Locking gas bottles and water cans on a Camping Trailer

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 10:32
ThreadID: 97414 Views:4937 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
G'day everyone,
We're heading off from Melbourne in 6 weeks for a 8 week trip up through the centre to Darwin then across to the East coast and back to Melbourne.
We are tenting it, towing a trailer and wondering if we need to lock up the gas bottles and water cans mounted on the side of the trailer. Will be staying on the bitumen, mainly at caravan and National parks.

Cheers & Beers

Rob, Kim & Will
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - mrlocks - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 10:46

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 10:46
Im a locksmith, from my experience anything not bolted/locked down will dissapear. the cost of some basic padlocks and chain would be less than a replacement gas bottle and fill.
Have a great trip
AnswerID: 492864

Follow Up By: rnrphantom - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 11:05

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 11:05
Thanks mrlocks.
I thought as much but wanted others opinion.
Thinking of a maybe plastic coated hardened cable and padlocks.

Cheers
Rob
FollowupID: 768489

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 15:13

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 15:13
Unfortunately the number of low lifes just waiting for the oportunity to relieve us of our posessions seems to be on the increase. Personally I would use plastic coated wire cables and hardened shank locks as you mentioned, they are a bit harder to cut with tools such as bolt cutters. The dirtbag with an angle grinder is a bit harder to stop but usually they don't like to make as much noise.

Safe travels
Pop
FollowupID: 768495

Reply By: jothefw - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 11:06

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2012 at 11:06
We have never worried about locking water or gas on - sometimes we put a R clip or similar through (split pin perhaps) just as extra back up to bungie straps etc