Family tent advice ... keep confusing myself!

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 21, 2012 at 21:17
ThreadID: 97564 Views:5580 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hi, I've just joined the forum and am completely new to camping (I think a break of 20 years pretty much means I'm a newbie) and we've been researching family tents for weeks now with the only result being a vague short list and the need to open another bottle of red! We are a family of 4 (kids are 8 and 11) and we're after the kind of tent that has separate rooms for us and them.
Friends have recently bought themselves the Retreat 360 from Kathmandu and they love it (but it is their first tent so maybe they don't have anything to compare it to?). Our list consists of that model, the Coleman Montana 12 (yep, it's big but I don't want to have to upgrade any time soon), or the Black Wolf Turbo Lite twin 300 (seems to have a good rep and I like the idea of a quick set up). Hubby reckons we could then get a smaller additional Black Wolf tent and have a little annex between them so the kids are in their own tent and the rest is used as storage and living.
So firstly, are there any opinions on the tents I've mentioned, or any new ideas to add to my list? And would we still require a separate enclosure/screen house to do the cooking in to keep insects at bay?
Sorry, there's SO MANY questions...thanks in advance!
PS: We bought a Cobb Premium oven which I can't wait to christen - I've heard great things about them.
PPS: I'm looking forward to not being a newbie :)
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: chisel - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2012 at 21:21

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2012 at 21:21
2 small blackwolfs (eg. turbo lite 240) and a gazebo for living would be my pick.
You could get 2 oztents but you're looking at a grand each for those.

I can't see you needing a turbo lite twin 300 AND another tent. That's overkill.
AnswerID: 493362

Follow Up By: the_fitzroys - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2012 at 21:59