Travelling for pleasure OR perfect fuel consumption?
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:50
Member - Beatit (QLD)
I just had an interesting conversation with a fellow traveller about fuel consumption. My vehicle is heavy and my fuel consumption is dismal but I'm OK with that because I take the lot with me - no skimping on toys. My travelling buddy
well he knows his fuel consumption to two decimal
places and tells me that I don't need all that gear! It turns out that he left his boat behind because it's too heavy and too much mucking around. This had me thinking about how much people are leaving behind on an extended trip just for fuel economy. He claims to be a fisher person and is going to
Cooktown without a boat so it seemed to me that he has diminished the enjoyment opportunity of his trip for the sake of fuel consumption.
Now I have done all sort of travelling from swags, tents, trailers and finally a van and I still do all of these at different times. Strangely I have met a number of permanent travellers as
well also travelling very light so it had me wondering about my approach. So I'm interested to hear what people do.
Reply By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 22:16
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 22:16
I always take more than I need as a rule especially
spare parts and tools. I can't remember how many times I have come across someone else that has broken down and I have been able to get them going again and that's ok by me, makes me feel good and sometimes you make a new friend also. I am with you, when I am on holiday I don't want to be worrying too much about fuel or that damm phone. i have always been able to sort things out when I return without having to answer stupid questions on the phone while on holiday. Cheers Mick
Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 22:26
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 22:26
I'm hearing you Mick however it works the other way too.
The more load you carry the higher the stress on your vehicle and more chance of mishaps. (I don't care about fuel consumption too much).
Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 22:27
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 22:27
Same again. However soon we would like to travel the length of the CSR. And that is one drive that I will have to take the fuel consumption seriously. We do carry 215 litres with both tanks full and we tend to top up a bit more than normal. Fill the tummy = fill the tanks.
But normally if I use 25 or 15 it really doesn't worry me because if the boss wants to take the loo then we take the loo. etcetcetc
Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 23:09
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 23:09
Pleasure.
We know our fuel consumption (too much) we plan our trips knowing what we use.
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 16:59
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 16:59
Now with saying that I just filled up from doing 900 odd km highway driving. I used the 6th gear on cruise where we are allowed to do 110 on the
Warrego Hwy and we got 11.97lt/100. That's with out the van on of course.
Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 23:18
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 23:18
Well I travel this country for the sheer experience and pleasure of it and to agonise over a few extra litres of fuel or to fuss about which servo is a few cents dearer or cheaper than the next most convenient one would simply distract me from the true reason why I am out there.
So yes Beatit, I too travel for pleasure and do not overly concern myself with fuel consumption. Anyway, the cost of fuel is only minor compared to the capital cost, rego & insurance plus maintenance of this beast I call Troopy.
Reply By: Member - peter & dawn m (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 07:51
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 07:51
had some people stay with us on there way home from are trip caravans with
toilets & showers ,solar panels the lot the morning they were leaving found them putting 20 liters into
tank i said just fill up with the hose his comment [it costs extra money on fuel to carry
water ] but they stay in caravan pks every night at $30 to 40 bucks are night can,t see the logic,s in that ??!! for the few extra & we fill our tanks take what we need & stay at some loverly out of the way
places swampy
Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 08:35
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 08:35
Makes you wonder Swampy, with all that setup, why they patronise caravan parks. You don't need solar if you are staying in van parks all the time and paying $40 for the privelege. They could be saving that $40 per day for about half the trip. Thats a fair bit of fuel.
My next door neighbour, while at home, boils the kettle every morning and pours it into an airpot thermos. if they want a cuppa they get it from the thermos through out the day.
Mind you their power bill is somewhere around $90 so it is working.
That is taking it to extremes in my opinion.
Cheers, Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: kidsandall - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 07:56
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 07:56
We just travell and enjoy it. I don't take to much, but i do take enough. Fuel is just a part of travel as is food. I rather worry about where to
camp or what fish I'm going to catch for tea.
Josh
Follow Up By: Member - Wozikev - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 09:58
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 09:58
I'm with you Josh. We travel for the pure pleasure of it. We've got a couple of rules that have always set us in good stead - never pass a
toilet, a tap or a bowser. Incidentally, you'll always find me at the servo with nice easy, open access regardless of price. Relax & enjoy is what it's all about. Cheers ...................... KP.
Follow Up By: kidsandall - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 18:04
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 18:04
Absolutly agree, We are never in a hurry either. I see so many people trying to cover thousands of kms in such a short time and miss so much. I'd prefere to take my time (uses less fuel) and I see more.
Josh
Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:36
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:36
Didn't we just have a thread about why people travel at less than the speed limit when towing to save fuel?
