first outback Family adventure

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 11:16
ThreadID: 91593 Views:3020 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all
I am about to take my family on our first outback adventure and am very excited but at the same time very nervous, I have had many years of experience camping, and driving on bush tracks, but have never undertaken something like this. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.
This is roughly what I intend to do:
Toowoomba, Longreach, winton, Lark Quarry.
Winton to Alice via the Plenty Hwy.
Alice to Uluru via hermansburg, ormiston gorge, and kings canyon.
Uluru to oodnandatta via finke, mt dare, and Dalhousie Springs.
Oodnadatta to marree(oodnandatta track), marree to Birdsville (birdsville track).
Birdsville to innaminka, cameron corner (maybe), and home via st george.
Vehicle: Hyundai terracan 2.9 CRDi, heavy duty shocks, air bags, slight lift, dual battery, bull bar.
Towing an "off road extreme" CT (1200kg).
Planning to set off in June, and have 4-5 weeks to do it in.
Also, people say its too crowded in Central Aus in June, how crowded ?, does that mean we wont find accomidation in camp grounds, or will there be bumper to bumper on the outback roads.
Regards
Nervous Dave
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: patsproule - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 11:24

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2012 at 11:24
How old are your kids? While I want mine to see the country when travelling, the best investment I bought was an in-car DVD player. We dont use it all the time but it's good for when the "are we there yet"s start coming.

Other tips - plan plenty of stops and give them time to run around when stopping. Dont feed them heaps of sugar in the car. Do some research on the places you are visiting ahead of the trip so that you can tell them info about where they are and what happens there. But otherwise kids are very adaptable. Stop worrying and get out there!

Pat
AnswerID: 476571