Carriage of Cables, chargers,etc

Submitted: Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 07:55
ThreadID: 96841 Views:2614 Replies:11 FollowUps:20
How does everyone carry all the cables and chargers we need these days for cameras, computers, etc????

Currently mine are dumped in a bucket which carries them OK but then you have a "bird's nest" tangle when you want to extract one. The required one is always at the bottom!!!!

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:00

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:00
G'Day Alan,

We roll ours up and secure with a lacky band that also holds the label indicating which gadget it's for. Then in the bucket it goes.

Hopefully someone has a smarter idea.

AnswerID: 490784

Reply By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:24

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:24
There are two covered areas beside the set of drawers in the back of the car.

Cables, ropes and rags are in bags in these areas. We do not carry any 240V stuff so all is small and easily wound up and tied together with elastic bands or wire wrappers like on a loaf of bread. Then they go is either a soft material bag or a plastic bag.

Everything that we have runs of 12V or can be recharged from 12V. We have three batteries under the bonnet with a one (cranking) - two (auxillary) split.

One has all the recovery gear and tyre repair stuff in it.

The other which has the air compressor mounted in it also has the ground sheet, water bra, bag of rags, air hose and tyre gauges in it. Some ropes are in each.

Neither is the most convenient to get to. The right hand one with the air hose is the easiest to get to. We do not use much of it apart from the air hose and tyre gauge. The air is plumbed to a wall outlet at the rear together with extra 12V outlets, the water faucet.

Try getting or making some soft bags and then put the cables etc in those bags and store the bags in a square or rectangle plastick box with a lid. I got some with lids for the food. We also have a rectangle bucket that carries the water hose and fittings. It is so much easier storing square or rectanglular stuff than round thinmgs.

The boxes are similar to those with wheels that you slip under the bed. But a more suitable size for dry foods and no wheels.
AnswerID: 490788

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:30

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:30
Try putting your cables etc in soft cloth bags in boxes like these storage boxes only get a more suitable size first.

FollowupID: 766187

Reply By: Member - nick b - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:27

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 08:27
Allan : All my leads are in a fishing tackle bag/satchel -berkley- zipp up individual envelope style 350 x 250 mm also i can put my small lap top pc in it too , packs well when on the road..... go in to a good fishing tackle shop and have a look ..

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 490789

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 09:09

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 09:09
Don't have to be on the road to have that problem, I have it at home.
I do something similar, smaller USB leads are in strong individual zip lock plastic bags with label on lead.
Larger 240V/12V ones all together, laid out initially on top of each other in one bundle with a reuseable zip tie/ cable tie holding them together in the middle and again each end labelled with a masking tape tag.
Can't always get "people" to put them back though into the bundle.
That way they don't tangle (or anywhere near as much).
FollowupID: 766190

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 10:00

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 10:00
Hi Alan, I only have one charger to cover all charging requirements. Your computer uses 19 volts and you can get a 19 volt multi charger so you can change the ends to suite the item you need to charge. Comes in a small cloth bag and sits in the glove box.
Andy

AnswerID: 490795

Reply By: landseka - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 10:12

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 10:12
I made a compact, lightweight box with a suitable size to hold all the chargers I need with sufficient powerboards to supply them. It has a slot at the top with 6" of each charger cable protuding over a slanted top with non-stick matt to place the item being charged and just has one lead coming out the back to plug into the wall.

I would upload a pic but of course this forum won't allow a non member to do that.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 490798

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:28

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:28

Yep, still can load pics etc
FollowupID: 766219

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:40

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:40
Gramps

How did you get those images from your computer to the thread?
FollowupID: 766220

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:43

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:43
PJR

Exactly the same way as you mentioned in your reply below. Photobucket and the Insert Image option in the Post/Reply windows.

FollowupID: 766222

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:48

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:48
Technically that is not an upload to Exploroz. It's an upload to Photobucket.

I was under the impression that the site provided members with a process to upload their photos direct to Exploroz and not through another site.

No worries
FollowupID: 766224

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:53

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:53
I think landseka only wanted to load a picture to the post to illustrate his solution. The technicalities of whether it is an actual upload to Exploroz or not, in this situation, is neither here nor there really.

Members do have other privileges, which they pay for, including direct uploads to the site if that is what they want to do.

Horses for courses.

FollowupID: 766225

Follow Up By: landseka - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:01

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:01
Aha, thanks guys, I tried again via Photobucket but this time used Insert Link instead of Insert Image. Seems to have worked this time.

Cheers Neil

Site Link
FollowupID: 766227

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:13

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:13
True. I was a little pedantic with the word "upload". That comes from the background in the computers and IT since 1970. Thank god I am retired.

