Mazda BT50 V's Holden Colorado

Submitted: Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 17:22
ThreadID: 98673 Views:17287 Replies:10 FollowUps:21
Hi just inquiring if anyone is towing a caravan with either of these vehicles. We will be towing a Newlands 22 foot caravan and just wanting to know a bit more about the two and peoples opinions on them. Cheers Bretto!!

Reply By: Geoff K4 - Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 17:46

Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 17:46
I have a new Isuzu D-max, same thing as the Colorado, i have towed our 2t van without any worries. Towed it (van) a month ago with a huge head wind for 400k's and pushed it hard & tried to sit between 95-100KPH. I got 14.8L/100 not bad for a new truck and the wind. It tows our van without effort. But, rated to tow 3t braked. I think the Mazda is 3.25T braked towing ??.

AnswerID: 497165

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 05:58

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 05:58
New colorado has a different engine to the new dmax which retains the old 4jj1
FollowupID: 772958

Follow Up By: Ross M - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 15:39

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 15:39
It remains to be seen if the Italian Motori engine, now sourced and used by GMH, is as good and reliable as the Isuzu 4JJ1 or the BT50 5cylinder Volvo engine.
Time will reveal all.
FollowupID: 772993

Follow Up By: Geoff K4 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 17:06

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 17:06
gbc,
Your correct with the new models coming out being different.
Just to clarify things, my D-Max is the old model before Holden & Isuzu parted ways. Yes mine is newish but not the latest model. Was a run out deal before the one ones hit the dealer. Also a 3.0ltr TD.
FollowupID: 773009

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:56

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:56
G'day Ross M

Just curious about your comment on the BT50 5 cylinder engine being Volvo ? All the research I did prior to buying my new Ford Ranger says the 3.2 litre 5 cylinder Duratorq engine is built in Ford's South African Struandale plant !

I don't care where it's made as long as it's reliable - and so far so good - 10,000 k's on the clock in less than 3 months and I love it !

Great car - great economy and after last weekends efforts in the High Country, great 4wd abillity - the boys with the big Nissans and Toyotas were extremely impressed !

Happy Travelling

Gazz

FollowupID: 773021

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 22:32

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 22:32
Ford owned Volvo for around 10 years up to 2010 and had a 33% interest in Mazda. They share their engines around a range of different brands. My Land Rover was built by Ford in 2008, has some Volvo transmission parts and a Peugot diesel motor. The petrol engines in 2008 Land Rovers are Volvo straight sixes. My 2004 Jeep has a Mercedes diesel and transmission. VW, Audi and Skoda all pretty much use the same engines. The list goes on.
FollowupID: 773029

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2012 at 07:24

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2012 at 07:24
G'day Mikehzz

Thanks for the info ! As mentioned to Ross I don't care who makes them or where they are made as long as they are reliable. When he mentioned Volvo I was just worried I might have to start wearing a felt hat and drive at 75 kph on the open road !! LOL

Gazz

FollowupID: 773038

Follow Up By: gbc - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2012 at 09:19

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2012 at 09:19
I should have said I have the old colorado at present with 120k of assorted 4wding and towing on it, and it has been one of the more honest and reliable utes I have ever had. I have spent some time towing 3.2t with the new 5 cylinder Ford Ranger (ala new bt50) and it is a bigger more powerful car and it shows whilst towing something akin to your 22 ft van. I have no experience with the new colorado yet, but on paper it looks the goods for towing as well.
FollowupID: 773050

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 18:03

Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 18:03
Hi Bretto,

The nephew has the petrol Colerado, about 2 years old now I think.
He just bought a Jayco Heritage 21.5 footer and he reckons the Colerado tows it well.
Van weighs around 2.2 tonne I think.

Mind you he has not towed a great deal with it yet as he has only recently got the van but so far he is happy with the outfit.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 497167

Reply By: Member - willawa - Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 21:18

Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 21:18
Bretto

We purchased our Colorado LTR 3.0 ltr diesel last December .We tow an Utilmate camper trailer and are more than happy with its overall performance, comfort & it has more than enough power for our use.
On our trip the the Gulf country last June /July we averaged 14kltrs/100 klms. covering a range road conditions wihtout any problems.

I also looked at other 4X4 utes and chose the Colorado as in my mind it was the best value for money.

AnswerID: 497178

Reply By: hubgod - Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 22:22

Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 22:22
Out BT50 is 4 months old now and we love the fact that it pulls like a train and doesnt even know the van is behind us. Oh and a whole heap of fun out on the tracks.
AnswerID: 497187

Follow Up By: Member -Carl R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 23:12

Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 23:12
Have just started our life on the road on the 16th September with our new BT50 auto from Brisbane to Darwin.The BT50 pulls great and although we had a side wind we managed 15 lts per 100 klm,it did go to 16lts when pulling through the hills but that can be expected.Most of the time we sat on 90 to 95 kph.The van is a coromal capri 535 not a large van but is much higher than the car and weighed approx 2.2 ton.
FollowupID: 772954

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 23:02

Monday, Oct 22, 2012 at 23:02
We have a 2011 Colorado LTR 3 lt diesel, I have done 40,000 reasonably hard km including towing the boat and the camper.

