Little Bastards

Submitted: Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:33
ThreadID: 9333 Views:2031 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
Well just returned to the vehicle down at Hillarys Boat Harbour in Perth and found the read door open. Some little (or big) bastard smashed the rear window trying to get the fridge out. Sucked in - it is fully bolted in from underneath and there is no way in the world they could get it out in a hurry.

They did not even open the roller drawers and take all the gear out. Lucky for me again is that they could not get into the rest of the car due to the cargo barrier.

The vehicle was parked in the front bay of the rear car park you would think someone would have seen them. Lucky for them I did not see them as I don't give a stuff about hurting them.

I guess also lucky for me is that RAC will replace the almost $900 rear window for free, without affecting the NCB. Only thing that upsets me is that these wankers always seem to get away with it.

Most destressing part is that they smashed the 4 ExplorOz stickers two of these were the original square ones that we do not have anymore. Bugger bugger bugger.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
--------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)

Reply By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:38

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:38
How anyone can have the gall to do this sort of thing in broad daylight!! Stuff like that can really take the shine of Christmas - try not to let it stuff you anymore than necessary. Hope that things otherwise have been fabulous for Chrissy.
Thanks also for the work you and Michelle put into this site.
AndrewMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
AnswerID: 41125

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 16:06

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 16:06
A nice touch - We have had two people leave messages on our office phone telling us that the car had been broken into. Pity they did not see anything.

Fridge has now been relegated to inside the house - We use it on occasion at the shops but now we will leave it at home. Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
--------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
AnswerID: 41129

Follow Up By: Member - Slim - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 17:41

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 17:41
David,

Always be careful about leaving vehicles at this Marina. My last vehicle was a 3 month old VS Commodore Ute which I left locked (as always ) in the carpark adjacent to Volcanoes Restaurant. On return after a meal with friends I found the remote locking was making an unusual noise and further examination revealed a gaping screwdriver hole beneath the door lock in the driver's door. I'm told by others of doubtful experience that it is then quite simple to unlock the door and gain entry to the vehicle. The panel damage was about $500. Fortunately there was nothing in the vehicle to steal as I don't leave anything in the vehicle since my wife's keys were stolen from the centre console in another car in Leederville but that's another story.................

Merry Christmas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Slim.
FollowupID: 303682

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 16:40

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 16:40
Just remember this when condoning poor behaviour by silence. The little bastards run riot when your next in the Mall, bus or train etc.

Me, I've turned into a total grumpy old chit and dob the little b's into their schools at any excuse now, cause if they think it fun to make peoples day a little more miserable then I want to make their chitty.

As I said before "Pay it forward".

;-)

RTA

Russell
AnswerID: 41132

Reply By: Member - Tony- Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 17:02

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 17:02
Can relate to that David, wouldn't you love to catch them. Long story short, had my house rolled and violated by three little bastards. Due to a mix up cops didn't front for 24 hrs and then couldn't find them even they were known. But I did, got my stuff back and a bit of satisfaction and was charged with assault and kidnapping, them nothing.
Would do it again tomorrow.
Cheers The Ghost
AnswerID: 41133

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Jan 01, 2004 at 04:38

Thursday, Jan 01, 2004 at 04:38
I had my house burgled this time last year while in Perth on business.
Do you reckon the cops took prints or attended the scene. Not a chance ! So 4 weeks later when I returned home how much work d'ya reckon had been done towards recovering my stolen goods.
Thankfully some kind friends & neighbours tidied the place up and locked it all again
FollowupID: 304005

Reply By: howesy - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 17:17

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 17:17
Actually caught a bloke trying to break in once and and gave him a bit of a shove and told him to F**k off. Would you believe the piece of bleep had the hide to complain to the cops that i assaulted him. lucky for me the cop taking the complaint knew me (in a good light) and more importantly knew the guy had form. I got a phone call to ask what happened and then my mate said leave it with me. Imagine if they didn't know me and he had no form I would have been possibly in court trying to justify my actions. You ever noticed how these pieces of scum always have a mate that is prepaed to lie for them as well. The victim is always in the wrong , good system hey. Everyone has an opinion, ther's mine.
AnswerID: 41134

Reply By: Bitsumishin - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 00:08

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 00:08
This would have been the 3rd fridge from forumites in as many weeks. Are these a new craze for rave parties or something?
AnswerID: 41144

Follow Up By: Member - Peter [SA] - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 11:00

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 11:00
I would imagine they would be easy money for a junkie. They would be easy to sell for say $250.00.
FollowupID: 303707

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:55

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:55
steady on the rave scene?1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
FollowupID: 303807

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 14:36

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 14:36
I picked up a complete top GXL rear door for $100 at last years Sydney L/C swap meet, because ive heard how much the glass is.
Sounds like you have it under control, but if you would like it, let me know.
Andrew wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 41157

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 15:35

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 15:35
gday david .
all i can say is that sucks big time.
hope the rest of your crissy new years is with out trouble.
ps why do you think cops shoot to killyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 41162

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 20:10

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 20:10
Hi David,

Sorry to read of your problems.

Probably the same little bastards that torched four vehicles through Sorrento at 4AM XMAS morning. 3 out of 4 were people we know well and it sure put a damper on their XMAS. One of the vehicles was an ENZED truck, so not only did Chris lose his truck but he has lost his income. The only saving grace being that he got the fire out before it took hold of the rear box storage unit full of his stuff, which can be tx to a new truck.

Cannot believe anyone could do it, let alone XMAS morning. Heartless bastards that deserve a torching of their own. It's bad when you can't even leave your car in the driveway.

Hugh
AnswerID: 41177

Reply By: Mark from Getaway Portable Refrigerator Hire - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 00:41

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 00:41
Sorry to hear about the break in David. I know of someone (and so do you- Debbie D. that had their fridge stolen from the back of their D/cab with canopy. At the Dianella Shopping Centre in Daylight. I have the rear and side back windows covered with the solar screen product (would be a good advertiser) so that they can't see in and it keeps that area dark and cool. But yesterday I brought some of that wire they use on boats and bolted and padlocked the fridge to the cargo barrier but the wire still allows the fridge slide to work.. It is a 42 litre Trailblaza so they would be battling to get it out anyway. These days you have to padlock just about everything. I guess if you had caught these so and so's you would not have taken them down to Spinnikers for a coffee.

MarkGetaway Portable Refrigerator Hire
AnswerID: 41225

Reply By: chrisfrd - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:36

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:36
I had a mongrel-bastard try to steal my fridge and winch from my car a few months ago, whilst parked at work in Canberra. He smashed the rear window of my Patrol GU and proceeded to empty the contents of the back of the truck. When I saw what was going on (considering the car is in eye-shot of my desk and the alarm pager started going nuts!) I went out there to "inform them that they were under citizens arrest" (eh-hem!) the mungrel-bastard told me tobleepoff and walk away or I'd get a beating. NOT a good idea.

He hit his head on the pavement a few times whilst falling after running away. His mate did the coward-act thing and did a bolter with the car then claimed I had beaten his mate. Didn't stand up to first interrogation with the cops that took 15 minutes to turn up.

Apparently if you take their wallets from them and gleen medicare and drivers licence information after the citizens arrest, then you aren't breaking the law.

I heared that the mongrel had his car burnt to the ground a few days later by somebody.. He must have picked-up a few enemies that are out to do harm to him. He must have needed the gear for some personal debt.

I had the window replaced (including the tinting!) for free, but I had to pay to get the alarm siren and fridge slide repaired. Worth much more than the VL commodore that the mongrel lost!
AnswerID: 41232