Member - Hayjude (NSW)
Had an interesting night at the
Cervantes Bowls Club last night. Friends drove from
Lancelin to catch up with us and we decided to have tea to celebrate their birthday. Hayd has been hanging for lobster so we ordered at 7-40pm (cut off is 8-15). Was told there would be an hour wait even for garlic bread. No worries. Had a few drinks while we waited and at 9-15 Hayd went to see how long it would be. Was told would be another half an hour, when he asked why, the
cook told him if your not happy, f***ing
cook it your f***ing self. I don't need your f***ing s**t.
Must admit the manager handled the situation
well, got our money back, a 6 pack and apologized. We left there and went to the Tavern where we had ham and cheese toasties. Will go to the Tavern tonight for our lobster. Friendly staff as
well.
Well that's my rant for the day. Safe travels everyone.
Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 12:41
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 12:41
And the
Cook guot the Big A !.....Hoopefully
No need to take that attitude.
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 22:33
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 22:33
Maybe the crayfish and the
cook shared a common physical trait. (Oh I just know I am going to get Mod Squadded)
bleep in the head and meat in the arse.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:47
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:47
I take it the
cook went to the
Gordon Ramsay school of cuisine???
Reply By: louie the fly - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:54
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 13:54
You didn't muck about with the cheese wheel did you?
Seriously, customer service has gone out the window. So many
places offer poor service and think it's OK. Problem is a lot of people let them get away with it.
Reply By: new boy - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 14:19
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 14:19
Not condoning the attitude or language but as we all know it,s hard to get good help especially in the slightly out of the way
places as
Cervantes.
Our caravan club went there November for our Xmas show the best baymarie roast meat I have ever had the staff were very very nice and the meal came on time for about 80 they couldn't do enough for us.
Reply By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 14:25
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 14:25
Have you noticed at the Golden Arches, you queue up at the one open till and place your order, then stand back in another queue and wait for your meal. I noticed this at
Broken Hill. then at Dubbo and when returning to
Sydney the same thing. the service at the drive through is not a lot better. Being asked to move on to the wait bay for five to ten minutes and yet all of these venues had a Hiring Now Notice.
Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 15:43
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 15:43
Don't panic, you spoke to a chef and after working in kitchens for the last 20 years that chef's should not be allowed near the public.
The best chefs are temperamental, make great nice sauces, but will tell you to f…....Off.. real quick.
Reply By: Begaboy - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 17:36
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 17:36
Lets look at this from the other side - who is to say he has not been run off his feet for 14 hours straight - maybe other kitchen hands didnt turn up so he is doing the job of 2/ 3 people( no break in that time ) - everything is going wrong - Constant harrasment from people winging about him not doing things on time or not cooked perfectly list goes on and on
Something to consider when you see this situation as i am sure EVERONE on this site has had days when NOTHING works out ..
BB
Follow Up By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 23:21
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 23:21
Yes I agree with you, BUT we have both worked in hospitality and have owned our own business and have been brought up to respect our elders and the people who pay our way regardless of where they are from and what they do for a living.
We didn't mind waiting for our meals it was the attitude and abuse that followed after only a question as to how long our meal would be as I'm sure you would after 1 1/4 hr waiting.
If you can't stand the heat get out of the kitchen.
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 07:49
Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 07:49
so what your saying Hayjude is that you have NEVER snapped at someone during your working career - never uttered a bad word towards someone always kept a cool composure ?
Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 19:29
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 19:29
My tip for the day
When in W.A. - go to the pubs for meals - not clubs.
The sports clubs are not subsidised by pokies as in the eastern states.
Last time we had a meal at
Cervantes bowls/tennis/golf club the food was woeful and kitchen staff worked on a roster made up of club members.
Also - correct me if I'm wrong, the Ronsard Bay Tavern is owned by a local cray fisherman. Im sure they will have plentiful fresh local crays (lobsters) there for you.
Enjoy
Cervantes.
Follow Up By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 23:23
Sunday, Jan 29, 2012 at 23:23
Have just come
home from the Tavern and it was absolutely beautiful. Had to walk it off but now having a wine. from here on in we will take your advice and go to the pubs. Thanks.
Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 01:20
Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 01:20
There are a lot of "cowboys" [Girls) around. Know this and know that....but actualy can't do..........I worked for over 40 years in catering and have met them all. .......what would be a good guide????? If you finish your first 'bottle' and still have no food on the table.......LEAVE
Reply By: Wayne David - Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 12:54
Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 12:54
I was over in
Cervantes last year & really hanging out for feed of fish & chips. When I refueled I was informed at the servo that everything was closed in town and there was no chance of fish & chips.
Well luckily that was total BS. We found a fish & chip
shop in a small group of shops there. Nothing flash but comfortable seating, a
cook with a good sense of humour and delicious sea food.
I think the only shock was the prices. Considering this was a fishing town I was hoping for some real good deals. No such luck. However the fish & chips was top shelf. So no grumbles from me.
Wish I'd known about the tavern though.
Cheers - Wayne
Reply By: JimDi - Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 18:59
Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 18:59
Hayjude,
In these situations when you are told "If you are not happy,
cook it yourself." I often wonder what the outcome would be if you took the bloke up on his offer. That is , say okay and step into his domain and start cooking your own meal.
The worst the missus and I ever struck was about ten years ago in a pub in
Brisbane. We were the only diners in the dining room. Our order was taken and then we were forgotten about. Twice staff came to ask questions like "is everything okay". We would explain that we had ordered but nothing seemed to be happening. it took an hour to resolve from memory.
Jim
Follow Up By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 23:25
Monday, Jan 30, 2012 at 23:25
yep JimDi
thought about taking up the offer but it would have turned very ugly in the kitchen, but no worries you live and learn dont you