Roadworthy tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 20:35
ThreadID: 9134 Views:3849 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
I had a discussion today with a friend who reckoned that he didnt need to have his spare tyre roadworthy, in fact he reckoned a car/4WD would be roadworthy with NO spare. Now I was a tad flabbergasted (that means flummoxxed Jemima) and he agreed that as soon as the spare was on the car the car was technically unroadworthy, and that you'd have to be daft to have a stuffed spare anyway but...whats the actual story on this?

Does the spare have to be roadworthy?
Do you need a spare on a car for it to be roadworthy?
Does your chewinggum lose its flavour on the bedpost overnight?

I await elucidation.Laterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral

Reply By: Mickl - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 21:09

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 21:09
Not long ago I saw (on one of those 'Current Affairs' type shows) that "space saver" spare tyres (as fitted in lots of late model cars and soft roaders) are actually technically not legal (In SA anyway) to drive on.
AnswerID: 40147

Reply By: Member - Eric- Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 21:09

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 21:09
the spare does not need to be road worthy . it has to be secure , if its not there , then it dosnt have to be secure . so yes you can get a road worthy certificate with no spare , and yes I did write RWCVenus Bay
AnswerID: 40148

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 21:50

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 21:50
A lot of new cars now don't issue a 5th mag or similar profile tyre as a spare so on the basis of that observation one would ahve to assume that unless it's actually on the ground it doesn't matter.Allyn
Some days we are the flies; some days we are the windscreen.
AnswerID: 40150

Reply By: Dennis (Brisbane) - Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 23:03

Saturday, Dec 13, 2003 at 23:03
I believe the new Mini doesn't even come with a spare at all, not even the thin space saver type.

It comes with one of those cans of foam to pump up a flat.
AnswerID: 40157

Follow Up By: Member - Slim - Sunday, Dec 14, 2003 at 01:02

Sunday, Dec 14, 2003 at 01:02
Bonz,

Your mate is right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The regulations only apply to the wheels that are on the ground.

Slim
FollowupID: 257782

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 14, 2003 at 11:16

Sunday, Dec 14, 2003 at 11:16
No Spare Tire? For the price of those things, they would want to come with 4 spares...
FollowupID: 257789

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Sunday, Dec 14, 2003 at 12:52

Sunday, Dec 14, 2003 at 12:52
gday ducky.
the adr for a spare wheel states the only requirement is that its secure.
stupid rule but thats not the only stupid thing.nothing in the adr is black or white its all grey.
eg i had a guy in the other week demanding new tyres on his 4by because i had done a roadworthy on it and the tyres were to small.what are you talking about mate.well the law says that a tyre cant be any more or less than 15mm in diameter bigger or smaller than the wheel for that vehicle.i said yeh you got 31x10.5x15 tyres with road worthy tread whats the problem.well he says theese tyres come out with 14mm of tread and there worn down to 2mm of tread.yes 2 mm is still road worthy. well thats a total of 24 mm in total diameter worn of so thats more than the 15mm decrease.hmm he does have a point id better get a ruling on this.vic roads said we have to work of the size of tyrers when there new from the tyre size guide.thats saved bying the guy a new set of tyres.you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 40178

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 10:58

Monday, Dec 15, 2003 at 10:58

That's a fab new argument I hadn't heard before - a load of codswallop, of course, but certainly imaginative.

BTW, in NSW, the regulation VSI09refers to (on page 6) space saver spares, therefore rendering them legal.

Smile, you're on ExplorOz
Rohan (Sydney - on the QLD side of the Harbour Bridge)
FollowupID: 257845