What country is this river in? Or are we lost and confused?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 17:28
ThreadID: 90986 Views:3845 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
On arriving at our site we were confronted by a pile of rubbish at least enough to fill say a holden ute. No one except us seemed to notice. The fire was still smoldering next to it. A mixed mob of kids and adults next to us looked and continued with their drinking and their kids dived in and out of the flowing river beside them. It was too late to move on.

As we made camp for the night amidst the litter the next door mob switched on their generators. They needed power to live in these conditions. The river bank was lit up. The men obviously worn out from drinking retired early only to be usurped by the women who then proceeded to party and cooee.. Someone found it necessary to keep getting into their car, roaring off in a cloud of dust and returning 20 minutes later and slamming doors. This went on until 11pm. Might have something to do with "the sprits" at night.
Mercifully at 2AM someone either switched the gennys off or they ran out of fuel.

Next morning I awoke to see two men step out of their primitive accommodation light up a smoke say good morning to each other and both began to pee. One of them looked at me and went on with what he was doing.
As a kid growing up in NSW this was called a drovers breakfast.
A smoke ,piss and a good look around.

My wife and I have left this strange country this morning and went to the clean and welcoming town of Numurkah in a place called Victoria where we shall stay for awhile to rest.
When we have fully recovered we shall continue with our travels. But we will travel in Australia from now on.
Happy new year to all.
Jim and Di

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 17:57

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 17:57
Did they pick up their rubbish when they left?

If so I can't really see a problem other than you camped next to the wrong group.

AnswerID: 473962

Follow Up By: JimDi - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 18:27

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 18:27
Gday Hairy,
It was not their rubbish. It had been left by previous campers. About eight large plastic bags and several assorted cartons full of empties. All piled ,neatly I will give them that, against a tree 15 metres from the Murray. Thats life.

And you are right we camped next to the wrong mob. I knew it from the outset. But, I reasoned, it wont be that bad.
By 2am I was thinking that just a large calibre bullet would probably silence those gennys.
Jim
FollowupID: 748789

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:00

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:00
Gday Jim,
I know what you mean.....I hate other peoples genys too and have often felt like blowing them up ( old bangers I mean, not the new inverters) , but at the end of the day........they were there first.
I generally try not to camp near others so they dont have to put up with me and I them.

FollowupID: 748793

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:10

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:10
Hi Jimdi.
Maybe the rubbish had been gathered up by other campers and had been left there for the shire or whoever owns the site for easy pick-up.
This happened to some members of our club who cleaned a site, left the bags neatly as arranged with the shire and got soundly abused at another campsite by a loud mouthed woman who wasn't interested in why they'd done it.
As with their neat pile though others came along and chucked their own rubbish on it or nearly on it, without bagging it first.
Pigs come in all shapes and sizes and there's a lot out there.
AlanTH.
FollowupID: 748796

Follow Up By: JimDi - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:16

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:16
Hairy,
like you I believe in the first there system. I have a generator and use it when solar fails. I have no objections to others using them.
I must admit by 2am I was starting to regret my earlier decision on staying.
After a few years of travelling this has been the worst. I doubt if any traveller would be thinking straight at 2am with a genny bubbling in the background. But its all over now. Have cold beer good food etc. Life goes on.
Jim
FollowupID: 748804

Follow Up By: JimDi - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:26

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:26
Hi Alan,
I hope you are right with the rubbish pick up. But it just did not have that "I will come back and get this later" look about it.
Thought about taking a few bags myself but was in no such a mood.That was only bettered when we stopped and had breakfast later. Amazing what eggs and coffee does to improve your mood.

As for the people well I guess for us it was wrong place wrong time. Sadly its all a good argument for the people or authorities who look after these places to impose restrictions or access.
Jim
FollowupID: 748805

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 18:38

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 18:38
I too would have been very uncomfortable and irritated.

but mate....... it WAS Australia you were in. It's been like that near Murrary R towns and elsewhere since they were settled.

I wouldn't have stopped there.
AnswerID: 473969

Follow Up By: JimDi - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:35

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:35
Hi Royce,
You are right we should not have stopped there. We drove out first thing next morning.
One of the problems with being on the road is that sometimes we over do the driving etc and find sites late in the day. It happened this week and once last week. Last week we just parked too close to the highway and copped the trucks all night.
But I would not trade any of it at the moment. Well, maybe just block out the occasional experience.
Jim
FollowupID: 748806

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 22:07

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 22:07
G/Day Jim

Sorry to read about your experience.