I simply can't fault it, it is great.
AnswerID: 497189

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 07:42

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 07:42
The Gross Combination Mass of these three vehicles are:-

2012 Colorado - 6000 Kg
2012 BT 50 - 5950 Kg
2012 D.Max - 5950 Kg

Some thing to check out when you look at what you want to tow.
Info from carsales.com

AnswerID: 497196

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:39

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:39
Do you think 50kg will make that much difference?
FollowupID: 773018

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 21:15

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 21:15
Why don't you go and look at the real facts, just wish they would get rid of you of this forum.
FollowupID: 773022

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 09:20

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 09:20
The new Colorado is a 2.8 litre diesel that has 40% more torque than the old 3 litre one. It is basically a US Chevy Trailblazer in disguise though built in Thailand. Drives nice but too new to know if there are problems in my opinion.
AnswerID: 497200

Follow Up By: Ross M - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 15:47

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 15:47
40%more torque with 7% less engine size equates to the engine working harder. More boost to develop the torque.
I hope that doesn't mean 40% less or even 7% less life expectancy or proportionately more mechanical trouble.
FollowupID: 772996

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 15:48

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 15:48
The motor is built by VM Motori (Fiat) and is also used in the Jeep Wrangler.
FollowupID: 772997

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 16:03

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 16:03
I'm not sure about the VM Motori. They are a Chrysler connection not GM. The engine is a Chevy Duramax from their light truck range. It's not listed on the VM Motori website.
http://www.vmmotori.it/en/01/01/index.jsp

It's hard to know what brand car you are buying these days :-)
FollowupID: 773000

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 18:14

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 18:14
Hi Mike I am with you about " it's hard to know what brand car you are buying these days" but I promise you that the 2.8 in the Colorado is a VM Motori. I did 18 months of research and test drove all the new utes, even test drove a second hand Touareg, in the end I had to stick with the Isuzu brand after more than ten years of great service from my other MU's.
FollowupID: 773011

Follow Up By: Ross M - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 19:35

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 19:35
Chevrolet has used the Duramax name with some of their bigger engines and because it is well known they have decided to capitalize on that name and use it as the name for this engine.

DURAMAX has much more bogan acceptance than vmmotori. and Fiat.
Can you imagine an Aussie beer swiller proudly announcing they have a motori engine in their truck, no way hose "A".
FollowupID: 773014

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 19:51
That 6.6l duramax engine used in the big chevs is an Isuzu light truck engine and as always being an Isuzu motor it is very reliable.

The 2.8l VM motor now in the Colorado has been around for a while. Europe are making some very powerful and fuel efficient engines these days especially in their log haul truck range. Yhey are putting out huge amounts of torque.

RA.
FollowupID: 773015

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2012 at 12:08

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2012 at 12:08
hi guys a couple of websites with some facts about the colorado engines origins
www.gminsidenews.com
www.carsguide.com.au
GM and fiat have 50/50 ownership of vm motori
and the new colorado engine is called a duramax according to the above article in the carsguide news item
read if you wish the choice is yours
FollowupID: 773063

Follow Up By: Jeff P - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 08:34

Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 08:34
Wow 18 months of research to buy another vehicle!
FollowupID: 773156

Reply By: The Greta Bunyip - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 12:44

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 12:44
It's pertinent I mention up-front I work in a car dealership which incorporates both Holden & Toyota but am not a car salesman.

The new Colorado has been re-built from the ground up.

They're unmatched with their towing capacity, the auto in particular is designed to tow comfortably yet if you have to operate manually effortlessly drops back through the gears.
I couldn't believe how smooth the ride was.

Price-wise they sit very well in the market. People still blindly purchase Toyota's regardless of the price tag being $5,000-$10,000 more, even with less features. Believe me even Toyota's have problems.

Toyota have had to improve their Hilux's from a 4 star to a 5 star rating because corporates like BHP are insisting their fleet all be 5 star these days. Colorado is 5 star rated.

It's refreshing to hear both the Colorado & BT50 getting recognition on sites like this.
AnswerID: 497206

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 12:58

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 12:58
Yeah I bought my 3lt twin cab Colorado last year off the show room floor for $23,000 cheaper than a Hilux fitted with the same kit.
The Colorado came with OME lift kit, ARB bull bar, Tow kit, side rails canopy, Rear steps, snorkle, blue tooht.
I did however get a $17,000 factory discount, and Toyota wouldn't warrent the lift kit.

My mate has a twin cab Hilux I have driven his and I can't tell the difference.
FollowupID: 772988

Follow Up By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:10

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:10
Curious, and following this thread with interest...so with such great deals, howmuch would I expect to pay
Sorry to add aquestion to a question
Brian R
FollowupID: 773016

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 22:44

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 22:44
For me it was $65,000 for the Hilux and $42,000 for the Colorado June 2011.
FollowupID: 773031

Reply By: Mogul - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2012 at 20:28
Current model BT50 towing 1,900kg van from Sydney's Northern Beaches to Oberon and back via Bells Line of Road we returned an average of 12.3L per 100km.

BT50 has plenty of power and at no stage did it feel as though it was struggling.
AnswerID: 497230

Reply By: beefeater - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 11:41

Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 11:41
Gday all, we have recently replaced (10000kms) a petrol GU patrol (350000km and bulletproof although slightly expensive to fill up) with a new BT50 and are more than impressed. Towing, cruising and 4wd all impressive.
To be honest though I have no reason to think any of the new dual cabs on the market would cause any isssues and when it comes to towing a caravan I would think no problems. Not have a pre conceived make in mind looked at most of them and liked them all.
Had a choice between Colorado,BT50, Ranger and Navara in our small country town in SA and really went for the Bt50 because of the Nissan/Mazda dealer we have been dealing with for years and it fitted in well on price and styling. After spending 11 years getting the old patrol just right now the fun (and $) of starting again on the mazda. Cheers Nick
AnswerID: 497351