Suggestions what to take camping for 1st timers going to Cape York

Hello members,

I'm new to Exploroz and my partner & I are heading off in late June with 2 other couples and plan to drive from Cairns to Cape York (one of the couples are very experienced campers). We have our 4Wheel Drive and have bought an OZtent, but are looking for advice as to what to take with us, apart from food, clothes, water, spare tyres etc. etc. The men are planning all the things needed for the landcruiser , but the women would like advice from other females out there....

Maybe some of you experienced campers know of some special things that may be particularly useful e.g. baby wipes to use if there are no showers or creeks available...

Also, we're taking a portable toilet (for emergencies) and we're wondering if anyone knows where you can buy more of the plastic bags?

Appreciate any advice you can give us.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Apr 14, 2012 at 15:25

Saturday, Apr 14, 2012 at 15:25
Hi Robin,

You ask "Maybe some of you experienced [female] campers know of some special things that may be particularly useful". Here are my thoughts.

First up a sense of humor, and curiosity for all the sights that you will see. And lots of flexibility about schedules and getting to places "on time". Take a camera and diary to record your adventures - dont rely on memory. Understand the route that you are taking so that you can track your progress on a map or GPS.