It's the same mechanism used to embed a video. Not bad David.

One day I will try the "Embed User Routes".

FollowupID: 766228

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:14

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:14
Also IT since 71 - semi-retired.
FollowupID: 766229

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:25

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:25
Sounds like we may be the only ones here who really know where "reboot" came from mate.

Remember the old elecromechanical relays. It's a wonder what a tap on the front of a cabinet with the foot will do. And we had 48 K memory of streamng continuour loop 2" tape.

Ahhhhh
FollowupID: 766231

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:27

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:27
Oh for an editor. That should have been; "streaming continuous loop 2" tape"

STRAD??????
FollowupID: 766232

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:33

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:33
Nothing like the old card-reader blizzard when some programmer thought he was too good to number his lines of code LOL
FollowupID: 766233

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:39

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:39
We'd better stop before we get into trouble.

I see the comment about not being able to load pics because they're not Members from a lot of Visitors. It's a myth that needs to be dispelled. The procedure is probably in the FAQs somewhere but I'm too lazy to look for it.
FollowupID: 766234

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:56

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 16:56
It may be but for us oldies it is simple to work out. I am ducking already. And not an "app" in sight.

FollowupID: 766235

Follow Up By: landseka - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 17:00

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 17:00
I said above before all your back-slapping started how to do it.
FollowupID: 766237

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 17:10

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 17:10
Neil,

Hahahaha we're old, we're allowed to reminisce occasionally. I'll try and post the procedure in this thread later on for you.

FollowupID: 766240

Reply By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:35

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:35
Correct Nonmembers cannot upload direct to Exploroz.

As a non member I upload any pictures to photobucket and then use the direct link to the image at the photobucket site in the "Insert Image" function.
AnswerID: 490834

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:41

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:41
I may be wrong here. Lets see what Gramps says above.
FollowupID: 766221

Follow Up By: landseka - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:56

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 15:56
Hi PJR, I tried that to no avail. Members only can do it.
FollowupID: 766226

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 17:01

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 17:01
I have read the posts up to the photo bucket bit (which I did not understnd!) and think somewhere your question is unanswered,

I use Canon still cameras and JVC video cameras. I find that whilst I have four different types of battery to charge and three different types (styles) of battery to charge I only need two (2) 240 volt plugs 1 X 2 holer and 1 x 3 holder. I keep the battery bit in the camera bag for the appropriate battery and the two 240 volt thingees in a seperatle container. Hence there is no tangle of cables.

I hope this may be of help to you (OR maybe I got lost too!!!)
AnswerID: 490844

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 18:20

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 18:20
Hi Alan

Back to the question. Everything for the laptop is carried with it in a laptop bag. For everything else electronic i have a flat plastic kitchen type of container - a bit bigger than two lunch boxes. I get Velcro bands from KMart to keep the cords tidy. Just about everything takes AA or AAA batteries, so one charger covers all. It is hard to get point and shoot cameras these days that don't have their own battery but i prefer a bundle of AAs in the camera bag when i get to the top of a mountain than discovering a built in battery has gone flat.

AnswerID: 490849

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 19:35

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 19:35
We also purchased an extra battery for the camera. It is on trickle charge most of the time. Lucky you MH, I cannot even get to the top of a hill.

Also thanks for the reminder on the velcro strips. I must have used hundreds of them back at works years ago and completely forgot about using them now.

Like you we also have a "kitchen" style packing box system. Not only for cables but for 99% of the kit we carry including the food, utensils and condiments in the drawers. Square and rectangular boges are heaps more efficient when packing in a car.
FollowupID: 766250

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 19:20

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 19:20
Collect a few empty cardboard toilet roll or similar tubes. Fold the cables to fit snuggly and label the tubes accordingly. Neat and tidy. Cheers.

Roger B.....
AnswerID: 490853

Reply By: Bigfish - Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 20:41

Friday, Jul 13, 2012 at 20:41
If you go to a fishingle tackle store that sells gear for billfishing(marlin, sailfish etc) they often sell lure bags. Breathable mesh with pockets in them and they roll up. Excellent pieces of equipment for a multitude of uses. Various sizes.
AnswerID: 490870

Reply By: Ron N - Saturday, Jul 14, 2012 at 22:15

Saturday, Jul 14, 2012 at 22:15
I bought a big soft padded camera bag about 10 yrs ago in central Sydney, for $44. It measures about 22cm x 20cm x 35cm and it has multiple zip compartments on the outside, as well as multiple compartments in the main section of the bag. It works great for carrying all the accessories, adaptors, chargers and cables that one can't do without today.
AnswerID: 490971