Personally I sit on about 90 kph because the tug, van and driver are comfortable at that speed, not to save fuel. We probably take more gear than absolutely necessary and yes we would most likely get better milage (kilometerage dosen't sound right..lol) if we left some at home. Our take is that fuel is just a part of the traveling costs and rather than try and save every last dollar the enjoyment of the journey is much more important.
I have been asked on numerous occasions about what milage I am getting towing and many are rather incredulous when I tell them I don't know because I have never calculated the figures. I just know how far I can go between re-fills.
And no, I don't have a money tree growing out the back (:-))
Reply By: GimmeeIsolation - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 12:42
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 12:42
I would of thought "a fisher person (?)" would rather have a chance of joining the metre Barra club than worry about the extra $2-$3 at the bowser at each fuel stop if you are going to
Cooktown.
When you are too old to make the trip and sitting in the retirement village, at least he will have a short story to tell about how he saved a few bucks in Barra, Fingermark, Queenfish and Mudcrab country by not taking his boat.
Catching and releasing good fish after a photo is stuff memories are made of.
Live life, your not here long.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 20:16
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 20:16
Thanks for the replies. It just seems to me that it is a state of mind and I'm not sure if the two are mutually exclusive. I agree that it is possible to take too much and that some items never see the light of day BUT it is nice to know that they are there.
I think that I am driving concervatively to obtain my 3kilometers/litre (or 33 Litre/100 if you like) it sounds poor and it just doesn't seem to matter if I have a headwind or hills. That is sitting around 80/90 with the occasional burst of speed to get around etc. While I'm happy with the motor I am contemplating if a larger diesel say one of those yank jobs would give me a 100% improvement in consumption and consequently a longer range? That would mean I would need to obtain just 6 Kilometers/litre.
Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:37
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:37
Mate,
thanks for the
blogs but you gotta seriously look at your tow vehicle. You are not at roadtrain status yet, but add some more weight and I am sure you can get there. LOL.
Have a think about what you are carrying and I am sure you have looked at your tow vehicle.
We do travel light but don't skimp on what we need. I know what it is like to decide what you should have and what you shouldn't. Simple things like we only carry 2 chairs and so on because others will have their own. This goes on to cutlery, plates, cups and so on and that transfers to everything else we carry.
Your mate didn't bring a dinghy but when you look at it he can hire on in Cookers. Yes the cost negates the fuel but he doesn't have to hassle with carrying, loading or unloading it.
We do know what our fuel consumption range is all the time and I use it to the max.
Never worry about headwinds or tailwinds just where I can fill and at what price.
I can see by your post that you do have a problem and will have to look at another tow vehicle, plus maybe change the weight in your van. Winning lotto wouldn't hurt either with a new vehicle.
Have a good one,
RA
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 20:36
Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 20:36
G'day RA,
Yeah I know what you mean about the weight but some things seem to make sense and other don't. Like taking a tinnie to NT is almost compulsory (and all the associated) whereas I probably wouldn't bother taking one one to Tassie but I might pack a whole lot more warm clothing.
I'm pretty relaxed at the loading and unloading thing it comes with the turf but I'd probably pack differently for say a 4 week stay somewhere and a road trip to various
places.
The tow vehicle is good in all aspects except fuel consumption. There is enough power and it remains very capable but the fuel consumption is an issue that is not just the price of travel but also the range. We have managed not to run out of fuel or go broke on our last trip but it is worthy of another look at the engine department.
Reply By: Croozerute - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 23:28
Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 23:28
I too, travel for pleasure, and don't care a stuff about fuel economy, or prices..
I have just done another trip of 2500km till yesterday, to go from one job to the next, and while bolting across the nullarbor had many questions from other travellers about fuel prices.. I had no idea.. I don't look at the price, i just fill up..
Also, while on this trip.. was looking for a place to pull up between
Caiguna and
Norseman, and found all the rest areas to be chock a block full of vans, with barely a bit of air between them .. so kept driving, got to
Norseman, and pulled up in the van
park, which had less vans than any of the rest areas..
So, even though I had to pay the $30 or whatever it was, i got more peace and quiet, i got power, and TV ... lol .. love
free camping, but not when it''s busier than a bloody van
park !!!
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 20:47
Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 20:47
G'day Croozer,
We have had some free camps that were less than pleasant due to over crowding. There was a time on this trip that I felt it a conspiracy to have all this land and then push some free campers into a designated area like sardines. It seemed to me that it was someone's perverse idea of discouraging
free camping by using reverse phsycology by packing us all into some small spot so it does not give us the freedom that we all think it offers.
We are not easily discouraged! Some of the van parks are equally off puting with over crowding and over charging.