the new girl, going to be awsome when its completed. Do you wish now you ordered the factory diff locks instead ?? Cheers Steve
Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:37
Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:37
Hi Steve,
No, to the factory difflocks.... A) Not many vehicles available B) apparently large delays in getting factory difflocks C) hadn't planned to buy a new vehicle on such short notice. D) go for it when SWMBO says "YES"... you never know, she might have changed her mind if I delayed.... lol..!
regards,
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:46
Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:46
""go for it when SWMBO says "YES"... you never know, she might have changed her mind if I delayed.... lol..!"" yeah gota agree with that. Thats how I got the 120, big night the night before, told her she can have a new kitchen if I can have new prado, she agreed at the time under the influence, old prado was on the net next day for sale and sold to the second person, got the 120, she still hasnt got the new kitchen yet lol, mind you we were out today looking so it wont be too long I dont think........That was nearly 12 months ago lol Cheers Steve