Those type of campers are usually once in a blue moon campers.

They don't know any better and don't give a rats arse about their fellow campers and the enviroment.

When they return home they probably boast about how good things where and how much grog they consumed and their kids think it's the norm.

They growup and do the same thing.

AnswerID: 474001

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:39

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:39
Hi Daza,
The best part was that we could move on at daylight. You get these types everywhere. We have been on the road a couple of years, but home is inner city Brisbane in highrise. It can be as bad there at times but you have other resources to call on eg residential managers etc. I have seen stubbies thrown from the seventh floor during balcony parties but that is easily fixed and the tenants were evicted next day.
In this case we moved on.
Jim
FollowupID: 748859

Reply By: the_fitzroys - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 23:31

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 23:31
Sounds like you hit a popular spot on school holidays. As we love peace and quiet I can understand your pain. As grumpy old farts (aka grandparents who'd rather avoid everyone else's kids) we always avoid school hols.
But on the occasions when we've pulled into a camp and there's a large group with kids there already, a bit of a wander over, a g'day, perhaps pull a chair up and have a chat and a drink does a lot to smooth the edges.
Happy travels.
Lou
AnswerID: 474009

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:56

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:56
Hello the Fitzroys,
Sounds like a good solution. In this case it was obvious that the group had a head start in the friendly drinks department. They ranged in age (a guess) from late 50's to 30's, teenagers to toddlers. Which hampered my thinking and judgement becauseI am early 60's and I looked and thought....three generations. It wont be that bad. Old farts ,kids, equals early night...I thought.
But we are back on the road and taking it easy.
Jim
FollowupID: 748863

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 05:56

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 05:56
JumDi
Sorry to hear about that bad experience.
Name and shame the place, or was it a Nationoal Park ?

We are from "Mexico" and have experienced that, but generators are easily shut off, and pay back is a bitch ( hehehehe )
We respect nature, and the enviroment, and other campers

We only leave footprints, no matter where we are.
We have radio's and music going, but you do not hear it from any more than 30 feet away.
Toilet breaks are done discretely, as you should, as we are not in some 3rd world country, although the way we have been governed in the last 15 year, I think we will end up like one.

AnswerID: 474012

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:46

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:46
Hi Bucky,
It was on the Murray, got it from camps 5 book. But I wont name it for a couple of reasons A, it was not the rivers fault and B, they have probably moved on or will do so soon.
These types judging by the business logos on their vehicles were or would be fairly respectable wherever they come from. But as I said in another answer you get them everywhere.
I use a generator occasionally and dont mind them. But at 2am I must admit my thinking had become warped and I must admit I was coming up with some very wierd solutions.
Jim
FollowupID: 748862

Follow Up By: lancie49 - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 12:06

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 12:06
Jim, since you mentioned the vehicle/s had a business logo on them, perhaps make a call to that business and suggest their Public Relations Training Team may like to have a counselling session with the drivers of those Company vehicles.

Shame you didn't get a rego No if it's a large Company.
It obviously does not reflect well on the business so prominently displayed.
FollowupID: 748869

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 13:20
I like that idea

Called a "reverse pinapple"

CHeers
FollowupID: 748882

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 14:55

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 14:55
Hi Lancie49,
Geez what an idea. I did not think to be honest, by early morning you just wish it would go away.
The silence at 2am when the gennys stopped was so refreshing we both just went to sleep. Early morning without any consultation Di and I just pulled in the chairs and annexe and left.
Its all behind us now but just goes to show how circumstances can go from fantastic one moment to complete misery the next.
Jim
FollowupID: 748893

Reply By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 22:00

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 22:00
I supose ther is the other type of revenge....

Leave very early, and play Val Doonican as you leave.... but don't drive out till you hear the first moan or curse.

LA DA DAA Da DA TULLIPS FOM AMSTERDAM.........

AnswerID: 474072

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 22:04
Hell if we all arm ourselves with a best off...it might become a tradition.

"We got pissed ran the generators too late and some one did the Doonincan on us at 5am, Crrissst that stuff is horible with a hang over"

FollowupID: 748945