Good second hand 100s toyos with the HDFTE engine scarce as rocking horse...!!

Submitted: Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 19:42
ThreadID: 96433 Views:3583 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
B/Inlaw has seached the continent for a good 100s diesel .with the later diesel .....I was Totally P....off when our local dealer offered one for forty grand!!.2002 model, over 200,000ks, and not all that well looked after...Just to rub me up the wrong way, the thing had very poor oil pressure,I mean the guage dropping right back to nothing on warm idle, and not moving very far with revs up...Sales man reckoned it was normal ........ .Dealers PFFFFT!

Can't believe how some off the later models are holding up in value!

Why didn't Nissan put a Auto in their 4.2l Patrol,..Must of lost that many sales

and would have made the second hand market a bit more competitive, Toyotas landcruisers diesels with auto trans, in good nick, are definetley sought after vehicles.

Cheers Axle

Reply By: racinrob - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 19:58

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 19:58
Like you I'm after a second hand LandCruiser, a turbo diesel a bit younger than 2002 and as you say, very scarce. Salesman at a big Toyota dealer near me said it was due to supply and demand, the Tsunami crippled production in Japan and people are just not trading them in as they can't get a new one without a long wait.
Does that sound right or just another salesmans story ?

rr VKE237 6678
AnswerID: 489191

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:11

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:11
Its Hard to say mate, The supply and demand part is right, but i think toyos pricing for the 200s has a lot to do with it .

FollowupID: 764327

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:57

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:57
You're right about the pricing Axle.

I can remember just before the 200 came out that second hand 100s were going for a song, low miles, great condition.

Then the 200 came out and even though I own one I am happy to admit that I used to think the 100 was ugly, until the 200 came out. Although it is growing on me.

The pricing of the 200 saw the asking price of second hand 100s go skywards, and they've stayed that way.

Good for all owners, not so good for buyers.

FollowupID: 764344

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:00

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:00
And late Prado diesels aren't much better Axle. 2010 in Sydney for $60k (Private sale) and you can get a new one for $64k if you shop around. Been looking for a while and the best I have seen over here in the east is $55k. Hard to swallow. cheers,Bob.
AnswerID: 489192

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:15

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:15
Agree Bob It is hard to swallow ,...But i think we'll have to like it or lump it for a while yet!..LOL.

FollowupID: 764328

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:41

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:41

..well it is only mid 2012...so a 2010 model could be almost brand new :)

FollowupID: 764342

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:36

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:36
Axle! Gday...
The auto 4.2TDi was available in other countries but i dont know how good they were.. The 4.2 is really gutless in factory form and i reckon they would be thirsty, the only thing they have going for them is reliability!! Michael

AnswerID: 489199

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:47

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 20:47
Hi Mike.....Haven't had anything to do with the nissan diesels, but reliability is common knowledge with the 4.2 TD.s.. It some what surprises me when you say they are Gutless in factory form?... Gawd!!heaps have passed me in the landrover on hills over the years.....HAhahahaha.

FollowupID: 764331

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:33

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:33
NOW THATS FUNNY Axle! What about kids on roller skates!!! LOL!! Michael

FollowupID: 764340

Follow Up By: david m5 - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:51

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 21:51
I placed an add on the landcruisers owners forum and had good responses from people who were willing to sell. I ended up buying one locally luckily. I have been offered $13000 more than i paid for it but still wont sell.
FollowupID: 764343

Follow Up By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 05:20

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 05:20
Hey Axle,

When you get overtaken by ants then you know you're in trouble - lol.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 764359

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 10:34

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 10:34
That's a bit harsh on the old toyo. Recent desert trip (around 1000ks remote) the Nissan td 4.2 took an extra 30 liters to fill and has no where near the torque of the troopy. I will stick with the 1HDFTE, far better for remote travel. If I want comfort I just use the TD Prado but still prefer the Troopy overall. Just my take on things!
FollowupID: 764438

Follow Up By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 10:41

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 10:41
Hi Leigh,
Not sure if your

That's a bit harsh on the old toyo. Recent desert trip (around 1000ks remote) the Nissan td 4.2 took an extra 30 liters to fill and has no where near the torque of the troopy. I will stick with the 1HDFTE, far better for remote travel. If I want comfort I just use the TD Prado but still prefer the Troopy overall. Just my take on things!

was directed at my post, it was tongue ion cheek. I have a 100 Series HDFTE and wouldn't part with it no matter what. Prior to that I had a 80 Series 1991 for 19 years and almost had a coronary when I parted with the old girl.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 764441

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 11:14

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 11:14
Nah Phil, I am right behind you. Same sentiments shared by us both. Cheers
FollowupID: 764447

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 23:21

Friday, Jun 22, 2012 at 23:21
with oil pressure and injector faults of the 200 series l/c, many of our major mining co's bought a lot of the 100 series to cover the shortfall , untill reliabilty of the new V8 became more viable. they will become more available , not unlike the 80 series , people held onto to them untill a new more reliable vehicle came to the market
AnswerID: 489202

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 16:57

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 16:57
G'day Stuart,
Mate, the 80 is still a sort after 4wd.
Just look at the prices they command.
Still amazed at the amount of people who have regretted selling their 80.
Don't think I'll sell mine soon.
FollowupID: 764399

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 17:10

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 17:10
What?
I dont think so
100s have always been rare in minesites with just a few as boss vehicles. 105s were common and were replaced by the 70 series wagon.
There are a few 200 series but just big boss vehicles same as the 100
Troops and utrecht are still king out in the sites far outnumbering 4 doors by huge margins
FollowupID: 764400

Reply By: Mark R - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 06:50

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 06:50
Hey guys,

If you want a good one look at my ad in the Exploroz classifieds Site Link
AnswerID: 489206

Follow Up By: Muddy.au - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 08:18

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 08:18
Hi Mark, I think the 50k is what they are talking about, its great really I have had a 2005 since new and paid 70k
FollowupID: 764363

Reply By: bazz - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 18:29

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 18:29
yes the old patrol 4.2 Na diesels are gutless and thirsty but try killing one,my 2000 ute is towing 2.4 tonvan ,slow but reliable ,throw a turbo on them is a different story , would love a 100 series turbo but way too expensive , the injecter problems with common rail systems is another issue , I'm going to stick with the mechanical patrol untill these injecter problems are sorted , also why do you need a auto ... ?
AnswerID: 489235

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 19:10

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 19:10
Mate its the B/inlaws Drama, about a 4WD,..the BiiiiiiiG Van was purchased and nothing to Tow itl!!......Why Auto?...His Missus said" No auto!" Your on your own!..LOL.

FollowupID: 764405

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 19:18

Saturday, Jun 23, 2012 at 19:18
So Axle, he is madly looking for a manual?? YES!! Michael :))

FollowupID: 764406

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 10:10

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 10:10
HAhahahaha!,...If he had any sense Mike ,a manual would be the Go.
FollowupID: 764434

Reply By: hamo - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 08:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 08:19
I would of thought a TD 100 series with 200000 on the clock @ $40000 was cheap.
I've got an very well setup 80 series with a 1hdft motor (auto) & id be asking 30-35000 if i was thinking of selling.
Hamo
AnswerID: 489267

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 14:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 14:19
Know of a 1 owner 02 with 143klm full logbook servicing going for $43,000 , b/inlaw refused the ridiculous tradein price offered by the dealer on his new 200series ,,,,
AnswerID: 489294